Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook The NLT Transformation Study Bible - imitation leather, brown

David C. Cook The NLT Transformation Study Bible - imitation leather, brown

For over 30 years, millions have come to rely on the timeless wisdom of Dr. Warren W. Wiersbe's "Be" commentary series. Dr. Wiersbe's commentary and insights on Scripture have helped readers understand and apply God's Word with the goal of life transformation.

Warren W. Wiersbe is the former pastor of the Moody Church in Chicago, an internationally known Bible teacher, and someone who has given his life to a deep examination of God's Word.

God transforms us through His Word, and The Transformation Study Bible promises to be an essential resource for growing motivated disciples. Not only will you understand God's Word with a greater sense of clarity, but you will be given the means to apply what you learn with a new sense of purpose.

The Transformation Study Bible offers the full text of the highly readable New Living Translation with accompanying notes and commentary from the 50 books in Dr. Wiersbe's "Be" series.

Features:
  • Book Outlines—provide the key theme and key verse with other Scripture passages fitting into the flow of the book
  • Book Overviews—for each book of the Bible with timeless and practical lessons
  • Catalyst Notes—discusses important themes & character issues of each book motivating you to be transformed by the Holy Spirit
  • Be Transformed—help you understand how each book of the Bible impacts your life
  • Cross References—relates verses throughout the Bible, revealing how Scripture is connected
  • Charts & Maps—help you understand what the Bible teaches by summarizing key Bible content and information into concise visual form
  • Concordance—help you locate a verse or group of verses quickly
  • Study Notes—help you understand key Bible passages by explaining what they mean and how they apply to our lives
  • Text 9-point; Notes 7-point
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for The NLT Transformation Study Bible - imitation leather, brown
Review 1 for The NLT Transformation Study Bible - imitation leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THE devotional commentary Bible

Date:August 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
N4SC
Location:Waldorf, MD
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an amazing find.
I own plenty of Bibles, but the commentary from Warren Wiersbe (I would classify all of his books as must-read) is ridiculously helpful, whether you're having your quiet time, counseling some one, or just studying in general, the NLT translation makes for a smooth and easy to understand time in the Word.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The NLT Transformation Study Bible - imitation leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tammy
Location:Gillett, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is easy to understand and thought inspiring. I enjoy the summarizations and the catalyst sections of the book. I would highly recommend to friends and family!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The NLT Transformation Study Bible - imitation leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an incredible resource!

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joey
Location:DFW
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has quickly become my most valuable resource for my personal study. The commentary on each page, along with the catalyst notes, are clear and precise, and the New Living Translation is my preference. What I enjoy the most about this Bible is that it's simple and to the point. I highly recommend that you purchase one for yourself before they disappear.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The NLT Transformation Study Bible - imitation leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great information for advance Bible study

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
George Hurley
Location:Copperas Cove, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Warren Wiersbe has done it again. Great study Bible with easy to read foot notes. There are catalyst notes throughout this Bible which are some what like his notes in the" Be Series" that he wrote for each book of the Bible. A wealth of information for a low price. Enjoyable to read and understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The NLT Transformation Study Bible - imitation leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lisa Wheeler
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this book for a family member and pray they use it. Was recommended by someone for a new believer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The NLT Transformation Study Bible - imitation leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent for beginner to scholar

