Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Maybelle in Stitches, Quilts of Love Series #16

Abingdon Press Maybelle in Stitches, Quilts of Love Series #16

Maybelle can't sew. But when she finds an unfinished quilt in the attic of her mother's house, she gets the crazy idea to complete it. At first, it's just a way to fill the lonely nights while her husband, staff sergeant Holden Kanzinzki, is away fighting in World War II.

Yet when Maybelle discovers that the quilt is made from scraps of material that can be traced back through her family heritage, the project is suddenly much more important. Then word comes that Holden is missing in action, and with little else to do, Maybelle clings to the quilt as much as to the hope that her husband is still alive. As neighborhood friends gather around Maybelle to help her through the unknown days and nights ahead, it is the quilt that becomes a symbol of her unflagging belief that Holden will return-to her, to their home, and to their quilt-covered bed.

Average Customer Rating:
3.7 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Maybelle in Stitches, Quilts of Love Series #16
Review 1 for Maybelle in Stitches, Quilts of Love Series #16
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

World War II, Quilting, Ship Welding and Faith

Date:April 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joyce Magnin in her new book, “Maybelle in Stitches” Book Sixteen in the Quilts of Love Series published by Abingdon Press brings us into the life of Maybelle Kazinski.
From the back cover: A patchwork quilt holds together two hearts separated by miles of ocean and the Second World War.
Maybelle can’t sew. But when she finds an unfinished quilt in her mother’s closet, she gets the crazy idea to complete it. At first, it’s just a way to fill the lonely nights while her husband, Holden Kazinski, is away fighting in World War II.
Yet when Maybelle discovers that the quilt is made from scraps of material that can be traced back through her family heritage, the project is suddenly much more important. Then word comes that Holden is missing in action, and with little else to do, Maybelle clings to the quilt as much as to the hope that her husband is still alive. As neighborhood friends gather around Maybelle to help her through the unknown days and nights ahead, it is the quilt that becomes a symbol of her unflagging belief that Holden will return—to her, to their home, and to their quilt-covered bed.
History, World War II, Quilting and Shipbuilding. Quite a mix and, on the outside, it seems difficult to write a story combining all these elements. Fear not, Ms. Magnin has captured them well and provided an excellent story. The men are off fighting but the jobs needed to be filled so the women stepped up to the challenge. Maybelle becomes a welder at a shipyard. She has never been a welder in her life however she is up to the challenge. She has never sewn before either but accepts that challenge as well. This is a story about spiritual growth, about stepping out of your comfort zones and of relying heavily upon God. All kinds of events happen and it takes a rock-hard foundation upon God to keep her grounded. Maybelle and the rest of the characters are outstanding and wonderful to be with and learn about. Ms. Magnin has done an outstanding job of bringing history to the table. There is a lot in this book, much to think about and it just interesting and exciting as well.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Maybelle in Stitches, Quilts of Love Series #16
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Women quilting during WW II

Date:April 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The time is World War II and the place is Chester, PA. Maybelle and several other women are working at Sun Ship, welding plates on new ships. They are young women helping support the war their husbands are fighting overseas.
Maybelle's life takes a serious turn when her mother suddenly dies. As she later goes through her mother's room she finds an unfinished quilt. Her friends identify it as a Crazy Quilt, one made from scraps of memorable material such as dresses, shirts, and baby blankets. They encourage her to continue her mother's work. But there is only one problem: Maybelle can't sew. She did, in fact, sew the zipper into the neck opening of her dress when in high school. But they offer to help her. It will help pass the evening time, especially after she receives the notice that her husband is missing in action.
This is a novel that concentrates on the working women of the period. There is lots of dialog of the time, like, “None of your beeswax,” and “Okeydokey.” There are lots of other indicators of the time. Remember oleomargarine and Burns and Allen on the radio?
The novel is not quite as emotionally wrenching as I thought it might be. Maybelle really misses her husband, as do some of the others. When one of the women gets word that her husband was killed, she seems to take it in stride. God is her stability but I was a bit surprised that she was ready to consider romance again in a couple of months.
There is not a great deal of action in this novel, nor is there much character development. In that respect it is what I might describe as light or low key historical fiction. It concentrates more on revealing the era than dealing with the character interaction. This might be fiction older (as in elderly) readers would enjoy, something quite nostalgic.
In the Author's Note, Magnin says she wanted to paint a picture of what it was like for women to work at Sun Ship. That aspect of the novel is based on the actual shipyard that made and repaired ships during the war.
Discussion questions have been included for reading groups.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book through Litfuse for the purpose of an independent and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Maybelle in Stitches, Quilts of Love Series #16
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Maybelle in Stitches by Joyce Magnin

