Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Beneath A Navajo Moon

Abingdon Press Beneath A Navajo Moon

The search for a woman who disappeared in 1906 draws anthropologist Erin Dawson to Cedar Canyon, where red mesas keep Navajo traditions and criminal evidence hidden. Her quest leads her to tribal policeman Adam Silverhorn and a dangerous drug cartel. Can they overcome the criminals and live long enough to tell each other how they feel?
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Beneath A Navajo Moon
Review 1 for Beneath A Navajo Moon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the Native American flair!!!

Date:July 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For as long as I can remember I love reading about the Native American people, their cultures and their love for the land and for the living things that dwell on the earth. Lisa Carter has taken this aspect, combining both contemporary and historical storylines to produce an amazing murder mystery and a bit of romance in her latest novel Beneath a Navajo Moon.
Cultural anthropologist Erin Dawson has been following the story of Olivia Thornton, from 1906 through her journal that captures a time from her life when she was taken captive by an Navajo Indian known as Silver Eagle. What she discovers is that this started out as a kidnapping but instead love was found. Despite the fact that Olivia's family tried to discourage her from reuniting with Silver Eagle, she made an attempt to find him at all costs when marriages between white women and Indians were frowned upon. Erin knows that there is more to this story that what is in the journal and she is going to do everything she can to unlock the mystery.
What she doesn't plan on is falling for tribal policeman Adam Silverhorn. He is in the process of investigating the murder of the chief of police in Cedar Canyon on the Navajo Reservation. Armed with a handful of clues he's been learning more about an undercover operation that has been threading its way through the police department and even he has his own secrets to hide. The one thing he hadn't planned on is becoming friends with Erin in the process and with them spending more time together, he has to remind himself where the boundaries of their relationship are, despite her uncanny ability to appeal to his appetite for a great meal!
I received Beneath a Navajo Moon by Lisa Carter compliments of Abingdon Press for my honest review and did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable one. The opinions contained here are strictly my own. This is such a great novel because of how Lisa has written this from two perspectives, one from Olivia Thornton's as she comes to terms with being kidnapped by a Navajo Indian who wants to learn more about the God she believes in and from Erin's perspective as she tries to figure out what happened to Olivia when she set forth to find the man she had fallen in love with despite the prejudices from both families based on their cultural differences. It is a great example of the power of love and how nothing can stand in the way. For anyone who loves a bit of mystery steep in Indian heritage, you will definitely love this one. I easily give it a 5 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beneath A Navajo Moon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enlightening, suspenseful, romantic

Date:July 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Terri
Location:WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Get a close-up look at the Navajo Nation. While completing an internship, Erin searches for Olivia Thornton, who was captured by Indians, then "rescued" against her will, and tried to return to her Navajo love. As much turmoil besets Erin, whose car breaks down in the middle of nowhere, her house is ransacked, someone wants her dead. And what about tribal policeman Adam Silverhorn? He's not all he appears to be.
Great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beneath A Navajo Moon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read.It captures your attention.

Date:July 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
imabrassy1
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was captured in the first few paragraphs like the character was captured but the Navajo Warrior. The book kept switching between 1906 and the present day. Sometimes these were awkward but they kept my attention. The characters are so tightly woven that you feel like you are part of the story. I would most definitely recommend this book to anyone. If you like the "Jim Chee" books by Tony Hillerman you will like this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beneath A Navajo Moon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Suspense/Romance from Lisa Carter

