Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers Morning and Evening - KJV

Hendrickson Publishers Morning and Evening - KJV

For thousands of Christians over the last century, Charles Haddon Spurgeon's Morning and Evening has been a daily devotional guide through life's ups and downs. New generations can once again enjoy Spurgeon's beautiful prose and elegant command of the English language in this completely revised edition. Morning and Evening offers readers the best of Spurgeon's insight and wise counsel on themes that are as relevant to our day as they were in his day. In this updated version, Spurgeon's work is returned to its former brilliance while retaining the beautiful language of the original King James Version.
Average Customer Rating:
4.632 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
67
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
65 out of 6698%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Morning and Evening - KJV
Review 1 for Morning and Evening - KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A true Devotion that points to Christ

Date:September 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Eric Smith
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These devotions, written by the prince of preachers, will have you looking to scripture to know the Savior more intimately. While Spurgeon is certainly not a perfect man, he writes devotions about a perfect God, and you see this in every devotion. You will see God's attributes glorified in a way that not only deepens your knowledge of God, but your love and commitment to Him. These thought-provoking devotions assist in helping us renew our minds in a way modern devotions do not. And I know some have issues with the 19th Century language, but the elegance of that language actually gives more beauty to the subject matter at hand; Jesus Christ. If you want to read devotions that will start your morning and end your evening pointing to our glorious Savior, please pick this one up; it has blessed my wife and I tremendously.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Morning and Evening - KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent quality

Date:September 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
james
Location:Baton Rouge, LA.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
an excellent devotional book for each day of the year giving month and day and devotional topic from a Bible verse
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Morning and Evening - KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exactly What I Was Hoping For!

Date:July 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has been an amazing devotional. I was a little concerned at first about how things would be worded; I wanted it to be as close to the original text as possible - and this fits the bill for me. Of course, that means it has the "thous" and "wilts", so if that's not what your looking for, this might not be the best choice for you. The quality of the material itself is really good; the cover is nice and smooth, and the paper is pretty sturdy and gold-sided. Delivery time was also very good. I am extremely pleased with this, and would recommend it to anyone.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Morning and Evening - KJV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My mom loves it

Date:January 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lady Di
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was a Christmas gift for my mom and she loves it
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Morning and Evening - KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book helps keep your mind on our Lord.

Date:January 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kevin Meier
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spurgeon in my humble opinion keeps ones heart on what matters. Not many in this day and age can come close to the eloquence of this man of God.
Personally I have had a life that is extremely challenging. I take everything people teach or challenge in Gods Word, and check it in the Bible. C.H. Spurgeon has opened my eyes to many things that have not been that apparent in Gods Word to me. Clearly and concisely he pulls from nature and his surrounding. It is an AWESOME work.
I love that it is the King James Version. For my tastes there are way too many -I will call them loose translations / interpretations of Gods Word.
This version feels wonderful in the hand, smooth leather-like feel. It is small enough to take anywhere you go.
Plus I like that it is two times a day.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Morning and Evening - KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A classic devotion

Date:October 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mana
Location:Missouri
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is KJV, so it is for those who are familiar with old English text. It is very poetic and reminds me of old hymns. I love the soft leather cover and gilt page edges. Spurgeon is one of the greats and it is wonderful to be able to read his original writings. The devotions are short one page for morning and one for evening. Yet the truths presented are so powerful and profound that they make me ponder them all day and night. I first came across these devotions online. So if you want to try it out before buying the book, I would highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Morning and Evening - KJV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
reorge
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice quality and delivers a great daily message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Morning and Evening - KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was a gift for a close friend.

Date:August 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fourball
Location:Ville Platte, LA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful devotional that I was proud to offer to a dear friend whose well worn devotional had separated from its cover.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Morning and Evening - KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sallyjo
Location:Idaho
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Love it! His texts and notes are always just what I need to hear and very in line with scripture. I can't wait for the morning or evening of a day so that I can read another one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Morning and Evening - KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Morning and Evening prayer and meditations

Date:January 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
gail
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this book everyday now...and it really helps me focus on my life in Christ Jesus. It teaches me so many things I thought I knew before also and helps me to keep my life on the right path...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Morning and Evening - KJV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hard to understand

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
shedrock
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I found this devotional a bit difficult to understand when reading. The words used in each devotional doesn't seem to roll off the tongue.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Morning and Evening - KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect Gift

Date:January 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Vann
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a perfect gift for anyone. The size is just right to use it anywhere and the cover is well designed. Spurgeon is timeless.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Morning and Evening - KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book reminds me of a little leather Bible

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bobbie Mcnatt
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the KJV because of its poetry and Charles Spurgeon gives wonderful insights.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Morning and Evening - KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

l absolutely love everyhting this product offers.

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vicki
Location:Australia, Victoria
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book has strong binding,love the older type writing,its in very good condition,i have enjoyed this book i have for myself, so wanting to give others copies, like family, thought the postage was excellent,considering it came all the way from overseas, so thank -you very much, it was a excellent price, it did take 6wks to arrive here in Australia, but that was good it wasn't any longer.
Thank-you,
Kind Regards.
Vicki.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Morning and Evening - KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mitch
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a Great Devotional I read Spurgeon everyday when I can Spurgeon always has something encouraging to say.
If you are looking for a Biblical Devotional look no further. C.H. Spurgeon the "Prince of Preachers" will encourage you in your walk with the Lord.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Morning and Evening - KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Insightful helps!

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Margaret Ketler
Location:Winkler, MB
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I throughly enjoy this book. Every morning and evening it picks a good verse and has just the right words or has something new to show me from the word of God. I would definetely recommend this book to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Morning and Evening - KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Valuable Resource for Spiritual Insight

Date:May 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Paula
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Charles Spurgeon's Morning and Evening (KJV) is a valuable resource for spiritual insight. It contains one devotion for the morning and one for the evening. Each devotion brings both hope and conviction for "rightly dividing" the word of truth; and the style of writing is as poetic as the Word on which it expounds. It is truly delightful. I love it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Morning and Evening - KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
shorty
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This devotional truly makes you contemplate your relationship with Christ. It truly speaks to the heart of man.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Morning and Evening - KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent for all Christians

Date:April 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
JACarver
Location:freeville ny
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recent lost my wife of 49 years and was looking for a companion to my Bible that would help me through this time of grieving , and this book is filling this need perfectly so much so that I have purchased four more to give out to some of my Christian friend that are going through difficult time .. thank you for making this available at such a reasonable price .. it's well worth getting ..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Morning and Evening - KJV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A total Joy!

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cetti
Location:Dorset, UK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a book to keep for ever and never lend, even to my best friend!
Since my beloved husband died suddenly I've become so much closer to Jesus and have searched the scriptures for help and guidance to help me along this path that no one wants to take.
This beautiful book is just packed full of wisdom, insight and endless love, but addressed in a way so easy to understand. I particularly love the layout of daily Bible readings with words for morning and evening - and am
just so glad to have chosen the King James version, as the language fits beautifully to the times when Spurgeon was giving his sermons, although the truth is bang up to date and relevant to every circumstance of life.
For 'All the Seasons of the Heart' is an expression I love and it's pertinent and apt. Wherever you are on life's journey this jewel is for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.