Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Solitary, Solitary Tales Series #1

David C. Cook Solitary, Solitary Tales Series #1

When Chris Buckley moves to Solitary, North Carolina, he's confronted by his parents' divorce, a school full of strangers, the mysterious Jocelyn Evans---and a town filled with terrifying secrets! Slowly, Chris begins to see and understand the depth of the horror around him. Can he save Jocelyn in time? Ages 12 and up. 336 pages, softcover from Cook.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
8 out of 1173%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Solitary, Solitary Tales Series #1
Review 1 for Solitary, Solitary Tales Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
His Loneliness Will Soon Turn to Fear….
When Chris Buckley moves to Solitary, North Carolina, he faces the reality of his parents’ divorce, a school full of nameless faces—and Jocelyn Evans. Jocelyn is beautiful and mysterious enough to leave Chris speechless. But the more Jocelyn resists him, the more the two are drawn together.
Chris soon learns that Jocelyn has secrets as deep as the town itself. Secrets more terrifying than the bullies he faces in the locker room or his mother’s unexplained nightmares. He slowly begins to understand the horrific answers. The question is whether he can save Jocelyn in time.
This first book in the Solitary Tales series will take you from the cold halls of high school to the dark rooms of an abandoned cabin—and remind you what it means to believe in what you cannot see.
My Review:
Thrasher, as always, creates a story that you cannot help but fall in love with. He creates a world set apart, a word that cannot be escaped, and a world that will always be a part of you. I can't even begin to describe the feelings that arose from reading this novel; of mystery, madness, evil, darkness, derangement, and a fear that clutches at you just by continuing to read.
Thrasher always puts out good material. No fluff or minced words, but solid characters, settings that are believable, and a final chapter that will leave you disturbed. I'm not certain that being disturbed is a good way to end a novel, but to Thrasher's credit, he is consistent with all of his work. I can't say I've ever walked away from one of his stories with a clear head mind and clean conscience. He makes me doubt that I am living a Godly life, and convicts me to greater heights.
Thrasher forces me to think, to re-evaluate all that I know and believe. He examines the human condition at it's very heart, and he is a relentless hunter that always finds his mark. I would highly recommend this novel to young people of all ages, as it has a powerful message that will speak to readers everywhere.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Solitary, Solitary Tales Series #1
This review is fromSolitary - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
His Loneliness Will Soon Turn to Fear….
When Chris Buckley moves to Solitary, North Carolina, he faces the reality of his parents’ divorce, a school full of nameless faces—and Jocelyn Evans. Jocelyn is beautiful and mysterious enough to leave Chris speechless. But the more Jocelyn resists him, the more the two are drawn together.
Chris soon learns that Jocelyn has secrets as deep as the town itself. Secrets more terrifying than the bullies he faces in the locker room or his mother’s unexplained nightmares. He slowly begins to understand the horrific answers. The question is whether he can save Jocelyn in time.
This first book in the Solitary Tales series will take you from the cold halls of high school to the dark rooms of an abandoned cabin—and remind you what it means to believe in what you cannot see.
My Review:
Thrasher, as always, creates a story that you cannot help but fall in love with. He creates a world set apart, a word that cannot be escaped, and a world that will always be a part of you. I can't even begin to describe the feelings that arose from reading this novel; of mystery, madness, evil, darkness, derangement, and a fear that clutches at you just by continuing to read.
Thrasher always puts out good material. No fluff or minced words, but solid characters, settings that are believable, and a final chapter that will leave you disturbed. I'm not certain that being disturbed is a good way to end a novel, but to Thrasher's credit, he is consistent with all of his work. I can't say I've ever walked away from one of his stories with a clear head mind and clean conscience. He makes me doubt that I am living a Godly life, and convicts me to greater heights.
Thrasher forces me to think, to re-evaluate all that I know and believe. He examines the human condition at it's very heart, and he is a relentless hunter that always finds his mark. I would highly recommend this novel to young people of all ages, as it has a powerful message that will speak to readers everywhere.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Solitary, Solitary Tales Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Scary, Thriller, Rebellious

Date:April 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Chris Buckley’s parents split, he sides with his mother, and they move to Solitary to live in his uncle’s cabin. In the cabin, it appears that Chris’s uncle walked out of his life without taking any of his possessions. At school, as the new kid, Chris attracts attention of girls and the resident bully, while strange things go on all over town. When he meets Jocelyn he looses his heart, but she suggests that things are not what they seem.
This book is written from the point of view of a teen-aged boy, making it seem as if the reader falls into his life and thoughts. Chris is full of anger at his mother for her constant drinking and his father for his method of pushing his faith. Chris is definitely not someone who follows others easily. The gloom of the town hangs over the whole book, as Chris tries to find answers and save the girl. Interesting read, but definitely the first step in a series. There is no resolution of what Chris believes. This would be good choice for those who enjoyed Twilight, as the feeling is similar, but with a Christian bent.
Received Galley from NetGalley.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Solitary, Solitary Tales Series #1
This review is fromSolitary - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Terror in a small town

