Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Tempest's Course, Quilts of Love Series #13

Abingdon Press Tempest's Course, Quilts of Love Series #13

When textiles conservator Kelly Frost is invited to coastal Massachusetts, she looks forward to spending the summer at historic Gray House---and restoring a centuries-old Mariner's Compass quilt. But when she befriends caretaker Tom Silva and discovers a dark secret about his heritage, threads of mystery transform her ordinary trip into an adventure! 240 pages, softcover from Abingdon.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tempest's Course, Quilts of Love Series #13
Review 1 for Tempest's Course, Quilts of Love Series #13
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great summer read to relax you.

Date:January 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Aussiegirl
Location:Orlando, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1/26/2014 Review Post
TEMPEST'S COURSE
By:
Lynette Sowell
Come join the people at New Bedford and meet some wonderful, some strange and some you just can't figure out.
See how to make a quilt or at least there is some really good information about quilts. You not only learn about the vintage quilting and what it takes to bring an almost tattered quilt back to life again. The pains taken to make sure it doesn't crumble in your fingers. You'll learn how to handle it, so you try not to harm it. The hours that need to be put into taking one careful step at a time, with love that's put into each stitch at a time.
Each quilt can tell a story if you look into the person who made it, the era it was made and the country it was made in ( all done by hand up until a certain era). The cutting of the pattern each checked carefully and lovingly to see how it will fit together. You'll also find out a lot more.
You find a love story worth reading. What each person has hidden in their life that has scared them or has it could it just be God's plan in their lives?
As you travel the pages of Kelly story and Tom's story, see how these story intertwines. The twist and turns in this beautifully written book will have you turning the pages to find out what is going to jump off the pages at you next and have you wondering now where is this heading now.
This story is like the pieces of fabric laid out in pieces, to see how it fits together like a beautiful quilt being stitched together with the soft threads slowly piecing together the pattern one at a time with love, putting it all together into a beautiful story all it's own,
So come and read the story the quilt has to tell.
I loved this story it is really beautifully written with love of quilting.
I recommend it highly for a lovely day out side to sit relax and read. You'll love the book.
HAPPY READING!!!!!!!!
5 Stars
ISBN 13: 978-1-4267-5276-6
I received this book free from Abingdon Press for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review just an honest one. The opinions I have expressed are entirely my own and no one else's.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tempest's Course, Quilts of Love Series #13
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet Read

Date:January 10, 2014
Tempest's Course by Lynette Sowell is an enjoyable read. Kelly and Tom are both trying to figure out their next steps when they find jobs at Grey House. As their friendship develops, creepy things start happening around the house, and Kelly turns to Tom for help.
I've read several of the books in the Quilts of Love series and have enjoyed them. Tempest's Course was no exception. The contemporary story was very sweet, and I really liked Kelly and Tom. A historical story was woven throughout the book as well, told through a journal that Kelly found in the house. This was a unique touch. I wasn't completely sure how the two stories connected until the very end, but it was a pretty cool way to tell the story. There was a fair amount of mystery surrounding the house as well, which helped to draw me in and keep me wondering what would happen next.
My one complaint was that the book was just a bit too short. I needed a couple more chapters to really do the ending justice. (Also, there was one thing at the very end that was pretty weird for me.) Other than that, though, Tempest's Course was a fun book. Fans of sweet, romantic stories will enjoy this book. [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Abingdon Press through CFBA in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tempest's Course, Quilts of Love Series #13
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quilting Secrets

Date:January 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
New Bedford, Massachusetts, a historical whaling town is the setting of this romance novel. Gray House, a captain's home with its tiny observation room, which overlooks the city harbor is itself a character, with its creaks and groans and hidden secrets. It's has been empty for some time and Kelly Frost is hired to restore a Mariner's Compass quilt while living in the home.
I especially appreciated finding out how a person would go about restoring a fraying, old quilt. While Kelly works on the quilt, she pieces together the mystery behind how it came to be. She discovers a hidden journal written by Mary Gray, wife of the whaling captain. It reveals long-held secrets from the 1850's.
Kelly is a loner, having been raised in foster homes. However, her experiences were good with Lottie, her final foster mother, who remains someone Kelly can rely upon. Tom has had an opposite childhood experience: a warm, loving family, who live close by. However, he and his father's relationship is stiff as Tom has disappointed his father by never attending college.
A few surprises help to solve any questions. I enjoyed this whispering mystery/romance.
Thank you to Bonnie at Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and Abingdon Press for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tempest's Course, Quilts of Love Series #13
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Will revealing the truth be worth the price?

