Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Scraps of Evidence, Quilts of Love Series #14

Abingdon Press Scraps of Evidence, Quilts of Love Series #14

Tess has taken some ribbing from her fellow officer, Logan, for her quilting hobby. He finds it hard to align the brisk professional officer he patrols with during the day with the one who quilts in her off-time. Besides, he's been trying to get to know her better and he'd like to be seeing her during those couple nights a week she spends with her quilting guild.

Then one afternoon Tess and Logan visit her aunt in the nursing home. Aunt Susan becomes agitated when Tess covers her with her story quilt. Aunt Susan seems to be communicating a message to them about the quilt. There's a story behind this quilt, they realize, one that may lead them to a serial killer. Trusting God to lead them on the right path, they know that if there's a chance to have a future together, they'll have to stop the killer before Tess becomes his next victim.

Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 1493%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Scraps of Evidence, Quilts of Love Series #14
Review 1 for Scraps of Evidence, Quilts of Love Series #14
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great mystery

Date:March 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having read many of the Quilts of Love Series and enjoying them all, this book, by Barbara Cameron was no disappointment. I have read all of Barbara's Amish fiction, loving them, but did not know if this book would equal the others!! Well, it SURE did!! This book carried forth the theme of the whole series, quilts and their importance and influence on our lives, how they travel through time, and tell a tale, sometimes good, other times, very worrying and distressful. Barbara did a super job developing the plot , a heirloom quilt that had quite a disturbing story to tell. I felt the fear of the main character, Tess! Talk about sitting on the edge of your seat!!!! I could NOT put the book down, as I fretted and worried about my newest friend. As Tess unravels the story behind the quilt, she is shocked to learn clues that may lead to a serial killer! A killer who is still active in keeping secrets well hidden! T|he fear was described in a realistic fashion, with Tess depending on her detective partner, Logan, to help her through .Just the right amount of romance was evident to lighten the mood of the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Scraps of Evidence, Quilts of Love Series #14
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Serial Killer, A Mysterious Quilt Romance Thrill

Date:March 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Barbara Cameron in her new book, “Scraps Of Evidence” Book Fourteen in the Quilts of Love Series published by Abingdon Press brings us into the life of Tess Villanova.
From the back cover: Could a quilt really hold the secrets of a serial killer?
Tess has taken some ribbing from her fellow officer, Logan, for her quilting hobby. He finds it hard to align the brisk professional officer he patrols with during the day with the one who quilts in her off-time. Besides, he’s been trying to get to know her better and he’d like to be seeing her during those few nights a week she spends with her quilting guild.
Then one afternoon Tess and Logan visit her aunt in the nursing home, and the woman acts agitated when Tess covers her with the story quilt. Aunt Susan is attempting to communicate a message to them about Tess’s uncle. There’s a story behind this quilt, they realize, one that may lead them to a serial killer. Will they have a chance to have a future together, or will the killer choose Tess for his next victim before they find him?
Ms. Cameron has given us a very interesting story that is a stand-alone in the Quilts of Love Series. A serial killer, a quilt, spousal abuse and romance are all ingredients in this page turning thriller. Tessa and Logan are newly teamed and just getting to know each other. However they are thrust into this investigation that the killer does not want them to complete. I think this is one mystery that will keep you guessing. And there is also the mystery of the quilt. Did I mention there is also a romance? Tessa and Logan are really great characters that we fall in love with and feel as though they are friends that we do not want to leave when the book is finished.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Scraps of Evidence, Quilts of Love Series #14
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Where was the why?