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I almost didn't read this book as I have chosen to stop reading this genre altogether. At one time, I really felt these were interesting and very effective as I absolutely do believe in spiritual warfare. In fact, I have the entire collection of the leader in this field. However, I am finding it harder and harder to get past all the terror that dominates these novels to the truth of Christ who is the Light of the world.
The main character in Solitary is believable and evokes much empathy in his role as an outsider in a new school. However, the evil is so heavy and so encompassing that one is weighed down by the darkness and oppression.
In my opinion as the grandmother of a 13-year-old, this is not what I want her to read at this age (I note that the website lists this for 12-adult, very surprising to me as I read the book!); the horrific ending would, I am sure, traumatize her as it even shocked me. Although created, I am sure, from a gifted mind, I find this book depressing and frightfully sad-- not feelings I desire to have about fighting the evil in this world.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Solitary, Solitary Tales Series #1
This review is fromSolitary - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

waste of time

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
touchdown
Location:Wellsvill, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book was terrible. Maybe for a 6th grader, but not for anyone older than that. I love fiction, all types, but I couldn't even finish this book. I hate books written in first person. Writing is so childish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Solitary, Solitary Tales Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I can hardly wait to read the next book!!!

Date:December 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melanie
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My rating: 4.5 stars
The first book in The Solitary Tales series starts off right away with an attention gripping preface and while the main plot doesn't begin to show until partway through, I thoroughly enjoyed reading the whole book!
I think Solitary was well written, easy to read, and definitely entertaining! The characters were enjoyable and I liked how the book was written in the first person.
I thought a couple of things in Solitary were weird - like the dog with glowing eyes, the voice from the hole in the cabin, and a few other things; but all of this made the story even more enjoyable!
This isn't the first book that I've read by Travis Thrasher and it won't be the last. The ending to Solitary makes me want to read Gravestone very, very much!
I definitely recommend Solitary if you enjoy a really good read with some weird aspects...
*I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for my review. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Solitary, Solitary Tales Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A story that stays in your mind.

Date:October 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mitts
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book made me mad.
Then why five stars?
Because I'm writing this a week after finishing it, still mad.
I don't think there could be a greater complement to an author and his work than a reader not being able to shake himself out of the book he's just read.
Is the writing style right on? Short sentences and paragraphs that at times feel stuttering, but do propel you through the story.
Incidents occur that make you say c'mon, really? Full of them, but even the author acknowledges that in a humorous way to keep the decision making from becoming too frustrating. And think of it, this is a horror/suspense novel. That type of genre doesn't exist unless you investigate the bump in the night without calling the police first.
But what this book truly holds is tension and suspense that had me clicking the next page button on my Kindle so quickly that I very well may have taken years of function off that button.
Travis's character development is amazing. These characters are so unique and hard to figure out, yet wind up becoming so endearing.
I was very angry with the end of the book and I vowed to walk away. I tried to read a new book, couldn't, then tried reading another but simply couldn't keep my mind from wondering what's going on next with these characters and the questions I'd been left with (and there are many...this is not a standalone book in the four part series). So instead of being firm on my vow to give up, I did an about face and ordered the second book, Gravestone, because I have to know what happens.
In terms of Christian fiction, this book is dark. There is a glimmer of hope which comes through faith, and I think having read the second book in the series this will continue to be fleshed out as the series progresses.
In closing, you may be put off by the writing style. You may find character reaction to events unbelieveable. But you won't be able to walk away. You will be just as stuck in the town of Solitary as Chris is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Solitary, Solitary Tales Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best series I have ever read !!!!!

Date:October 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
skye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I guess the first thing I want to say is wow. I've finally found a author whose books make me cry, laugh, and throw them against a wall in disbelief. Finally a author who doesn't conform to what everyone wants him to write. One who isn't afraid to write unhappy endings. Someone who is finally not writing by the rules and coloring outside the lines. Thank-you for writing the Solitary tales series, those books are one of the few that fulfill all of my expectations in a book.Chris Buckley is a perfect character, in the way that he is flawed, broken, sarcastic, and totally believable as a seventeen year old boy. I usually avoid love stories and horror/thriller stories, but you made me love both. You've inspired me not to conform in my own writing and to ignore what other people say.
I''m a seventeen year old writer who so far only has one book finished and two on the go. Thank-you again for inspiring me to continue writing as it''s easy to get discouraged. Please keep writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Solitary, Solitary Tales Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Save your money