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Miss Boo
Location:Brandon, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The "Catalyst" insights give excellent additonal information that is both informative and thought provoking. The pages in the back for notes is a nice extra feature.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The NLT Transformation Study Bible - imitation leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
greg
like the other reviewer, this is a very thick heavy book and it is bulky, however the study notes are the best to any other study bible out there. a lot of "study bibles" notes ignore controversial or much debated text. Dr. Wiersbe does not shy away from examining these sometimes hard to dicuss passages and give wonderful insight into the Word of God and sound conservative, evangelical notes. To a person that believes that the Word of God is inspired and practical you will love the NLT and the study notes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The NLT Transformation Study Bible - imitation leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
vanessa walters
I am amending an earlier review I gave this Bible..Dr. Warren Wiersbe's note are very good, his Catalysts notes are even better, but there needs to be more of both!! The print is hard to read, even the red letter is hard, and it is very heavy to hold, too heavy except to lay it on a table...This could be a much better Bible!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The NLT Transformation Study Bible - imitation leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
vanessa walters
The ONLY reason I didnt give this 5 stars, is that it is really thick and somewhat heavy; I probably wont carry it to church; but I have used and relied on Dr. Wiersbe's BE books and other books and articles by him, as solid, reliable and grounded biblically; for many years. His notes are based on scripture, easy to understand and the 'catalyst' notes are excellent!! I LOVE him using the NLT version for this new study bible; it really helps to dig and study and understand...a great bible!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The NLT Transformation Study Bible - imitation leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
John Simpson
This is a well bound bible. BUT the print is the fine print used in so many Bibles, and for a person like me who finds it harder to read small fine print the Bible is a dissappointment. The print is paler in some parts of the NT, and the red print is so lighter red as to make it difficult to read without strong light. A special plea!! Can one of the publishers return to the dark bold and size 12-14 point print of the 70s?
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The NLT Transformation Study Bible - imitation leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2009
I found this bible excellent. It was easy to read. The study extras were well thought out, biblically sound, easy to apply, and make many parts much more clear and understandable. I liked that each book contained an overview as well as indications what the main themes were through out each book. The main difference that I found was the focus through the Catalyst sections and the Be Transformed sections on how the section of the book could help to transform my life through the working of the Holy Spirit.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The NLT Transformation Study Bible - imitation leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Vassie Barrett
I love every thing about this bible from the beginning to the end. This bible will make you excited about studying God's Word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The NLT Transformation Study Bible - imitation leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Alexander
Wow I am loving this bible study. I started out with the New Believer's Bible years ago and was so ready for the Transformation Study as it is taking me so much deeper in understanding to know God and his manual of life for me. I love being in the Word and now I am in It so much more and it is helping me to grow in faith at a whole new level. it sure is beautiful. thank you
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The NLT Transformation Study Bible - imitation leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathy Halley
Excellent easy reading of the Bible. This Biblehas accompanying commentary from Dr. Wiersbe'smoody radio talk program. Very detailed notesand concordance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The NLT Transformation Study Bible - imitation leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
This being my first encounter with an NLT Bible, I was quite pleased with the easy-to-read, yet accurate text. After reading several important passages, Ive found that this version supports a literal seven-day creation period, and in no way detracts from Gods absolute sovereignty and authority over the earth and all that is within it. The modern equivalencies of weights, measurements, time, etc. are a huge blessing (original measurements and such are provided in the footnotes.)After satisfying myself with the content and theological basis of the translation itself, I turned my attention to Wiersbes commentary. I found it to be both helpful, and accurate; whether dealing with Pauls theological writings in Romans, or narrative stretches of scripture, Wierbes explanations are clear and balanced.Bible extras include cross-references in the center column (I love these), words of Christ in red, a small, standard selection of full-colour Bible maps, preaching outlines by book, and a very respectable dictionary/concordance the most comprehensive built-in concordance Ive seen. Formally structured book outlines provide an overview of the pain points and occurrences within each portion of scripture. A conversational introduction to the book, and Be Transformed section help readers to discern the meaning of the book, and its potential to apply directly to their lives. The Catalyst sections spread throughout the text do an excellent job of focusing in on the big picture, the overarching themes of Gods plan, illumining the personal relevance of important events and sections of scripture.Ive only just skimmed the surface of this large volume (2300+ pages), but Im looking forward to reading through the Bible with an increased sense of meaning, depth, and personal relevance as I continue to explore its pages.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The NLT Transformation Study Bible - imitation leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2009
