Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook The River of Times Series, Volumes 1-3

David C. Cook The River of Times Series, Volumes 1-3

Join sisters Gabi and Lia on an adventure of a lifetime-a trip to medieval Italy. Witness major battles, knights in shining armor, and the Black Plague in this collection of three softcovers. Series include: Waterfall, Cascade, and Torrent.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The River of Times Series, Volumes 1-3
Review 1 for The River of Times Series, Volumes 1-3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is the best triology ever !

Date:November 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Skatie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best tribology's because it has action , romance , archery ( my personal favorite ) , knights , time travel , & Italian guys . Need I say more ?
Oh yes buy or rent from your library all three because if you read the first book it is a cliffhanger so you will need book after book ! 1st book waterfall , 2nd cascade , & 3rd torrent .
There is drinking in this book I will warn you but none of the characters get drunk that I can remember (also keep in mind the its set in 14-16th centuries so it was legal , also they didn't have a clean water supply so ale was drink of choice) But overall Best book I've ever read . Readers of Robin Hood and Romeo and Juliet will love this I know I did !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The River of Times Series, Volumes 1-3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I would definitely recommend this book!!!!!

Date:August 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Swifty2012
Location:Topeka, KS
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I. LOVED. THIS. TRILOGY!!!! The characters were likeable and the storyline really kept your interest. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes an original, entertaining story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The River of Times Series, Volumes 1-3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I wished the series never ended

Date:November 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sheriff
Location:MA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Im reading it for the 2nd time, it was captivating! It brings out in every women the need to be rescued, the need to feel capable and the need to be the apple of one mans eyes!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The River of Times Series, Volumes 1-3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT BOOKS!

Date:April 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Milaca Assemblies Of God
Location:Milaca, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to hit on what one of the other reviews said about there not much about God and christian morals in the books. In the first book there isn't really, it's true, but as the series progresses, the girls in the books turn from knowing about God to really knowing God.
Also, the author wrote the books so she could give her daughters books they could give to their friends that read books like Twilight and the Hunger Games. I think she hit her mark! I would highly recommend this book to any of the teens in my youth group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The River of Times Series, Volumes 1-3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Vivid, Imaginative Time Travel

Date:February 10, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having read plenty of secular time travel books and deciding I didn't like them, I approached this series with some skepticism. And I still haven't made up my mind if time travelling is realistic/ethical/believable.
However, I did read all three instalments of this series and I very much enjoyed being taken back in time. Italy felt alive to me, the scenery, the costumes, the customs of the day just swept me up and enthralled me while transporting me back.
It felt like a wonderful historical read. But because it had the time travelling aspect, it also brought a wider dimension to bear by comparing present day roles and nuances to it. And I actually found the back and forth between time periods thought provoking and adding value to the story.
The characterization was deep and held true for all three books and I will keep these for my children to read when they are in high school. This series utilized creativity and imagination that opened up a window for me and made me want to re-enter Italy in this timeframe. Bravo!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The River of Times Series, Volumes 1-3
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Too little christian content, too much romance

Date:February 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tracy Grider
Location:Columbus, IN
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The adventure was good, but I really would not recommend these books to anyone who is looking for good christian fiction. The characters did not share the morals and values that christians should have. There was way too much romance, something that God does not want us to have our minds on until we are ready for marriage. Also I do not agree with them going back in time and interfering with God's plan. Over all, if you are a strong christian and farther along in your walk with God I would recommend finding another series.
In His service, Ashland Grider
-5points
5of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The River of Times Series, Volumes 1-3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awsome series!

Date:December 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ember
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Two sisters and their parents are thrown back in time where they find romance and danger around every turn. And on the way they discover the true meaning of life and family. This series is great for teen girls and I highly recommend these books. I certainly hope the rest of the series gets published - and soon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The River of Times Series, Volumes 1-3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best books I've read in a long time!!

Date:September 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
AuthorTrialsTrilogy
Location:Scottsbluff, NE+
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love, love, love these books! They're written nicely, with detail and they capture your imagination from beginning to end! I couldn't put them down! I love how Marello is so desperatly in love with Gabi and how witty Luca is. All around great story, great plot! I wish there were more of them!! 100% good read! Perfect blend of romance and action!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.