Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook It's No Secret: Revealing Divine Truths Every Woman Should Know

David C. Cook It's No Secret: Revealing Divine Truths Every Woman Should Know

With passion, wisdom, and wit, Rachel Olsen provides the secrets to what every woman is looking for - answers to issues like exhausting schedules, unpaid bills, relational conflict, and unmet expectations. Exploring 12 kingdom principles from Scripture, Rachel invites women to connect their real selves with God and with their sisters in Christ. A Bible study section after each chapter encourages women to dig deeper. Fun, readable, and witty with a solid scriptural punch - It's No Secret is perfect for individual or group study. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for It's No Secret: Revealing Divine Truths Every Woman Should Know
Review 1 for It's No Secret: Revealing Divine Truths Every Woman Should Know
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book to help you refocus, recharge, renew.

Date:January 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susan Meissner
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Rachel Olsen’s It’s No Secret will definitely help you navigate life – arguably a big topic - but her down-to-earth prose is refreshing and real. It’s brimming with good advice but it's lighthearted, too - a really nice balance of both. And it's a book that offers some great introspective questions for self- or group study. You don't just read it to read it, you read it to change the status quo, especially if your life pursuits are running you ragged. The "secrets" that aren't really secrets after all are comforting practices like rest, humility, generosity, and other virtues we tend to push to the back burner when life gets busy and complicated. A book to help you refocus, recharge, renew.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for It's No Secret: Revealing Divine Truths Every Woman Should Know
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book filled with powerful truths

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pamela
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Rachel's book is a great source of truth with thought provoking study questions at the end of each chapter. But one chapter in particular is speaking to my heart. Let's just say every page in Chapter 7 Adjusting Your Scale is covered with neon yellow highlighter. This chapter reveals the secret to God's way of being perfect. God is using her words to speak to this heart plagued with perfectionism (in the wrong sense). I'm praying God will help me to weigh things on the scale of grace and love instead. This book is speaking powerful truths in my life and I'm sure in the lives of many others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for It's No Secret: Revealing Divine Truths Every Woman Should Know
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Read

Date:December 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
tammiego
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Description
Are you tired of life as usual? Ready to trade your everyday issues and emotional hang-ups for a life of greater intimacy and fulfillment?
Then it's time you join Rachel Olsen and discover some God-sized secrets to successful living.
Rachel's writing is lighthearted and fun. But she's serious about helping you uncover biblical secrets to energize your spiritual life and relationships. This book will help you:
* Handle petty conflicts and criticism with grace
* Overcome the competitive urges that leave you lonely
* Grow spiritually despite life's setbacks
* Relax unrealistic expectations in favor of emotional stability
* Uncover a surprising means to worshiping God amidst your busy schedule
* Discover how to make what you give away ultimately return to you
* Find adventure as you yield wholeheartedly to God
Coffee.
Chocolate.
Your closest friends.
This is a great bible study to work alone, but if you are looking for that next bible study for your ladies group, this is it.
What I like about this is that it addresses everyday topics that as women and as followers of Christ, we continually encounter such as issues of competition, true versus false humilty, gossip, just finding times, among the many topics that are touched and are daily struggles for a Sister of Christ.
Chapters are brief, with study questions that will really have you digging into your Bible to explore and examine Biblical truths and stories and how they apply today as they have applied throughout the ages.
These are short studies that are good for a thirty minute study if you're doing it alone or for hour(s) discussions for a group of girlfriends whose gather together and sure to touch, encouraged and challenged.
You'll explore twelve principals from scripture, and delve into the Bible yourself with end-of-chapter studies. So grab your Bible, your coffee cup, a copy of It's No Secret, and a girlfriend and come discover twelve secrets the world doesn't know that every woman should.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for It's No Secret: Revealing Divine Truths Every Woman Should Know
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Let the Secret Out!

Date:November 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
TrenchMommy
Location:USA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The cover is the first thing that caught my attention with this book. The steamy hot drinks and cozy scene made me want to jump in and settle down with this book in hand! But the cover is only the start.
Rachel Olsen warmed my heart with her casual we-are-best-friends style of writing. She dug into deep Biblical truth in such a relaxed feel that it was not work to read, but relaxing and refreshing. The "secrets" she shares are just the bling I needed to add sparkle to my day and my walk with Christ. You will enjoy this fun and faith filled book from the first page to the last. It's just as nice as going to Starbucks for a chat with your girlfriends!
* * * * *
This review copy was provided courtesy of The B&B Media Group & David C. Cook. The review is strictly my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for It's No Secret: Revealing Divine Truths Every Woman Should Know
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good Bible study for younger, career age women

Date:October 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Friends share secrets and there are secrets of the Kingdom God wants us to understand.
Olsen, a staffer with Proverbs 31 Ministries, believes, “...each new generation of women needs to encounter God and discover His truths for themselves.” (22) She covers a dozen hidden treasures from God's Word.
Olsen uses honest examples from her own life as well as stories of biblical characters to illustrate each secret and highlight its importance. At the end of each chapter is a Bible study that can be used individually or in a group. This book, I think, would be best suited for younger women as seasoned believers may not find new revelation contained in it.
Olsen is quick to point out that the secrets in her book are by no means all of God's deep secrets. If we are faithful with these, however, God will reveal more secrets to us along the way.
This book was provided for review by The B&B Media Group, Inc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for It's No Secret: Revealing Divine Truths Every Woman Should Know
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wyn
Rachel Olsen has written an encouraging book about developing a deeper relationship with God. Adding real bling to a woman's Christian walk by digging deeper to overcome boredom and inertia with the current acceptable type of walk. This is written in a lighthearted chatty girlfriend style but contains amazing depth in the 13 lessons or secrets. Each lesson is followed by a bible study that reinforces the secret and makes the reader really think.Thank you to David C Cook Publishing house for a copy of this book through B&B Media Group for review purposes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for It's No Secret: Revealing Divine Truths Every Woman Should Know
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
litlal
A great devotional book. I have not finished it yet but so far I really like it. Rachel has a very unique way of writing. I got to know her many years ago through an online Bible study she was doing. I would recommend this book very highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for It's No Secret: Revealing Divine Truths Every Woman Should Know
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
jb05
There is nothing more heart warming than sitting down with a girlfriend over a cup of coffee or tea. This is what this book was to me....sitting at the table having a wonderful conversation with Rachel. She is so down to earth and REAL! This book gave me a lot to think about and ponder in my own walk with Christ. Some good and some not so good! Get your shovel out and start digging into God's word right along with Rachel! There are many treasures to be found with in the pages of the Bible. It's up to us to uncover them. Thanks to Karen Davis, Assistant Media Specialist, The B&B Media Group for sending me a copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.