Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Waterfall, River of Time Series #1

David C. Cook Waterfall, River of Time Series #1

Maybe most American teens would love a Mediterranean vacation, but the Bentarrini sisters are stuck in Italy every summer with their archaeologist parents! Young Gabi is bored out of her mind . . . until she's swept into the 16th century and a whole new world filled with knights, horses, armor, swords, and great-looking Italian guys!
Average Customer Rating:
4.939 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 out of 33100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Waterfall, River of Time Series #1
Review 1 for Waterfall, River of Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I've already reserved my copy of the 2nd and 3rd.

Date:April 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Thrilling.
A very thrilling read indeed, just like I was promised by a good number of readers when I was searching for a good read.
With Waterfall, Bergren unlocks a door to ancient Italy and invites readers not just to peak in but to step in and see, and experience it for themselves. The research was clearly well done - she even provided a bibliography at the end of the novel, wouldn't you know- and this read engrossed me so much, I just kept flipping pages! One minute, I'm on page 80 the next, p. 200. And I just could not stop smiling while reading.
I like a heroine with spunk, tenacity... that 'try-me-and-you'll-see' vibe and Gabriella is all that and more. (She gives them soldiers a gooood run for their money.) Marcello is a gentleman and a knight in shining armor through and through and I think every romantic will find the romance in this book quite enjoyable. (Watch out for the kissing scene, ladies!!)
That being said, what I liked less: (* COULD CONTAIN MINOR SPOILERS!*)
- Didn't understand why at one point, Marcello told Romana that Gabriella confessed having feelings for him, when at that moment, it was unnecessary for Romana to know that and what he said wasn't entirely the truth.
- LUCA! Dear Luca. I so dearly hoped that he might end up finding a lover in this book... Gabi's sister maybe. But as it turned out, Evangelia can be quite selfish many times.
- While reading, I kept on hoping that Gabriella would reveal her secret because the more she kept it to herself, the more confused Marcello became and I found that unfair. (When you truly love someone you don't do that to them.)
And lastly, just a side note, I found the pace slower toward the end of the novel. I want to keep on reading this series though, I sense that there are more good things to come. And one thing is for sure:
So help us, Lisa T. Bergren is able to write very, VERY well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Waterfall, River of Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WHAT A RIDE

Date:February 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Time travel has almost intrigued me! How I would give anything to see past cultures, societies, eras! The thrill of the unknown!
In Waterfall, the story is about these young sisters, Gabrielle and Lia who join their archeological Mother for a vacation in Italy. Only to find this vacation will be unlike any they have ever experienced! They get transported back 700 years back to pre-Ancient Italy! Lia get's separated and captured by the enemy through most of the book, so this novel is basically told through Gabi's view. She is rescued by a legit Knight in Shining Armour, (no pun intended), Marcello. Forbidden feelings start to bloom against the pair, as he is betrothed to another. In the beginning Gabi finds herself begging to leave this century, but in the end longing to stay, until a major fight leaves her at the brink of death, she must choose! *I WON'T SPOIL IT*
I love how Gabi makes Marcello reconsider his choices, and open his eyes to unlimited possibilities in life! Gabi and Lia are the most unlikely, likely heroines you'll meet! Typical teens one minute, smart, brave and cultural the next! A mix of Bella Swan and Katniss Everdeen!
*I received this book free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest, non-profit, unbiased review*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Waterfall, River of Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Could not put down

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sheriff
Location:MA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Wow what a captivating story!!!!!!
Adventure, sword fighting, damsels in distress with plenty of teenage drama!
Clean and wholesome!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Waterfall, River of Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worth Reading, With a Couple of Flaws

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sapphire
Location:Wyoming
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't like two things about this book: it has a fairly slow, jumpy start, and some scenes seem to be included only for the purpose of manipulating the reader's emotions and not to move the plot along.
That said, it's still a thrilling story, the heroine is delightfully strong, and the quality of the research is amazing - the author truly brings this historical setting to life. I definitely recommend it to any history buffs who appreciate strong female protagonists.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Waterfall, River of Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great series for teens & moms to read together

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fenzelm
Location:Brighton, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a middle school teacher, I am always looking for books that will interest teen readers, teach a lesson, and span the interest level to their parents as well. This book was fantastic. It was a quick read with well developed characters and a truly fun plot. All 3 of the books in the series were fantastic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Waterfall, River of Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating - Spread the word!

