Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pumpkin Seed Press Beyond Beautiful Girlhood Plus Companion Guide

Pumpkin Seed Press Beyond Beautiful Girlhood Plus Companion Guide

Is your daughter prepared for life? Have you taught her how to manage a home, life, and spirit? Mothers, you know the transition from carefree girlhood to the daybreak of womanhood can be the most frightening and exciting of times for your daughter! This book has often been described as a "glorified home economics" course; dealing with the transition in a biblical manner, this is the next step after Beautiful Girlhood. A 7-21 week journey for young women and their mothers. Ages 12-18.
Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Beyond Beautiful Girlhood Plus Companion Guide
Review 1 for Beyond Beautiful Girlhood Plus Companion Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect book to read next after Beautiful Girlhood

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Agirl
Location:Colleyville, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the perfect follow up to Beautiful Girlhood. It provides such richness to continue to strengthen the mother/daughter relationships as well as to prepare daughters for womanhood in areas of home management, life skills and needed spiritual disciplines that last over the lifetime of all women. By investing and sowing in our daughters now the fruit will continue to be reaped for generations to come. The book provided projects, resources for going deeper in each area, Bible study and journaling which will be a treasure in years to come. Moms and Dads will both be challenged and enriched and their relationships will be sealed with sweetness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beyond Beautiful Girlhood Plus Companion Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a must read for all teen girls

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
msbrooks26
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is such a great word for today's culture. I am quickly reminded that God does not change, and neither does His Word. The author does a wonderful job of showing the relevance of the past on today's present times. It brings mothers and daughters closer together and to God. I love having the book and guide together. It made me reflect on my adolescent years. I plan to share those precious memories with my daughters. I often grew up compromising here and there. However, I now realize that that's not God's best plan for our lives. This book helps young women of all ages stay focused on God's great plan for us, while deliberately teaching us how to do so. A must read for all families and churches!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beyond Beautiful Girlhood Plus Companion Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Treasure for Mother/Daughter to Share!

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angie
Location:USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I see that others have given the specifics on the various chapter titles or detailed them so I won't repeat them in my review.
I am ever amazed at the quick passage of time. As we embark on high school this year, I am deeply grateful for the resource I have acquired in Shelley's Beyond Beautiful Girlhood. To have let these years get by and then happened across this wonderful book would have been such a disappointment. But, we are on the cusp of new frontiers. My daughter has grown into a young woman and there is much left to do to prepare her for the world ahead of her. This book is the perfect road map (and perfect timing for her 9th grade year) to guide me in the direction of the areas in which I want to have deep conversations with my daughter. I am so excited for us to grow together as mother and daughter through the discussion and interaction of this book.
Designed as a seven-week study, my thoughts, in the busyness of our days, is to relish each chapter and take a month at a time to devour each one fully. My choice would be for each of us to write in the book as opposed to writing in a separate journal so that the book and our thoughts/study notes stay together. I hope it will be a cherished keepsake for my girl of our growing mother/daughter relationship. As for the memories of sharing this book together, they will be priceless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beyond Beautiful Girlhood Plus Companion Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beyond Beautiful Girlhood

Date:June 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimbee
Location:Spring Valley, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beyond Beautiful Girlhood
Beyond Beautiful Girlhood took the fear out of continuing to train our daughters in christlike character. The companion guide explores Biblical passages and thoughtful questions that give mothers the courage to discuss character training and Godly womanhood. It is a constant reminder of Biblical truths and God's purpose for our lives. This challenging study has helped develop a special relationship with our daughters through discussion, prayer and projects. For mothers who may never have done a Bible study for young ladies specifically, this would be a great one to start with!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beyond Beautiful Girlhood Plus Companion Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
thearmychapswife
Location:Elkhart, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my oldest daughter turned 10, we spent a weekend away in order to talk about growing up, physical changes, becoming a woman, etc. While it was a great opportunity to open up the lines of communication about moving into womanhood, we did not take much time to talk about issues related to spiritual growth and character.
Now that she is almost 13, I really wanted to move beyond merely physical changes related to growing up and begin to focus on character. I also needed help knowing how to pass on homemaking skills. I was very pleased to find Beyond Beautiful Girlhood Plus Companion Guide. I plan on incorporating it into our weekly schedule beginning next school year as a special mom/daughter time.
Each chapter includes a short section to read, a special note to moms, a Mother's Journal and Bible Study section, a Daughter's Journal and Bible Study section, Project ideas, and Resources. I would recommend getting a separate book for mom and daughter, to make it easier to write in the books. (Although, if you both wrote in the same book, it could be given to the daughter as a keepsake at the end of the study.)
One of the features of the book that I really appreciate and am looking forward to is the special Projects. Some of the projects are great ideas for teaching and learning practical and spiritual things. The suggestions range from doing a Bible word study to putting together a family meal plan!
I'm excited about the possibility of some great growth in my relationship with my daughter from going through this book together!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beyond Beautiful Girlhood Plus Companion Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Beautiful Guide for Mothers and Daughters