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kelly Frost is hoping to find the one job that will be enough to pay for her expenses and keep her head above water. When she finds herself in New Bedford at the historic Gray House, she begins the close examination of the vintage Mariner's Compass quilt that is in desperate need of restoration. Kelly is hoping that she will be able to make the bid on the restoration high enough to compensate her for the time and energy she will need to repair this quilt but also low enough not to outbid her chances. Fortunately for her she gets confirmation that she has won the right to this project. The only criteria she didn't plan on was the proprietor wants to quilt to remain in the house while the restoration is completed. They will allow her to move in and use the home for the length of the project.
Now if Kelly can only put her past behind her and continue to work on building her business after her failure with her recent breakup of a curator of a large museum. Turns out while he was romancing her, he failed to let on that he was married. Now placed in a precarious situation, she is in competition with his ex-wife in the very same industry of textile restoration. It seems that sometimes in life, you can't escape your past no matter how much you try to begin again.
Tom Pereira is the groundskeeper for the Gray House and has been asked by the foundation Firstborn Holdings, LLC, to keep an eye on Kelly Frost. Even though she has passed the background, something in her character references if off and causes the owner concern. But Tom has his own demons that are haunting him about his past. He never can seem to measure up to the standards his father had wanted for him. giving up attending college and instead enlisting in the service was Tom's choice, his father felt the choice was the wrong one to make. Now plagued with seizures, Tom only hopes to get through this project and find a way to keep his own head above water. But with the downsizing in the economy, it seems like all his contacts are coming up short. Hopefully his job at Gray House will be enough.
I received Tempest's Course by Lynette Sowell compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and Abingdon Press for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed are strictly my own. Being a huge lover of quilts and occasionally trying my own hand at quilting, I know that most carry a story locked away in the fibers much like the Mariner's Compass Quilt does that Kelly Frost works on. Toggling back between an old journal she discovers from the quilts owner, she discovers that some secrets carry a great sacrifice and will one day shine the light on what the meaning of redemption really means. This is the 13th book in the Quilts of Love series and one I rate a 4.5 out of 5 stars. I've had the pleasure of reading almost all of them and each is truly their own work of art between the pages of the authors that have written them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tempest's Course, Quilts of Love Series #13
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Blending of History and Present, Romance & Mystery

Date:December 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This book has a beautiful blending of a past story with the present, of romance with mystery. I particularly enjoyed watching Kelly work on the quilt and piece together the mystery behind why it was made and by who. Every story has a quilt and this one made for a great read. The romance was sweet and the book an enjoyable read. I love Lynette's writing and will look for more in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tempest's Course, Quilts of Love Series #13
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Restoring History

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In this stand-alone novel in the Quilts of Love series, a young textile conservator was hired to restore a generations-old Mariner's Compass quilt that was nearly beyond repair. Kelly Frost was suffering hard times financially so she had bid a substantial amount for the restoration in order to improve her depleted financial status. Her bid to repair the quilt was accepted with the stipulation that while restoring the quilt she would live in the vacant old whaler's mansion where the quilt originated. Moving to the coastal community in Massachusetts had some distinct advantages. Kelly had suffered some substantial losses and pain in her young life, not to mention her professional status as the result of a poor decision on her part.
Tom Silva had been hired to take care of the grounds and outdoor maintenance at Gray House. A medically discharged veteran, Tom had recently recovered from injuries suffered while serving overseas. His presence on the grounds was somewhat comforting to Kelly after she moved into the creaky old mansion with no one else living on the grounds. His own past haunted him, but he found his strength in his relationship with God. Both Kelly and Tom were wary of any kind of attachments, but the companionship they found in each other was a distinct advantage under their respective circumstances.
In Kelly's spare time she explored various rooms in the 3-story mansion, and subsequently discovered a hidden diary that had belonged to Mary Gray, wife of the whaling captain who originally built the house. Hopeful that the diary would reveal something about the quilt and questions about why the house remained vacant for so many years Kelly began reading. The diary entries paralleled events in Kelly's own life, making her acutely aware of her mistakes and her need for change in her life and guidance from God.
Numerous plots are interwoven into the cloth of this story of intrigue, mystery, romance and the quest for balance in the lives of both Kelly and Tom. The setting for Tempest's Course is well described as the harbor of an old whaling town, and the characters throughout this book are well represented. I've read many of the Quilts of Love books and enjoyed them each for their own merits. Lynn Sowell has done a wonderful job of creating a hauntingly fascinating story of a quilt with a mysterious history and the revelation of secrets that an old whaling mansion held.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from Wynn-Wynn Media in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tempest's Course, Quilts of Love Series #13
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An enjoyable addition to the Quilts of Love series