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
uniondawg
Location:West of Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw this book in a Christian Book Distributors catalog. My son is a voracious reader so I wanted to see if I could find him some new stuff for the summer. I guess from the description I should have known these weren't going to be for him, but I guess I just read the part about time travel and medieval times and just went with it. They are definitely not for him, but I believe the YA girls and adult ladies will certainly enjoy. Books 4 and 5 of the series are only available in e-format at this point. The author has indicated that more sales would possibly allow for printed versions, so I am aiming to spread the word. I absolutely LOVED these books!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Waterfall, River of Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderfall!

Date:April 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Virginia Burford
Location:Dalton, Ga
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ever since I saw this series advertised by Christian Book Distributors I've been wanting to read it! I finished Waterfall recently and cannot wait to continue the series! I love time traveling stories as well as Christian fiction, so this combination by an incredibly talented author is amazing. Looking forward to more. God Bless~Virginia
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Waterfall, River of Time Series #1
This review is fromWaterfall - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathi
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed the story unfolding and it was a good read. The only thing I disliked was the abrupt ending. It seemed to just cut off and left you hanging.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Waterfall, River of Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another book (and series) my daughter consumed

Date:January 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my daughter started reading Waterfall, my Kindle disappeared for a week until she had consumed the series. Here's what she says about the book.
I usually don't read a lot of medieval books. So I wasn't sure I would like this one. Boy, was I wrong. I really liked the time travel elements of the story. It was really cool because each time they entered a new world -- slipping from modern times to an medieval setting: battles and more. I really liked the she-wolf element -- the heroines are called the she-wolves of Normandy after a severe battle. Gabby and Lia show Marcelo and his friend that they are capable of fighting right beside the men. The book is packed with action with romance threaded in the story and a small dose of faith. These books are thrilling and great for readers (young and old) who love action and adventure in new settings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Waterfall, River of Time Series #1
This review is fromWaterfall - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

unique

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
TBrown
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a wonderful story. Grabs you right away and doesn't let go. Didn't want it to end, even after the third book, would love it to continue. Very well written so action comes alive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Waterfall, River of Time Series #1
This review is fromWaterfall - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

really enjoyed the book

Date:January 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
gptoms
Location:Fort Walton Beach FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
well written, great story, good insight to female teens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Waterfall, River of Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Be surprised!!

Date:December 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
ConnieR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hadn't expected to read a "young adult" fiction book. But this book caught me and swept me into the "river"!! Absolutely wonderful, fast moving, and it catches the imagination. No worries recommending this book to your teens as a wholesome pick!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Waterfall, River of Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AMAZING!!!!!

