Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for AB Publishing Wisdom and the Millers: Proverbs for Children

AB Publishing Wisdom and the Millers: Proverbs for Children

Wisdom and the Millers Make Proverbs come alive for the children in your home, church, or school! Here is a character building collection of lively, inspirational stories. Each chapter explains and illustrates a passage from the book of Proverbs, along with a story based on true life experiences. Follow the four "Miller" children as they learn great truths of life and wisdom; sometimes through their parents' stories, and sometimes the hard way! Will a father's prayer keep his family safe from the burglar? Why did Timmy get a bloody nose at the family reunion? And what is the sad story behind their mother's wooden stool? Read about these, and twenty-two other exciting stories.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wisdom and the Millers: Proverbs for Children
Review 1 for Wisdom and the Millers: Proverbs for Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a wonderful book!

Date:July 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
starlarr
Location:Waukegan, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book Me and my boys did not want it to end!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wisdom and the Millers: Proverbs for Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
tweety
Location:chehalis washington
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a must have for any parent, grandparent or teacher,teaching children Godly principles from everday situations~ making God's Word real for the daily walk. I've learned along the way as well!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wisdom and the Millers: Proverbs for Children
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Acts 17 11 Gal
This book was recommended to me by my home school store. I can see why the other people like this book, and we too liked it at first as well. My kids were loving the stories too. The book takes a Proverb and expounds on it and uses some practical application to make its point. However, after getting into it more, we decided to stop reading it for a few reasons. It tends to lean toward legalism (calling smoking a "sin"), and shows harsh discipline methods instead of reaching the heart (like "Shepherding a Child's Heart" and the Bible shows). The Millers seem to use "harsh" tones and "stern" talk instead of instructing their children in love, and use a lot of old-fashioned style of "no smiling on Sunday" type of ideas. Their lifestyle is very old-fashioned as well, and my kids couldn't really relate since we don't live on a farm and require them to do hard labor.So, it's not all bad, but enough of it is not Biblical enough and introduces the ideas of legalism that I never intend my children to learn. So, a little warning about this book amidst the other glowing reviews. This is not a book of grace and the knowledge of the Lord, but leans too much toward man-made rules and traditions.
+4points
12of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wisdom and the Millers: Proverbs for Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathy
My family loves listening to the Miller's stories. This book has been a blessing to each of us and all three of my children, ages 11, 7 and 4 1/2, talk about the story, characters, and the Proverb long after the lesson is done, months later, even. I recently found that there is a workbook to go along with this book. I am planning on using it when we go through Wisdom and the Millers again. You might be interested in some of the other Miller books as well, such as Prudence and the Millers (a great one to use for health if you home school!). We will be reading this book again and again.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wisdom and the Millers: Proverbs for Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Winkowitsch
This book is one of my very, very, very favorite books for children! I read this aloud to my children as a homeschooling devotional. It is simple and fun to use. The stories are wonderful. It is wholesome and full of wisdom. What more could you ask? I only wish there were more books like this. I'm looking and can't find anything similar for a slightly older child.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wisdom and the Millers: Proverbs for Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tracey Brewer
Our family is thoroughly enjoying this book! Our children are ages eight and six and these stories are right on their level. Each lesson fits beautifully with a verse in Proverbs and speaks to my heart as much as it does to the children. What a wonderful find!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wisdom and the Millers: Proverbs for Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sally Olson
This is a wonderful book to teach wisdom life lessons to children of all ages! My eight-year-old son reads aloud to us one story per day. Together we go through the scripture (from the Book of Proverbs) and vocabulary words that come up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wisdom and the Millers: Proverbs for Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kyle
If you have always wanted to study Proverbs with your children but you do not know where to begin this is a great book to read as you go through Proverbs! The book is about a Mennonite family and they take an individual verse and bring it to life. It has enabled me to discuss Proverbs in a way that it brings Proverbs to life for my kids and they look forward to their Proverbs time each day! We will be reading and re-reading this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wisdom and the Millers: Proverbs for Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
MBW, homeschooling mom
We love this book! The first thing I did was go through the book and mark to which chapter of Proverbs each story refers. Each school day, we open our Bible to the chapter Proverbs that corresponds to the date (the 12th chapter on the 12th day of the month, etc.). Each day, my daughter asks hopefully whether there's a Miller story to go with it.The stories are sweet, wholesome, and good. I am not an Anabaptist myself (I'm actually reformed Presbyterian credo-baptist, lol), but am comfortable with the content of the book. I am extremely picky. There is nothing in this book (or the other Miller books) that is remotely objectionable. On the contrary, the stories are encouraging, inspiring, and uplifting. Some offer strong warnings and admonitions. All of them shine with a love for God's Word.Five stars!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wisdom and the Millers: Proverbs for Children
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2001
Customer Avatar
Jacqueline Eden
This book was a great blessing to our children and us! They loved the stories and the kind instruction in wise behavior; and we loved the good example of kind, godly parenting that was exemplified. The first thing our 5-year-old said after the last story was "Can we start over at the beginning now?" And so we did!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.