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
FarmMom4Him
Location:KS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mom’s with daughters between the ages of 13 and 21 are sure to want to continue their study of Godly womanhood with the help of Beyond Beautiful Girlhood Plus Companion Guide (238 pages).
Each chapter of the book contains Mother to Mother-to give mothers a vision of what they can accomplish in each chapter, Journal Questions for recording thoughts, Bible Study to give insight on how each chapter topic can be pleasing to God, Projects to enrich, and resources for further study.
Some of the projects include:
Creating a budget
Needed Sleep
Menu Plans
Chore Chart
Examine Friendships
Love Language study
Though it is said that this book can be completed in seven weeks, I can see taking seven months…a chapter per month to really dig deep and study together making plenty of time for further study and discussion.
Chapters include:
The Girl of Thirteen
A Daughter at Home
The Girl and Her Friends
Her Innocent Pleasures
Her Books
Higher Education
Her Occupation
I highly recommend this to any mother of daughters. I can see this really helping mothers guide their daughters into Godly Women ready to serve and be a helpmeet to their future husbands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beyond Beautiful Girlhood Plus Companion Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book Review: Beyond Beautiful Girlhood

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Malia Russell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beyond Beautiful Girlhood Plus Companion Guide is a beautiful resource for mothers and daughters to use who are between the ages of 13 and 20 years. This book, intended to be a seven week study covers seven areas of a young woman’s life: The Girl of Thirteen, A Daughter at Home, The Girl and her Friends, Her Innocent Pleasures, Her Books, Higher Education, and Her Occupation. Each chapter has a section for mothers called: Mother to Mother. This special section sets the stage and gives the mother a glimpse of what they can hope to accomplish in a chapter. Next, there are journaling questions. Together, the mother and daughter choose several questions and record their answers in a journal. Bible study is an integral part in each chapter, and projects are offered to enhance the experience so that mother and daughter can participate in fun activities together. Finally, each chapter contains a list of resources from which you can gain more information about a particular subject.
I have to admit that I am not a particularly sentimental person, but this book is rightly bringing me continuous reminders that my time with my precious 13-year-old is a fleeting time, with the years full of wonders and joys ahead of her.
“She now stands where the little limpid brook, with it’s narrow, slivery thread and flower bordered banks, meets the brimming full-bosomed river and it is impossible not to love her, not to be wistful for her, not to pray for her, if one has in her own heart the memory of the sweet days she lived when she herself was thirteen and a daughter of some happy home.”
What a perfect illustration of a young lady on the cusp of adulthood, and how accurately it details this mother’s heart. I am so thankful for this book, written by a godly minded woman with a heart full of good intentions towards her daughter. How refreshing to not get more of the same ‘teenagers are a pain” drivel so easily found in today’s parenting books.
I highly recommend this book to mothers facing the delights and challenges of mothering a teen through adulthood.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beyond Beautiful Girlhood Plus Companion Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Godly womanhood training at it's best