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Renee C
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Imagine falling back through time to 14th century Italy with your sister or best friend, would you be able to survive? Gabriella and Evangelia Betarrini two modern-day teens stumble upon an ancient tomb in the Italian countryside and are somehow separated on an impossible trip through time. Waterfall is the story of Gabi's search for her sister and a way back to the future and her mother who was left behind. In spite of the lack of modern day conveniences, conflict, and political unrest there's one thing Gabi never thought to find-love.
Rescued by a hot Italian who appears to be a part of some Renaissance reenactment Gabi is desperate to find Lia. With the help of said hot Italian (aka Marcello), his family and fellow knight Luca who also happens to be a hot Italian Gabi faces down some pretty fierce fellows in her quest to find her sister. Not only does Gabi become a warrior but a healer and friend to the eldest Forelli, Fortino. If Gabi ever finds her way back to the present she will not have done so without leaving a huge impact on the residents of the "castello" and making a few enemies out of the Paratores. Fourteenth century Italy has never been more interesting or intriguing-or dangerous.
With as much action as The Hunger Games and enough drama to put Gossip Girl to shame Waterfall is sure to please both teens, their moms and romance fans alike. The only disappointment that you will face when reading this is when you turn the last page. As part of a trilogy you don't get a lot of closure and you will suffer if you don't have book two, Cascade, close at hand...trust me! Be warned that this isn't a Janette Oke type story like your mom read when she was a teen, this book is action-packed! The Betarrini sisters aren't afraid to kick some serious tail! That said if you want a good clean story with just the right amount of thrill and romance consider picking up a copy of Waterfall!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Waterfall, River of Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:Hudsonville, MI
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What do you do when your knight and shining armor lives, literally, in a different world?
"Lisa Tawn Bergren's new YA series, River of Time, is romantic, historical fiction in which the plucky heroine doesn't have to fear a vampire's bite but must still fight for her life.
In Waterfall, American teenager Gabi Betarrini accidently finds herself in Fourteenth-Century Italy . . . Knights. Swords. Horses. Armor. And Italian hotties. Most American teens want an Italian vacation, but the Betarrini sisters have spent every summer of their lives there with their archaeologist parents. Stuck on yet another hot, dusty dig, they are bored out of their minds... until they place their hands atop handprints in an ancient tomb and find themselves catapulted into the Fourteenth Century and in the middle of a fierce battle between knights bent on killing one another." - Goodreads review
My Two Cents
While the Betarrini's are still suffering the death of their father & beloved husband, they continue in their search for the long lost Etruscan city bringing Evangelia and Gabriella in complete boredom. While searching for something intriguing and unique, Lia and Gabi discover a tomb which totally changes the Betarrini lives forever. With only the touch of warm hand prints which only activate a time portal by only Lia and Gabi's touch the world starts spinning. Loosing Lia in the process, Gabi finds herself lost and alone in the middle of a battle scene in Fourteenth-Century Italy! Battles. Knights. Horses. and Italian hotties! Being captivated into this journey, you can't let it go. The gripping words, and intense wars keeps you wanting more!
But when Gabi finds out that her sister, Lia, is in enemy hands, she'll do anything to help her. But when she tries to fight Castello Paratore, she finds herself falling for one Italian hottie, who is betrothed to Romana Rossi. Marcello also has eyes for Gabi, but how will their love affair be complete with Lia in enemy hands and his betrothed forcing him to carry on with his nuptials?
Marcello and Gabi finally allow their covert affair to arise which then forces many problems in the Forelli family and even when the close death of Marcello's oldest brother finds it's way into the family affairs, Gabi is then poisoned in the healing process of a stab wound by the assassin, and then seeing that returning to the 21st century is the only way to heal her, Marcello and his cousin, Luca, bring her to the tomb saying their dreadful goodbyes. Will Gabriella ever see Marcello again?
~
This book filled me with excitement, anger, fear and love.
Warnings
Nothing to be told here, it was a clean Christian book which leads me to say that I would recommend this book to ages 13+.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Waterfall, River of Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ready To Jump Off a Bridge? :o)

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
You remember when your parents always pointed out to you that "just because your friends do something doesn't mean you have to do it, too?" More specifically, I believe the correct question was, "If your friends jumped off a bridge, would you do it, too?" Well. Dear old mom and dad just didn't know about the River of Time, and the "bridge" that took us there, did they? *wink*
Yep, I jumped off a bridge and into a book that far exceeded my expectations. I have always known that Lisa was an exceptional author, but she's gone and made me a fan for life with Waterfall. I found myself smiling, laughing, and wishing that Gabi and Marcello could've met each other in the same century realistically.
I loved all of Gabi's 21st century thoughts as she wished she could go to Google for medicinal cures, or wondered why there was no deodorant, or most importantly, why there was *no* indoor plumbing (seriously, that'd be it for me...chamber pots just aren't my thing). Lisa also did a great job with the language as Gabi was clearly out of her element at first. Thank heavens, we have progressed enough to say "tomorrow" instead of "on the morrow," and that the use of "mayhap" has gone by the wayside.
But what impressed me the most was that this did not feel like a young adult novel. Sure, there were some moments when Gabi's maturity faltered a bit, but overall, she was a believable teenager who handled this unusual journey through time quite admirably. It was also nice to know that there are *great* books out there suitable for a younger audience that aren't full of vampires, zombies, or sex (not that I read any of those, but I'm tired of seeing them on bookstore shelves just the same).
So, I'm back on dry ground, no longer in the River of Time, but I'm itching to jump back in! This book left me hanging in the worst sort of way, and the only way I'll recover will be to immediately find the next one, Cascade. And if it wasn't already obvious, Waterfall has earned a well-deserved 5-star rating from this non-YA person, and a high recommendation for all audiences of Christian fiction. :o)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Waterfall, River of Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Adventurous Journey!

