Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Regal I Believe in Heaven: Real Stories from the Bible, History, and Today

Regal I Believe in Heaven: Real Stories from the Bible, History, and Today

From the apostle Paul 2,000 years ago to modern-day Christians like pastor Don Piper, many have claimed they've visited heaven. What was it like? Who was there? How did the experience change them? In this fascinating collection, some of history's most dramatic stories, as well as present-day accounts, provide a vivid glimpse of eternity. 304 pages, softcover from Regal.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for I Believe in Heaven: Real Stories from the Bible, History, and Today
Review 1 for I Believe in Heaven: Real Stories from the Bible, History, and Today
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Carry-On Bags Obsolete

Date:May 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Janice Garey
Location:Decatur, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carry-On Bags Obsolete (Review of I Believe in Heaven by Cecil Murphey & Twila Belk)
Reviewer: Janice S. Garey
*****Five Stars
The book, I Believe in Heaven, by Cecil Murphey & Twila Belk, encourages people to take a look at some really critical moments that a portion of the earth's population have been privileged to experience. The majority who have such experiences end up with a new dimension to their faith and a new trust in a good afterlife. The number of similar types of encounters with death and heaven serve to validate the truth of heaven as revealed in the Bible. Those who are skeptical may have their minds changed through reading this book. Those who are believers will rejoice in the enhancement of their knowledge of the good things God has planned for His adopted children of faith.
I appreciated the stories researched from the past to show that this kind of experience has been going on through the ages. These days with so much evil taking place in the world, people need to have assurance that Heaven is a real place where they will one day reunite with loved ones. This book gives reason to celebrate the victory God had over death through the sacrificial death of Jesus on the cross. If you are feeling down, read this book about going up! It will make you feel joyful and expectant of good things for eternity.
The book contains a section of questions commonly asked about heaven. The answers are thoughtful and true. Sometimes the answer is that the author doesn't know. That is okay. God knows and will reveal it to us if necessary in His timing. I had been wanting to read more about heaven for several years. This book was perfect for my needs and concerns.
This book would make a great gift for your church library, for families facing the death of a loved one (it happens to us all at sometime), and parts of the book would be appropriate to read to children who have questions in church settings when learning about heaven. This book is perfect for a time such as this when scary things are happening like the girls being kidnapped in Kenya. It is affordable for those who are grieving and can not pay the price of a therapist. I highly recommend this book.
I received this book at no cost from bookfun.org in exchange for an honest review. I have given my honest opinion in this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for I Believe in Heaven: Real Stories from the Bible, History, and Today
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Resource on Accounts of Heaven

Date:May 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
jacquiR
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a wonderful collection of 70 accounts of individuals' experiences of death and a journey to Heaven. Well-known people (Carl G. Jung, author Ginger Garrett's experience with a family member, young Colton Burpo, Don Piper, and John Bunyan) and lesser known people share their unique experiences. From a 6-year-old boy's touching description of angels and Heaven to teens' and seasoned adults' accounts of visits to Heaven or angelic presences, these stories and testimonies of Heaven will touch and affirm a belief in the existence of God, angels, and Heaven. These accounts in themselves are worth a reader's time; yet, part 2 discusses countless questions about Heaven. I recommend this excellent book. I received this book through TBCN in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for I Believe in Heaven: Real Stories from the Bible, History, and Today
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heaven – for real!

Date:May 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jeanie
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you like to settle some questions in your mind, once and for all, about whether all this stuff the preachers say about heaven and hell and faith in God is true or relevant to you? What legacy would you choose to gift your loved ones with after your last breath is taken this side of heaven? Maybe you care for those who are terminally ill, or have loved ones who are preparing for their final earthly journey.
I Believe in Heaven is a well-written book that includes dozens of verified (where possible) accounts of men and women who had visions of heaven or hell. Others had been determined clinically dead or comatose for periods of time lasting minutes or months, those who had clear memories of visiting either heaven – or hell. The source of the accounts come from varied, from the Scriptures to people who were helping the person who experienced the event write out what they remember.
Through these near death experiences, this book brings hope to each of us who believe what the Bible writes about heaven. It also helps those who do not yet believe in Jesus as Lord and Savior to better understand what God, heaven, and hell are all about.
This is also true for the question and answer section in Part Two. Many questions included are those that I have had or that I’ve heard others discuss about heaven and about near death experiences. One of the things that I appreciate about the authors is that they do not give “feel good” answers that they think readers want to see – they stand on what is found in the pages of the Bible. Yes, there are questions that this reader would like to see “my way” answers for, but this book can help one come to understand the answers, or lack thereof, in the Bible. There are some questions for which the authors discuss two or more theories or beliefs held by various denominations or historical teachers, as well as what Scripture says. Some of the responses inspire awe to the reader, some bring hope or comfort, while others may help them find acceptance.
I Believe in Heaven has brought this reader renewed hope and peace. I would absolutely recommend this book for adults of any age, especially those who have questions about heaven – or hell – or those who are grieving the recent passing of a loved one, even those who are sitting on the fence about giving their life to the Lord. This reader believes this book is an essential read and re-read blessing for loved ones, clergy, and caregivers of the terminally ill to help them understand the phenomena that occurs with many in their final earthly journey and to help their loved one or patient with their unique needs in the journey. It is also, this reader believes, a book that encourages every believer in Jesus Christ to live out their faith with action as truly is far more than life on this earth.
I received a copy of this book through the “For Readers Only” group at The Book Club Network, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for I Believe in Heaven: Real Stories from the Bible, History, and Today
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book!

