Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Sing, Homeward Trilogy Series #2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

David C. Cook Sing, Homeward Trilogy Series #2

Moira St. Claire has done exactly what her father forbade her to do-chased her dreams to sing on the stage. But even as her star rises, she becomes more vulnerable to those who wish to use her.or bring her down.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sing, Homeward Trilogy Series #2
Review 1 for Sing, Homeward Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
CurledUpWithaBook
Location:The Maritimes
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I didn't read the first book in this series but found this to be a great story on its own. It was filled with suspense, and life for the characters was not without its problems. At times it seemed too worldly for my liking but prior to becoming a Christian we all make poor choices so in that way it is very realistic. The author does a great job of holding the reader's attention throughout the entire book. I'm looking forward to reading book 3 in the series and may even have to go back and read book 1 at some point.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sing, Homeward Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Our Freedom, our Heart, our Will

Date:March 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carollyne
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Each of us, bound in Love and our heart have an amazing gift of Free Will. This is the story of the expression of Free Will and the hope and trust so deeply withing that moving twords a goal and trusting that it too is blessed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sing, Homeward Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:March 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:Dillsburg. PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this ebook. The story really held your interest. Can't wait to read the third book in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sing, Homeward Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
I enjoyed the sequel to Breathe and am looking forward to the third book in the series, Claim. Bergren did a fantastic job of torturing her characters and making you care about them. The brother Nic and sister Moira messed up the worst. What I liked about this story was that Begren pulled no punches and had them make poor choices and suffer from their mistakes. I really ached for Moira who went through quite a transformation in this novel because of the many disappointments and hurts she suffered.I also loved the conflict between Odessa and Bryce's brother. There was some serious tension there, and I loved how realistically it was portrayed. The temptation was well done. I'm curious to see if this plays out further in the next book in this series. I'm also looking forward to seeing what happens to Nic in the last book. He has gone through so much, and yet he survived. On the positive end, he lost some of his recklessness because of this. Both he and Moira learned that they could not control everything. I found it interesting how they were introduced to faith, and also touching when Moira experienced unconditional love.Last, I adored that this book had a lot of edgy content. Again, Bergren lays the temptation and aftermath right out there. She shows how sin easily entangles and snares the victim. She also uses realistic dialog in many of the scenes and I cringed at the painful truth in those words. Bravo to Lisa for writing a daringly different historical romance set in 1880s Colorado. I would definitely recommend this series to people who like edgy stories within which the characters have realistic struggles they try to overcome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sing, Homeward Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2010
This is the 2nd book in the Homeward Trilogy. I've not read the 1st, but found this one great as a stand alone - I didn't find that I was left trying to figure out where it started or ended, it read very smoothly!Don't let the cover fool you, It's not all romance! Actually I was pleasantly surprised by the diversity in this book! I expected it to be mostly romance, but it exceeds and draws on more areas of life! Sing is about siblings that are growing through hardship. Odessa - Living in the wilderness with her husband, battling with the harsh conditions and elements of the land, can they make their ranch work? With Bryce's brother coming to check the books will a family feud begin? Moiria - Her manager steals her money & now she much decide what she will do; where will she go? Nic - abducted to a ship - how will he manage life on board, what will he learn about himself? Will he continue to run from God, or turn back? A past that follows them all, and secrets they hoped would remain buried returns to the surface.Odessa, Moiria, and Nick St. Claire all have issues in their lives and have to learn if they will sing and move closer to the Lord, or will the drown in their sorrows. All three stories interwined together in this novel will get you thinking about your own life and how many opportunites we have been given -- have we taken them? Or wasted them away? There were moments when I felt that choke in my throat with each of the characters, and other times I smiled because of God's grace throughout the book.Taking place in the 1800's Sing is a wonderful suspense that will not only caputure your wild west imagination, but perhaps give you a little encouragement to make your own heart sing! I love that Sing brings out ties together forgivness, and faith - a combination that is sure to please and bless you!I highly recommend Sing for an uplifting read!Review copy provided
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sing, Homeward Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2010
Sing, the second novel in Lisa T. Bergren's The Homeward Trilogy, reads like an adventure story. Set in the late 1800s, the novel features the St. Clair siblings, Odessa, Nic, and Moira. The siblings are scattered around the world, each on their own personal adventure. The three experience their share of trouble - shipwreck, a fire, kidnapping, bandits searching for gold - all the while learning more about the sovereignty of God and the power of forgiveness.I had not read the first novel in the trilogy, Breathe, but was easily able to pick up where the story left off four years prior. The novel really does read like an excellent adventure story, with bits of mystery and romance thrown in for good measure. The author pulls you into the characters' lives and leaves you hoping that things will turn out okay for the siblings, scattered about the world. I was also intrigued by the various locations this story takes place - a ranch in Colorado, ships at sea around South America, Paris, London, and small western frontier towns. The author has obviously done her homework to make each location realistic and believable to that time period.I will definitely search out the first book in the trilogy and look forward to the final book, Claim, to be released in June of this year.This book was given to me by B&B Media Group in exchange for my fair and honest evaluation of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sing, Homeward Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Sing by Lisa T. Bergren is the second book in the Homeward trilogy about the St. Clair siblings. Eldest sister Odessa is settling into life on a horse ranch with her husband Bryce and their new son, Samuel. Moira, the youngest, had a successful career as a singer in Paris until her manager absconded with all of her money, forcing her to make a radical change in her plans. Nic, the only son, has wasted his inheritance traveling the world and making a living as a brawler until losing a match finds him shanghaied on a ship traveling around Cape Horn. All three siblings will face tragedy as they try to find their way home. I can always tell a Lisa Bergren novel. The characters will be fully fleshed, the dialogue realistic, and the plotlines tautly written, keeping the pages turning quickly. Moira is the focus of this novel, and she makes some foolish, yet common mistakes about her career and men before finding herself in a terrible position for a women in 1887. Bergren really gets into her head, so the reader can easily sympathize with Moira. Readers should definitely read Breathe, the first in the trilogy before diving into Sing. Nic's story doesn't mesh with his sisters' in this story, but Bergren has laid a strong foundation for his story, Claim, to be another fantastic novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sing, Homeward Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Molly,Book Reviews by Buuklvr81