Date:April 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This book is about Maybelle Kazinski, a welderette for Sun Shipbuilding and Dock in Chester, Pennsylvania. Maybelle was newly married when her husband was called off to war. Now he is missing in action and she is left to wonder if she will ever see him again. Her friend, Doris is determined to help keep hope alive so when Maybelle finds an unfinished quilt her mother had been making, Doris insists on gathering a few ladies to help finish it. It is a crazy quilt made from material that Maybelle identifies as scraps from her family history.
Maybelle is pretty disheartened by her own lack of skills when it comes to things like sewing, cooking and cleaning, all of the things most women know how to do, and she gave up repeatedly. Her best friend, Doris, was always there to encourage her and nudge her along and I loved that. Everyone needs that kind of friend in their life. Everyone really came together as a group to finish the quilt but it was much more than that. They were all women fighting for the same cause. They all had loved ones at war and each knew the other's sadness and pain. They were a sounding board for each other, a shoulder to lean on. I love that the book was about the war. I love war torn stories. Reading about the devastation and havoc of war can really speak to a person and touch their heart in a deeper way. I did find it a little slow, however. I kept waiting for the pace to pick up but it never did. The storyline was good and I liked the characters but it failed to really draw me into the story, to hook me. It was set in 1943 and the language and setting was true to that time period. One of the major sayings in the book was "what a gas" or "it's a gas". I thought that was great. Anyone that likes sewing or the background of the war efforts (it was mostly about building and repairing war ships) will like this book. If you like a fast paced novel it might not be for you.
Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review. The opinions expressed are mine alone. I received no monetary compensation for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Maybelle in Stitches, Quilts of Love Series #16
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Maybelle in Stitches

Date:April 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
World War II placed numerous women in the work force to aid in the country's war effort. The characters in Maybelle in Stitches are employees of a famous shipyard, the main character and her best friend working as welders. The women in this story are waiting for their husbands to arrive home from the war, passing the time together, visiting and sharing sad news as well as good. The main character's mother died, and when Maybelle was cleaning out her mother's things she discovered a quilt her mother had started, and numerous odd pieces of fabric. Those fabrics turned out to be pieces of cloth saved from clothing her family had worn, pieces of Maybelle's baby quilt, etc. A quilting group eventually formed to piece together memories of the past and the present, bringing these women together not only to create a warm bed covering, but a bit of hope to their lives.
It is obvious that a lot of research went into the writing of this book. The details regarding the shipyard and the type of work that women were doing throughout World War II was interesting. I enjoyed the camaraderie that developed between these women while putting together a crazy quilt of memories. I had a bit of trouble staying focused while reading the daily details of the characters, and the repetition. This book could have used more editing. There were a few discrepancies, etc. The last few chapters were quite enjoyable and I enjoyed the creation of the crazy quilt of memories.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from LitFuse in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Maybelle in Stitches, Quilts of Love Series #16
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

every quilt tells a story

Date:April 9, 2014
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found the storyline of this book very rich and fascinating. I can't say that I like World War II because it was an absolutely horrid war. However, it is a good setting for a story. I really liked the how the quilt not only tells a present story, but also a past story.
The past story is a reminder of Maybelle's mother, as she finds this unfinished quilt in her mother's closet. It's also a reminder that she will constantly look at and remember the time, emotions, and thoughts she had while her husband was lost at war.
At one point, I became overwhelmed by all the problems and bad news this circle of quilters were receiving! I know life can be like that at times, but I felt like I just wanted them to have a moment to breathe. My heart sunk to know Maybelle's husband and the love of her life was missing. I can not possibly begin to imagine all that you feel when you hear news like that, although I'm well aware that may through the years know exactly what that feels like.
I like the Quilts of Love series and reading how each quilt tells it's own story. I like reading the different authors, too, because they bring new styles of writing and new stories that make me want to read every one of these books in the series.
____________
I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group and Abingdon Press in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Maybelle in Stitches, Quilts of Love Series #16
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

With WWII being the background, this is a winner!

