Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Regal Winning the Food Fight: Victory in the Physical and Spiritual Battle for Good Food and a Healthy Lifestyle

Regal Winning the Food Fight: Victory in the Physical and Spiritual Battle for Good Food and a Healthy Lifestyle

Long before Jamie Oliver brought his mini-series to Huntington, West Virginia, "the fattest city in America", one pastor had already begun to pray for Huntington's spiritual and physical transformation. Winning the Food Fight is Pastor Steve Willis' insider look at the divine timing of Jamie Oliver's visit and a backstage pass to the events that are changing the heart and health of an all-American city.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Winning the Food Fight: Victory in the Physical and Spiritual Battle for Good Food and a Healthy Lifestyle
Review 1 for Winning the Food Fight: Victory in the Physical and Spiritual Battle for Good Food and a Healthy Lifestyle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Treat your body as a temple, not a trash dump

Date:July 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jay L
Location:WV
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Last month, I read Winning The Food Fight by Pastor Steve Willis, and I am so thankful for its content.
I am an Emergency Room physician at a local hospital in Huntington, WV. Our hospital is touted for its excellent care in heart disease and strokes. The truth is that our hospital is the busiest in the state of WV. We excel in heart/stroke care because we see it EVERY DAY.
Steve's book has come at a very needed time. Churches and pastors often spend time condemning certain vices in the community, but largely ignore that of gluttony. Instead, some boast about the restaurant buffet lunch that follows a Sunday morning service. Rather than treating our body as a temple of God, we ignore it and abuse it by filling it with literal garbage.
In health care, I occasionally hear those who report, "I don't know what happened. My body fell apart when I hit 50." The truth is our bodies don't just fall apart. Instead, it happens over time. If we don't care for our bodies on a daily basis, we are only asking for an eventual collapse.
I have been personally encouraged to change my own habits of eating and physical activity. One would think that a physician would be the most attentive to his personal wellness, but this is not typically the case. We are often some of the worst offenders, as we fail to practice what we preach. I have been challenged to treat my body as the temple God has created it to be. I am excited to use each day to serve my Savior and I do not want to lessen my potential contributions to the Kingdom. Thank you Steve for your excellent book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Winning the Food Fight: Victory in the Physical and Spiritual Battle for Good Food and a Healthy Lifestyle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Much Needed Book

Date:March 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
rpcampbell
Location:Lynchburg, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Winning the Food Fight is a well argued and reasoned book on the importance of considering the kinds of food that we take into our bodies. Not only does this book enlighten the reader on the traps of hazardous food consumption, it also challenges the reader to get involved in winning the U.S.’s (and Christian) apathy toward food consumption.
One factor I found helpful is that Willis addresses many of the spiritual and theological issues revolving around the eating of food. The Bible never stipulates which foods (note: not food-like substances) Christians ought to eat, but, rather, it gives freedom in our food choices (Rom 14:6, 14; 1 Tim 4:3-5). Nevertheless, the Bible does discuss such things as gluttony, hedonism, how we should treat our bodies, fasting, and the importance of avoiding things that alter our minds. Willis address all of these and more. In a consumer based culture, we often eat way too much, and as expressed by pastor Willis’ friends from Zambia, every day is a feast. We do not eat simply to maintain our health and energy; we eat solely for pleasure. I personally found the chapter on fasting both enlightening and much needed.
As noted by Willis throughout the book, God has given us naturally the necessary foods, via His good creation, in order live a healthy life. Yet, because of complacency, the need for instant gratification, and immediacy, we’ve gotten away from the good food that God has given us, and, instead, settled for food-like substances (e.g., soda, processed food). These food-like substances, along with the excessive intake of fats and sugars, change our body chemistry over time, altering our moods and abilities to function as we were intended. We also become dependent on them. Like Michael Pollan, Willis, in a nutshell, argues that we need to eat less, eat real food (not food-like substances), and eat mostly vegetables.
Pastor Steve Willis has written a much needed book on a topic that many Christians give far too little attention. After all, our bodies, along with all that God has created, belong under the Lordship of Christ. Not only should we take every thought captive unto the Lord, but the kinds of food that we eat, as well. I highly recommend this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Winning the Food Fight: Victory in the Physical and Spiritual Battle for Good Food and a Healthy Lifestyle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent insights

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Liparulo
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The entwining of the practical and physical (food and our lifestyle choices) and the spiritual (our attitude toward God and our reliance on Him) make this one of the best "get healthy" books I have read. It always seems that faith-filled books forget the human side of the equation, that we are people with temptations, who have been taught how to eat incorrectly, who have formed bad habits. And food/health books disregard our spiritual selves. How nice to find authors who recognize the importance of balancing both. I love the anecdotes and the practical advice. It's just icing on the cake that the book is so well written--great advice, presented extremely well. I highly recommend this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Winning the Food Fight: Victory in the Physical and Spiritual Battle for Good Food and a Healthy Lifestyle
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good, but not what I expected.

