Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press The Cat That God Sent

Abingdon Press The Cat That God Sent

When disillusioned pastor Jake Wilkerson is called to a small church in rural Pennsylvania, he feels out of place. The town is full of eccentric people, including jaded veterinarian Emma Grainger; Tassy, a young runaway; and Petey, a stray cat on a mission from God. Can Petey save Jake and his quirky friends from themselves? 320 pages, softcover from Abingdon.
Average Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Cat That God Sent
Review 1 for The Cat That God Sent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable

Date:January 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pastor Mike
Location:Anaheim, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife really enjoyed this book and has recommended it to several of her friends
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Cat That God Sent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cat Steals the Show

Date:December 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Who doesn't like a good cat book? I love animals, and we have 14 cats, so this book resonated with me in a very special way. This book has it all. Realistic stories from a small, country town, animals, romance, loss of faith, and even some emotionally-charged scenes. I have to say that I even cried during this book--that is saying something. This book is filled with humor, and I honestly believe there is something for everyone. It is clean and uplifting.
The most important thing I learned is that God can and will use anyone. This includes people and animals. After all, is God can use a donkey, why can't he use a cat? The Christian message is cleverly woven into the story, and this is one that I would recommend to all. There are some hard issues in the book that many people will relate to.
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Cat That God Sent
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good.

Date:November 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mossy
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was an enjoyable book. I liked the main characters, and the plot was unique. The only problem was that the theology was rather unclear. They talked about having faith, but they really never said what they had faith in. That part was weird! This book did have a good climax, though. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Christian fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Cat That God Sent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Phyllis Henderson
Location:Webster Springs, WV
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book very much. I truly believe that animals do know what you are saying. I also love cats too.
I want to get the book about the dog and God. Once I started reading it was very hard to put down. Hope everyone enjoys this book as much as I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Cat That God Sent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kimmie
Location:Cleveland Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am reading this aloud to my children (ages 11-15) and there are many AWWWWs and giggles. There's no bad language and it gently brings up topics we can discuss from a Christian perspective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Cat That God Sent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting and humerous.

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Peggiann
Location:Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book immensely. Hearing the cat's thoughts on the happenings around him and the cat's abilities to open up the townspeople from their rigidity was a very interesting concept. The interactions between people and the need for forgiveness for all was well written. Also the need to sometimes stand up for yourself.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Cat That God Sent
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

One Funny Cat

Date:May 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When the new Pastor, Jake Wilkerson, arrives at his new rural church in Caudersport, PA, he finds a cat on his doorstop. The cat adopts Jake, and is soon named Petey. Is it a coincidence that the cat is there? I think not!
Jake comes with a secret...he has lost his faith. A Minister without faith?
When Petey arrives he seems to make it his mission to help Jake. He sure does!! You delight in some of the things that cat says, no he can't talk, but we can read it. At times he is hilarious!
We meet all the different people who attend the church, some appear gruff, and end up with hearts of angels. Of course, all want to meet and greet Petey. Now you think someone would be against having a cat in church...nope!
One thing for sure is Jake's taste in Woman sure could be better. Can he redeem himself? Or is history going to repeat itself?
One thing I didn't care for was that the ending appeared rushed, and there wasn't much epilogue. I felt the story needed more added at the end.
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Blog Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Cat That God Sent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Healing, Restoration and Relationships

Date:May 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jim Kraus in his new book "The Cat That God Sent" published by Abingdon Press takes us into the life of Jake Wilkerson.
From The Back Cover: Meet Petey, your not-so-average cat-on a mission from God
Disillusioned young pastor, Jake Wilkerson, has just arrived at his new assignment in the small rural church of Coudersport, Pennsylvania. Also new on the scene is Petey, a cat of unknown origins and breed-but of great perception.
As Jake sets about doing the business of ministry, Petey's continued interference brings chaos to the community of curiously off and eccentric people-residents like the faith-avoiding veterinarian Emma Grainger and Tassy, a young runaway with a secret. An expert at hiding his fears, Jake wonders if all this-and the cat to boot-is more than he can handle. What is Petey's real "mission"? Perhaps something larger than Jake--or even Petey--can possibly know.
"The Cat That God Sent" is about drawing back to God after we have "lost" our faith. Jake Wilkerson is the new pastor at Coudersport and he is carrying his own burden. "Petey", the cat, is waiting for him when he arrives. Together these two have to deal with not only Jake's problem but the issues of the congregation as well, especially Emma Grainger and Tassy. "Petey" is a joy and I wish that I could have a cat like him. "The Cat That God Sent" is about our fears and what they can do to us as well as our secrets and how they can destroy us if we do not let them go. Mr. Kraus has given us a wonderful story full of fascinating characters that live and breathe on the pages. "The Cat That God Sent" is a highly enjoyable adventure. I look forward to more from the talented Mr. Kraus.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Cat That God Sent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bugg
Location:Russellville, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldn't put it down. Have already shared it with another cat lover. I so related to it because I am a preacher's wife.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Cat That God Sent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It is Hard to Find a Special Cat!