Date:June 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
OhioSarah
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you have a daughter that is between the ages of 13 and 21? Do you want to raise her to be a godly woman who loves her home, her family and eventually her own husband and children? Well here is a resources for you to read with your daughter, Beyond Beautiful Girlhood with included companion guide. Shelley Noonan has taken Margaret Elizabeth Sangster's classic book and revised it so that, while still holding true to the original 1900 Winsome Womanhood , it is made even more practical for today's mom and daughters.
This 240 page book is to be used as a 7 week study with readings done each week either together or individually and then the complementing journal seciton, Bible study, projects, mother-to-mother and resources that are added to the end of each chapter. There is a way that is recommended in using this book before you begin by setting aside a time to start and a time to end within a seven week period, pray, expect God to do great things and also to take a picture of you and your daughter together and place in the front of the book.
While my daughters are not old enough for this book, being just 6 and 9 years old, I can't wait to begin using this with my eldest. Having had turbulent teenage years with my mom I want my daughter's to look back at their time with me as one of a blessing, to know I loved them to teach them and to love the Lord. I love that the projects suggested are designed to bring moms and daughters together as well as closer to the Lord all while preparing them to leave the home for marriage. I can't teach them everything, but I hope that with this book I may not miss as much I would if left to my own devices.
Some of the projects suggested at the end of each chapter are:
Creating a budget for the daughter's spending
Take a CPR/First Aid class as a family
Have daughters make a list of their friends then discuss those friendships with her mom
Read Stepping Heavenward by Elizabeth Prentiss and begin their own journal
Evaluate the books she reads through Philippians 4:8
Set aside an appointed time to discuss educational opportunities for after high school (apprenticeship, marriage, college?)
These are not all the projects that are listed and I could see this actually lasting longer than the seven weeks if the mom and daughter really wanted to delve deeper and into more detail into each of these projects. Most of the projects are open ended meaning they shouldn't end when the study is done, but as a stepping stone into godly living for the rest of their life.
The resources at the end of each chapter are also extensive and can provide more of a stepping stone in learning to be a woman of God. Some of the resources are Crown Financial Study for Teens Workbook, The Bold Christian Youth Seminar by Jonathon Lindvall, and other books that can help the mom lead her daughter to godly womanhood.
This book is a valuable resource in mentoring our young ladies through the wily years of young ladyship. Based on Biblical principles and using only Biblical and Christian resources this will be a major help as you navigate those teen years. I must say that I'd love to include this in my daughter's belongings as they move on to adulthood, whatever the Lord leads them to do with that so that they can look back at our time together and know they are loved.
**I was provided a copy of this book from Pumpkin Seed Press in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beyond Beautiful Girlhood Plus Companion Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Any time to spend with my daughter is special,

Date:June 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
jeanne
Location:indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a wonderful addition to the relationship my daughter and I already had. I would suggest using 2 books so you can each write in your personal copy in the "journal" section. As you read your portion by yourself and come together once a week (over tea and cookies) and discuss your insights, you can read a portion of your thoughts and journaling to each other. I really enjoyed the road that the book followed. The original author's writing travels from 13 to college age. The companion-portion of questions seems to increase with maturity as well. I appreciate Mrs. Noonan's ability to ask questions that stir your convictions without feeling as though you had been attacked. This is why I recommend having 2 books. Your daughter should feel as though what you have read of her questions she shared willingly. There is a place for a picture in the front what a wonderful way to remind us of how fast they grow and how precious they are right now. Thank you Mrs. Noonan for a wonderful tool to pull mothers and daughters together in the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Beyond Beautiful Girlhood Plus Companion Guide
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Guide to the Teenage Years (Girls)

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bethany LeBedz
Location:Concord, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shelley Noonan has done a lovely job updating this original 1900 book by Margaret E. Sangster. Beyond Beautiful Girlhood Plus Companion Guide contains seven astute chapters covering an array of topics such as being a teenager, home economics, friends, education, and more. There's even a section on how to use the book most effectively. The book is aimed at girls ages 13-20 and their mothers.
If you and your daughter(s) enjoyed Beautiful Girlhood, you'll love Beyond Beautiful Girlhood Plus Companion Guide. The companion guide is integrated throughout the book; it's basically two separate devotionals (one for mom, one for daughter), with thoughtful questions. Projects and further resources for each chapter's topic are also included. The companion guide has lines to answer the questions, or you could answer them in a journal (especially if you planned to use the book with more than one daughter). My daughter found the language to be somewhat archaic, although it has been updated somewhat from the original 1900 version. She also felt as if it were written more to the mom than to the teenager, but I think that was part of the rhetoric.
This book was provided to me for review by Shelley Noonan, but the opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Beyond Beautiful Girlhood Plus Companion Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Guide for Mothers and Daughters!