Dare I say it? Dare I say that SING is even better than BREATHE?? Hmm...yes I must! SING is BETTER than BREAHTE! Book 2 in The Homeward Trilogy, Sing brings us right back into the wonderful lives of Odessa and her husband Byrce, her sister Moira, and her brother Domonik, with a few other wonderfully created characters. This book had me hooked from the beginning. Transported back into time, again, I loved how the siblings were all in different parts of the world this time but still depended on each other in times of need. Full yet again, with page-turning mystery, romance and relying on God, this book is, as I said above, even better than BREATHE-and BREATHE was EXCELLENT!!! So, SING is definitely on my bookshelf right next to BREATHE-permenantly. If you love history, mystery and the love of God, this is a 5 star book that you MUST read!! I am anxiously awaiting the sure-to-be skillfully written conclusion to the Trilogy in the release of CLAIM! Well done, again, Lisa!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sing, Homeward Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2010
Lisa Bergren doesn't write what you expect, that makes her writing brilliant. In book #1 of this series we meet Odessa who is struggling for every breath she takes, along with her brother Nic and her sister Moira they are heading to Colorado in hopes of finding a cure for Odessa. They find that and a whole lot more. As this book opens we find the 3 siblings spread far, far apart. Moira is kind of the main character, but we see things from Odessa and Nic's points of view as well. I love this aspect of the series - its never just one character. In this case Moira and Nic have both strayed far from how they grew up. Odessa and Bryce are struggling against a nemesis from book #1 and everything converges back in Colorado. There are unexpected twists that happen that kept me in shock - this is a great historical series and I can't wait for #3, Claim, to come out soon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sing, Homeward Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2010
i was somewhat at a loss the first half of this book as I had not read the first one in the series. It took me awhile to get all the different characters sorted out and i could never understand why Reid was so angry at them in the first place. But, the characters were wonderful people. Odessa, was a lady of character and grace...she faces temptation and is the better person and responds correctly. Moira ignores her conscience that sounds like her mother and ends up paying for it in her quest for gold and fame. Bryce struggles to provide for his family, protect his family and feels like a failure, yet continues to encourage his wife to trust in God as they build one another up. Nic- forced as a slave of sorts on a ship, learns to control his temper, not because he wants to, but because the price is too high not to. Ms. Bergren has been a favorite author of mine from long ago and I know if I read this trilogy all together, i would get the full picture! It is an amazing picture of life lessons learned...i would have liked a few more details about things at the end, but maybe they will be in the next book! This trilogy is one for you to look up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sing, Homeward Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
I have not read the first book in this trilogy (Breathe), so I was not familiar with any of the characters or their background. The first chapter of the book jumps around so it was a little confusing for me to keep up with who was doing what. In the very first chapter we learn that Moira is in Paris making her living as an opera singer and discovers her bank account severely depleted most likely by her manager. Then the scene changes to the Circle M Ranch in Colorado where Odessa lives with her husband Bryce McAllan and their 7 month old son, Samuel. The family finds themselves buried in snow, with more on the way. Over 100 of their horses are dead, and they fear they might not be able to make enough money to survive in the summer. The scene changes yet again and were in Rio de Janeiro, where Dominic (Nic) is forced to work off his debt to an angry ship captain, who gambles on Nic in a boxing match that ends up costing the captain big money. Taken forcibly and shanghaied, Nic has no choice but to go with the shipmates who overpower him.The chapter ends in Canon City, Colorado where Reid Bannock, a prisoner working on the chain gang, maintains his grudge against the members of the St. Clair family who ultimately caused him to be sent to prison. Hoping to be released early from prison, based on good behavior, Reid is determined to follow up on a tip to locate the possible ancient treasure of gold buried in Samuel OTooles mine.Because of so many characters involved, I do think it would be helpful to read the first book, prior to reading this one, because Sing seems to refer back to things that happened in Breathe (such as Reid Bannock hiring help and attempting to kill Odessa and her family). Reid was also attracted to Moira and got his heart broken in Breathe, so he ends up kidnapping her in Sing, determined to make her and the St. Clair family pay for their injustice towards him.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sing, Homeward Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kirsten Arnold
Sing is an exciting story filled with suspense and mystery. However, through all the excitement Lisa Bergren weaves in real people facing real struggles and trying to find the Source of all song. The St. Claire siblings are each forced to face outside influences and internal struggles that can either build their faith, or destroy them. Ms. Bergren does a wonderful job of transporting the reader into the story and back to the 19th Century. I found myself becoming personally involved with the lives of Odessa, Moira, and Nic St. Claire. My heart ached for each as they faced hardship, and I got frustrated with them when they made poor choices (just like I get frustrated with myself for some of the same poor choices), and new characters like Daniel won my heart. In each character you can someone you know, whether it is a friend, family member, or yourself. I especially liked that Ms. Bergren made the marriage of Odessa and Bryce genuine. Reminiscent of actual individual personalities coming together in a partnership, they fight and make mistakes, but hold onto their faith and each other to make it through the hard times. In keeping with the realism of the story, while there is hope at the end nothing is tied in nice bow, because unfortunately life is not that simple. Sing is a fabulous read and I cannot wait to continue the journey in Claim.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.