Date:May 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It is hard to find a special cat. Ordinary ones are easy."
If you can keep from grinning, laughing and cheering while reading The Cat That God Sent, I want to meet you!!!
And if you have your own cat, you will be hugging him the whole way through.
The Cat That God Sent is about a young pastor, his lost faith, a small town, a smaller church, and a cat with silver fur and gold green eyes: A cat who has been sent by God. I knew this book would be a great read the moment Petey the cat was introduced. Sitting in the grass at the edge of the church parking lot, watching Pastor Jake and planning to bring him a nice mouse, Petey is committed to completing his mission from God.
I loved this book because I live in a small town kind of like this. I could see the town of Coulderport, Pennsylvania as I read this book. The convenience store, the gravel parking lot, the river, the fishing hole. The little church with the crooked steeple and the door that doesn't shut or open.
I felt like I knew the people- Vern, crashing around in his monstrous RV. Jimbo, tentatively asking the Pastor to go fishing. Elder Rudolph realizing that he is not alone on his faith journey.
Emma, the vet, who wants to know if anyone can believe what Pastors preach, and Tassy, the dear young homeless girl who knocks on the church door.
All of them with questions and a past, all of them needing to hear from God.
We have all been abandoned, Petey says, by everyone but God.
Petey knows this is what he was sent here for. He was sent here to help them. And in an unforgettable way, he does.
My appreciation of this book is heightened because in the last year God has sent me a handsome stray cat with the mannerisms of Petey.
The little cat details were a joy to read about, because my Sam has them: Sleeping with his paw over his face, pushing his head into my knee, leaping effortlessly onto desks and windows. Even sleeping on my Bible.
And this book had me a little choked up at the end.
A great read! Bravo, Jim Kraus!
Thank you Litfuse for sending me The Cat That God Sent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Cat That God Sent
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

cute story missing essential truth

Date:May 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As someone who lives in a multi-cat household, does God really use a cat to help people? Oh, that's right. This is fiction!
Seriously, this is a fun book to read, whether you are a cat lover or not. Jake Wilkerson was let go from his previous associate pastor position because he expressed doubts about his belief in God. He landed a new pastoral position in a small Pennsylvania town by keeping his doubts a secret.
The day he arrives at the rural church, the one with the crooked steeple, a cat shows up too. Jake doesn't know it, but that cat is on a mission from God. Jake decides to let the cat stay and that changes him and the entire community.
This is a cleverly written novel. The cat, Petey, knows people don't learn from words. They learn by experience. So Petey helps humans find the truth, then they can feel they found it all on their own.
I loved the quirky characters in this rural town! Some of those back woods people...well, you'll just have to read the novel. I was fascinated to see how some of those hardened characters were softened by a cat.
There are several themes Kraus weaves through the book. Keeping secrets is a big one. Another is the difficulty of having a good image of God as Father when you don't have a good image of your own (earthly) father. And the last one is about abortion.
One aspect of the novel was less than perfect. Characters in the novel kept talking about belief in God (including Jake, the pastor). There is never a firm statement about belief in Jesus as savior. That makes this book acceptable to lots of God-believers but does nothing to inform the reader about the need for salvation through Jesus Christ.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Cat That God Sent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a well written novel

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This novel caught me right from the beginning...i can see the nuances of Petey's thoughts in the looks and expressions in every cat I have ever met, from the Tom that roams our farmyard, the felines in his harem, to the well bred house cat. They are an independent breed, with a great deal of pursonality.
I am mostly a dog person, and yet this story drew me in from the first page and kept me there until the end. I had just finished The Dog That Spoke To God, and was not able to feel a connection, but this one was different. Again, maybe it was because this book is written in my personally preferred point of view which is third person. Knowing cats as much as humans can know them, it would have been presumptions to think a cat would talk to God (they might know they do, but would never admit to that folly). While it was fun to look into a cat's mind which corresponded to his actions, the story is much deeper. Jim writes a fantastic story, with Petey bringing out truths. When I read books like this, I have to look at my own thoughts, intentions and precepts of life, and use the stories to readjust my attitudes.
Thank you to Litfuse for giving me this book free in exchange for an honest review. A positive critique was not required. The opinions stated are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Cat That God Sent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Never Underestimate the Influence of a Cat!