Date:March 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I have to say I loved the romance and attraction that was between Tess and Logan, the sparks there were very interesting. And while the story was a suspense, it fell a bit flat at the end. To readers of suspense, the killer was fairly evident early in the story, but I was disappointed that there wasn't much explanation at the ending of why the killer did what he did. Barbara Cameron is a talented writer, and while this story wasn't my favorite of her books, it will not deter me from reading her again. 3 stars
This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Scraps of Evidence, Quilts of Love Series #14
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Scraps of Evidence, Barbara Cameron's contribution to the Quilts of Love series, is a light mystery, quick and easy to read.
Tess has recently moved into a new position as a detective in the St. Augustine Police Department and is beginning her job with a new partner, Logan, a recent import from Chicago. Both Tess and Logan are dealing with the impact of having lost someone close to them, and those losses affect their work, their faith, and their personal relationships. Tess's interest in quilts -- in particular, a quilt her Aunt Kathy made years before -- plays an important role in solving the mystery of the serial killer involved in the first big case Tess and Logan work on together.
I was drawn in to the mystery of this story right away. Tess and Logan, as well as some of the other characters, seemed like people I would enjoy knowing and caring about. And the amount of romance mixed in with the drama made for an enjoyable story throughout most of the book. Toward the end, though, the story seemed rushed and a little disjointed. There are questions that are not quite answered as the story reaches its end.
Even with some reservation explained above, I found this book enjoyable and would recommend it for a light, quick read.
Thanks to Litfuse Publicity Group for providing a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.
***One issue I had with the book is not related to the author's story at all. Neither the back cover copy nor the summary on the publisher's website was well-fit to the story. A major character's name was incorrect, and the story line description was not entirely accurate in either case. I hope that will be corrected on the website and on the book cover before there is another printing.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Scraps of Evidence, Quilts of Love Series #14
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A new side of Barbara Cameron for me!

Date:February 26, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only seen the Amish side of Barbara Cameron, so I was definitely looking forward to seeing a different side of her writing. Having read many books in the Quilts of Love series, I couldn't pass this one up. It was a book that had me drawn in from the first pages of the book. Barbara Cameron writes in such a way that easily can go from genre to genre.
I personally think I liked the book so much because I love vacationing in the city where the book takes place. It was easy to remember the area in this book and took me back to a relaxing summer vacation and our upcoming one! St. Augustine is so rich of history and beauty and one just can't help but enjoy it!
Since I'm not much into mystery novels, this was perfect for me. It wasn't too scary and it didn't keep me up at night from bad dreams! I liked the romance and how it depicted real-life relationships. You never forget that a serial killer is involved, but it's not a terrifying book. Some may be disappointed in that, but I was grateful!
Now I'm switching over to read her new Amish fiction book that is coming out!
_______________
I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group and Abingdon Press in exchange or my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Scraps of Evidence, Quilts of Love Series #14
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not my usual but OH SO GREAT!

Date:February 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
JCMorrows
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I can say is this: I really hope Barbara never lets anyone talk her into making this a movie because they’ll ruin it.
WHAT a GREAT story!
I have to say it was a bit of a shock for my system going from Amish to Crime – and by the same author but I’m so glad I went ahead and read them in order. As a matter of fact, I’m sitting here writing this a full two days ahead of schedule. It was THAT GOOD! I seriously could NOT put the book down and I usually detest mystery novels. I used to read a series by another author who shall remain nameless and it effectively killed any taste for mysteries that I may have had.
But this book is nowhere near the same league as those. Or any other… And when I say that, I mean that this book is far far above the rest.
I could happily read a dozen more by Barbara because I already know that she is capable of writing a great story with believable characters and a plot-line that even a seasoned mystery writer would envy.
Barbara Cameron doesn’t drag things out, she doesn’t throw in a ridiculous amount of obvious clues and… the coup-de-grâce – she does not have her characters do stupid things. No walking right into the path of the killer over and over again, no figuring out the whole thing right before the killer sticks a gun to your temple and no running around screaming like an idiot. I LOVE IT!
THANK YOU Barbara Cameron! And PLEASE write more of these kind of stories!
You might, if you’re an old-hand at mysteries, pick out a clue or two but nothing that stands there screaming “RIGHT HERE! THEY DID IT! DON’T MISS THIS!” And some of you might think the romance moves a little too quickly (I don’t think I’m giving anything away there – you knew there had to be romance) but please remember this is a short book. It’s supposed to move fast. However, I have to say that I don’t think the book itself moved too fast – it had a perfect pace and, at the end, I found myself wondering how I’d gotten there already.
It’s just a GREAT story! Read it! You won’t be sorry!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Scraps of Evidence, Quilts of Love Series #14
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Scraps of Evidence ~ Barbara Cameron