Date:June 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Leah Courtney
Location:Rock Hill, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved Lisa Carter's Aloha Rose- part of the Quilts of Love series- so I was very excited to pick up Beneath a Navajo Moon. It's also a nice thick, meaty book; and I love holding those physical books in my hands. (I know, call me a crazy book lady!) I wasn't disappointed by the read.
Erin Dawson is staying on the Navajo reservation serving as an intern at the Cultural Center and exploring the mystery of her ancestor who supposedly lived with the Navajos in the early 1900s when she meets Adam Silverhorn, a reservation police officer. As Erin continues her search for Olivia, her ancestor, she and Adam get caught in the midst of gangs and drug cartels on the reservation. Erin has to learn to submit her feelings for Adam- an unbeliever- to God.
I loved this one. Erin and Adam were both great characters. Their story had romance and mystery and some suspense. I loved the history connection with Erin's search for Olivia, her ancestor. And there was a great message of God's love and forgiveness and His power to perform miracles. As well, Erin's story was inspirational as she had to learn what it truly meant to be a living sacrifice for God, giving up our will to do His.
I related to the pressure Erin felt to serve God in the way everyone else thought was right and her confusion about what God really wanted her to do for Him. It's difficult sometimes to discern between well-meaning friends and relatives and God's own call on your life. Erin has to deal with this as she considers where she is going to serve God.
This was a great one. I continue to be a fan of Lisa Carter. Her characters are developed well and her stories have a great blend of romance, suspense and inspiration to live the way God wants us to live. At the end of Beneath a Navajo Moon is an excerpt from Under a Turquoise Sky, another one I want to look for.
I give this one 5 stars and a PG for content.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beneath A Navajo Moon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What would draw someone to pick up this particular book? Would it be the cover, the title, the author or the synopsis of the story on the back? For me, it was both the cover as well as the title that drew my eyes to the book and my desire to read the tale within. Being an avid reader I wondered what story the author would share concerning the Navajo, knowing that they were the Code Talkers of WW II.
The novel contains many facets like a mystery within a mystery, romance, spiritual warfare, healing of family bonds, and much more. Intermittently readers will incur flashbacks, giving glimpses of Olivia who at one time was a captured white woman from a mission school in the early 1900s. Erin Dawson is working on her final project for school by researching the history of the Navajo people, but she is also there to try and solve a mystery. Erin’s pursuit consumes her as she reads various parts of Olivia’s journal that speak to Erin’s heart; it speaks of adventure and sharing Jesus with the Navajo.
Adam works as a police officer on the reservation, having served overseas in the military. His past keeps him from following what he refers to as the white man’s God. Erin wants to know more from Adam about his people, but as a possible romance blossoms the battle for Adam’s soul heightens as his grandfather wants Adam to join his wicked gang. More colorful characters help frame an exciting adventure filled with danger, mystery and intrigue.
The descriptions of the area help readers imagine what beauty the area contains and what danger is lurking within. I loved the book; it captivated my heart and mind, especially when various twists and turns in the plot came out of the blue. The author is bringing to her audience another book this fall titled, Under a Turquoise Sky, which I cannot wait to read. The writings have a unique flavor that mixes history with modern day issues people face, and she pulls it together to make a fascinating tale that cannot be put down! Audiences will really enjoy getting lost in the mystery and history as well as the power of God’s love and prayers offered for the salvation of a loved man. Don’t miss reading Lisa Carter’s latest book and look forward to sharing it with others. My personal thanks to the Navajo Code Talkers and their families for their service during WW II; you all are heroes to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beneath A Navajo Moon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Excellent Read by Lisa Carter!

Date:April 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Teresa M
Location:West Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a beautiful story this is, you can't ask for a more picturesque setting than the red rock walls of Cedar Canyon, Arizona on the Navajo Reservation. Here the story opens with Olivia Thornton sneaking out of the Cedar Canyon Mission School at dawn to think and pray. Olivia is highly disturbed at the ill treatment of the Navajo children by the hands of the ones that should be showing them the love of Christ. So deep in thought was Olivia, she never heard the man that came up behind her and clamped his hand over her mouth; the man that would forever change the course of her life.
Erin Dawson, cultural anthropologist, and daughter of Missionary parents, has been intrigued by the story of a distant relative that went missing in 1906 while a teacher at the Cedar Canyon Mission School. Erin is basing her dissertation on finding out more on Olivia so when she secures a job at the Information Center in town she takes that as a sign this is where she is supposed to be.
Adam Silverhorn a Cedar Canyon Police Officer is a man on a mission to rid the Reservation of the drugs that are destroying his people. Adam will stop at nothing to do what has to be done. So when Erin shows up he checks her out in more than one way. There is something about this sweet wholesome woman that draws him to her.
When Erin's car breaks down in the middle of nowhere and her cell phone has no signal Erin walks to the only place nearby to seek help. The local honky-tonk wasn't the best place for Erin to walk into but she didn't have much choice so she bravely goes in. Almost as soon as she enters Erin is accosted by several men, she is thankful when the dangerously handsome Adam Silverhorn comes to her rescue whispering in her ear to go along with the story she is one of his many girlfriends. Holding her close Erin notices he reeks of alcohol but when he pulls her in for a kiss to carry out the charade there is nothing there but the taste of peppermint. What is this larger than life man up to? Could he be just another cop on the take or is he a man who will do anything to catch the ones responsible for the drugs that are showing up here on his sacred homeland?
The more time Erin spends with Adam the more intrigued she is with him, there is so much more to this man than he lets on. He seems to be torn between two worlds; the sin filled one his vindictive grandfather wants to lure him into and the one his godly mother and uncle have raised him to believe in. Will Erin be able to help him choose between right and wrong? Both have decisions to make that may take them down very different paths.
Having been introduced to Lisa Carter's writing after reading her debut novel Carolina Reckoning I knew I was in for a treat with this one. Let me tell you I was not disappointed!! Once again Lisa has woven a tale with beautiful words and descriptive scenery that will draw you in and make you feel as if you are there seeing everything first hand. I also loved how Lisa tied in Oliva's story with modern day life on the Reservation. You can tell a lot of research went into this book. Thanks Lisa for all the hard work! I can't wait for your next story!
***Thanks to Abingdon Press and NetGalley for providing me a copy of this in exchange for my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beneath A Navajo Moon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great romance with Navajo insight

