Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Torrent, River of Time Series #3

David C. Cook Torrent, River of Time Series #3

In this conclusion of the River of Time series, every decision Gabi and Lia make is about life, and death. Being able to now control their time travel, the girls travel back to modern time to save their father from a certain, tragic death. But when their love from medieval Italy comes calling, they are determined to go back in time forever, despite the knowledge that the Black Plague is sweeping across Europe. Will the girls leave their time, home, and family forever?
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Torrent, River of Time Series #3
Review 1 for Torrent, River of Time Series #3
This review is fromTorrent - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I seriously could not put this books down. It was clean and had lots of adventure in it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Torrent, River of Time Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Bittersweet Finale

Date:February 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Returning yet again to her distant home from the past, Gabi returns now with her entire family. Having rescued her father from a certain death, she is determined to never lose him again. Gabi, Lia and her parents again face trouble but find happiness and truly have grown much before their years and learned to accept that life is short and you must treasure each moment as if it were your last and make life altering choices from the heart to stay alive as long as you can for those you love. As much as I hate to leave the characters I grow to love in the series, every subject was discussed, and I felt satisfied upon the conclusion. Three books are fulfilling to end on.
*I received this book free the Publisher in exchange for an unbiased, non-profit, honest review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Torrent, River of Time Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a ride!

Date:October 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sheriff
Location:MA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an adventures rider this has been, and a lot of sleepless night unable to put this series down. I was left hungry for more when this series ended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Torrent, River of Time Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Swept Away...

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I finished reading Cascade, I planned to wait a few months before reading Torrent, enjoying the anticipation of what the pages would hold. Torrent tempted me from the bookcase for just a couple of weeks, before I succumbed to the pull. Once again, I was swept away with Gabi's story. This time, the novel begins with a tug on the heartstrings as Gabi and her family are reunited with her father. His fatherly perspective adds an extra dimension to the growing love between Gabi and Marcello, and creates some humorous moments.
As the entire Betarrini family travels back to Italy, the excitement begins. New challenges and battles,which I will not reveal, keep the plot fresh. Romance and faith take precedence in Torrent, as Gabi contemplates her future. Although Gabi's struggles take place in another time, her questions and temptations are very realistic and relevant for today's readers. The romance element lends itself to a few "steamier" scenes, but they are offset by a message of restraint in the face of temptation. The sure and steady faith of Marcello and other characters are positive examples to both Gabi and readers. Of the three books in the River of Time Series,Torrent offers the best balance of action and emotion.
Bergren takes the reader to other areas of Italy in Torrent, including ancient Rome. Her clear and vivid descriptions paint a scene as masterful as the frescoes that define Rome's architecture. I enjoyed the change in scenery and the new twists those changes introduced. Torrent is the perfect ending to an amazing series. I loved Bergren's references to the River of Time and the symbolism of waterfall, cascade, and torrent. The novel tied all three books together, yet left room for more...and I am certainly thirsting for more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Torrent, River of Time Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a Grand end to a series!

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:Hudsonville, MI
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
<b>When Gabi and Lia finally learn to surf the river of time, they realize they must make hard choices about life and love in the third and final book in the River of Time series. </b>
Gabi and Lia Betarrini have learned to control their time travel, and they return from medieval Italy to save their father from his tragic death in modern times. But love calls across the centuries, and the girls are determined to return forever—even though they know the Black Plague is advancing across Europe, claiming the lives of one-third of the population. In the suspenseful conclusion of the River of Time series, every decision is about life … and death.
~
I loved the book! I took my breath away as my eyes scanned through every word. The images that played in my mind were phenomenal! I couldn't help but wish I was actually there. The images that played in my mind were phenomenal! I couldn't help but wish I was actually there. The connections between all the characters just blew my mind. The descriptive writing style that Bergren uses is just amazing.
With this book, the relationship with Gabi and Marcello take a completely big step forward. The surprise wedding just made everything better! When Fortino died, I couldn't help but cry. Would we ever see or hear of him again? was my question. The wedding took place in the grand library where Fortino had spent have his life. Nothing could compare to it. The sudden twists and turns of this book took me off guard, in a good way. That's what I look for in a book.
There is nothing much to say about the book, just that you gotta read it and see for yourself! (:
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Torrent, River of Time Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After saving their dad in the 21st century - Gabi, Lia and their parents travel back to the 14th century.
More than a year has passed for Marcello. He is even more determined to marry Gabi. But before Gabi can make a decision, her whole family must agree to stay in the 14th century. And before a final decision can be made Gabi is put in prison and Firenze tries to force her in marriage with one of their citizens. Gabi tries to escape, but get captured again and now is lead to the altar immediately.
Can Gabi escape this forced marriage? Can she get back to Marcello before she is bound to another man? Will Gabi's family decide to stay in the 14th century?
I really loved this book. It is the perfect ending of an exciting trilogy. Rarely I have read a trilogy that captivated me so fully. The story drew me deep in. I loved the characters, the adventure, the romance, the setting. Well, I just loved everything about it.
I loved reading about Gabi's growing faith in God. She is trusting Him more and more.
I was a tiny bit disappointed that there wasn't much Lia and Luca time. So I really do hope to read more about these characters - maybe in a new series?
This series was written for Young Adult, but as an adult I also loved it a lot! I'm sure I will read this series again to enjoy Lisa's excellent storytelling.
I highly recommend this series for all ages.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Torrent, River of Time Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sensational Ending for the She-Wolves of Siena!!!!

