Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook The Right Call, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #3

David C. Cook The Right Call, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #3

Ethan Langley is home for the summer, eager to renew his friendship with Vanessa Jessup and her infant son, Carter. And her parents, Police Chief Brill Jessup and her husband, Kurt approve; Ethan is thoughtful, kind, hard-working and ambitious.Before Ethan is even settled, a series of random shootings leaves someone he loves dead. While police are scrambling for suspects, Ethan learns shocking details that could break the case-but imperils the lives of those he's come to love. Will he make the right call?
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Right Call, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #3
Review 1 for The Right Call, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #3
This review is fromThe Right Call - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!

Date:May 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Samsnana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a riveting story that keeps you wondering what is going to happen next! It is well written and engaging! It's nice to be able to read a good mystery that contains good values and good people despite the horrific things that happen in life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Right Call, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Annette of A Well-Watered Garden
Book 3 of a series that is suspenseful and dramatic. The stories are of a family named Jessup. They have various internal turmoils and problems, yet they remain focused on the love they have for each other. Mrs. Jessup is Chief Jessup in the town of Sophie Trace. She is a wife and mother, yet a calm and commanding presence in her job. The book The Right Call is suspenseful, twisting, engaging, and entertaining. The author is skillful in her timing of events, and masterful in weaving a great story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Right Call, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2010
When I received "The Right Call", I knew that it was the last book in the series. I wasn't sure how it would do for a stand-alone book, but it fared very well. The story and the characters didn't rely on the previous books and were easy to get to know. There was references to past happenings, but nothing that would make you feel like you needed to read the others in the series or you were really missing something.I really enjoyed "The Right Call". It was a fast paced mystery packed with murder and excitement. It was full of twists and turns and along with the mystery, was a side story of romance. I found myself on the edge of my seat more than once. I found Kathy's writing style captivating and her characters likable and quite realistic, especially Ethan. I found that after I finished the book, I wanted to know more about these people and their lives! I now have put the first two books " The Real Enemy" and "The Last Word" down on my TBR list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Right Call, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2010
Kathy Hermans book, The Right Call, the third book of the Sophie Trace Trilogy, which also includes The Real Enemy and The Last Word, picks right up with another thrilling, dangerous episode that includes Police Chief Brill Jessup, which ultimately endangers her family and her daughters boyfriend, Ethan. If you have read the previous two books, you are well-acquainted with the well-rounded, in-depth issues and characters of the Jessup family.The Right Call drives you right into the center of murder by hire, random shootings, greed, addiction, deeply held secrets, and poor choices made by some of her characters, affecting whole town of Sophie Trace.Ethan learns of details behind the deaths of five people that could break open the case. However, his decision to disclose this information will affect the lives of others and maybe even himself. Even if he doesnt disclose the information, other lives are still at stake. His walk with the Lord gives him insights and wisdom of what to do in this deadly situation.Kathys novel will show you that we are all addicted to something, and what or Who we choose to follow will make all the difference in the world. Choices we make do not just affect just ourselvestheres a ripple effect of consequences that incorporates others around us. The importance of a relationship with God, so that you can call on Him for wisdom and direction in making decisions in difficult situations, is one of the main insights gleaned from this book. I highly recommend the whole series.This book was provided free by Audra of The B & B Media Group, Inc., for my honest review of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Right Call, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2010
The Right Call takes you down a suspenseful road of whodunit and reasons behind why it's happening even though they don't see it. Addictions - gambling, drinking, smokes and other sins like pride are displayed and shown how destructive they can be over time.This is the third book in the Sophie Trace Trilogy. I haven't read the first two. It was good as a stand alone, but there were a few parts that I know I would have gotten better at the beginning of the story if I had already read the first two books. That being said, it was still easy to pick up and read.I liked how Herman made the characters all collide together without them knowing it. It melded the story smoothly together and allowed me to get the big picture. I love the "old folk" group in there, especially when the one guy gets asked how are you? and he always replies "I can't complain, but I always do." LOL. That just torched me each time.Seriously though Kathy Herman takes a good look at life through this suspense-filled book and how small sins can overtake our lives and destroy what we've built. It made me pensive about them and how/what sins I let control me.The only two things that I didn't care for in the book was that it repeated itself a few times over - reestablishing the characters -- reminded me of school.. which I kinda get, just not my favorite thing; felt like it was drilling it into me.. of course I forget things easily so it did make the characters stick well in my head.. so it wasn't a huge issue and probably not a bad thing.. just something I noticed. And the other thing that bothered me was that I started at book three! Now I'll have to get copies of books one and two so I can read them in order!!!***review copy provided.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Right Call, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Margaret Nunemaker
This was a great finish to the trilogy. Not only did all the loose ends get drawn together, but lots of new and unexpected events took place. I really enjoyed Emily's way of dealing with fear and be afraid. How beautiful, simple and REAL.A good reminder for all of us jaded older adults.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Right Call, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
The third book in the Sophie Trace Trilogy, The Right Call offers up another tale full of suspense, crime and adventure. If you havent read the first two books in the trilogy, it might be helpful to do so to become more familiar with the characters backgrounds. The story revolves around Ethan Langley who comes home from college and has plans to further his romantic relationship with Vanessa Jessup. (Vanessa is also a college student, a single mom, and the daughter of the police chief.) Instead of being able to focus 100% on Vanessa, Ethan finds himself consoling his cousin Drew, who finds his roommate dead from a gunshot wound. When a second college student is shot and killed, things become even more complicated in Sophie Trace. The plot thickens as Ethan learns information about the shootings that could break the case wide open he also faces the risk of endangering the ones he loves. Read all of my reviews at:http://redlilycafe.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Right Call, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
Thank you to The B & B Media Group, Inc. for my copy of this Christian fiction novel. This is the third installment of the Sophie Trace Trilogy series. However, it can be read without having read the others as the author nicely fills in all gaps. The characters are well written. There's Brill, the first female police chief in the town's history. Working in a high pressure position, while being wife to Kurt, mother of three, and grandmother to Carter, gives her depth. The family grows in love and support. People begin to be shot down in the streets, for no apparent reason, and it's Brill's responsibility to solve the cases. There are some surprise twists and turns, which I love. However, there is too much repetition. This character tells that character about a circumstance, and later, the reader reads yet another conversation about the same topic being discussed between two others. Nonetheless, the book is a worthy read, with quite a bit of romance and tracking a slippery killer(s). Discussion questions are included.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Right Call, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
I have always enjoyed Kathy Herman's books, and this one was no exception. Filled with mystery and intrigue, The Right Call concludes this series. I was a little confused at first because for some reason when I finished the second book in this series, I thought that the baby's father was going to be in it, but then I realized I had him and Ethan confused. So, just a mix-up on my part...anyhow, Ethan is finally getting the romantic relationship that he wants, but murder is happening all around him. Drive by shootings of college students, young children and others...is anyone safe? The pressure is on for the police to find this killer and they seem to hit roadblocks every which way. Who is behind this and why are they doing it?This book has some really tough moments and it was one that I for sure did not want to put down... It deals with alot of tough family issues and the length some people will go to hide a secret. I am just thankful when I read this types of books that at least my family did not resort to murder to hide secrets. This ends on a sweet note to make you go "Awww..." and it will make you feel happy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.