Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oxford University Press NKJV, Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave bonded leather, brown/tan, thumb-indexed

Oxford University Press NKJV, Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave bonded leather, brown/tan, thumb-indexed

This edition combines the renowned Scofield notes and reference system with the New King James Version, one of the most popular modern Bible translations. But that's not all: The fruit of Dr. C. I. Scofield's decades of reflection upon the Word of God have been augmented (not revised) to make the ideas underlying the Scofield Study Bible's annotations clearer to modern readers. An abundance of factual information is presented in topical articles, charts, and lists that add depth and richness to study time.

Everything about this edition has been designed to encourage serious Bible study. First-time students and seasoned believers alike will find this volume to be a trustworthy guide to the panorama of God's plan of salvation.

Features:
  • Enhanced book introductions
  • Accurate in-text maps
  • Authoritative full color maps
  • Page bottom notes broaden the context of your understanding
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Thumb-indexed
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gold page edges
  • Presentation page
  • Famly record pages
  • 6.75" x 9.5" x 1.5"
Average Customer Rating:
4.74 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
64
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
48 out of 5292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NKJV, Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave bonded leather, brown/tan, thumb-indexed
Review 1 for NKJV, Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave bonded leather, brown/tan, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Bible

Date:March 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Seyah64
Location:Northern Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great bible, good leather, well made.
Study notes a reliable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NKJV, Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave bonded leather, brown/tan, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

beautiful bible

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
dane
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice cover great quality for a very good price can't go wrong. Its on par against my goatskin nasb on page and paper quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NKJV, Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave bonded leather, brown/tan, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exactly What I Was Wanting

Date:January 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
RSF1
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible has all the features I wanted and all for a really good price. This is the first purchase I've made from christianbook.com. I was very pleased with this company and would purchase from them again. Price was good, search capabilities on the website was excellent, the product I wanted was in stock, and I received the shipment very quickly. I purchased each person in my family the exact same bible for Christmas. My son said this was his favorite Christmas gift. Hearing that was priceless.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NKJV, Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave bonded leather, brown/tan, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful leather cover, nice size print and paper

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Toads
Location:San Diego, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so impressed with my first Bible purchase, I ordered another for my husband. The Bible is beautiful, and the quality is perfect and the price was exceptional. Wrapping it to go under the tree, but can't wait to start using it. Our last Bibles are 35 years old, and well used. I think these will be our last ones, as I expect them to last at least as long! We will be buying more from Christianbook.com in the future, you were wonderful to work with!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NKJV, Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave bonded leather, brown/tan, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Study Bible

Date:October 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
GP7707
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible, from the leather cover to the footnotes and study themes. I highly recommended for anyone aspiring to teach and preach the word of God.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NKJV, Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave bonded leather, brown/tan, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great for people who cannot UNDERSTAND k.j.v.

Date:October 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Harry
Location:Blackwood,N.J.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave it away to an christian friend.He was very grateful for it
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NKJV, Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave bonded leather, brown/tan, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review

Date:September 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gameboie
Location:Tucson, Az
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this New King James Version of the bible. It is nicely made and has enough notes and information for me. I am really new to reading the bible and had a non King James study bible and this is much more helpful.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NKJV, Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave bonded leather, brown/tan, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very pleased

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carter
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a great gift from our church for two teenaged girls at their baptism. They loved the Bibles. Thanks.
Had their names printed on cover also - well pleased with results.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NKJV, Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave bonded leather, brown/tan, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My comments are for CBD...not their customers

Date:April 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
JeninNH
Location:Manchester NH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While I am thankful to have a new study Bible, it was disappointing not to be able to purchase the one I wanted. My well-worn leather bound NKJV Open Bible was literally falling to pieces. I was looking for the same thing, but could not get one in genuine leather. So I opted for the Scofield which was the closest to what I had been using, although not the same. The only kind that was available was thumb-indexed. The thumb indexing is not helpful to me; and sometimes feels like it is in the way. If I had wanted a novelty Bible there were certainly plenty to choose from. A quality leather bound study Bible is certainly difficult to find!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NKJV, Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave bonded leather, brown/tan, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ranch Momma
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was hoping for more notes. I thought that there would be more history/cultural explanations. The Bible itself is quality constructed and will last many years!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NKJV, Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave bonded leather, brown/tan, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I LOVE IT!