Date:October 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Buttercup
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Torrent was SOOO good! The ending was really satisfying and I would not hesitate to read the entire series again and again. Torrent picks up right where Cascade left us, in a race against time to save Ben Betarrini and return home to Gabi's beloved Marcello Forelli. We get all the action, romance, suspense, and just general amazingness as the first two books. Add in a little dramatic love-triangle and a resulting marriage between Gabi and one of the men (not telling!), this book leaves you smiling from ear to ear (literally, not just a corny expression ;D.) I was so unsure about how I felt about the whole "the dads back from the dead" thing when I finished Cascade, but Lisa T. Bergren somehow really made it work! I ended up loving every single paragraph Ben was in. The whole relationship between him and his daughters was so sweet. The action didn't leave you without biting your nails, and we finally see Gabi's vulnerable side as we learn that after all, she is only human. I absolutely loved reading about Gabi's growing faith in God and seeing her finally start to lean on Him. There wasn't much Luca time, so I am definitely hoping for a 4th book to tie the Lia/Luca knot. This book is definitely worth reading BUT, like I mentioned earlier, there is a marriage resulting in certain adult content and other some other things in the book that leaves me compelled to say that if you are thinking of getting this book for, I would say, someone younger than maybe 13, don't. Wait a couple years. This book will definitely stand the test of time. I cannot wait to see what Lisa T. Bergren had in store for us next, but as for the time being, I will read River of Time again and again. What can I say? It's irresistible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Torrent, River of Time Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extraordinary ending!

Date:September 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow Torrent was so amazing! It truly was an extraordinary ending to the series and left you wanting more ever chapter! There are so many wonderful things to say about this book, but I don't even know where to begin! I can't wait to reread it again in the future and look forward to more books by Lisa! You will not regret buying this book! A must read for sure! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Torrent, River of Time Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow! 'Torrent' is FANTASTIC!

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melanie
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
'Torrent' the third (and final) book in 'The River of Time' series and the fourth book that I've read by Lisa T. Bergren.
'Torrent' picks up right where 'Cascade' left off. After traveling through time to save their dad - Gabi, Lia, Adri (their mom), and Ben (their dad), travel back in time to 14th Century Italy.
Even though there is the threat of the 'Black Plague' arriving, getting killed, and/or tortured, Gabi and Lia still want to return and remain in Medieval Italy for as long as possible.
They will have to deal with wars (again), imprisonment (again), kidnapping, and forced marriage.
I loved this book! The story was so addicting and I finished 'Torrent' in under 2 days! There was alot of action, romance, and a ton of suspense! I liked many of the characters including: Gabi, Lia, Marcello, Luca, Ben, and Adri - to name some of them.
As I said 'Torrent' is very addicting and I don't think there was a "good" place to stop reading because I wanted to continue on and see where the story was going to continue. If you decide to read 'Torrent' be prepared to stay up late reading☺!
I REALLY hope that Lisa Bergren will write more books in the future with these characters (I don't want to say goodbye to them yet...) and if she does, I definitely plan on reading them!
I highly recommend the entire 'River of Time' series ('Waterfall', 'Cascade', and 'Torrent').
♥Many thanks to David C. Cook for providing me a complimentary copy for my review and Lisa T. Bergren for sending me a Galley Copy.♥
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Torrent, River of Time Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Epic conclusion!

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rel Mollet
Location:Australia
Lisa T Bergren has captivated my heart, soul and mind with the stunning conclusion to her epic River of Time series. Torrent hurtles readers back to medieval Italy with Gabi and Lia, this time with parents in tow. Intrigue, corruption, secret societies and one gorgeous but ambiguous villain intensify the danger and romance, as Lisa weaves twists and turns together with heart pounding adventure into another unique and thrilling tale. While penned for teens, this series' appeal extends to any reader who craves exceptional storytelling, brilliant characterisation and a legendary love story. Torrent left me both breathless and invigorated and as much as I would love to say more, there is no way I am spoiling the adventure for those who haven't yet read Waterfall and Cascade, but will say I was both surprised and delighted by the conclusion of the series. That said, nothing would please me more than to hear that Lisa is able to write more books in a new series about the Bettarini women, the Forelli knights and said ambiguous villain! I can't wait to dive back in to this amazing series ~ that is how fabulous they are.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.