Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Crazy Love, Small Group DVD Curriculum

David C. Cook Crazy Love, Small Group DVD Curriculum

The answer to religious complacency isn't working harder at a list of dos and don'ts—it's falling in love with God. God calls each of us to a passionate love relationship with Himself.

The Crazy Love DVD is a companion to the best-selling Crazy Love book by pastor Francis Chan. Each short video segment corresponds to the ten chapters of the book and includes questions to initiate group discussion, interactions, and practical application. Read the book during the week, then watch the video and discuss the topic at the group meeting. For church, small group, youth group, or individual study.

Approximate Running Time: 85 minutes
Special Features: Outtake footage, Trailer, Behind the Scene footage.

Sessions:

  • Chapter 1: Stop Praying (9:14)
  • Chapter 2: You Might Not Finish This Chapter (8:22)
  • Chapter 3: Crazy Love (6:16)
  • Chapter 4: Profile of the Lukewarm (8:30)
  • Chapter 5: Serving Leftovers to a Holy God (8:07)
  • Chapter 6: When You're In Love (6:45)
  • Chapter 7: Your Best Life.Later (7:39)
  • Chapter 8: Profile of the Obsessed (6:29)
  • Chapter 9: Who Really Lives That Way (7:16)
  • Chapter 10: The Crux of the Matter (4:56)
Average Customer Rating:
4.324 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
15 out of 1979%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Crazy Love, Small Group DVD Curriculum
Review 1 for Crazy Love, Small Group DVD Curriculum
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is made to make you think & it does

Date:August 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tomcat
Location:Lewiston maine
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is what it means to be a christian, its time for you to wake up & truly be a follower of Jesus ! its your turn .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Crazy Love, Small Group DVD Curriculum
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Baby
Location:CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This DVD is separated into 10 sections or chapters. In each section he addresses an aspect of the Christian walk and discusses it. All are teachings aligned with the book. He then instructs at the end with suggestions on things you can talk about in your groups.
The structure of it is essentially a day in the life with pastor Francis. Its starts out with his getting up in the morning, progresses through him going to work at the church that he used to pastor, stopping by at the grocery store and finally going home to be with his family. In each section there is discussion relevant to the book.
I actually find this MUCH MUCH easier to follow than the book, and while the book is simple, this DVD helps to reinforce the concepts.
If youre wondering exactly what the material is like, its available to view on You Tube, but this DVD is well worth the money spent.
Although I know I can watch it on You Tube, I am purchasing a copy to play on my mini DVD player when I cannot be on my computer... this teaching/exhortation is that important.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Crazy Love, Small Group DVD Curriculum
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Out in left field

Date:July 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
jrobbiep
Location:Hurricane, WV
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got the DVD to help facilitate a summer college and career class for Sunday School. It was consistently way in left field when compared to the book material. The students really agreed with my assessment and we quit using the DVD after just the third week.
Don't get me wrong, the material in the DVD is good. But, it doesn't have as much Biblical teaching and application as the book. And it just is not consistent with the book.
My advice, if you are getting it to use to help teach a class, borrow it from a friend and watch it very carefully first. Or, (even better) just skip it...
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Crazy Love, Small Group DVD Curriculum
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very disappointed

Date:March 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jann
Location:Kansas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so disappointed when I received this DVD and workbook. I teach an older Bible Study group, and I can see that it is not something I can use with them. Mr. Chan doesn't teach from the Bible on the DVD, he simply talks to the camera. I'm sure he is a very Chriatian man, but I wanted a Bible Study, not a conversation about his feelings. I buy the Bible Studies for our group, and it upsets me when I pay money for something I can't use. I usually look at the reviews for a product, and this one had many good reviews. I'm wondering if the author of a product has all of his friends write good reviews for him.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Crazy Love, Small Group DVD Curriculum
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great topics = great discussions

Date:December 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Location:Columbus, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have thoroughly enjoyed the weekly DVD's. Pastor Chan is very easy to follow in his conversational style. Our adult study group has had some interesting and thoughtful discussions on the topics addressed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Crazy Love, Small Group DVD Curriculum
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A much need teaching in the body of Christ!

