Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles What Is a Healthy Church Member? - eBook

Crossway Books & Bibles What Is a Healthy Church Member? - eBook

God intends for all Christians to play an active and vital part in the local church. He wants us to experience the local church as a home more profoundly wonderful and meaningful than any other place on earth. He intends for churches to be healthy places, filled with church members who contribute to the church's growth and health. In this book, pastor Thabiti Anyabwile explains how membership in the local church can produce spiritual growth in its members.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for What Is a Healthy Church Member? - eBook
Review 1 for What Is a Healthy Church Member? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent adaptation of Dever's "9 Marks..." book

Date:January 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
norske rev
Location:Des Plaines, Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little book is a brilliant adaptation of the principles espoused in Mark Dever's "9 Marks of a Healthy Church." I wish everyone in my church could read it. I am going to get copies for all of our leaders and have them review it with me. I am going to propose that we give a copy to each new member. I am also going to propose that each of our small groups take a few weeks to read and discuss how to apply this excellent little volume. A true gift from God to the modern Church. The e-book version is nice because of the highlighting, bookmark, and note-taking features. Also, I really appreciate that I can have this e-book on all my devices (I-Pad, PC, and Android), so it is always available. It is surprisingly readable even on my phone's rather small screen. Terrific! Hats-off to CBD for their generous policy and reader app.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for What Is a Healthy Church Member? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Recovering the meaning of church membership

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
David Gough
Location:Alexandria, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thabiti Anyabwile has provided an excellent and necessary resource to churches looking to define (and in some cases redefine) the meaning of membership. It proves to be especially helpful for church leaders seeking to reform and renew their congregations. In a concise manner the author presents ten identifying marks of a healthy church member. Those familiar with Mark Dever's "What Is a Healthy Church?" or his larger volume, "9 Marks of a Healthy Church," will recognize this title as being a more personal approach to the same subject. Indeed, this is another in the series of small books produced by 9 Marks. Each makes for a quick individual read, but would be well suited for small group studies as well. New or prospective member classes would find this a good resource to use. It could also be employed among long-time church members who need to be reminded afresh of their commitment to Christ and His Church. Anyabwile is to be commended, as are the other writers in the 9 Marks series, for putting the theological cookies on the low shelf. There are more weighty books on this subject out there, but this one is practical and to the point. It should be widely read by anyone who cares about having a church membership that is committed to the Savior and biblically informed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for What Is a Healthy Church Member? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
West Haysville Baptist Church
Location:Haysville, Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little book spells out the responsibilities of church membership. Be warned, however--if you're a "pew-sitter" this book is not for you. Here you'll learn how to contribute to your local church, to be a part of it's Kingdom mission!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for What Is a Healthy Church Member? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book explains church membership.

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
TCVan
Location:Cairo, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book shows how God's Word presents the fact that becoming a church member or not, is simply not an option. Rather, it is the Holy Spirit-prescribed relationship for all believers. In a world where even some "Christians" balk at any requirements of Christians, this work presents God's expectations of Christians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for What Is a Healthy Church Member? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this in my Bible study. Excellent reception from the group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for What Is a Healthy Church Member? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good for a study in Sunday School

Date:November 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
His Gifts
Location:Savannah, Ga
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our Sunday School class has been using this book as a study resource. I think it would be a helpful guide to anyone who is concerned about truly following Christ in the way He intended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for What Is a Healthy Church Member? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Overall I felt like the content was satisfactory.

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
PadrePapa
Location:Hannibal, Mo
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I enjoyed the book as a followup to Mark Dever's: What is a healthy church? However I felt slightly dissappointed that in my view it did not expand as deep as I hoped on the individual marks. There were areas of the book that I really was impressed with such as Mark 2 on being a Biblical Theologian. I agree we as church members need much more of an understanding of God. Where this and a couple of other chapters hit on an angle of the subject that were enlightening and inspiring, many of the other chapters felt like deja vu from reading countless other books on prayer and humility. I also felt like too many sections were to general and not personally evasive enough and did not provoke deep personal examination as Mark Dever's book about the Healthy Church. Overall I would recommend the book as a resource, but was personally slightly dissapointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for What Is a Healthy Church Member? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rod Bowersox
This is a great little book that is easy to read, easy to understand and very pointedly biblical. I think it would be very appropriate for a new member's class to get them started on their journey with the Church.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for What Is a Healthy Church Member? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Justin
Short, practical, easy to read book on a VERY important topic. Every Christian should read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for What Is a Healthy Church Member? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rev. Doyle Peyton
A short, practical, biblical,theologically rich portrait of what a church member should be. Excellent for elders groups, small groups, etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.