Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Heading Home

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

David C. Cook Heading Home

For eight years, A.J. Degulio has been itching to get back to her beloved Indian Island. It's home. But a lot has changed: Sailor moves slower, Danny has grown into a man.and A.J. has a promise to keep, but it doesn't include Danny. When Danny discovers the truth, he's shocked and hurt. But he won't stand in the way of what he she really wants.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Heading Home
Review 1 for Heading Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Own and read all three of the books in the series

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judi
Location:Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having read Saving Sailor, I was very much interested in continuing the story. Then I discovered that there were two more about this family. I highly recmd them for young readers and adults as well. I thoroughly enjoyed all three. Light reading, fun, depicting how family life, the relationship of the siblings and parents, should be for all of us. I would refer to these books as "comfort reading." Loved her lessons about our relationships with God as well. Good read!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Heading Home
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Did not disappoint

Date:November 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Review by Jill Williamson
After eight years in Italy, A.J. is coming back to Indian Island, Idaho. She can’t wait to see her dog Sailor and her old friend Danny. Sailor acts as if nothing has changed, but Danny—oooh. He’s grown up into a six-foot-tall real-life cowboy. He seems interested in A.J., but she has a promise to keep that doesn’t include Danny. What’s a girl to do if she wants both?
Okay. So I loved Saving Sailor, and I LOVED Taking Tuscany. So when I saw that Heading Home was available, I had to buy it. It did not disappoint. I’m a closure-happy ending kind of girl, and though A.J. sure does have a tendency to make a mess of things, Renée Riva has a great way of putting it all back together. A.J.’s Italian/Greek family is hysterical. This book was funny, heartwarming, and delightful. These three books were a fabulous coming-of-age story that takes place in the 1960’s and 1970’s. I highly recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Heading Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2010
Heading Home is the last book of the Indian Island trilogy, the first two being Saving Sailor and Taking Tuscany. Angelina Digulios family had relocated to Tuscany, Italy, in 1968, when she was 10. In Heading Home, Angelina (aka A.J.) is returning to Indian Island in July, 1976, to study to be a veterinarian. Her friend from Indian Island, Danny Morgan, had been taking care of her dog, Sailor, and corresponding with A.J. throughout the eight years she was gone. This book is about A.J.s return home.This being my first introduction to Renee Rivas writing, I was enthralled with the simplicity of her very romantic love story. Her writing isnt simplistic, as the storyline hooks you hook, line and sinker with such delight. It was a light, airy read but filled with romance, excitement, surprises, and fun. It is so reminiscent of the early 1970s era. A time of sweet love and innocence.The book swept me off my feet because of its innocent delight. Id highly recommend Heading Home for a delicious, romantic read. It has the air of the movie, My Big Fat Greek Wedding.This book was supplied by Audra of The B & B Media Group for my honest review. And it was a fantastic read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Heading Home
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2010
In the conclusion of the Indian Island trilogy, A.J. is reunited with Danny when she returns to the island to go to college. As the two friends fall back into old routines, it's impossible to miss the fact that 8 years has passed ... and they're not the kids they were back then. While A.J. has some big decisions to make, Danny recognizes his true feelings for A.J. Together, they work through big decisions about careers, religion, family, and what they mean to each other.This is a really sweet story. I had not read the first two books in the trilogy but felt I could easily catch up (although I certainly would enjoy the other books!). The book is funny and a great coming-of-age story. A great young adult novel or a quick read for those of us who wish we still were young adults!I received a FREE copy of this book from The B&B Media Group in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Heading Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
Im so thankful to have received a review copy of this entertaining and touching book by Renee Riva. This is a charming tale of a girl coming of age, finding true love, discovering whats important in life and having peace about what God has called her to do. I remembered growing up in an Italian-American Catholic family and could relate to A.J. and her situation on many levels. I found myself smiling as I read and laughing out loud in parts! The way her family interacted reminded me of the movie My Big Fat Greek Wedding, and how they did family. Fun, Fun, Fun!A.J.s best friend and love interest is Danny, a Southern cowboy; hes waited 8 years for her to return home from Italy and is trying hard to understand the A.J. that has returned and her new mission in life. Danny says to her, Are we talking nun here, A.J.?um..kind of.He exhales, How can you kind of be a nun?Well, I wont be kind of a nun. I mean, Ill be kind of considering being a sister.He stares at me dead on. Youre serious arent you?Danny doesnt understand A.J.s thinking. How can he compete with God for her affections? He respects her choice and leaves A.J. to work this out for herself.I enjoyed A.J.s earnest search to do the right thing and follow God no matter what people said. She was confident God would reveal His will for her life. This was a refreshing and fun read. I look forward to reading more books by this author.Nora St.LaurentACFW Book Club Coordinator
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Heading Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Liana
This is such a beautiful book, and series. I thoroughly enjoyed it and it made me laugh so many times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Heading Home
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2010
This is a story of how two young friends, separated by the ocean renew their friendship as young adults. Coming from Italy, A.J. comes home from Italy to help Danny out with starting a camp on the island where they played together as children as well as go to school. When Danny wants more than friendship, A.J. is not certain that is what she wants, she is actually thinking of being a nun! So, there are religious differences, cultural differences, and who knows what else to handle! When he throws in a hamster as a deal if she stays to help him, she agrees and tries to make sense of so many things! This is a fun book, on so many levels. It will have you laughing as well as crying with the characters as they live in grow in this journey called life! Great book! 4 star reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Heading Home
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
abbie
This is a great fiction book about "coming home". I do not prefer books written in first person unless it is journaling, but still found this to be well-written and enjoyable. It is suitable for all teens to read (which is nice). A story of childhood love and the real-world struggle of discovering the path God has for an individual. You are invited into the life of the main character as she searches for God's design and purpose for her life after turning 18 and returning to her childhood home. I don't know of anyone at this age who would not appreciate this story - what is love? - what is my purpose? - what do I do with my life?...These all must be answered. Through this book you see the handiwork of God's design and purpose, all laid out, when we are obedient to his call.Thank you B&B Communication for this review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Heading Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Heading Home by Renee Riva, is the third and last book in the story of "A. J." Degulio (The Indian Island Trilogy).I haven't read the first two books, but this one was a delight. An easy, fast-paced read, Heading Home had me hooked from the first page as I discovered the impulsive, quick-witted Angelina Juliana Degulio. I totally "got" her sense of humor and loved her character. I could have easily read this in one sitting, the story was so entertaining. By the end of the book, I was laughing out loud at the "Big Fat Italian-Greek-Southern Wedding" that was being planned by A.J.'s mother. It was very easy for me to visualize in my mind, the loud chaotic family members that were part of A. J. and Danny's wedding. I thought the romance between A. J. and Danny was very sweet and the way their families bonded (more like collided) made for a happy ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Heading Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Colleen L. Reece
I only keep books I plan to read over and over. "Heading Home" is definitely one of them. The humor, pathos, believable characters and plot make it a delight; enjoyable and unforgettable. Kudos to Renee. HH will touch lives and teach tolerance while adhering to strong Christian beliefs. Colleen L. Reece, Author of 140+ "Books You Can Trust," 6 million copies sold.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Heading Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
C.J. Darlington
A sweet tale of true love, quirky characters, and a girl named A.J. you can't help but adore. Renee Riva is a gem of an author in Christian fiction. Everyone should have the chance to enjoy her wonderful stories, and Heading Home is no exception. A wonderful finish to a delightful trilogy. Be sure to read the others, Saving Sailor and Taking Tuscany, too. Viva la familia!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.