Date:December 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Neese
Location:Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have read over 1200 Christian fiction books and I would put this book in my bottom 5. There was great potential with this story with believable characters and a semi interesting plot line BUT there is no redemption and nothing that points anyone to God or suggests there is hope in Christ. Unlike other reviewers, I did not receive the book for free to review. I SO wish I had my money back.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Solitary, Solitary Tales Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Creepy, cool, dark story

Date:November 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Review by Jill Williamson
Chris Buckley moves to Solitary, North Carolina. His mom has divorced his dad and they are on their own, living in a tiny cabin in the woods. That’s a little weird for Chris, having lived in the suburbs of Chicago, but worse is having to make new friends at a school where no one seems to look at anyone. What’s with this crazy town, anyway?
Then Chris meets Jocelyn and everything changes. He makes it his life goal to get to know her better, but she’s mysterious as well and has secrets she doesn’t want to share. Slowly he learn more about the town of Solitary. About missing kids. Bizarre nightmares. Unexplained deaths. Something horrific is going on in this town, and Chris vows not to let anything happen to Jocelyn.
Wow…I don’t know what to say about this book! It was creepy and intriguing and sucked me in. I couldn’t put this thing down. It’s written in a strong first person point of view from Chris, our teen hero. Thrasher gets deep into Chris’ mind and life and we know what it feels like to be him. We are completely wrapped up in his world… in Jocelyn.
It’s genius writing, in my opinion. Just…don’t expect the super-mega happy ending. If you like warm fuzzies at the end of your books, you might avoid this one, because, well, it’s heavy—at 392 pages—and might cause some damage when thrown against the wall. LOL
All that to say, creepy, cool, dark story. I believe it’s the first book in a series that takes place in the town of Solitary, so we’ll have to see where Mr. Thrasher goes next. God is in this book. It was just a little depressing for me. As a writer, I like to torture my characters too, but I just can’t leave them there! Maybe it’s the mom in me…who knows. I’m excited that this book is out there though. It’s very cool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Solitary, Solitary Tales Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

"Eerie, ethereal, sobering"!