Date:February 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book is a fun afternoon read. It is the story of Tess, who lives in St. Augustine, FL and has just been promoted to detective. Logan moves from Chicago to work on a serial murder case and is assigned as Tess's new partner. The two of them work together well and start to find an attraction with each other. During the day they work on the serial murder case from years ago and a current murder case. During the night Tess befriends Logan and shows him around the town and introduces him to people in the area. This is not a heavy suspense, murder, mystery book, it is more of a romance story with a touch of drama. I found this book very interesting and kept my attention to keep reading. If you are looking for a suspenseful, criminal book, this is not a book for you. The book reminded me of the TV show "Castle" light, fluffy and entertaining.
I would recommend this to someone that wants a fun and relaxing read. If you are looking for a tense murder/mystery then you will be disappointed.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Litfuse. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Scraps of Evidence, Quilts of Love Series #14
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Quilt & A Serial Killer!

Date:February 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Scraps of Evidence is quite a surprise for those of us who are avid readers of Barbara Cameron's Amish fiction! Tess is a native of St. Augustine, Florida. She has recently been promoted to detective, and her new partner is a big city guy from Chicago. As Tess gives Logan a tour of the locale to acquaint him with the areas of the city where crime has been a problem, he enjoys her company as well as the tour. One of their current roles as detectives involves investigating leads and information regarding a serial killer. The killer's first victim was Tess's childhood best friend, her body discovered in the park near a lighthouse in the area. As the partners are becoming more acquainted another murder takes place with remarkable parallels to the murder of Tess's friend. Will Tess and Logan discover any clues to the loss of Tess's best friend through the investigation of this most recent murder? As a way to relieve tension Tess begins a new quilt based on the lighthouse, so much a part of her life. Will the quilt reveal any clues that point to the killer?
Barbara Cameron has created a fast paced plot in this cozy mystery. It's obvious that she has done her homework. Her attention to detail reveals accuracy pertaining to crime solving techniques, as well as a beautiful and pictorial description of St. Augustine. I have never been there, but through Barbara's eyes and descriptive technique, I feel as if I have visited the oldest city in the United States. As this book began to propel I didn't want to put it down. I think that the author has proven herself worthy of writing a good mystery as well as excellent Amish fiction. I enjoyed this installment in the Quilts of Love series, and recommend it to those who love a cozy mystery blended with a dash of romance.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from Wynn-Wynn Media in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Scraps of Evidence, Quilts of Love Series #14
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Mystery/Romance

Date:January 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
I like the character of Tess; she's the kind of woman we all admire. Tess has lived in the small Florida town of St. Augustine all of her life, and so she knows most everyone. And like most small towns, everyone knows Tess. Tess just made detective on the local police, and Logan has just moved from Chicago and hired as her new partner. They click quickly. Could romance be far behind?
It was fun reading about St. Augustine. I've visited the city before, and it brought back some sweet memories. I enjoy learning about places, and the author did a good job of showing the reader this famous city.
This is not a simplistic romance. The storyline is about a serial killer, and when another body is discovered, Tess and Logan are assigned the case.
The back cover of the novel contains some storyline errors, but I think if the reader ignores the cover and simply opens the book, she will enjoy this story. I sure did.
Discussion Questions included.
Thank you to Bonnie at Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and Abingdon Press for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Scraps of Evidence, Quilts of Love Series #14
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Enjoyable start, disappointing ending

