Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pumpkin Seed Press The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood

Pumpkin Seed Press The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood

This companion guide to Beautiful Girlhood provides an enjoyable way for mothers and daughters to discuss and ponder the principles set forth in the book. Thought-provoking questions, pertinent Bible study and application questions, and inspiring quotations for discussion and journaling are included. Build precious memories and strong character while guiding your daughter from Beautiful Girlhood to Winsome Womanhood! Approximately 32 weeks to complete. Softcover. 133 pages. Ages 9-12.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood
Review 1 for The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a great companion guide.

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Agirl
Location:Colleyville, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful Girlhood is such a sweet and innocent celebration of a girl's life inspiring girls and their moms as they begin to grow from girls to young women. The companion guide to Beautiful Girlhood is an added blessing to enhance the mother/daughter relationship as moms seek to encourage their daughters and teach them timeless values and character they so desire them to develop. The language is quaint and reminiscent of days gone by which adds to the charming appeal of the message. Biblical character and virtue are unchanging and so the themes of this book are timeless. The questions are thought provoking and provide a spring board for treasured conversation between moms and daughters. I highly recommend this guide to complement Beautiful Girlhood.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great tool for discipling your daughter

Date:September 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
CyndiLouWho
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By itself Beautiful Girlhood is a great book to read with your daughter. It covers a variety of topics that a 9-12 year young lady will encounter during the years between young girlhood and adolescence; it really challenges a young lady to live in a godly manner, in spite of the whirling emotions and changes going on in her body. While a mom could just read and discuss the book with her daughter, Shelley Noonan’s The Companion to Beautiful Girlhood makes the book much more meaningful and easier to use. After all, she has done all of the hard work for you! Not only does the guide offer thoughtful questions to discuss with your daughter after reading each chapter together, but it also contains a “Bible Activities and Application” section. Shelley has compiled a list of Scripture that pertain to each topic and then asks thought provoking questions, encouraging girls to apply God’s Word to their lives. These activities could be done with Mom or as a quiet time activity for the daughter. Lastly, each chapter contains journal questions with space to write in the Companion Guide, making it a great keepsake for your daughter. Often times, other people’s quotes are used to inspire girls to think and write more deeply on the subject at hand.
I personally am looking forward to using this Companion Guide with my daughters. While I may add to or change the discussion questions depending on their own bents and personalities, I am so thankful to have a tool to guide me through these important and life-changing discussions.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent devotion guide for mothers and girls

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
msbrooks26
Location:Dallas, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful Girlhood taught me a great deal about how to train my daughters how to experience excellence in girlhood; while the companion guide helped build a bridge between our teaching, devotion and application time. With the help of the guide, I have not only taken my devotion with God more seriously, but I am also able to teach my girls to do the same, starting at young ages. The questions we discuss are very thought provoking. We now have a plan for allowing God to shape our daughters' character in a very appealing and current way.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
joygirl
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this book to be a wonderful resource for a mother/daughter study! Would definitely recommend to any mom who may not have received the guidance she longed for herself during those younger years, but wants to walk her daughter through the challenging voyage of adolecense.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood

Date:June 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimbee
Location:Spring Valley, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood
This is a challenging 32 week study for mothers to read with their daughters. It opens up avenues for conversations that one may want to have with a daughter but are not sure how to approach the topic. Many times the readings were convicting but offered correction, encouragement and grace. The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood encourages moms and daughters to think about, discuss, pray and journal while creating a very special relationship. This guide helps daughters develop purposeful quiet time with the Lord and encourages them through their transition from girlhood to womanhood.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Useful for Mom/Girl Time

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jessie T
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great conversation starter for “girl time” with your daughter. I had been reading the original book, Beautiful Girlhood, with my daughter, then we would use this book to help us think through how to go from being a little girl to an young woman. It has given me great questions to help me understand how she is thinking about life. Great for moms trying to figure how to speak truth and love into their daughter!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Resource for Moms and Daughters

