Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Breathe, Homeward Trilogy Series #1

David C. Cook Breathe, Homeward Trilogy Series #1

Devastated by the loss of four sons to tuberculosis and his wife in childbirth, a Philadelphia patriarch sends his three living children west in 1883 to make a new life in the clean mountain air of Colorado Springs. Odessa is struggling to survive consumption; Moira is beautiful and dangerously headstrong; and pugnacious Dominic is charged with establishing a new arm of the family business--a business he doesn't want.
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Breathe, Homeward Trilogy Series #1
Review 1 for Breathe, Homeward Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jen Pen
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SUMMARY:
Dominic and Moira St Clair must accompany their sister, Odessa, to Colorado Springs in hopes of finding a cure for the consumption ailing her. While in the care of the sanitarium, Odessa witnesses a murder of a new aquaintance, patient and friend, Sam O'Toole. Left with a poem containing clues to Sam's silver mine, Odessa meets his captivating and appealing neighbor Bryce McAllan. Amid Odessa's fight to breathe again, Moira and Dominic (Nic) encounter their own struggles in a newly established town.
A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:
"Breathe" captured my interest from the first chapter. With many characters involved in the story, each must endure a challenge which will keep the pages turning. Written from captivating points of view, even with a bit of a mystery intertwined, each chapter blends into the next, hardly allowing the reader a place to pause. Set in the late 1800's, this book will enlighten as well as entertain.
Thrilled that this is the first book in a trilogy, I look forward to continuing to read one of my new favorite authors.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Breathe, Homeward Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book to my breathe away

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:Hudsonville, MI
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am not usually fond of writing reviews for books, neither do I find myself being able to find the right words and emotions to express what I truly find on my journey's with the characters of each book. But with Waterfall I couldn't help but reveal my two cents." - AnnieRL
Not being a bookworm, nothing fit my categories. When I picked up Breathe, I couldn't put it down! Every word played through my mind with passion, fear and excitement.
~
To make a new life, she'll have to learn how to breathe again...
"Devastated by the loss of four sons to tuberculosis and his wife in childbirth, a Philadelphia patriarch sends his three living children west in 1883 to make a new life in the clean mountain air of Colorado Springs. Odessa is struggling to survive consumption; Moira is beautiful and dangerously headstrong; and pugnacious Dominic is charged with establishing a new arm of the family business-a business he doesn't want. Readers will love The Homeward Trilogy, in which the St. Clair siblings struggle to follow where the heavenly Father leads them. In Breathe, Odessa arrives at a famous sanitarium seeking a cure for the disease that killed her brothers. While Moira and Nic establish themselves in Colorado Springs society, Dessa inches her way back to health . . . and into love with a soft spoken fellow patient, rancher Bryce McAllan. When she witnesses a murder-in the very hospital where she is recuperating-and other patients begin to die, Dessa struggles to breathe again. She'd always expected to die young, but now that she has a reason to live, can she hold on to her fragile health to solve the mystery?" - Goodreads review.
My Two Cents
With the battle of Consumption, Odessa St. Clair must unravel the true cause of Sam O'Toole's death. Leading into a mystery romance, Odessa is completely taken by the handsome rancher, Bryce McAllen whom has always dreamed of sailing the seas, but his true desire is to bring all three hundred of his horses through the winter storms. After the burial of Sam O'Toole, Bryce gets confronted by a highly suspicious attorney being given two envelopes addressed to him and Odessa. When Odessa opens up the letter from Sam, revealing a poem clearly giving her clues to find his mine, she must consider her both options, fighting this horrible illness that captured her body or follow the poem only truly risking her life.
When Bryce left the sanatorium leaving Odessa completely lonely, he soon returns for her finding out she has also left the sanatorium with better health, but has something else taken her away from him besides her health?