Date:January 26, 2014
This is a hard review to write because I have such mixed feelings about this book. I immediately got wrapped up in this story. I loved the set-up of Tess and Logan being new partners on the police force and having an attraction for one another. And the mystery of the serial killer was interesting as well. I was itching to know who the killer was and see how they were going to solve this case that started so many years before! Every time I had to set the book aside (you know ... for real life things like work!), I wanted to get back to it ... and quickly!
However, three-fourths of the way through the book, everything changed drastically. The plot in the last fourth seemed completely disconnected from the rest of the book, and the writing style totally changed. I almost felt like the last 60 pages were written by someone else. It didn't make any sense at all. There was also a huge shift in focus and Tess's aunt and her quilt became major factors in the book—when the aunt was a mere mention early on, and the quilt was completely absent. It was just confusing.
My other issue was that the copy on the back of the book didn't match with the story. At. All. I don't want to be rude, but it seemed like the back cover was written by someone who had not actually read the book. (Note: The "about the book" section above was taken from the publisher's website, which matches up more closely to the plot than the back cover.) Also, Tess's aunt is named Aunt KATHY, not Aunt Susan (as listed on the publisher's website and the copy on the book).
Had the first two-thirds to three-fourths of the book not been so intriguing, I would probably have given this book 1 or 2 stars. However, the story started off really strong, earning it an extra star. But the end was a disappointment. [3 stars]
(NOTE: While I did receive an advance copy of this book, it was the finished product and not an uncorrected proof.)
I received a free copy of this book from Abingdon Press through Christian Fiction Blog Alliance in exchange for my fair and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Scraps of Evidence, Quilts of Love Series #14
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A quick romance and simple mystery

Date:January 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This quick read contains a simple mystery and a fast moving romance.
Logan is new to the St. Augustine (Florida) police department, having been recently recruited from Chicago. Tess is a native, having worked her way up to detective. The two are a team assigned to solve a murder in the city – the latest from a serial killer.
I learned a little about St. Augustine, the oldest city in the country. I did feel that the mystery was a bit simple. The emphasis of the book was the romance, by far. Logan and Tess were so focused on their relationship it seems they missed clues staring them in the face. It took a civilian to give them the final obvious clue and even then they did not prepare properly to arrest the murderer and Tess is kidnapped (sort of). And at the end the motive for the serial killing is never fully revealed.
The romance between Logan and Tess really goes quickly. A romance usually contains some seemingly insurmountable obstacles to the relationship that the couple has to work through. This romance just breezed along. In other police mysteries I've read, romance between fellow workers is frowned upon but in this novel it was encouraged. I found that a bit unrealistic.
Cameron usually writes Amish novels. This is a different genre for her. This novel has more the flavor of an Amish work than it does a mystery, even a cozy mystery. The story is short. The novel itself is just 213 pages. The rest of the book contains discussion questions and previews of Cameron's upcoming books. It could have certainly benefited from an epilogue. We could have had further information about the serial killer and his motive and a sense of the future for Logan and Tess. Granted, I read an uncorrected proof. This is one novel I would have liked stretched out a bit, to the more common length of around 300 pages.
I received an uncorrected egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Scraps of Evidence, Quilts of Love Series #14
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable romance with a touch of mystery