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
thearmychapswife
Location:Elkhart, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking for some type of character studies to do with my daughter, and I was so excited when I found this! Designed to be used along with Beautiful Girlhood, each chapter has Discussion Questions, Bible Activities and Application, and a Journal Response Page.
Engaging and practical, this 32-week study is meant to take Mom and Daughter into a deeper relationship with one another and with the Lord.
I plan on using this next year in our homeschool with my 11 year-old as a special one-on-one time. I'm excited and looking forward to what God will do through our time together using this book!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Mother Daughter Bible Study

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
FarmMom4Him
Location:KS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is like a small notebook to journal your way through Beautiful Girlhood. It contains scripture references for further study, journaling topics, pages for journaling, discussion questions and Bible Activities and Application. These books are meant to be done together by mother and daughter, though the daughter is expected to do the journaling. This book is for ages 9-13. A few of the character topics covered are:
Friendships
Obedience
Truthfulness
Sincerity
Responsibility
Some of the topics will be a bit awkward for some moms who may not have been raised in an open relationship with their mother, I find this to be a good way to help open the discussion of these topics with their daughter.
For our family we will be covering the 32 chapters of the book over 32 weeks. I also believe, that we will wait until the age of ten or eleven to work through this book. Though I will be reading through it and applying many of the thoughts and such that I bring away from it in my daily parenting of three daughters.
This should be a must have for any Christian home with young girls. The mother-daughter relationship is sure to be strengthened and opened in a new way as you work through this book together.
I was provided a copy of The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood for my honest review
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book Review: The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girl

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Malia Russell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When you read a book such as Beautiful Girlhood (See my review here), there are so many wonderful opportunities to share and discuss the things you learn with your daughter. If you and your daughter are interested in a deeper conversation I would highly suggest The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood. Each chapter begins with a key quote from the chapter of the book. Then, each chapter includes some key discussion questions. Next, each chapter includes relevant scripture references and application of the scriptures to the topics at hand. Finally each chapter ends with journal topics. These topics may include interviewing someone, pondering what was covered in the chapter, commenting on a quote from the book, or imagining what the girl’s future life will be like when the principles in the book are applied. This delightful companion will make you and your daughter’s Beautiful Girlhood experience one you will treasure.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful time for mothers and daughters

Date:June 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
OhioSarah
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful Girlhood revised by Karen Andreola from the original 1940 written by Mabel Hale has lost none of the richness or educational value, but the text has been cleaned up to make for an easier to understand book. Beautiful Girlhood is written for the girls between the ages of 9 and 15 whose mother’s or even grandma’s want to guide them as they begin the journey to womanhood and need some sure guidance.
Some chapters are:
From the Child to the Woman
Character-building
A Sunny Disposition
Dreams
Friendships
Boy Friends
A Pure Heart
and more (33 chapters in all)
While the book itself is wonderful the companion guide takes it one step further in allowing for 32 character training lessons for the young girl. There is one more reading in the Beautiful Girlhood book but that does not detract from the value of the companion guide. The companion guide with it’s discussion questions, Bible study and journal prompts with enough space to do the journal writing will give both moms and daughters Scriptural food for thought.
This could be easily done in 32 weeks by devoting one chapter a week and working on the applications throughout during that week. The discussion questions will open dialogue between the moms and daughters and keep those lines of communication open that are so dire during this time in what can often be a turbulent period as girls are discovering more about themselves, and trying to decide between what the world wants and what God wants from them.
The Bible activities and applications could be as simple as looking up suggested Bible verses and writing the character traits that are discussed to memorizing Bible passages and making lists of things they can improve on. The journal topics gives two topics that the daughter can choose between or even do both, if there isn’t enough room, gift her a beautiful journal. Some topics covered are listing goals and evaluating them in light of Scripture, describe a person who has a pure heart, write a thank you note to their parents in regards to their positions on dating, and more.
This is a beautiful book that every mom should strive to go over with their daughter as they become young ladies. My 9 year old daughter is more mature and has asked about dating vs. courtship and other such things so as we continue to go through this study together I’ll be able to give her more of a solid grounding in Biblical applications, other than me just saying “because I told you so.” A great asset if the husband isn’t a Believer or isn’t on the same mind – the daughter and mom can study this and through prayer the daughter can obtain her own convictions through the Lord.
**I was provided a copy of The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood and Beautiful Girlhood from Pumpkin Seed Press in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect timing,