~
I loved the connection between all the characters. It was written so beautifully, and it played well in my mind. I didn't dislike anything to be honest. I loved how Odessa fought the consumption, only trusting God through the whole process. Her stubborn side only made her think of how to crack the mystery, risking her life in anything. I also adored the different point of views Lisa Tawn Bergren did. She explained everyone's stories, from Odessa St. Clair to Moira St. Clair to Dominic St. Clair to the Sheriff and she even wrote in Bryce's point of view. I just loved it. Everyone had their own story which weaved into the whole plot of Breathe. One thing that bothered me a bit (in a good way, not a bad way), was how Sheriff Reid Bannock imagined Moira and his hold on her. His way of explaining his love for her and how he would have her, one way or another. Lisa did a great job carefully choosing her words which made me fall in love with the novel within just a few chapters. This novel put me in suspense and made me dive into it as if I there. I liked everything about it and I hope you get the chance to share your opinions as well!
Warnings:
Romance between Moira and the sheriff may get a bit racy. Depending on what you read, I would recommend this book for ages 15+.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Breathe, Homeward Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic!

Date:September 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Claudia from Brazil
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Breathe has everything: Love, adventure, suspense, drama, very good characters and a great plot!
Lisa T. Bergren is an excellent writer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Breathe, Homeward Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christin
I found the story very exciting and at times I could not put the book down. At certain points I became so enthralled in the story that my heart raced along with the characters. I felt part of the story and was truly concerned for the characters and what was going on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Breathe, Homeward Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2010
Breathe by Lisa T. Bergren is absolutely incredible! I can't say enough about this wonderful book. The story blends a beautiful historical with thrilling, edge-of-your-seat suspense. The setting is magnificent and the author makes you feel as if you are truly there. There is great family drama between the siblings, as well as great romance. This book has it all! The writing is simply outstanding. From page one I was totally engrossed and couldn't bear to put it down. I highly recommend this book to anyone. It has something for everyone with action, drama, suspense, and romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Breathe, Homeward Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christine Howard
This book sounded almost too sad to read, but I am genuinely pleased that I took the time to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Breathe, Homeward Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2009
This is a pleasantly different Christian historical, full of characters with flaws and often unsteady faith. There is no sickening sweetness here; we have real characters - including a few truly evil ones - but the novel never steps into the arena of including evil or worldliness just for it's own sake.The main plot is that of a consumptive woman in the 1880s. ("Consumption" being the old word for TB.) As she recovers in an sanatorium in the clear Colorado air, she thinks she may have witnessed a murder. What transpires is full of intrigue and danger, and leads her to find a husband - and an unshakable faith in God, no matter the circumstances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Breathe, Homeward Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2009
David C. Cook publishers has started putting a "Good Read Guarantee" on certain books and "Breathe" is one of those books. My belief is that they will not be giving any money back on this book - it is a good read and much more! "Breathe" is the first book in a new trilogy about Dominic and his two younger sisters and their travels to the new town of Colorado Springs in around 1860 in search of healing for his sister Odessa who is near death from consumption. They Dominic and Moira take her to a sanatorium by Pike's Peak and hope that she will finally find health from the disease that stole 4 younger brothers from them already. In the process Odessa finds love, murder and mystery waiting for her at the sanatorium while Dominic and Moira find adventures and love (or lack thereof) waiting for them as well. We see viewpoints of all 3 siblings pretty equally in this book even though it is really Odessa's story. We have 2 more books to come over the next year and I eagerly await them both to see where life is going to take these siblings as they go their separate ways now.One of the best things in this book (besides the mystery that will keep you in your seat til the end) is how she really took me back to the early days of Colorado Springs. You could see the mountains and scarcely touched land, breathe the crisp, cool air and walk the mountains with Odessa as she did. I loved this book and would highly recommend it to any fans of historical fiction!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Breathe, Homeward Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wendy Marple