Date:April 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heaven Bound
Location:Connecticut
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was definitely a very good value for the price. My only regret is that I chose the thumb-indexed version which I've never had before, and will never get again because it inhibits rather than helps quick turning to passages.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NKJV, Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave bonded leather, brown/tan, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Same-Format Chapter Outlines: Perfect 4 Self-Study

Date:February 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jimi
Location:Annapolis, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NKJV translation is the first-time I've ever been able to read (and study) the Bible, without getting a headache!
If you want to keep-up with your pastor, definitely get the indexed-version, find the section you want first, put your favorite-thumb on the tab, sweep your favorite index-finger around to the back, then squeeze that section gently, lift it up so it just-clears the table (or your lap), then release the section again: you should now be looking at the index to the first book of that section. (each section has 3 books for quicker-access.)
Finally, if you are an elderly-person (or this is a gift for an elderly person), make sure to order the LARGE PRINT version.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NKJV, Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave bonded leather, brown/tan, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very valuable bible study guide

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
josh
Location:Tokyo, Japan
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this bible to anyone who would personally like to study the scripture on his/her own.
I believe this will be a great spiritual resource.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NKJV, Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave bonded leather, brown/tan, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mywy
Location:Ga.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The quality of this Bible is great and the service I received was the greatest!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NKJV, Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave bonded leather, brown/tan, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rick
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good purchase and the bible has excellent study notes.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NKJV, Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave bonded leather, brown/tan, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
PercentExpert30
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bible. It is perfect for me. I love the thumb index. I love the fact that it's a study bible. And it has a concordance. Plus, it's my pastor's preferred translation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NKJV, Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave bonded leather, brown/tan, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very easy to read like the layout.

Date:September 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cmour
Location:New Hampsire
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The one complaint I have is the book name and chapter are in the middle of the pages, and not on the edges, even with thumb index its very hard to find the book quick and easy, not being able to zoom trough looking at the corner of the pages.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NKJV, Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave bonded leather, brown/tan, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not as expected

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:Modesto, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First the NKJV for Scofield is nice to have. It is different than my original Scofield. I wish they had kept the helps of the old in this new version and added the new helps without removing some of the old. The new helps are nice, but I am glad to have both the old and new to compare.
However.... I am not happy with the quality of the leather at all. I ordered genuine leather but it feels like bonded leather.
Customer service assured me it was leather but perhaps not the quality of leather I already have.
Also: I paid to have my name put on the Bible. Normally this is done in the lower right hand corner of the front. This was on the front but....about an inch in and up from the corner. It appears to be floating on the front of the Bible.
Also: I noticed the Bible was printed in Korea not the USA. Perhaps that explains the problem in the leather. I prefer to buy USA and wish they had stated that on their web site.
I am not sure that I will purchase a Bible online again. After I had it a week I decided to tell them my disappointment in it. They did offer for me to send it back, but I chose not to. I noticed they have changed their description to give more info than was there when I purchased mine, but still it does not state that they are printed in Korea. I prefer to buy USA and keep our jobs at home. I was shocked to see our Bible's are being printed in another country.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NKJV, Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave bonded leather, brown/tan, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good product, well made very helpful.

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joe K
Location:Fontana CA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User submitted photo
The Scofield bible I purchased is the third one I bought. I bought one in all the versions, KJ. NKJ, NIV. These all give a little different aspect of the bible in general but with a little different language, and in some instances a little bit different interpretation of scripture. However, I think they give a much clearer picture of the Bible in having all of them. I realize for the purists, the KJ is the only way to go, but if you like plain language, compare all of them. They are certainly at a good price point. All three Scofield Bibles I bought, don't add up to the price of a Cambridge Goatskin I purchased. The Scofield Bibles are in easily to read larger text, quality maps and dictionary and concordance. The comments made by Scofield ( even though there is controversy about where the information came from) are helpful. I don't necessarily agree with all Scofield commentary all the time, however the historical content is heplful. If you are a Bible scholar, or aspire to be one, one day, the Scofield study Bible is a great value. Good paper quality, quality leather binding. Alot of hard work put into it. All this for under $ 50.00. In my estimation, it's a good bargain. Now it's a matter of putting all the words of the Bible into one's Christian life. Reading isn't enough. Be Blessed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NKJV, Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave bonded leather, brown/tan, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent product

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
dmgt
Location:Ottawa, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NKJV Scofield Study Bible exceeded expectations. The font type and size were perfect. There were lots of additional information in history and origine of each book. I loved the concordance. The leather was top quality. I know this book will last a long time. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.