Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles Big Truths for Young Hearts: Teaching and Learning the Greatness of God - eBook

Crossway Books & Bibles Big Truths for Young Hearts: Teaching and Learning the Greatness of God - eBook

Big Truths for Young Hearts encourages and enables parents of children 6 to14 years of age to teach through the whole of systematic theology in an understandable, chapter-a-day format. Parents can teach their children the great truths of the faith and shape their worldviews early, based on these truths.

The book covers ten topics of systematic theology, devoting several brief chapters to each subject, making it possible for parents to read one chapter per day with their children. With this non-intimidating format, parents will be emboldened to be their children's primary faith trainers - and perhaps learn a few things themselves along the way.

Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Big Truths for Young Hearts: Teaching and Learning the Greatness of God - eBook
Review 1 for Big Truths for Young Hearts: Teaching and Learning the Greatness of God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for all ages

Date:November 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sparky
Location:Fort Wayne, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first started to use it for my children but found it great for myself also. The book has also been very good to use at family devotions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Big Truths for Young Hearts: Teaching and Learning the Greatness of God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Solid Book of Doctrine for Parents and Tweens

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anne
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Big Truths for Young Hearts, Bruce Ware talks about the basics of the faith for young people. I hesitate to say children, because I think of children as 10 years of age and younger.
The topics that Mr. Ware covers are God's Word, the Trinity, God as Creator, Human Nature and Sin, Jesus, the Holy Spirit, salvation, and the church. He covers all the bases. All the subtopics are important ones that young adults need to understand. The short essays address the questions well and thoroughly. They would be more easily read independently than aloud. If you wanted to read them aloud as a family, I would read ahead and consider where you wish to pause and discuss. I would also read while encouraging your children to stop you when they don't understand so that you might pause and address their questions.
This book might also be a good reference for you as a parent if your children ask questions that you aren't sure how to answer or can't remember the biblical references for (as often happens to me). You could also use it to guide your family worship and ground your children in sound doctrine. It is important for them to know what they believe and understand God's Word. It is easy to get carried away by emotions and experience and the scripture says that
Proverbs 22:6 NIV Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it.
That is our hope as parents--that if we teach our children, then they would choose as adults to walk with the Lord. And it is our responsibility.
I have been pondering the question of how much we should teach our children and want them to learn and understand. How much can they understand? Sometimes we expect too little of them, but we can also expect too much. This is a book that will help you answer a lot of tough questions kids can face about God as they grow up and want to understand. What we and our children believe about God, the Bible, and who God is will help us all when our hearts fail us. Doctrine--what we believe about God--matters. This is a book about doctrine. It isn't a Bible story book. It may be a book that you will pick up with your fifth grader and realize that it is not connecting with them. So, you set it down for a year or two and come back to it when they are older and more mature--emotionally and intellectually. I find that is the case with many good and helpful books. It is also a book that may help you understand how to explain the basics of the Christian faith to someone who doesn't believe in God when they have questions. I find that often books written for children are very helpful.
This is a book with much potential, whose purpose depends on the person in whose hands it is. For my family, it will probably be a reference more than a read aloud devotional. I may also hand it to one of my children to read if they have specific questions. I know many families for whom I think this book would be a great fit for family worship times and devotionals.
Please note that I received a complimentary copy of Big Truths for Young Hearts from Crossway Books for review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Big Truths for Young Hearts: Teaching and Learning the Greatness of God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Truths

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
nucreationjc
Location:Lancaster Pa.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very heart felt book with the heart of a child in mind. Dr. Ware is an excellent theologian who is also a parent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Big Truths for Young Hearts: Teaching and Learning the Greatness of God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2010
My pastor recommended this book during one of his sermons. It is a phenomenal resource. I am using it to teach my two boys (ages 6 1/2 and 9). Do they fully understand every concept? Of course not. But they are picking up on the main ideas (which I supplement with personal illustrations, anecdotes, etc.) and thus are acquiring a firm foundation for more in-depth study as they get older. Each chapter is short enough (2-3 pages) to be covered in about 30 minutes, and we are covering several chapters a week.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Big Truths for Young Hearts: Teaching and Learning the Greatness of God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus Book Club
"Big Truths for Young Hearts" is an excellent foundational book on theology for tweens and teens. I'd also recommend this book to new believers. The author did an excellent job of explaining complex topics in an understandable manner and without talking down to the reader (or listener).The book felt like a Bible study with all the relevant verses included. I liked how the author gave a balanced, whole-Bible view of the topic and gave the verses so that the reader could see for him- or herself what the Bible said about the topic. He often gave useful analogies or explained hard ("Christian-ese") words in common language. He gave the generally agreed-upon, Biblical overview of various concepts, but he did mention when there was disagreement on the details (like immersion baptism versus infant sprinkling baptism).At the end of the section for each topic, there were two questions to test if the person understood what that section taught. There was also a suggested memory verse related to that topic.The book covered 60 topics that built on each other. The topics included how can we know about God; what is God like; what is God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit like and how does the Trinity work; why did Jesus have to die for us; why do bad things happen; what is the church; what happens when we die; and what will happen in the end.Like I said, I was very impressed by this book and plan on using it with a 12-year-old friend who recently came to know Christ. I'd highly recommend it to parents, youth group leaders, and new believers.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Big Truths for Young Hearts: Teaching and Learning the Greatness of God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
The doctrinal quality of the titles published by Crossway never fail to amaze me, and Big Truths for Young Hearts has only served to cement my opinion. Theologian Bruce A. Ware has penned a work that attempts to capture the bedtime conversations he had with his own adult daughters (now grown), so that parents can step up to the plate in equipping their own children to understand the great, fundamental truths of the faith.Wares text is filled with scriptural references, and all of the doctrine he puts forth is grounded firmly upon the Word of God. Though the text is Reformed in nature, and Ware teaches at the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, hes careful to hold only to what the scriptures state and avoids extra biblical standards. Ware takes care to point out that varying points of view exist on baptism, though he puts forth a case for baptism by immersion. He also notes that believers differ on matters of spiritual gifts and briefly touches upon both positions without adding value judgments.A firm foundation based upon the clear teachings of Gods Word prevents confusion and the adoption of fallacious beliefs concerning the nature of God, salvation, the trinity, and the final destinations of those who die. With solid doctrinal understanding of Christian doctrine on the decline, Big Truths is my first recommendation for families in which any member of the family large or small is in need of instruction.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Big Truths for Young Hearts: Teaching and Learning the Greatness of God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2009
We have used this for evening devotions for my children. I have 7 children ages 11 months to 11 years. At times the material is a little "heady", but with futher explanation you can break it down for the younger children. They have learned much from this material and have been able to understand some deep theological concepts. This book is not only a good for children, but will teach adults some doctrines that they may not have grasped yet. Bruce Ware is a gift to the evangelical church. Thanks Dr. Bruce Ware for sharing with us these teaching that you shared with your children.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Big Truths for Young Hearts: Teaching and Learning the Greatness of God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
James Koffman
This book was recommended to me by a Director/Teacher of a orthodox protestant Christian Church Camp.We have just begun using this book as a the forum for home reading and doctrinal study with our 11, 12 and 13 year old. It is meat, not milk, but presented in a very palatable way for anyone wanting to begin to come to terms with key doctrine. For kids, it is excellent.For parents who desire to give their chidren a foundation for THEIR OWN faith, this book is great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Big Truths for Young Hearts: Teaching and Learning the Greatness of God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rev. Doyle Peyton
Well written,unique, concise but thorough, practical and insightful. Would make a great weekly parent/child devotional. A fine adult theological primer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.