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amy P
Location:NW Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book that gives guidance for Mothers to share with their teen daughters topics such as how to manage a home, her friendships, higher education, her future occupation, and includes journal questions, a Bible study, projects and resources.
While the language of the chapter section from the original Beautiful Girlhood book by Margaret Sangster, written in 1900, is at times a tad out of date, the down to earth section that follows, written by Shelly Noonan, as well as the journal and study questions are easily understood and helpful in pondering each chapter and applying insights.
There are so many wonderful tidbits throughout the book that are great helps - to me as a Mom, and that will be to my daughter! The different resources sections are so chock full of goodies such as book suggestions on topics such as speed cleaning, drawing, origami, sewing, classic stories, and on and on! Prayer, Home Keeping Charts, Goals, and Spiritual Gifts are some of the other topics covered in the book.
This is a great book that I will be using as my daughter gets a little older. It's suggested for ages 13-20. I am currently going through Beautiful Girlhood and The Companion Guide to Beautiful Girlhood with my daughter now, and look forward to doing this with her in the future!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Beyond Beautiful Girlhood Plus Companion Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Don't Enter Womanhood Without It!

Date:April 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimba
Location:Brooklyn, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a treasure trove of practical information and Biblical applications! "Beyond Beautiful Girlhood Plus Companion Guide" is a necessity for young ladies preparing for their adult years. Filled with timeless wisdom, Shelley Noonan has built an excellent mother/daughter Bible Study from the solid foundation laid by Margaret Sangster 100 years ago. This guidebook covers relevant topics that prepare a young lady for all the changes she will experience as she enters adulthood--including important lessons on family relationships, friendships, hobbies, books, education, and life's work.
Shelley Noonan has dug out all the gems of knowledge contained within the original text and expounded upon it in the exceptional companion sections. Each chapter contains a note specifically addressing mothers, separate mother and daughter Bible studies, projects to work on together, and resources to help dig deeper.
In reading through this book, I was struck by how much I still needed to learn even in my forties. In retrospect, I can see what a difference a guidebook like this would have made in my life. I am so thankful that my daughters will have this godly knowledge to help them handle the decisions and pressures of their adult lives.
Don't let your daughter enter womanhood without it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Beyond Beautiful Girlhood Plus Companion Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Biblical guide to mentoring your teen daughter

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
mom2jc
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While this title also deals with character and issues of the heart, it also includes projects and resources that are more along the lines of a home economics course and/or preparation for adulthood, including career paths. One of the most surprising chapters for me was the one on higher education. I fully expected to read an outdated chapter encouraging young women to stay in the home rather than pursue a college education or aspire to be a life-long learner through rich experiences. As with Beautiful Girlhood, this study is quite flexible and would make an excellent mother/daughter Bible study and tool for purposeful mentoring.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Beyond Beautiful Girlhood Plus Companion Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great resource for all families!

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Oosragirl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since reading this book, I can't wait to work through it with my daughters. The guide is full of biblical applications to help develop desired Godly character traits. I plan on buying my daughters and myself special journals to keep record of the scriptures, our thoughts, activities and discussions. These journals will be a prized possession for sure!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Beyond Beautiful Girlhood Plus Companion Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the extras in this book.

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pumpkin
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As mothers we were not given an instruction guide on how to raise our daughters. Sure the Bible is full of great references, but to have someone else holding your hand and guiding you along your way is refreshing. From finances, to friends, to fun, this book covers it all. I LOVE that there’s a place to put a photo of my daughter and myself inside the front cover. The thought of spending one on one time with my daughter(s) is wonderful and inspiring. The chapter contents are wonderfully written. There is a mother’s Bible study section and a daughter’s Bible study section. These sections help guide each individual, while pointing them to scriptures for the answers. The projects section gives you numerous ideas of what you can do together to grow with your daughter, as she changes. I’m a reader and I LOVE the resources section at the end of the chapters. If you need to know more about what you read or want to dig deeper THIS is the section for you. I’m so excited to be on this journey with my daughter and can’t wait to see how God grows both of us during our time together.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.