Date:May 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pastor Jake Wilkerson's faltering faith has cost him his job and his fiance. He takes a position as pastor of a small church in rural Pennsylvania, hopeful his past won't catch up with him. Greeted by a stray cat who gifts him with a dead mouse upon his arrival, Jake moves into the parsonage, adopted and accompanied by his new and very vocal feline friend. A wounded paw necessitates a visit to a veterinarian who insists the cat needs a name in order for her to treat his wound. The cat is dubbed Petey. Jake is also visited by a young woman who has nowhere to go, and seeks his advice, complicating his life further. On Jake's first Sunday as pastor Petey slips into the sanctuary and makes himself at home on a chair on the platform near Pastor Jake, causing the congregation to burst into laughter. As word spreads throughout the community regarding the cat who attends church, Jake's congregation begins to grow from week to week, bringing people together in a common bond.
This very entertaining story of three unique individuals hiding from themselves and the issues that plague them are impacted by one very unique stray cat. Petey talks in various cat sounds and plays a very important role in affecting everyone who encounters him, including numerous eccentric and colorful characters in Pastor Jake's congregation. Petey is confident in his role as a godsend to those in his life, and uses his "voice" to affect those around him in some profound ways. The fact that the cat talks in human language throughout the book is both amusing and entertaining. Jim Kraus has used a lovable cat to reach the individuals in this story, aiding them in their quest for forgiveness, renewed faith and a much-needed support system. You don't need to be a "cat person" to enjoy this wonderful story, but cat lovers everywhere will thoroughly enjoy it!
Disclaimer: I was given a copy of this book by Abingdon Press for the express purpose of my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and I was given no monetary compensation for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Cat That God Sent
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A very enjoyable read.

Date:April 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
MollysMom
Location:Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great Sunday afternoon or quiet enjoyment read! I thoroughly enjoyed meeting each of the characters and gaining a greater understanding of Petey-like cats in the process. Found myself smiling as I visualized many of the characters and nodding in understanding at the situations and histories that were brought forward. Well done. Can't wait to read the companion book, The Dog that Talked to God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Cat That God Sent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this cat is so much nicer than most cats

Date:April 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
no nick name
Location:Oklahoma city
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pleasant to read about such a nice cat. That is because God sent him.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Cat That God Sent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A compelling novel with drama and comedy

Date:April 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Charitas
Location:Sherwood, Oregon
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
My lovely wife kept complaining that I spend too much time reading severe history or technical books so she hands this delightful fantasy to me with the command "lighten up!". She knows I love God and cats (in that order) so she didn't have a hard sell. Jim Krause has written a fun novel with just enough drama and tension to keep you riveted. The star of this story is Petey a stray cat that knows he was sent from God to do some kind of important work. As Petey would say, " God only uses good cats and I'm a very good cat". The climax of the story has Petey of course being a hero and rescues multiple hapless humans in one act. There are multiple examples of faith, confession, God's grace complicated with situational misunderstandings. I would recommend this book for all ages, teenagers to duffers like myself; boys, girls, you'll like reading this book, of course it helps if you already like cats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Cat That God Sent
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Feline Lovers will especially Love

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm a dog lover, but I've always wanted to know what is was like to be inside the mind of a cat! So I decided to read the appropriate title, The Cat That God Sent. It's a sweet story about an injured cat that is saved by a Preacher with a past trying to redeem himself. The first half of the story was really good, and I love how the author shares the POV from Petey *the cat* as well as Pastor Jake without being confusing and ridiculous. I know it's not supposed to be a romantic story, but I would have liked to see the vet, Emma forgive and love Jake, she had such resentment and a bad attitude throughout that really made her be unlikeable in my opinion. Still, no matter what breed you love, everyone should enjoy this novel!
*Thanks to the Publisher for giving me a copy in exchange for non-profit, unbiased, review*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.