Date:June 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
jeanne
Location:indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having an older daughter (age 21) I thought I remembered what it is to raise a young lady. I thought this book probably would be a refresher course for me. I was surprised! My 2nd daughter only 9 1/2 was becoming a young lady before I realized. This was a wonderful way to talk casually with her regarding how I had felt as a young girl. I forgot how to think about these things. This was a way I could read ahead and decide if she was ready and then talk about them as I was remembering my own childhood transition. I almost lost this wonderful opportunity. She was ready for some but not all. Shelley has given some wonderful jumping off points. I am not always able to put thoughts into practical applications, Mrs. Noonan knows what it is to talk about and teach in a personal way. I highly recommend using the bible scripture activities. I was able to turn it into a mommy-daughter time that helped my daughter talk about what she had been thinking as well as the book time.For me, I appreciated Mrs. Noonan's way of articulating exactly what motherhood is. Many times I get overwhelmed by the logistics of how to run my house and forget "why". How many of our daughters know what it is to "act" like a mother, but not sure why it is important as a God-given joy and responsibility.This was a good book to use in pieces and choose what was right for the time and what to save for later. I am so glad I took the time to treasure these rare days with my daughter.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Study for Mother/Daughter Time Together

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amy P
Location:NW Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 9 y/o daughter and I have been going through this study together. It has been so good at bringing up various topics in our talk. She gets my undivided attention and is allowed time to process her thoughts and share feelings and situations with me that never would have happened had we not started this study together. We are both loving it and look forward to our Girl Time together each week.
This book is meant as an accompaniment to the book Beautiful Girlhood by Mabel Hale, revised by Karen Andreola in 1993. Each chapter of that book deals with different character traits, and the Companion Guide is a great supplement that includes discussion questions, a Bible study and activities, and space for a journal with journal topic suggestions. The two together make a great study and discussion time together with your daughter. I am so thankful for this resource and the time I've had with my daughter because of it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Answer to Prayer!

Date:April 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimba
Location:Brooklyn, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now more than ever before, our daughters face a dangerous journey as they travel from girlhood to womanhood. The rocky path is filled with enticements, distractions, and folly that can ensnare and trap a young woman, a "rose in bloom", and deter her from blossoming into all that God intends for her to be. This journey can only be successfully completed with the help of a guide and a mother makes the perfect companion.
However, many mothers need a little help/training to ensure they cover all the areas that can nurture their daughter along the way. Filled with thought-provoking questions, biblical application, and journaling prompts, "The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood" makes the journey easier for both mother and daughter. While the classic original book, "Beautiful Girlhood" contained a great deal of insightful and necessary information, much of the depth and practicality of the lessons in that book could be easily overlooked if one did not slow down to ask questions and search scripture to find the biblical relevance. Shelley Noonan and Kimberly Zach have much of the legwork required for a mother to mentor her daughters through all the confusing physical and social changes of the tween years.
As my eldest daughter has approached her teen years, I have often found myself at a loss for ways to handle various situations. I have prayed for help from the Lord in raising godly girls and I believe "The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood" (and the original book) are part of the answer to this prayer! I am looking forward to many more weeks of building lasting memories as I travel with my daughter down the road to her beautiful future!
This book could also be used as the basis for a Christian girls club or Bible study for young ladies.
Thank you for this incredible resource!!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gentle guide to mentoring your daughter

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
mom2jc
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the younger set, The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood is a lovely mother/daughter character and Bible study that guides a preteen during a normally rocky time of change. It opens of the lines of communication and directs both mother and daughter to reflect on important life lessons that many don't learn until adulthood. What is nice about this study is that it is very flexible, and no matter how you go about it, you are bound to achieve the end result of developing a closer relationship with your daughter. Recommended for a purposeful guide to mentoring your daughter on becoming a Christian woman.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A blessing for mothers and their daughters!