Date:October 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chris Buckley and his mother, Tara Buckley, find themselves in Solitary, North Carolina, after a divorce. Tara had grown up in Solitary, and figured she could touch base with her brother, Robert Kinner, and get resettled there. They end up in Robert’s abandoned cabin, his whereabouts unknown.
Chris begins Harrington County High as a Junior. The only ‘friends’ he meets are the three girls, Jocelyn, Poe (Goth Girl), and Rachel, a threesome with strange personalities! Throughout the story line, we live, through the eyes of Chris, his first five months of school and home life in a town of very peculiar, secretive, hostile people. A far cry from Libertyville, Chicago.
Although dubbed as a young adult novel, as an adult I could relate to it by reminiscing my high school years–trying to fit in, a first love, loneliness, etc., so I wouldn’t limit it to young adult. It’s just too good a read!
Travis Thrasher’s Solitary begins and ends with an eerie, ethereal setting. It’s an experience I’ve not encountered before. It piqued my curiosity from cover to cover, even to the shocking end! The many twists experienced in the storyline continued to elevate my interest. It’s not for the faint-hearted or those terrified of the dark or night!
I found the book very well written, with characters that definitely align with the activities in an offbeat, secluded town and school, where outsiders are not welcome. The secrets held by the town at-large emulate into the school, making the characters feel terrified and unsafe everywhere. Who exactly is in charge? Is there a way to break through the secrets? If so, how? Does Chris have the knowledge or power to challenge the secrets?
I would like to have seen a little more emphasis on the truth setting people free. Would have made the book more complete. Maybe in a sequel?
This book was provided by Audra of The B & B Media Group, Inc., in exchange for my honest review.
For more information Travis’s books, go to www.travisthrasher.com
(Photos taken from here .)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Solitary, Solitary Tales Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2010
Solitary by Travis Thrasher is intense. There's no other way to say it. I'm not sure if there's such a genre as Christian Suspense or Christian Horror, but I think this novel fits either.Chris and his mother move to Solitary to make a new start. Upon arriving, though, it's apparent that Chris's uncle has gone missing, strange things are going on at his school, and the girl of his dreams has some serious secrets.I wasn't really sure what to expect with this book, but I literally could not put it down. I had to continually refrain from flipping to the end to find out what happened and what in the world was going on. Definitely a page-turner and will keep you hooked from beginning to end.I was a little disappointed with the spiritual aspects of the book. The book left me feeling a little ... hopeless.I received this book FREE from The B&B Media Group in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Solitary, Solitary Tales Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Solitary by Travis Thrasher is the first in the Solitary Tales series. Chris Buckley's life has been turned upside down by his parents' divorce. Forced to leave his friends behind in his hometown of Chicago, he moves to Solitary, North Carolina with his mother where they live in the cabin his uncle disappeared from several months ago. In school and town, Chris is made to feel like an outsider when people glare at him and he is threatened by the school bullies. He thinks that he may have found a reason to enjoy his stay in Jocelyn Evans, but every time he gets hear her, someone threatens his life, and even she keeps pushing him away. As he explores the woods around his cabin, he stumbles upon frightening creatures, scary voices, and nothing that makes any sense at all. If only he can hold on to Jocelyn, he knows that somehow things will be all right. Thrasher just keeps getting better and better with his novels, and I think that's he's truly hit his stride with this haunting series. He takes every teenager's worst nightmare of moving to a new town and feeling ostracized and ramps it up dangerously. Chris is completely believable as the average American teen: disaffected, using music to define himself and his life, cocky, and searching for love. I couldn't put this book down once I started. It's fast-paced and heart-breaking, frightening and sweet, all in a perfect mixture for both young adults and their parents. I can't wait to read the sequel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Solitary, Solitary Tales Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2010
Awesome book. The view from the eyes of a teenage boy experiencing a new town and a new school with lots of strange things happening. I liked that the author told the story from the perspective of the boy only, he didn't include any of the thoughts of other characters. This made the mystery more intriguing and suspenseful because we didn't get to see any other angle. The story was fast-paced but didn't give any obvious hints as to what would happen. I liked that the ending was totally unexpected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Solitary, Solitary Tales Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
JenniferinMI
I'd been hearing good things about Travis Thrasher but this was the first one of his books I'd picked up. I wasn't sure what to make of it from the cover, which reminded me of either Shel Silverstein's (Where the Sidewalk Ends) or Jack Prelutsky's (Snopp on the Sidewalk) book of poems. Which may not be far off since those were highly imaginative poems for children.Thrasher is an excellent writer, able to take us back to those painfully awkward, lonely days of being an outsider in high school with just a few words. And his ability to create a sense of place and infuse it with meaning (or emptiness and evil in this case) is something rarely seen. His abilities in these areas reminded me of Stephen King.Let me tell you, Thrasher can write some heart-pounding scenes. And because of that, I'm not sure if it's exactly a YA book. I would be hesitant to give it to anyone under 14, maybe even 16, because of his ability to so elucidate the pervasiveness of evil. If you know your child is sensitive to these things then be wary. But any kid that loves Stephen King will love Travis Thrasher. The book takes you right up to the edge all the way to the end and leave you wanting more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Solitary, Solitary Tales Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Wow this book was bizarre, dark, unpredictable and creepy! I had no idea what I was in for as I began to read it, and I wasnt sure exactly what happened when I finished it. If this would have been the very first book of Travis Thrashers that I had picked up, I dont know that I would have been motivated to read his others. I dont exactly enjoy feeling SCARED while I read and this one definitely scared me out of my wits! At the same time, although I was feeling a little freaked out while reading this, it was hard to put down. Thrasher definitely has the shock factor going on and hooks his readers with outrageous suspense so much so, that its like watching a train wreck. You cant seem to tear your eyes away although you suspect it could end badly.The first book I read of Thrashers was Blinded, which I enjoyed more than this one. Others have dubbed him Steven King-ish and I agree Travis definitely has his own style of writing and its not the usual Christian fiction. Im not sure that Christian Horror is a good description, yet Suspense doesnt seem to fit or do the book justice.Without giving the entire book away, I will say that I never saw the ending coming. It was a complete shock to me and once again Travis manages to keep his readers guessing all the way to the end. This is definitely one NOT to start reading at bedtime or if youre easily spooked.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Solitary, Solitary Tales Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2010
Solitary is about a new boy, Chris Buckley, in high school in a small town in Solitary, North Carolina. He meets three girls and really falls for Jocelyn Evans. This group of girls are really "far out" but they are the only ones that will have anything to do with the new student. The high school bullies start picking on him from the first and he find out that the main one Gus "his dad owns most of the town" will do anything to anyone to show them he is the "boss". Chris and his mom live in a small house that his uncle had left, and Chris find out that the bully Gus and his family live down the dirt road that goes by his house. Chris wants to find out about Jocelyn and all her secrets. As the two draw closer together Chris learns about the secrets and the evil that lurks in the small town.My Thought:There is so much of this goes on in all our high schools today that parents are not aware of. This book really tells about it and is really a great read for all ages, especially high school age kids. This book was sent to me Audra at The B&B Media Group for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.