I love historical books. Breath takes place in the late 1800's in Colorado Springs. The book opens up with people traveling to a consumption hospital in Colorado Springs and I was immediately drawn into the story. There is mystery and intrigue and history and relational situations all woven together. Moira made me so nervous during the book especially with the sheriff that I cringed. I only wish I knew more about Bryce. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Breathe, Homeward Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
Breathe is more than just a prairie romance, it is an edge of your seat page turning mystery. This book is deeper than most historical fiction books that you will find and it really makes you think. There is a darker side of things, but not too dark to survive without God on your side.In this novel, instead of following one character with various side characters in the background, the reader really follows the three different St. Clair siblings on their individual adventures. Having one story come to a content closure in this book, I really look forward to the next two books in the series to find out just how their journeys continue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Breathe, Homeward Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Breathe was a decent story. But it wasn't great. It seemed to last a bit too long for me. I finished it and that means it didn't bore me to tears. There were situations where the author did a great job when it came to tension and showing abusive situations, and there were times when I was worried the characters would get hurt. But I didn't connect with them as much as I would have liked to. I did appreciate the realism when it came to romantic scenes including those after marriage. Those scenes made me smile. I also appreciated that the ending wasn't rushed. But the story was a bit too drawn out, in my opinion, and would have been better if some of the storyline had been drawn tighter so that it didn't lag in some areas. The feel of the story was more of a mystery than a western, too. I would recommend this book, just not with a lot of enthusiasm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Breathe, Homeward Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2009
David C. Cook publishers has started putting a "Good Read Guarantee" on certain books and "Breathe" is one of those books. My belief is that they will not be giving any money back on this book - it is a good read and much more! "Breathe" is the first book in a new trilogy about Dominic and his two younger sisters and their travels to the new town of Colorado Springs in around 1860 in search of healing for his sister Odessa who is near death from consumption. They Dominic and Moira take her to a sanatorium by Pike's Peak and hope that she will finally find health from the disease that stole 4 younger brothers from them already. In the process Odessa finds love, murder and mystery waiting for her at the sanatorium while Dominic and Moira find adventures and love (or lack thereof) waiting for them as well. We see viewpoints of all 3 siblings pretty equally in this book even though it is really Odessa's story. We have 2 more books to come over the next year and I eagerly await them both to see where life is going to take these siblings as they go their separate ways now.One of the best things in this book (besides the mystery that will keep you in your seat til the end) is how she really took me back to the early days of Colorado Springs. You could see the mountains and scarcely touched land, breathe the crisp, cool air and walk the mountains with Odessa as she did. I loved this book and would highly recommend it to any fans of historical fiction!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Breathe, Homeward Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Breathe by Lisa Bergren is the first in the Homeward Trilogy about the St. Clair siblings. This volume features Odessa, a beautiful consumptive heading to Colorado Springs to take a treatment at a special sanatorium. Her father has sent his last three remaining children West in the hopes that they will escape the family curse of tuberculosis that has taken the life of four other children. Odessa's life revolves around survival, just taking one breath at a time. Moira, her younger sister, has a passion for singing and attracts men like bees to a flower, including the dangerous Sheriff Reid Bannock. Older brother Dominic has lived his entire life trying to live up to his father's expectations, including starting a bookstore in the Springs, despite the desire to travel and see the world. Each St. Clair sibling is looking for their purpose in life, and they just may find it in this growing London of the West. Bergren packs action, treasure-hunting, romance and danger into this enjoyable historical fiction. Odessa and Bryce's romance is terrific; most romance novels strive to keep the couple apart as long as possible, using contrived circumstances that strain the reader's patience. Odessa and Bryce's relationship is the touchstone of the book. I did become frustrated with Nic on occasion; he seemed to deliberately set out to hurt himself and leave Moira in danger, but I think that's deliberate on Bergren's part. The reader's frustration with Nic mirrors his own with his life. I'm usually not a fan of the popular Western historical romance, but this story engaged me and makes me want to read the sequel about Moira: Sing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.