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Oosragirl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a mother blessed with three beautiful daughters, I am in constant prayer for wisdom. I believe that Beautiful Girlhood and the Companion Guide have been an answer to prayer. Even though all three of my daughters have been uniquely created I am confident that this book/guide will be a huge resource for all of them! The study can be used from cover to cover and/or utilized as needed based on the concepts in each chapter. The guide book is a great resource to open communication, implement biblical principals and create everlasting bonds between mothers and daughters!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has great Biblical applications

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pumpkin
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is beautifully written. I love the idea of having a cup of tea, while going through this. The chapters are laid out well. The discussion questions really make you think and you gives you the freedom to go into a little detail or a lot of detail on that particular question. I LOVE how each chapter has Bible activities and application. The journaling section gives ample room to write about what you learned for that character quality. I’m looking forward to spending one on one time with my daughter(s), as we journal our thoughts, ideas, and prayers for her Godly life, which is before her. THANK YOU so much for writing this book.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Resource!

Date:April 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angie
Location:USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the effort to educate our girls, I don’t want to get lost in the academics and forget the most important lessons of all – training their character. The Companion to Beautiful Girlhood provides a wonderful roadmap with thought provoking questions and Biblical relevancy. Shelley Noonan has charted the course with her Companion by leading us into precious conversations with our daughters, utilizing Beautiful Girlhood as the foundation. By completing the included journal pages in the Companion, mother and daughter will have a delightful record of this 32 lesson journey. I had good intentions of utilizing Beautiful Girlhood but because of Shelley’s Companion Guide, all the legwork is completed and I get to reap the benefits of invaluable conversations with my girls.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book for tweens!

Date:March 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachael
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood is a wonderful resource for the book. My daughter and I enjoyed reading the chapters together, but having the companion guide helped it feel more complete. Each chapter provides an oppertunity to discuss some questions from the reading selection. Then you move onto Bible versus that are applicable to the topic and activites that can be done. My daughter enjoyed the journal pages provided at the end as well. I can't wait to start this with my next daughter. A valuable character training resource for girls.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Priceless Resource!

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nannascraps
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood is a welcome addition to the time-treasured book, Beautiful Girlhood. These books have long been appreciated by many parents as a priceless resource for daughters who are entering those important years leading to womanhood. True beauty in a girl is “a quality of the mind and heart and is manifested in word and deed” is stated in the initial book. The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood, written by Shelley Noonan and Kimberly Zach, wonderfully supports and enhances what Beautiful Girlhood represents. The thought provoking questions, with the activities and applications, can be used by a mother and daughter together for a rich time of growth in the important lessons of life which that daughter will face. Also, I believe daughters would benefit from the journaling topics included. As a mom and grandmom of girls, I am grateful for what Shelley and Kimberly have done in providing this companion guide for our generation of young ladies. It is greatly needed and I view it as a kind gift from the Lord to current day mothers and daughters. I highly recommend this book!
M.R.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mother Daughter study

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood" is a lovely guide in helping you work through the chapters of "Beautiful Girlhood." Each chaper of the guide is filled with elegant quotes, thought provoking questions to discuss, Biblical application, as well as a journal page. My daugher and I had many delightful times, usually with a cup of tea, sharing together as she is growing to become a godly woman. The companion Guide added a greater depth to the Beautiful Girlhood book. As a mom I am so thankful for books like this to help me enjoy watching a beautiful bud open into a lovely rose.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.