Date:April 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We all know about women being employed at factories during World War II as an effort to help do whatever they could to enable their men to come home from the war as soon as possible. For Maybelle Kazinski, she is doing her part as a welder in Sun Shipyard, getting ships ready to aid in the war effort. She had only been married for a couple of days to Holden before he was called to report for duty, but it was worth it to know that he would have her waiting for him when he returned, if he returned at all. It seems like the waiting was truly the hardest part and even though working for six days helped to pass the time, she would cringe whenever the doorbell rang expecting the worst.
She just wasn't prepared for that dreaded feeling in the pit of her stomach to take the life of her mother, Francine and leave her alone. She had lost her father earlier and besides Roger, one of her mother's boarders who also worked at Sun Shipyard who she had come to see as a brother of sort, she had no more family left. Her only consolation was her best friend Doris who also had a husband serving overseas. Between the two of them, they did what they could to encourage each other that the war would be over soon and their men would come home.
But life isn't always sunshine and roses! Fate intervenes when we least expect it and for Maybelle it would be when the doorbell rings and a yellow telegram is delivered. The only good thing about the news it contained was that Holden wasn't killed but simply missing in action. But for Maybelle it seemed to be her undoing. On the heels of her mother's death and Holden's MIA telegram she had to find something to keep time from crawling along. When she discovers a crazy quilt of scraps her mother was making as a surprise for her and Holden for Christmas, Doris decides to convince Maybelle that they should finish it. But Maybelle isn't exactly what you would called skilled at sewing or cooking for that matter. Her high school sewing project involved her sewing the zipper of her dress into the neck area instead. Something that is still laughed about between her and Doris. But at least it will help to pass the time between working and sewing.
I received Maybelle in Stitches by Joyce Magnin compliments of Abingdon Press and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. This is the 16th novel in the Quilts of Love Series and one that can be read as a stand alone as each talented author takes their turn at telling a story with the quilt at the centerpiece. Joyce appealed to not only the romance lover in my heart but to WWII lover as well. I loved the background story she researched about women working in the shipyards as welders for Sun Shipyard which she includes at the conclusion of this novel. It makes it so rich to read how difficult it was waiting for men to come home from the war not knowing if they would ever see them again. Hands down this one rates a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Maybelle in Stitches, Quilts of Love Series #16
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Winner in this Series!

Date:April 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the first page of this book, I was part of this story. My attention was grabbed and held captive until I finished the last page. The characters are described in such a way that they become friends. I laughed and cried with Maybelle and her friends, and at times, wished I could give her a big hug and yes, even some advice. These young war brides are all held together by the common bond of a husband/boyfriend away at war, not knowing if or when they would return. This is something I have read about in history but it became very real to me in the telling of this story.
The book had enough twists and turns in the plot to keep my interest throughout . Perhaps it was not fast moving, however, it encompassed so many emotions and feelings along the way that the reader is totally involved. The time is needed to process these and identify with the characters.
I believe my favorite part of the story was knowing that Maybelle was NOT a quilter, not even a sewer! I had to sit and giggle at some of the silly thoughts and actions . Her determination was clearly evident as the quilt grew and grew, along with her faith, strength and friendships. This quilt was a symbol of hope and belief that her husband would return to her. What a wonderful way of showing how God supplies our needs in some very unexpected ways!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Maybelle in Stitches, Quilts of Love Series #16
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not what I was expecting but a really good story.

Date:April 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
JCMorrows
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Funny story: My mother actually reviewed a Christmas novel by Joyce Magnin. She wasn’t even expecting to… It was a complete surprise to her when the box arrived in the mail – 7 books to review and only a few days to do it.
Needless to say, it was a rough couple of weeks.
In a way this has been a similar situation for me. Because this book was not precisely what I was expecting.
With Maybelle in Stitches, I knew I was getting a book about a woman who’s husband is off at war but I didn’t realize which war.
It’s very interesting, how Joyce brings the period to life – writing about the everyday little things you might not ordinarily glean from a history book, or even doing deep research of the period.
The story line of this book is filled with sadness but that’s not really surprising.
What is surprising is that it’s not depressing. It’s sad but it’s interesting and it pulls you in. You find yourself laughing with Maybelle and you find yourself wanting to reach over and give her a big hug.
If you enjoy books about the WWII era, this is definitely a book you would enjoy!
Give it a try.
And, if you enjoy her writing, you may want to check out some of Joyce Magnin’s other books as well.
Disclaimer: I received this book free in exchange for an honest review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Maybelle in Stitches, Quilts of Love Series #16
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Loved the crazy quilt

Date:April 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I have never read this author so it was fun reading a new author. I enjoyed the story and it was quite interesting to see the everyday life of the ladies who worked in the ship yards as welderettes. I found the fact that people shared housing during the war very interesting. I don't know if I had ever heard that before. The story was good, I loved the quilt part of the story, I love crazy quilts, maybe someday I will be brave enough to try one. 3.5 stars from this reviewer.
This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Maybelle in Stitches, Quilts of Love Series #16
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good Premise

Date:March 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
The premise of the story is a good one. Maybelle is a woman without many talents; however, her best friend, Doris, seems to be able to do most anything. There is a good bit about quilting, and a small group of women comprise a quilting bee. The quilt fills the long hours while the ladies wait for their husbands to return from the war.
I did not enjoy this one. The slow pace of the novel frustrated me. It is repetitious. For example, the phrase, "Loose lips sink ships" is mentioned five times! In addition, better editing would weed out grammatical errors like, "... Logan approach Maybelle" (173).
Discussion questions are included.
Thank you to Bonnie at Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and Abingdon Press for my copy.ise
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.