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Each stand-alone novel in the Quilts of Love series features a quilt with a meaningful story behind it, and Lynette Sowell weaves a haunting story in Tempest's Course by paralleling the life of contemporary textile repairer Kelly with that of Mary Gray, wife of a whaling captain in the 1850s. The way Kelly compares the poor decisions and regrets in her own life with those of the ill-fated Mary is one of this story's strengths.
As with all the books in this series, the featured quilt is a major character - a Mariner's Compass quilt in this instance. Lynette brings much interest to the storyline through Kelly's expertise in the art of textile repair, which is another strength of this story and something that I found fascinating. The Mariner's Compass quilt was covered with old glue, burn marks, literally disintegrating - and it was amazing to literally stand beside Kelly and watch the intricate steps she took to make repairs.
The historical whaling town of New Bedford, Massachusetts is also beautifully drawn - from Gray House, the captain's home with its tiny observation room, to the city harbor. I've always been drawn to New England settings, so this was especially enjoyable for me.
My favorite character was Tom, a wounded Army veteran who struggled in his relationship with his father. "Family reminded you of what you'd done right, and didn't let you forget where you'd gone wrong." Kelly, who feels that she is still paying for the sins of her past, feels safe with Tom and has learned to rely on God: "One thing I've learned is that in the end, God is all I have." And I especially enjoyed the relationship between Kelly and her foster-care mother, Lottie.
The Mariner's Compass was a symbol of hope - both to Mary as she quilted it and to Kelly as she repaired it. Kelly reflects: "Surely God was charting her course on the open seas of life, guiding her on her voyage. The nautical analogy seemed to fit, especially after being buffeted by the storms of life."
Tempest's Course combines romance, suspense, history, and the interworking of family relationships in a story that captured my interest from the very beginning. The story's message comes from the words of the quilt's maker, Mary Gray: "The Lord directs our steps, the Master over the course through our sea of life. We look to His Word as our compass."
Recommended
This book was provided by Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tempest's Course, Quilts of Love Series #13
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Quilts of Love Book!

Date:December 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have thoroughly enjoyed ALL of the Quilts of Love books and this one is no exception. As a quilt top is pieced together with love and care, Lynette weaves a tale encompassing the same feelings. She has done her research well!! Intertwining plots come together in a unique and unusual story line. Lynette has used a historical background on which to build the story in a most effective manner. Not only are there many subplots , but there is so much to learn about the historical time when the quilt was created. Full of mystery and intrigue, romance, this tale promises to keep you on the edge of your seat.
The main characters, Kelly and Tom, cause your heart to flutter, as a simple romance turns into a very complicated situation. You feel every confused thought, frustration, fear and worry!! These characters lived withing me for the duration of the read. Using the past history of an unknown stranger, Kelly becomes aware of the need to let God plan her life and wait upon Him. When the truth of Mary Gray's secrets become clear to Kelly, she realizes that her life and family are already intertwined with Tom's, in a way that no one could predict and could make a huge impact on both of their lives. The mystery of the unknown adversary who wants to keep the secret hidden kept me glued to the page until I completed the book.
A five star book!! LOVED it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tempest's Course, Quilts of Love Series #13
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Romance and quilt restoration

Date:December 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This novel is a pretty good romance centering around the restoration of an old quilt that has been damaged by neglect and misuse. There is a great deal of tension between Kelly and Tom and there comes a point in the novel where it seems it would be impossible for the two to get together, even though they were made for each other. Both of them have issues. Kelly is a cast off child, being raised in foster homes. Tom has never been able to live up to his parents' expectations.
Kelly finds a journal in the house that helps reveal the story of the original home owners. It was interesting to read the parallels in the plot structure, the history of the whaling captain's wife and Kelly's own past experience.
It was interesting to learn a bit about quilt restoration. I wish there had been more detail. While I appreciated the novel's characters, I didn't like Kelly very much. Yes, she had a tough childhood, but it didn't appear that she had risen above it. I wish she would have been a stronger character.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book through the Litfuse Publicity Group for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tempest's Course, Quilts of Love Series #13
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book in the Quilt of Love series

Date:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always anticipate reading the next Quilt of Love book because the stories revolve around quilts and romance, and they are also good clean reads. With Tempest Course we get the story of Kelly Frost, a textile conservator who needs a job. When she gets the chance to restore a 150 year old quilt that is almost beyond repair she knows the job is just what she needs even though she has no idea what she is actually committing herself to. There is a stipulation that she must stay in the Gray House while she completes the job and that's where she meets Tom Pereira the caretaker of Gray House. He is an army veteran who is fighting his own issues. As the story unfolds we not only see the painstaking care in which Kelly takes to restore the quilt we also learn that she and Tom share something in common.
It was easy to see that God was at work in Kelly's life. He sent her what she needed just when she needed it. I really enjoyed the story that developed between her and Tom,but my favorite parts of the story had to be the journal entries of Mary Gray, that easily transported me back in time, and also revealed the story of the quilt, and also ties past to present.I really liked the descriptions of the work that went into restoring the quilt. I really anticipated what would happen between Kelly and Tom,would they find their way past the things that held them back. Overall a good read that has a bit of mystery and suspense while also providing a nice romance with easy to like characters. The ending was something that I really was a twist that I didn't see coming and made for a great wrap up of Tempest Course.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tempest's Course, Quilts of Love Series #13
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Quilt, Restoration and Romance

