Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Healer, Scottish Brides of Alba Series #1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

David C. Cook Healer, Scottish Brides of Alba Series #1

Hunted by the O'Byrnes, Brenna of Gowrys lives alone in the wilderness. Her kinsmen expect her to lead them against their oppressors, but she's not a warrior queen. She's a gifted healer whose skills---and heart---are tested when a wounded stranger stumbles upon her hiding place. Will their love bring strife or peace to Alba? 320 pages, softcover from Cook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.348 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Healer, Scottish Brides of Alba Series #1
Review 1 for Healer, Scottish Brides of Alba Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic story!

Date:June 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
lisareadsalot
Location:Shreveport, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was definitely a great read! I was captured by the great story and very interesting characters from beginning to end. I couldn't wait to start the next book in the series, "Thief", which I am now reading. I definitely recommend this series of books to anyone who craves romance, adventure and Christian faith all included in the stories!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Healer, Scottish Brides of Alba Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
DeeDee
Location:Madison, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was just too good to put down! It exceeded my expectations. I liked the way it showed that spiritual warfare was and will continue to be a very big part of our daily lives.
Not only was I entertained but I was also educated on several subjects. My only complaint - I was finished way too soon!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Healer, Scottish Brides of Alba Series #1
This review is fromHealer - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Enthralling

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lauretta
Location:South Africa
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Whilst the story of Healer is enthralling and exciting, I find that some of the content is unsuitable for the "Christian" market. We as Christians should strive to uphold purity and chastity, not give innocent young girls the impression that a true and lasting marriage is founded on lust or sexual appeal. A true novel can be enjoyed without graphic content.
Overall I found the story captivating and would like to read the following two books by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Healer, Scottish Brides of Alba Series #1
This review is fromHealer - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lynne Marie W.
Location:Evansville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Interesting book to read. It is different then most love stories. There is a lot of action in the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Healer, Scottish Brides of Alba Series #1
This review is fromHealer - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good story with a very good message.

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
troubadordbo
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Healer is a well written story with an excellent message. The characters are well developed and the plot has twists and turns that frequently keep you guessing
I did have an issue with the CBD Reader. It did not maintain my position in the story when I exited the program. Each time I returned to the story I had to relocated my page. This did speak well for the compelling nature of the story. The integrated romance was also well written and captivated your heart ad the couple faced the struggles that came with their relationship.
All in all a good read that left you looking for the sequel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Healer, Scottish Brides of Alba Series #1
This review is fromHealer - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cathy
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed the first book, can't wait to read the next two!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Healer, Scottish Brides of Alba Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intriguing!

Date:April 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
M Tanavamel
Location:Lake City, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book kept me up at night, the medieval plot holding me captive with spellbinding fascination. The research -well explained before entering the story- fulfilled my curiosity of the beginnings of the ancient church and its encroachment upon Celtic ideas. Windsor penned hard-fought warfare, both physical and spiritual, not holding back the blunt, gritty truth of what the characters faced during this time period. The story inspired me to keep up the good fight.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Healer, Scottish Brides of Alba Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well done fiction. Loved this story!