Date:January 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tess Villanova is a Detective with the St Augustine police force, and has just been assigned a new partner, Chicago import Logan McMillan. I really liked both Tess and Logan as characters. They are both competent professionals, both Christians, and have both been forced to confront the age-old question of why bad things happen. Tess’s questions began in her final year of high school, when her best friend was murdered at the prom. Samantha was the first victim of a serial killer, and when another body is found, Tess and Logan are assigned to lead the investigation.
As they pursue the mystery of the latest death, they also discover a mutual attraction—a complication, as they work together. So Scraps of Evidence is a mystery combined with a romance, and although the book is shorter (only 240 pages), it is an exciting and satisfying plot. My only complaint was that I began to suspect the identity of the serial killer around a quarter of the way through the book, and that kind of spoiled the mystery. On the other hand, it did add an additional layer of suspense which kept me turning the pages.
Scraps of Evidence is a departure from Cameron’s normal genre of Amish fiction. There are similarities: Tess and her Aunty Kathy are both keen quilters, and Tess has lived almost her whole life in the community of St Augustine, so Scraps of Evidence has that community feel that often typifies Amish fiction. There are also differences: the Christian aspect of Scraps of Evidence was present but understated, and the characters are intelligent and likeable (no, I’m not a fan of Amish fiction).
Scraps of Evidence is part of the Quilts of Love series of books, featuring titles by a range of different authors. Each novel is a stand-alone romance with uniting theme of quilts or quilting. I’ve read several and enjoyed them, and I very much enjoyed Scraps of Evidence. I might even be persuaded to give some of Cameron’s Amish fiction a try.
Thanks to Abingdon Press and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Scraps of Evidence, Quilts of Love Series #14
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down until I finished it!!!

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what does a beautiful sewn blue quilt have to do with the latest serial murders running rampant in Florida? Just another mystery waiting to be discovered by best-selling author Barbara Cameron in her latest novel Scraps of Evidence that joins the Quilts of Love Series as book 14. The readers of this novel are bound to a true treat if you have read any of Barbara Cameron's novels. There is always an element of mystery and suspense to keep you reading long past it's time to head for bed because of your compelling urge to know who did it.
Join Detective Tess Villanova as she teams up with her new partner who just happens to be amazingly good-looking as well as single, Detective Logan McMillian from Chicago. Now they must work together when the latest case reopens the serial murder case when Tess lost her best friend as the first murder victim. Working hard to try and find the killer, when the latest body turns up, Logan gives the case a whole new perspective and a fresh set of eyes.
Like most colleagues that work together and spend so much time together, you get to know someone in ways you never would if you had met in a bar, and this gives Tess and Logan time to unwind and compare notes over lunches and dinners working their case. What they find is that they have more in common than simply being partners working together and the more time they spend with one another the more things begin to heat up and not just in the romance department.
I received Scraps of Evidence by Barbara Cameron compliments of Abingdon Press and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation and the opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own unless otherwise noted. The best thing about any of the novels you find in the Quilts of Love series is why they do have a common thread running through them, you can pick up any of them and read them. They are not linked in any way other than having a quilt at the central theme. I've been a huge fan of Barbara Cameron's novels and was thrilled to read and review this one. I love the romantic tension that builds up between Logan and Tess and you just hope by the time you get to the end, they both come around to realize love is in the air. I easily give this one a 4.5 out of 5 stars in my opinion. Included in this novel at the conclusion are some excellent discussion questions just perfect for book clubs as well as sneak peek into the next book in the series A Sky Without Stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Scraps of Evidence, Quilts of Love Series #14
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another good story from Barbara Cameron

Date:August 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
churchbooklady
Location:Plano, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Abingdon, 2014
Newly promoted St. Petersburg Detective Tess Villanova and her partner Logan McMillan, a transplant from Chicago, find that their first case together is the murder of a young woman that is eerily similar to that of Tess’s best friend Samantha a decade earlier. Still unsolved, Samantha’s death haunts Tess as she and Logan search for, they believe, a single killer. Tess’s quilting hobby will play a surprising role in their solving the murder; at the same time they are becoming more than partners and more than friends.
Cameron is the author of the popular Quilts of Lancaster County series, and Scraps of Evidence is the 14 of the Quilts of Love series. Weaving in the quilting story without disrupting the mystery is the mark of a skillful writer. The local color of St. Petersburg appeals to the travel instincts as well. The oldest city in the United States provides a pleasing backdrop for a well plotted mystery and a developing relationship. I look forward to reading more mysteries starring the quilting detective, Tess.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.