Date:December 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lynette Sowell in her new book, “Tempest’s Course” Book Thirteen in the Quilts of Love Series published by Abingdon Press brings us into the life of Kelly Frost.
From the back cover: Woven with stories from the past, the Mariner’s Compass quilt brings a new direction for Kelly and Tom.
Kelly Frost, a textiles conservator, is invited to the Massachusetts coastal town of Fairhaven to restore the centuries-old Mariner’s Compass quilt. But there is one stipulation: she must live and work in Grey House, a former whaling captain’s home, where the quilt is stored.
There she meets Tom, the caretaker of Grey House, whose heart seems as hard as the rocky Massachusetts coastline. Over the long-lit months as Kelly works to restore the quilt, she is buoyed by occasional afternoon visits from Tom and other Fairhaven town members, and is drawn into their lives. And each night, as she reads stories in a daily journal penned by Mary Grey, she learns details about her newfound community members that help her see that their lives are as vivid and interwoven as the quilt pieces she is working to restore. But, when Kelly discovers a truth about Tom’s heritage hidden in the journal, she must decide if keeping the past to herself is the only way to ensure the hope of a future with Tom.
Kelly is hired to restore the Mariner’s Compass quilt which is over 150 years old. Dirt, the age of years and singes from a fire have almost reduced this heirloom to the ragbag. You know what that tells me that anything with a lot of love, patience and understanding can be restored to its former glory. Kelly has problems from her past, Tom has problems from his past and they need love, patience and understanding so that, they too, can be restored. Ms. Sowell has given us a very interesting story. Kelly and Tom are really great characters that we fall in love with and feel as though they are friends that we do not want to leave when the book is finished. I would like to see another story that continues the adventures for them. It is really that good.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tempest's Course, Quilts of Love Series #13
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Living With Your Mistakes

Date:December 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kelly Frost has made a bad mistake in her life, and now she is living with the consequences. She is a textile conservator, and now in desperate need of a job. When a chance to restore, an almost destroyed, 1850's quilt. She has no idea what she is getting into. One of the requirements that she must comply with is living in the old Gray House mansion. Kind of scary, but love the way she handles it.
Also working, but not living at the mansion is Tom Silva, a medically discharged Army veteran. He is coming to terms with his injuries, and the lack of his Dad's approval.
Loved the descriptions of Kelly's work on the old quilt, and the searching for the right fabric, and trying to piece such fragile material. I found this so interesting.
Will Kelly and Tom be able to help one another, one a discarded child, the other from a warm extended family. Each trying to prove their worth.
Will Kelly's past continue to haunt her? Is it a coincidence that they are both at the mansion at the same time? Or does God have a hand in this?
I really enjoy this read, never saw some of the things that happen coming! Enjoy!
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tempest's Course, Quilts of Love Series #13
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good story, just needed to connect better

Date:December 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Move into a house and restore a 150 year old quilt, it sounds like a textile conservator's dream job. But like any other dream job there are issues.
Finding the journal of the captain's wife Kelly begins on a journey that will have her discovering things about her own family that perhaps should be left alone. Throw in someone trying to squelch her from learning more and you have a story with suspense, a quilt and possible romance. Who can ask for anything more.
A good story, it was a bit stiff, the character a bit hard to connect with. But the author was a great story teller, which always helps a story out. I just wish the character had been a bit more easy to connect to. Overall a great story, worthy of 4 stars.
This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tempest's Course, Quilts of Love Series #13
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tempest's Course

Date:November 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Laura Hilton
Location:Horseshoe Bend, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TEMPEST’S COURSE is the 13th book in Abingdon’s Quilt’s of Love series, but like all the books in this collection, it stands alone. Kelly is a struggling textile’s conservator who has lost her job and her reputation due to an unfortunate affair with a married man. As she moves into Gray House to restore the quilt, she learns the secrets of the house—and that she and the captain’s wife have more in common than she ever imagined.
Tom’s family is Portuguese and Italian. I figured the Italian part as soon as Ms. Sowell introduced his family. The rest came into play later into the story. The journal entries from the captain’s wife were heartbreaking, but it held the key to history that otherwise never would’ve been known.
I was interested to see how this story would play out, how the journal entries tied into the present, and what happens to the quilt. The story telling was stellar, well thought out, but a bit flat. I didn’t connect with the main characters the way I would’ve liked. Discussion questions are included.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.