Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Alpha Omega Publications Horizons Phonics & Reading, Grade K, Complete Set

Alpha Omega Publications Horizons Phonics & Reading, Grade K, Complete Set

Horizons Phonics & Reading for Grade K makes learning fun, teaching basic language concepts through brightly illustrated readers, puzzle and workbooks. Students unlock the mysteries of language acquisition and mastery through Horizons' intensive phonics-based reading, writing and spelling activities.

Concepts covered include:

  • Alphabet & Letter Sounds
  • Phonics
  • Oral and Silent Reading
  • Comprehension
  • Spelling
  • Handwriting

Kit contains:

  • 4 Full-Color Student Workbooks
  • 4 Complete Teacher's Guides with Answer Keys
  • Daily Lesson Plans and Worksheets
  • 4 Readers
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Horizons Phonics & Reading, Grade K, Complete Set
Review 1 for Horizons Phonics & Reading, Grade K, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Curriculum!

Date:June 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
homeschoolmom2
Location:Chillicothe, Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This set is just what I was looking for and I can't wait to begin using it with my daughter in the Fall!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Horizons Phonics & Reading, Grade K, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

this had every thing I needed for teaching my kide

Date:October 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
mom4
Location:tacoma Wa
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the shipping was fast. I would recommend this to others, I think the prices was ok.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Horizons Phonics & Reading, Grade K, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love the curriculum!

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tara
Location:Georgia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'll start of by saying if your child doesn't do good learning alone or is a slow learner this isn't for you. That being said, If your child likes to be independent and catches on quick they will love this colorful Curriculum. It teaches one to theww concepts and then reviews them for a day or two. It's based on the mastery technique. She loves that it makes up silly sentences and finds it fun. I love it because I asked by friend a teacher if shes wear she should be and he said shes ahead by at least a grade:) My only complaint is the writers of the book are somewhat sheltered for example one of the fill in the blanks was @ss but it was meant to be bass when completed. I blacked out that on the page and moved on . There's been maybe three occasion where I was like what were they thinking, but those small glitches aren't worth it for the overall curriculum is awesome.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Horizons Phonics & Reading, Grade K, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sara
Location:Yoder, Kansas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this with my son this year. It started him off reading right away, which I liked. However, some days the lessons are incredibly long. The ones that were 2 front and backs of a sheet were fine, but any time there were 3 pages he would lose interest after two. It's not an incredibly fun curriculum. The readers are really too hard for the kids to read by themselves. They are useful for learning reading comprehension if you read them to your child and ask the questions. But, he was really looking forward to reading books. He learned to read words but the stories in the book were too hard for him to read entirely by himself. I ended up buying something else with simple readers for my daughter for next year, and I am using those readers now with him. He is enjoying those much more. I have cut back the phonics pages I am requiring him to do to simply the new concepts and we have abandoned the review pages. Overall, I think it's a decent curriculum, and some people may really enjoy it. Just know that there are a lot of workbook pages, and the readers are not really readable by a kindergartener.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Horizons Phonics & Reading, Grade K, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa
This is an absolutely awesome product! My son is almost finished his first year homeschooling using Horizons Phonics and reading K and can read beautifully! The product is exceptionally thorough in it's scope and sequence. We are looking forward to using horizon grade one next year!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Horizons Phonics & Reading, Grade K, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2008
My daughter was very opposed to learning to read and did not do very well with the Abeka 4K program, we didn't even finish it. I bought this thinking that the colors and advanced teaching may challenge her. It did. For the first 40 lessons she still insisted that she could not read, but then it just clicked one day and she is doing awesome. The readers I have just read to her and let her verbally answer the questions. I highly recommend this program for any child who gets bored easily and needs to be challenged.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Horizons Phonics & Reading, Grade K, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
David Herrmann
This program provides very colorful work books to draw a little ones attention. However, there is a lot of page work for one lesson. The readers are a little frustrating for a beginner reader. I recommend you supplement with a simplier reader-like Bob Books and you read your child the readers the program provides. As your child's reading ability increases you can have them read the reader's from the progam. Comprehension questions are asked at the end of the story. The program provides great coverage. It was easy to use. I've used this with two of my children. They are both reading well. Before beginning the program your child must know his or her alphabet and sounds. Hope this was helpful.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Horizons Phonics & Reading, Grade K, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Pharris
This curriculum made all the difference in trying to teach my highly-distractable son to read. We'd been through several resources until a friend suggested Horizons.The brightly colored worksheets and combination of phonics/sight-reading captured his attention immediately. After less than one book, he's reading! Thanks, Horizons!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.