Date:February 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
mastg1
Location:Collingdale, Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I received this book I was disapointed to see that there were only three receipes at the end of the book. I tried all of the receipes, and they were fantastic, but I just wish that there would have been a few more meal plans in the book.
Overall, I thought that the book was entertaining, very insightful and very inspiritional regarding how we are abusing our bodies, and feeding ourselvs food which God did not intend for us to eat. It made me realize that I was doing the same thing that the people in West Virginia we doing.
I want to thank Pastor Steve Willis for bringing to light a problem that I never realized I had.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Winning the Food Fight: Victory in the Physical and Spiritual Battle for Good Food and a Healthy Lifestyle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ALL Christians wanting life-balance need this

Date:January 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Myles
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very few pastors today preach a balanced lifestyle that is reflective of Christ's life as He manifests the character of the Father. Pastor Willis is one of these few. In reading this book, my eyes have been opened to the one problem-sin that has the greatest reach and the least resistance...glutony and overeating. Pastor Willis has done an excellent job addressing this elephant in the room and the biblically-charged remedies that will change Christians' lives for the better. Local church pastors and members NEED to read this book and reflect on how employ its wisdom.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Winning the Food Fight: Victory in the Physical and Spiritual Battle for Good Food and a Healthy Lifestyle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A MUST read for every Christian~A Legacy Changer!

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
CoachCathy
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just finished the last chapter of "Winning the Food Fight" by Pastor Steve Willis. Feel strongly that everyone who holds their faith in God, should read this book. Pastor Steve challenges us to recognize the sin of gluttony...not a popular subject...but if we're to be the hands & feet of Christ to serve the needy and the poor...we need to be an example. Did you know statistics reflect that people of faith have a higher percentage of obesity? Look around our congregation....it's not about pointing fingers, but supporting our fellow brothers and sisters in this physical and spiritual battle. It has 12 Chapters...perfect for a 3 month, weekly Bible Study that will have a powerful effect on the entire church body. Thanks Pastor Steve, for being the vehicle to touch my heart for change!! If you are struggling with your health, embrace Pastor Steve's book...this is not your battle alone? This is a community battle...take a stand, get the book and make a difference where you live as a living legacy for your children's children. I can do all things through Christ, who strengthens me!! Phil 4:13
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Winning the Food Fight: Victory in the Physical and Spiritual Battle for Good Food and a Healthy Lifestyle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fresh Perspective on an Old Problem

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
JTurenne
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having read many books, viewed lots of programs and heard just about all the reasons why our society has lost control of our food priorities, I have found a fresh, enlightening perspective on this frustrating topic. Steve Willis provides an informational, inspirational and common sense approach to addressing the 'runaway food system' in this county. And he does so in an easy to read manner (Something I find is not always the case in some publications on this subject).
The book's first hand stories of real people, dealing with real issues and how they took step by step physical, spiritual and courageous action to retake control, really puts things in perspective. Whether it's calling out big business/the food industry whose interests are usually driven by profit rather than health, or recognizing the champions of the school food movement, this book clearly shows significant research, a love for humanity and a grounded connection to doing 'the right thing.'
Thank you Steve Willis for providing a fresh look at a frustrating problem. I believe we can win this fight. One day at a time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Winning the Food Fight: Victory in the Physical and Spiritual Battle for Good Food and a Healthy Lifestyle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A totally different, and great weight loss book

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Steve
Age:45-54
Gender:male
This is a book about weight loss, but different than anything else I have seen. It is both a 'how to' book, and a true story of what happened in Huntington, WV. It's a good story which makes the book quite readable. At the same time, it's a 'how to book', but not so much a 'how to' diet, but how to stay on the diet; to make your diet a way of life. The author gives you motivation to do so from a spiritual point of view as well as the usual positive/negatives of calorie intake and poor nutrition. There are practical tips that I hadn't thought of before. So put down the spork, pick up the book, you'll find it very helpful.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Winning the Food Fight: Victory in the Physical and Spiritual Battle for Good Food and a Healthy Lifestyle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Learn about changing your health from this book!

Date:November 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beth Smith
Location:Ceredo, WV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It’s my pleasure to spread the good news of the soon to be released, Winning the Food Fight, by Steve Willis. Since the Huntington Health Revolution began, families are learning the proper use of food and its intended design. Changes are being made to make our bodies stronger and healthier. I believe we are now ready to learn more. Living in the Huntington WV area and being a part of the Huntington Food Revolution, I was offered a press-kit version of the book to read and review. From the preview of this book, I can see that there are ideas and suggestions made that can give us the health and strength that our Creator designed us to have.
There are many people in the Huntington WV area that accepted the challenge to make significant changes in their lifestyles for the benefit of their health. I was one of those people. My medium frame was carrying about 70 extra pounds and I was afraid that I would soon suffer from diabetes if I didn’t change my habits. I had turned fifty years old and I felt much older. With prayer and anticipation, I began to change the kind of food and the amount of food I ate. My husband and I looked forward to daily walks where we strengthened our bodies and enjoyed the time spent together.
I’m convinced that God has given us what is needed to fuel our bodies so that we can live the lives He intended us to live for Him. Winning the Food Fight takes a look at food and health from many different perspectives. Pastor Steve’s concern should be taken serious and personally. I look forward to being able to read the book in its entirety and to continue the progress in my family’s healthy lifestyle.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.