Date:February 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Healer was a great read. A bit gruesome at times, Healer was also subtle in regards to edgy content, but a compelling novel for sure. The history regarding Briton and the folklore that dated back to the early church was interesting. It's obvious the author knows this time period well.
I loved the romance in this story most of all, but the spiritual thread was pretty strong, too. I loved how Brenna was always showing the love of Christ through how she lived her life. It was cool how the author showed that Brenna's faith changed the people around her. She always gave God the credit for miracles, but she had periods of doubt and loneliness as well, especially prior to meeting Ronan. I loved how the heroine was able to heal not only Ronan's body, but how God used her to heal his soul as well. She made him want to live again.
Seeing their love slowly develop and deepen was probably the best part of the story. Windsor has a gift for writing romantic tension. At the same time, their long-term relationship couldn't be based on a lie. I loved how this whole thread unraveled and brought them closer together in the end.
I though Ronan was a great hero because he was so dedicated to Brenna. Then again, he did owe her his life. She was a true healer and used by God to bless many. That theme was so well done in this book. Parts of the story reminded me of The Healer's Apprentice by Melanie Dickerson. If you read both stories you will see why. I am really looking forward to reading the next book in this series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Healer, Scottish Brides of Alba Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
C Howard
I spent 30 minutes pouring over the "extras" before starting the book and was glad I did. I had no difficulty in following the unusual names and places and staying up with the plot. Linda's research is flawless. The story has just the right amount of twists and turns. She presents a solid picture of Christian beliefs during this time period and shows the power of the name of Jesus - thank you. I'm anxious to see where Caden's life takes him in book too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Healer, Scottish Brides of Alba Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Brenna Gowrys and her clan have suffered at the hands of the OByrnes for a generation. Having received a prophecy from her mother upon her death, this foretelling has sent Brenna into a solitary life of hiding. Hiding from the OByrnes who seek to destroy her, hiding from her kinsfolk who would seek to manipulate her politically.However, when an OByrne lordling is injured, Brenna takes him in without being aware of his past and uses her skills as a trained healer and herbalist to restore his health. Like many romances, this plot is fairly predictable; Im sure you can guess what happens! But while the romance is a bit unbelievable and stereotypically written, the historical background is fascinating, and largely unknown to me.As a result, I had a bit of a tricky time connecting all of the dots and making complete sense of the historical background (due to lack of familiarity with this newly cast Christian landscape and wealth of characters/allegiances etc.) What I did glean however has provided many hours of thought and conversation between my husband and myself.The political intrigue kicks into high gear after the main romance portion of the story moves into a more settled state. This too isnt entirely unpredictable, but was more engaging than the romance storyline for me.The writing is fairly average for Christian historical fiction, but the unique premise and historical angle is what elevates this title from the norm. If youre interested in exploring an introduction to the early Christianity (5th century AD), then this is a good entry-level title to explore this period and setting through fiction.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Healer, Scottish Brides of Alba Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jenness
The setting was interesting, the story intriguing and unique, for an overall enjoyable reading experience. The author obviously did her research, and she used a fresh angle on merlins, etc. I do think that, though sections were discreetly written, the story is better-suited for a more mature audience--just something to keep in mind if buying for a gift. I received a complimentary copy to review but was not obligated to give a postive one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Healer, Scottish Brides of Alba Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2010
This a story set in the 6th century Arthurian Brittan. Brenna a healer must live a hidden life because of the wars between her clan and the O'Byrnes who killed her parents. She has been schooled by the priests and by the healers of Avalon. She and her wolf see an assassination attempt, rescue the fallen prince and try to heal him. Unknown to her he is an O'Byrne. The story is full of tense moments, love, and wars, assassinations, reconciliation, peace and spiritual battles. The author knows her Christian and Druid history, establishing the background for the notion that Joseph of Arimathea and his family eventually settled in the British Isles and converted the Druids to Christianity. She makes the mental and spiritual battles that were fought by those who were brought up to believe both pagan and Christian lore come alive and cause physical battles and treachery. Intrigue and love and hate are a constant theme throughout the book providing an interesting page-turner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Healer, Scottish Brides of Alba Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Embracelife
This isn't my normal genre, and at first it was difficult for me to get into it. Once I did though, it was worth the investment. Windor writes with fantastic historical detail, from a time period that must be difficult to research. It wasn't long before I couldn't put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Healer, Scottish Brides of Alba Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2010