Date:September 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sister raved about "Waterfall" after she read it a few weeks ago. The question was, would I love it too? The outcome...We are both anxious to read the next two novels in the River of Time series. Although "Waterfall," is classified as a young adult novel, it can easily be enjoyed by adults. Its fantasy aspect brings to mind the "Twilight" series, which of course is popular among many age groups, but I found "Waterfall" to be more exciting and with more likable characters.
"Waterfall" is set during the Middle Ages in Italy, and is complete with knights, dungeons, sword fights, damsels in distress, castles, and villains. I am usually not a fan of novels set in the Middle Ages, but this was an exception. Bergren balanced the medieval qualities with Gabi's modern day perspective. As a result, the reader gets the "best of both worlds." The plot is full of adventure, breath-holding close calls, and perilous situations. These elements are tempered by the budding romance between Gabi and Marcello, as well as Gabi's growing faith and her struggle with reconciling her medieval life with her life in the present day.
The time travel fantasy is one not often approached in Christian fiction, but it offers a welcome escape from the real world while conveying meaningful lessons. I have no idea how the "River of Time" series will end. Will Gabi and Lia choose to live in the present or past? Where will their time travel take them and what new dangers will they face? A journey down the "River of Time" is one adventure that readers will not soon forget.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Waterfall, River of Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting Dive Into Waterfall!

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lisa T. Bergren takes us on an exciting, whimsical journey back in time, beginning in modern day Tuscany and ending up in 14th century Italy! Gabi and Lia Betarrini have spent every summer with their archaelogist parents amongst the ruins of medieval castles, ancient tombs, and dusty sites. However, on this particular summer day, something happens to change the course of both sisters' lives, when they place their hands atop a handprint in an ancient tomb, and find themselves transported to 14th century Italy.
Gabi instantly finds herself without Lia, in the midst of lords and ladies, warring knights, and one handsome lord in particular...Marcello Forelli! Gabi enlists Marcello, and his best friend, Luca, to help her find her sisiter, without divulging her secret that she has traveled back in time. Difficulties arise when Marcello's fiance, Lady Rossi, starts to see an attraction beginning to develop between him and Gabi ...and when she also finds herself caught between two opposing forces in many a life or death situation. Did God send her there to help change the course of history? Where is Lia and can they save her before it's too late, and how can Gabi allow herself to fall in love, knowing somehow she must return to the present and leave Marcello behind?
There is so much to this plot that I cannot say more without spoilers, but this is a delightful read for YAs everywhere! I have to admit I had a hard time putting it down myself and I'm certainly far from that age group! Lisa Bergren's writing style is impeccable, as is her research, and her characters were well developed and charming. I am looking forward to Cascade, which is the next book in The River of Time Series, where Gabi's journey continues!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Waterfall, River of Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surprisingly captivating!

Date:August 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nicole Shubert
Location:Nebraska
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had no preconceived notions as to whether or not I thought the book would be a good read, great read or bomb. I thought it looked interesting by the description so I gave it a try. I was surprisingly captivated by the story line. It has adventure, a tastefully done young romance and my favorite...strong willed women....what's not to love. I've ordered the 2nd and 3rd books in the series and can't wait to get started. I would highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Waterfall, River of Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:August 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read a few of Lisa Bergren's books before and absolutely loved them so when this book came up as a free download for my Kindle I knew I would want to read it. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is a YA novel so there are some teenagerish (I know that's not a word) moments in the book but overall I loved it. Gabi and her sister are taken through some sort of portal and transported back in time to Medieval Italy where they try to figure out how to get back home. I love this time period to begin with and I didn't want to put the book down. I can't wait to read the next book in this series. I'm so glad the library I work in is getting them in this fall!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Waterfall, River of Time Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adventure of a lifetime

Date:August 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Booklover21
Location:Gresham, OR
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Waterfall" is the first book in Lisa T. Bergren's 'River of Time Series'. It's a young adult book, but I believe that readers of all ages would enjoy reading it. The story is about an American teenager, Gabriella Betarrini, who has spent the majority of her summers in Italy, with her younger sister, Lia, and her archeologist parents. This summer they're in rural Tuscany, amidst a new archeological site, filled with crumbling castles and old burial tombs. The two girls, bored out of their minds, decide to do a little exploring, never imaging that this will land them in fourteenth-century Italy...
I literally could NOT put this book down. It grabbed me from the beginning and would not let me go. I was instantly swept into the world of knights and Lords and Ladies, of beautiful dresses, sword fights, adventure, and intrigue. And of course, romance. For what young lady wouldn't fall in love with a smoldering, medieval Italian man? (Sigh....) I don't want to give the whole story away, but needless to say, I can assure you that you will love every page of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>