Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook The King's Legacy

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

David C. Cook The King's Legacy

In an enchanted kingdom, a beloved king is nearing the end of his reign and longs to leave a lasting legacy for future generations. Instead of statues or coins, he wants to give them wisdom. But when he receives a wealth of sage advice from his subjects, how will he determine the single greatest truth? 144 pages, softcover from Cook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The King's Legacy
Review 1 for The King's Legacy
This review is fromThe King's Legacy - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In a land far, far away, in a time long, long ago, lived a king who was good and kind. During his long reign, he brings his kingdom to a time of peace and prosperity. Wanting to leave a legacy behind, he asks his wise men to help him decide what kind of memory he will leave behind. Will he build a statue of grand heights? A building of grandeur and unthinkable beauty? A coin with his image that will be used by the poor and rich alike?
Then one of his wise men advises that he discover the wisdom of the ages, to share with the people of the present and of the future. Some little piece of wisdom that will live on even after they are all gone. So the king invites citizens of every walk of life to share their wisdom, one by one. Will anyone have the one piece of wisdom to rival all others?
This was a charming story set in the distant past, with many examples of good wisdom that are allegorical in nature. The people bring forth the wisdom they have learned through experiences of their trade as well as life itself. We all fancy ourselves as knowledgeable on one thing or another, but Stovall shows us at story's end that some of life's greatest mysteries are truly very simple indeed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The King's Legacy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In a land far, far away, in a time long, long ago, lived a king who was good and kind. During his long reign, he brings his kingdom to a time of peace and prosperity. Wanting to leave a legacy behind, he asks his wise men to help him decide what kind of memory he will leave behind. Will he build a statue of grand heights? A building of grandeur and unthinkable beauty? A coin with his image that will be used by the poor and rich alike?
Then one of his wise men advises that he discover the wisdom of the ages, to share with the people of the present and of the future. Some little piece of wisdom that will live on even after they are all gone. So the king invites citizens of every walk of life to share their wisdom, one by one. Will anyone have the one piece of wisdom to rival all others?
This was a charming story set in the distant past, with many examples of good wisdom that are allegorical in nature. The people bring forth the wisdom they have learned through experiences of their trade as well as life itself. We all fancy ourselves as knowledgeable on one thing or another, but Stovall shows us at story's end that some of life's greatest mysteries are truly very simple indeed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The King's Legacy
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2009
I enjoyed this small book. It is easy to read but filled with immense knowledge and wisdom. The king has decided that rather than a monument to his greatness he will proclaim something as "The Wisdom of the Ages" as his legacy. Each chapter finds a medieval king sitting in his Throne Room listening to someone from his land explain what they think is the Wisdom from their point of view and experience. It reinterates that everyone has wisdom and knowledge no matter what their status in society or age. It also points out that no matter what century we live in, wisdom is universal and ageless. Although this book is billed as a children's book it has much to teach the adult. An excellent book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The King's Legacy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2009
"The King's Legacy" is a wonderful allegory in which each chapter focuses on a new piece of wisdom as the king hunts for "The Wisdom of the Ages". It is well written, and while I have heard many of the pieces of wisdom in the course of all my reading, for many this would be a wonderful way to have it all in one book. There is an illustration at the beginning of each chapter which is nice, but the pictures didn't really enhance anything for me since I thought they were a little cheesy. But that is a minor detail. I did think it was a very nice looking gift type edition that would make a good gift. There is a page at the front where you can inscribe To and From and a section at the back where you can put your own wisdom in. Overall, this is a wonderful little book that would be great as a gift or to own for yourself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The King's Legacy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2009
Once upon a time..... What person, adult or child, if truthful, does not love a good fairy tale? The King's Legacy, a wonderful story book of a search, is presented in fairy tale form.Jim Stovall, has brought us the lovely story of a benevolent and loved, wise king, who is on a search. A search to commemorate his service as king. He calls forth the wise men, asking their opinions. Many suggestions were put forth. The suggestion that caught his attention, however was the passing forth of the Wisdom of the Ages.After much deliberation and seeking, and thinking, the king, and the wise men realize, they know not the Wisdom of the Ages. Thus begins the true heart of our story. One by one, people from all walk of life, come forth to share the wisdom, their experience's have brought them to realize. From the mighty judge, the rich banker, the lowly farmer, the funny jester, all who wish to do so, are invited to present their wisdom. After days and days of hearing great truths, wisdom filled speeches. The King makes a declaration that at a certain time he will present the Wisdom of the Ages. Only to realize he truly does not know what the wisdom of the ages is. Follow through the book as each person presents their life's wisdom. See the wise and loving king, rebuke the pride of the nobility, and embrace the wisdom of the commoner. Learn exactly what is the Wisdom of the Ages.Jim Stovall has written a book that is a lovely story, complete with fairy tale art and a lovely presentation. This book is easy to read and a wonderful story. The very end of the story, has journal pages for you to enter your wisdom that you have gained through your life experiences.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The King's Legacy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2009
I loved this book, it is well writen and I didn't want to put it down. This book is the classic Fable and has a wonderful message. The King is looking for The Wisdom of the Ages to leave as his legacy. Each day the King has a different subject tell what they think the wisdom of the Ages is, in seeking the answer we see everyone has different ideas. This is a great read that I think children to adults would enjoy. I honestly can't say what age this book is aimed at as I can see all ages loving it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The King's Legacy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
The Kings Legacy: A Story of Wisdom For The Ages is a charming fairy tale-style parable by the author of The Ultimate Gift, Jim Stovall. It chronicles the story of a king who desires to leave a remembrance of his reign behind when he is no longer on the throne. He hears the advice of several subjects, and decides to pursue what he feels is the best idea for a legacy: wisdom.The drawings in the book took me back to my own childhood and a time when I loved to be read to while I looked at the pictures. Alright, I admit I havent outgrown that. But this is a beautiful book about the search for wisdom (and what true wisdom really is) that will appeal to all ages. Maybe my family (our kids are both teens) will take this book as one of our summer read to each other books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The King's Legacy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2009
Jim Stovall is popular speaker and has written several books. Another book I've read by this author was, The Ultimate Gift, it's an amazingly powerful book that's been made into a movie - that's really good; make sure you watch it with tissues handy- it's a tear jerker. This book is written in a fairy tale fashion. Each chapter has a picture on the left hand side and the beginning of the chapter on the right. The first sentence of this book starts out, "ONCE UPON a time, there was an enchanted kingdom in a land far, far away...." The king summons his wise men together and says, "Now that our land is enjoying a season of prosperity and peace, I wish to leave a permanent legacy of my reign as your ruler." After talking to his wisemen the King realizes that he can't do this task alone. He starts to seek the wisdom outside his counsel and opens up talks with people from all walks of life. Each chapter of this book is about the King giving audience to his people from all walks of live, in search for wisdom; the very wisdom that will benefit all people and forever improve the lives of all humanity. Some of the people the King talks to are a merchant, a soldier, a poet, a farmer, a physician, a jester, a teacher, a parent and so on. The book ends with two chapters called `The Wisdom of the Ages' and a special chapter just for you called `The Wisdom of You.' This small book packs a thought provoking punch. It gives you a glimpse of so much wisdom from so many angles. I enjoyed it. It doesn't take long to read. I think it's something I'm defiantly going to read to my kids.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.