Very interesting. This story is based in the time of Arthur and merlins. This is not my usual area a fictional reading, but I enjoyed it none-the-less. It is very obvious that the author did a lot of research and spent much time tying truth and myth and weaving in the biblical history of this time. It reminds me of books such as the Chronicles of Narnia and others like it. I especially enjoyed the authors personal testimony of the redemption of her daughter from wicca through the research of this book. How interesting that ancient history helped to relate the truth of the bible to her daughter and the lies of the Evil One. Good book for those who enjoy tales of Arthur and magic and love and the war between good and evil. Thank you B&B Communications for the review copy. www.abbiereviews.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Healer, Scottish Brides of Alba Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Edna Tollison
"Healer" is a historical romance set in 6th-century Scotland in the time of Arthur. The author of this book has spent considerable time researching the history of the early church and the customs of the day. The novel explored the religions in Scotland during this time period, especially the difference between pagan witches and Christian-trained healers in how knowledge was used and who it was used for. This played a very strong role in the novel.Brenna is a follower of Christ and gives Him all the glory for her visions, which include tingling and warnings of impending danger. As a child, Ronan O'Byrne witnessed his father's madness. Now an adult, the images are a constant reminder of Ronan's lost childhood. He's sick of the hunts for the missing woman but as the heir to the O'Byrne kingdom, doesn't know how to stop his father. A bit medieval, this was a compelling story. Linda Windsor weaves together a tapestry of a tale that is filled with wonderful truths, sweet humor, remarkable faith, historical events, customs of the time, and a wealth of little things that make Healer seem so real. The imagery and the ties to some of the events in the story that relate to events in the Bible are intriguing and thought provoking, Healer, the first of the trilogy of The Brides of Alba, is a treasure to keep on one's bookshelf to be read more than once. I received a copy from The B&B Media Group for review but was not asked to provide a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Healer, Scottish Brides of Alba Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shannon
This is the story Ive been waiting to read by Linda Windsor, ever since discovering her Fires of Gleannmara series! Her writing is deeper, richer, smoother than ever before, and I found myself completely captivated by this story. Despite my weariness with seemingly endless versions of the Arthurian legend, Windsor puts a unique and scholarly spin on this tale, tying it in with ancient Biblical history and prophecies.Although this book was sent to me for review, I could hardly put it down, once I was able to start. Im very much looking forward to the next in the series and would gladly buy it outright.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Healer, Scottish Brides of Alba Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Healer by Linda Windsor is the first book in the Brides of Alba series. Brenna of Gowrys has become a symbol for two clans in ancient Scotland. The O'Byrnes consider her their fearsome enemy who will bring about the destruction of their family and believe that she is a shape-changing witch. The Gowrys believe her their only hope after the destruction of their clan leader by Tarlach O'Byrne after Brenna's mother, Joanna, spurned him for his best friend Llas Gowrys. His revenge killed both of her parents and sentenced the clan to living in the hills and raiding area farms for food. When Tarlach's eldest son, Ronan, is struck down by a mysterious would-be-assassin, Brenna's pet wolf, Faol, rescues him, and Brenna brings him to her cave refuge where she hides from the world to heal his wounds. Neither knows the other's identity until both have fallen too deeply in love to allow the past to tear them apart. When Ronan tries to bring her into his family, it brings about a tragic death, and more tragedy is on the way. Brenna is a delightful character who has been sheltered from the world, that when she is finally allowed to interact with others, she showers them with unconditional love, even those who should be her enemy. Windsor has created a fascinating look at Christianity in 6th century Scotland in the days of Arthur and Merlin when the old gods were worshiped alongside Christ, and a woman could be thought to change into a wolf. It's a beautiful and mysterious world filled with larger than life characters and epic stories. I'm so glad that Windsor is making this a series, because the characters are too good to say good-bye to after just one book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Healer, Scottish Brides of Alba Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carol M Kahlenberg
Healer was a book that kept me on the edge of my seat. A precious love story went through so much, so quickly. Can't wait for the next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Healer, Scottish Brides of Alba Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2010
This book by Linda Windsor absolutely pulled me into another world and kept me captivated. I love a good speculative fiction book and this one is great. Fact blends with fiction to create this magical place where there really isn't any magic, just amazing characters with tight scenarios and beautiful settings. The immersion of two different worlds, two at war clans and forgiveness that transcends human nature. This beautiful book has it all!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Healer, Scottish Brides of Alba Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anita Draper
I absolutely loved this book. In Healer, Linda has seamlessly woven historical fact and fiction together with fantasy to create an unforgettable story. The heroines gift of vision reminded me of my grandmother. To some, the gift of visions is unnatural or ungodly, but I believe God grants miracles and visions to aid His children today just as he did 2000 years ago and earlier. And yes, even in the 6th century. My grandmother experienced visions when a loved one was in danger so Im very comfortable with this scenario. I also believe in the healing power of herbs and would rather take a herb than a capsule of modern medicine. I was thoroughly at ease with these 2 aspects of the story. Wonderful imagery. Highly entertaining.Healer is a romance with the same problems young people face today when it comes to in-laws and conventions. Brenna loves God and Ronan doesnt know Him. Her people starve while his have plenty. How will they ever overcome these challenges? And how will Brenna survive the loneliness once Ronan goes back to his people?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>