Date:March 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good contemporary novel with historical insights and a dose of romance.
Erin had received a grant to study tribal customs for her doctoral dissertation. She's spending the summer at the Information Center at the Reservation of the Navajo Nation. While she will be working with inventorying artifacts, her real passion is solving the mystery around a cousin of her adoptive parents. An old journal tells the story of Olivia, a teacher in a Christian school for Navajo children, being taken by the Navajo in the early twentieth century. She was ultimately rescued and returned to the east coast but it seems she might have gone back to the Navajo she loved. Erin is fascinated by Olivia's story and is determined to find evidence for it's possible end.
Adam is with the tribal police. The first time he sees Erin he is attracted to her. But a relationship with her would be a problem. Adam is involved in an undercover drug operation involving Erin's “boss” at the Center. A beautiful and aggressive woman, Debra is suspected of being part of the drug ring supplying drugs to the Navajo youth.
I always like to learn something when I read a novel and this one contains a wealth of information about the Navajo Nation. Most of the story is in the present time, centering on their traditions and what their life is like now on the reservation. Interwoven into the contemporary setting is the abduction of Olivia in 1906. We read about how the Navajo were treated at that time, the children separated from their parents and forced to attend a Christian school. I found this part of the novel very interesting.
That information is deftly included within a good plot. There is lots of action, especially at the end, as the tribal police work to shut down the drug ring. There is certainly romance and I really liked how Erin and Adam's relationship kind of paralleled the relationship Olivia had with her Navajo husband. Both couples had to overcome cultural differences and prejudices. Many of the Navajo in this novel are Christian and we witness a spiritual struggle with others of the Nation who hate Christianity.
All around, this is the kind of romance I like to read. I recommend it.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of an independent and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beneath A Navajo Moon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting and culturally rich suspense!

Date:March 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Erin is in Cedar Canyon, Arizona on the Navajo reservation to do research for a dissertation. She's also there to hopefully find out what happened to Olivia, a great-aunt who disappeared years ago.
Adam Silverhorn sees that his people are caught between two worlds - their traditional way of life and the rest of America. His grandfather is a bitter, hate-filled man who says that traditions must be kept at any cost and hates anything and everyone from the outside. He's trying to mold Adam into a copy of himself, a front man for his causes, which are far darker than Adam suspects.
Adam's aunt, uncle, mother along with Erin and other friends are concerned for him, for his safety and spiritual well being. There is a battle being fought for his eternal soul and which side will win?
This is a fast moving, exciting and culturally rich suspense story that will have you on the edge of your seat - or at least up way too late!
I received this book from Abingdon Press and NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. My opinion is my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beneath A Navajo Moon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Loved this book!

Date:March 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bonita Skiba
Location:Indiantown, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The background of the story intrigued me and the interaction of the characters was great. You knew something was off from the start, and once it became clear what it was, it got better. I don't want to go into detail and spoil it for other readers. The description of the locations really had me visualizing the scene. I couldn't put this book down. Really enjoyable read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.