Date:April 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
heids32
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is definitely a great read! It is put together in an easy to follow format. You are able to read a couple of the stories if you are short on time or read it start to finish! The stories that the authors uses are full of love and hope. They speak of a beautiful place that we cannot begin to imagine. The stories will definitely make you think about your life and those you love, it will bring you to tears as you feel the loss the families felt but also bring tears of joy with the knowledge of what awaits us.
I Believe In Heaven is a book that I will recommend to friends and most likely read again!
I received this book from Book Club Network for my honest opinion and review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for I Believe in Heaven: Real Stories from the Bible, History, and Today
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great christian read

Date:April 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Donna
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you believe in life after death and eternity in Heaven? If so, you will want to read this book.
In reading this book I have received new thoughts and insights about what death and Heaven will be like. Each story of individual experiences of life after death are short, concise and complete. The stories are amazing. Some will have you in tears and some will leave you smiling. I like how the author included in the book stories of people from the Bible who had near death experiences and visions.
An enjoyable and encouraging book. Well written. I recommend this book.
I have 90 Minutes in Heaven and look forward to reading it.
I received this book from bookfun.org for my honest opinion and review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for I Believe in Heaven: Real Stories from the Bible, History, and Today
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stories of Near Death/After Death

Date:April 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Patsdream
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cecil Murphey has written a book of stories from people that have had near death experiences. He has researched Heaven through the Bible, through what people tell him that have seen the after life. I've heard stories by others all my life. Some of the things are consistent with the stories in this book. The medical terminology isn't so complex that you can't understand what the problem is. Some of the stories will bring tears to your eyes. The stories are short, the author doesn't put his personal views into the story tellers'. If you only a few minutes that you can read then this is the book for you. The stories are short, easy to read. You can pick this book up or put it down to read later. I read most of it in one sitting and enjoyed each story. I received this book through www.bookclub.org to read, review and to leave my honest opinion. The views shared are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for I Believe in Heaven: Real Stories from the Bible, History, and Today
This review is fromI Believe in Heaven: Real Stories from the Bible, History and Today - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Making Heaven "real"

Date:May 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
memakf
Location:Ephrata,PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful book filled with first-hand accounts and testimonies from people who experienced heaven. The stories are heart-felt and comforting and take away the fear of dying. The second part of the book delves into common questions about heaven and answers them in a clear, factual way, using Bible references to back up the authors’ thoughts. Each part of the book could easily stand alone as a book themselves, but together, they are a powerful tool for anyone struggling with the “reality” of heaven. Even if you already believe in heaven, this book will give you comfort and affirmation of your beliefs. The questions in the second part are great to read because they give you another point of view and guidance when you are faced with these questions. This book would be a great addition to every church library.
I received this book from Bookfun.org in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for I Believe in Heaven: Real Stories from the Bible, History, and Today
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

His mercy through witnesses

Date:July 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kirk
Location:Saline, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It seems like in these waning days of light the Lord is giving us an abundance of eye-witnesses accounts of His kingdom and the "place He has prepared for us" in order to encourage us and keep us focused on His hope. This book is packed full of that. It is certainly in line with the suffering that individuals in the New Testament went through for the Lord, and the hope and vision that they had throughout. The authors also take an honest look at tough questions about suffering and hope. They show that, although there are some answers, there are still more opportunities for "faith," the thing that God is pleased with and will reward. Christians can certainly use the stories in this book to help them "stand firm to the end."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.