The NLT Transformation Study Bible is a wonderful resource. The NLT version is beautifully written poetic, yet easy to understand. The notes and commentary provided by Dr. Warren Wiersbe are insightful and thought-provoking. They provide knowledge of the times in which the books were written as well as astute life lessons for the reader. It will encourage growth in the reader and lead to the student seeking discipleship from the writing of this gifted editor. I am proud to have this translation in my reference library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The NLT Transformation Study Bible - imitation leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robin Bayne
This new study Bible is a wonderful resource. Along with the full NLT text, Dr. Wiersbe includes introductory sections, book outlines, book overviews, catalyst notes, cross references, maps, a concordance and study notes.I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The NLT Transformation Study Bible - imitation leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Keiki Hendrix
The Transformation Study Bible, Warren W. Wiersbe General Editor is a clear and concise New Living Translation of Gods Holy Word compiled with the disciple of Christ in mind.Billy Graham calls Dr. Warren Wiersbe one of the greatest Bible expositors of our generation.In The Transformation Study Bible, Dr. Wiersbe includes accompanying notes and commentary from the 50 books in his Be series, an exceptional benefit to be sure.The NLT version makes this Bible a very easy to understand and the New Believer will find all the tools included in this Bible a great asset.Notable Elements: * Chapter outlines, key verses, and brief introduction * Commentary sections at the bottom of each page * Scripture cross-reference * Catalyst sections with more in depth notes * Extensive concordance * Personal notes section * Reference mapsFrom a purely personal viewpoint, I found this Bible to be exceptional and a great gift for a new believer for the simplicity of the translation, but also as study help to pastors, teachers, and any other bible student. I especially liked the vast concordance and Catalyst sections.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The NLT Transformation Study Bible - imitation leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2009
The Transformation Study Bible (hardback) was sent to me to review. I love reviewing Bibles! There is nothing that can beat that new Bible smell or feel. Not even a new car smell, can compare with a new Bible smell. I know your probably laughing at me already, but I assure you this is true, for me anyways. The Transformation Study Bible is a large Bible, one that you might not want to carry everywhere, due to its size, but a wonderful Bible for at home studying. Over 2300 pages long, it has every study tool imaginable. It concludes with colorful maps, a section for personal notes, an index of preaching outlines, and an in-depth dictionary and concordance. While flipping thru and reading sections of the book of John, which is my favorite book in the Bible, these are the things that jumped out at me. The things that make The Transformation Bible, more than an ordinary study Bible. First of all, each book, has an overview of that book. The overview tells the history, the setting, and who the book was written for. It will be very helpful in helping you understand the particular book of the Bible you are reading. Next there is a section that tells you what the theme is for that book of the Bible. For the book of John, the theme was be transformed. As you delve into the book, you have cross references, textual footnotes, and commentary by verse. Each book also contained commentary sections called Catalyst sections. These Catalyst sections are additional commentary and history behind sections of that book of the Bible. For example in John 3, there was a Catalyst called Transformed by Jesus, that was about Nicodemus. In John 15, there was a Catalyst titled Living in the True Vine. These Catalysts are dispersed through-out the entire Bible. The Transformation Bible is a wonderful study tool, a great addition to any home library, and an invaluable tool to pastors, teachers, and anyone with a passion for studying the Bible.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The NLT Transformation Study Bible - imitation leather, brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2009
Dr. Warren Wiersbe is a highly respected internationally known Bible teacher, former pastor and author of the popular Be Series commentaries. And now, with this beautiful Bible Study resource we can understand Gods Word with a better means of intelligibility, and be awarded the means to apply what we have learned with a new sense of purpose.The Transformation Study Bible contains many wonderful features such as the following: Book Outlines, Book Overviews, Catalyst Notes, Be Transformed, Cross References, Charts and Maps, Concordance, Study Notes and a Personal Notes section.I believe that this study Bible can help you grow and mature more in your daily walk with God, if your desire is to learn more about God's Word, then you can do so with The Transformation Bible. Dr. Warren W. Wiersbe continues to use his talents to bring us more wonderful teaching resources like the "BE" series. They have included the "Be Transformed" section to help you learn more about each book of the Bible so you can apply the applications of God's Word with the "BE" series books. Enjoy!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>