Date:September 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joan
Location:fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Francis Chan is very easy to understand. He keeps things clear and simple but thought provoking. He backs what he say in with scripture. The thing I like the most is he has a good balance of "God's Grace" and the biblical description of a Christian. He is someone that you want to listen too and seems very transparent in his writings as well as his DVD. We used the DVD and the book. We encouraged folks to do the workbook on their own if they wanted to go deeper. I found trying to use the workbook and the book to confusing for a 1 hour bible study. We worked off the DVD question mainly and read some of the key scripture he mentions on the DVD as well as the book.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Crazy Love, Small Group DVD Curriculum
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

not worth the money

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
pheobe
Location:Lima, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you are leading a small group study, the "Crazy Love" workbook is all you will need to help generate discussions. The video contains no teaching. It is just Francis Chan having a conversation with the camera and then giving you two questions to ask each week during your study.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Crazy Love, Small Group DVD Curriculum
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great price and value

Date:June 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
lgray
Location:Denton, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this DVD in the bundle with the workbook and it was the best price I could find! This DVD is wonderful for my women's study group - Francis Chan's honest testimonies are passionate and moving. God is showing us so much through this study and we recommend it to EVERYONE!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Crazy Love, Small Group DVD Curriculum
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Crazy Love - It is what it says it is!

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Greg L
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great study that will challenge you to review your relationship with our one true God. Francis Chan's direct talk, and frank analogies, will make you take stock in your commitment and devotion to God. Our Small Group has had some really great discussions around this study that have taken us to places we could not have dreamed we'd ever go.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Crazy Love, Small Group DVD Curriculum
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great backup for small groups

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carls
Location:Queensland, Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the book and the DVD and the small group study guide. You need this DVD because it breaks up the questions, which are really deep and stimulating. So the DVD provides a different medium to take it in. Francis Chan is very natural, likable and it stimulates fantastic discussions.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Crazy Love, Small Group DVD Curriculum
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

RE: He missed Grace!!

Date:January 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
tjscb
Age:25-34
Gender:female
He did not miss grace at all! Direct quotes:
"I do not want true believers to doubt their salvation as they read this book. In the midst of our failed attempts at loving Jesus, His grace covers us. Each one of us has lukewarm elements and practices in our life; therein lies the senseless, extravagant grace of it all. The Scriptures demonstrate clearly that there is room for our failure and sin in our pursuit of God. His mercies are new every morning (Lamentations 3). His grace is sufficient (2 Corinthians 12) I'm not saying when you mess up, it means you were never really a genuine Christian in the first place" (page 87)
"Perhaps it sounds as though I believe you have to work your way to Jesus. I don't. I fully believe that we are saved by grace, through faith, by the gift of God, and true faith manifests itself through our actions. As James writes, "Faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead" (2:17) " (page 95)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Crazy Love, Small Group DVD Curriculum
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good resource

Date:November 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Goodpop
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used in combination with the Crazy Love Book and Workbook together they helped us have a fantastic study!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Crazy Love, Small Group DVD Curriculum
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Buy this!

Date:September 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
ndwife
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Planning to use this for Sr. High Sunday School. The DVD clips are interesting and convicting, with thought-provoking discussion questions at the end. All the topics are relevant and uncluttered. I'm excited about using this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Crazy Love, Small Group DVD Curriculum
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

He missed Grace!

Date:March 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
jdb17
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had great expectations for this book when we did it in our small group bible study. And, while I don't disagree with Chan that we should not be lukewarm, he completely misses Grace! Salvation does not come from our works, but only through Jesus. To read him write that there are those in his own church who "believed they are saved" are actually going to Hell because they aren't doing enough was quite disturbing. We are not saved through works, nor does he leave room for growth and maturity. This book had great potential, but I was quite disappointed in his message.
-15points
8of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Crazy Love, Small Group DVD Curriculum
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:February 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
jenbeckybob77
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are currently using this as a small group study in our youth group. It has been completely life-changing! I've read it 3 times & am still challenged by it!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Crazy Love, Small Group DVD Curriculum
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the 8-10 minute sections make it easy to use.

Date:January 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kitt
Location:Raleigh, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Francis Chan is so easy to listen to and watch. It's like he is right there in our small group just talking with us. And what thought provoking ideas he throws out!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Crazy Love, Small Group DVD Curriculum
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very relevant message

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stevew58
Location:Monroe, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Francis Chan takes some profound issues that we face daily in our relationship with God and helps us bring them into daily practice in a very pragmatic way.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Crazy Love, Small Group DVD Curriculum
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great compliment to the book!

Date:December 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Austin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great compliment to the book. It is done in a short, concise format and brings expanded thought to each chapter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Crazy Love, Small Group DVD Curriculum
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product! Very timely and down to earth

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Betty
Location:Lexington NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Francis Chan is very engaging and interesting. He is a great teacher, mixing humor with reality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Crazy Love, Small Group DVD Curriculum
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rosemary Bauman
Just previewed this and can hardly wait to go through the whole DVD with our small group. It is so simply, but beautifully done. Easy to follow and understand and very thought provoking questions. Should be great even if you haven't done anything before this as a small group.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>