Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook The Last Word, Sophie Trace Trilogy #2

David C. Cook The Last Word, Sophie Trace Trilogy #2

When Vanessa Jessup returns home from her sophomore year of college, her mother, Sophie Trace Police Chief Brill Jessup, is stunned to see that she's pregnant-by one of her professors. While Brill is glad her middle daughter rejected the father's abortion ultimatum, she's also hurt that Vanessa ignored her upbringing and angry that the professor has disappeared without so much as a nickel of child support.

But that's not all Brill's got on her plate. One of her detectives has been killed, and the attacker has threatened to come for her next. When a second cop is wounded, public criticism mounts as Brill attempts to stay alive long enough to catch the perp. And she's trying to find that deadbeat dad, while Vanessa struggles to make decisions about her future.

Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for The Last Word, Sophie Trace Trilogy #2
Review 1 for The Last Word, Sophie Trace Trilogy #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2010
This is my first introduction to Kathy Herman, but it wont be my last! She delves deeply into the lives and hearts of her characters, revealing their personal thoughts and deep feelings throughout all the turmoil: Vanessa showing up at home pregnant and unmarried; Brills disappointment in her daughters lack of morals; her daughters indecisive decision-making about her future with or without her baby; her youngest daughters PTSD from a previous trauma (book one: The Real Enemy); her own marriage to her husband and his issues and concerns, finding the deadbeat father of Vanessas baby; and the safety of her family, her officers, and herself while the murderer is still at large.Kathys fast-paced rhythm of suspense throughout the book keeps you gripping the pages of this novel till the end. Her use of personal prayers and Scripture makes the book special to mefaith in action. Many of her characters are well-grounded in Scripture and are living it out. For those who arent, there is always Gods grace. This is the type of Christian fiction that endears books to me.I highly recommend you read this book, but encourage you to start with the first in the series, The Real Enemy. If The Last Word is any indication of her other writings, Ill be reading more!This book was provided free from Audra at The B & B Media Group, Inc., for my review and blog. I enjoy reading, and blog on books I can feel confident in highly suggesting. Thanks to Audra and B & B Media Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Last Word, Sophie Trace Trilogy #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrea Schultz
The Last Word is the 2nd novel in the Sophie Trace Trilogy. It follows the Jessup family of Sophie Trace, TN, a fictional town set in the Great Smoky Mountains. The mother, Brill Jessup, is the Sophie Trace PD chief. She's been married for 20 years to Kurt, the district manager of an auto parts chain. They have 3 children Ryan, a pre-law student at Vanderbilt University, Vanessa, a sophomore at the University of Memphis and Emily, the baby of the family at age ten. There are several interesting subplots. Vanessa returned home for the summer seven months pregnant without advising her parents in advance. Vanessa has decided to give life to the baby, but returns home unsure whether or not to keep the baby. Another subplot is a killer on the loose. This murderer kills a member of Chief Jessups department, and also kills a member of her previous department, the Memphis PD. He warns several people that Chief Jessup is next. I will not give up any plot points, but suffice to say that Kathy Herman is masterful in her storytelling skills. I finished this novel hungering to follow the further adventures of the Jessups. I was happy to see Ms. Herman weave the Gospel throughout the story. She does a wonderful job showing the stages that an unwed mother goes through when she has to reconcile herself to her actions and accept (or reject) the forgiveness of the Lord. In addition, Chief Jessup shows love and compassion for her fellow man when she could have easily fallen into the human emotions of revenge & bitterness. This is the first time I've read a Kathy Herman novel, and was absolutely delighted with it! The hallmarks of a great novel are that 1) you want to keep turning the pages to learn where the story is going, & 2) you're sorry when you reach the last page! This book was provided to me by the B & B Media Group for review purposes.Reviewed by Andrea Schultz Ponderings by Andrea http://andrealschultz.blogspot.com.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Last Word, Sophie Trace Trilogy #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pete
I loved the story,Didn't want it to endCan't wait for the next book to come out
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Last Word, Sophie Trace Trilogy #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
S.F.
Set in the fictional small town of Sophie Trace, Tennessee with the Smoky Mountains as a backdrop, "The Last Word<" is really a book of two storys.On one side you have, Police Chief Jessup dealing with a mysterious pattern of murders that are leading to her and on the other hand, you have the story of a couple, Police Chief Jessup and her husband, Kurt, dealing with a sad, but unfortunately every day topic of teenage pregnancy, when their daughter, Vanessa returns home, pregnant and facing a difficult choice in her life.There is enough background in, The Last Word", that if this is the reader's first introduction to a, Kathy Herman, book, they won't feel too left out, but at the same time, enough incentive to want to read the previous book that is in the series,The Real Enemy" so don't be hinder from reading, The Last Word just because it's a "series" based book.I enjoyed the discussion questions that were at the end of the book and makes this a great medium not only just for personal reflection but for book groups and even for personal discussions with individuals who might be dealing with similiar situations as the character.Not something you would always expect from fiction, but from a Christian fiction, "The Last Word" provides a wonderful medium to address difficult subjects and even soften barriers for sharing God's words with others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Last Word, Sophie Trace Trilogy #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2009
The Last Word is book #2 in Kathy Herman's Sophie Trace trilogy. I love the way the author combines mystery and suspense along with compelling family drama all together in this story.In both of the books so far in this series I have really enjoyed getting to know the town of Sophie Trace and its people. It is a charming small town setting with wonderful characters that I have come to know almost as family.Kathy is an extremely talented author of suspense. She grabs you at the start and you won't want to put the book down until the very end.I really recommend this book, especially if you enjoy mystery and suspense. If you haven't read book 1, The Real Enemy, you could still read this one as a stand alone book. However, I think you get a much better appreciation for the characters by reading both books. I look forward to book 3, The Right Call, due out in March 2010.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Last Word, Sophie Trace Trilogy #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2009
My rating: 3 of 5 stars This was the first book I have read by Kathy Herman and now I understand why she is a best selling suspense novelist. I normally do not enjoy suspense, but this one was different. I actually enjoyed it. While it is a suspense novel, it is also threaded with several other story lines. One being the current situation with Brill's daughter, Vanessa, and the second being from the past, which I assume is delt with in book one of this trilogy series. I was still able to understand and enjoy this book without having previously read book one, but it may be even more meaningful if you read them in order. The plot is believable and has twists and turns that I didn't expect along with the ones that I did. They story challenges the way we view our circumstances showing us that God can use both good and bad in our eyes to bring glory to Himself. The characters face common, real life problems and emotions and you can find yourself relating to them and their struggles. Overall this is a great book and one I would recommend to older teens or adults to enjoy for the sake of reading. However, I only gave it 3 out of 5 stars because I felt that the spiritual emphasis was on the weak side. If you want suspense, this is a very good book to read, but if you want more spiritual depth to your fiction, I would suggest something by Karen Kingsbury or Francine Rivers. This review book was courtesy of TBB Media & David C. Cook
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Last Word, Sophie Trace Trilogy #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Margaret Nunemaker
Excellent book. I really apprecited the interaction of the Brill and her husband with the pregnant daughter. Not all love and roses, but love, disappointment and support to find the best option foe everyone. Brill's interaction with her kidnapper was intense and very moving. Hope the next book is not too long in coming.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Last Word, Sophie Trace Trilogy #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2009
Brill Jessup is back, and she's just as smart, tough, and integrity-driven as ever. This gal is my kind of woman! Her handling of multiple murders, even in the face of unreasonable criticism, is professional and on target, and her support system of family and friends is a wonderful cast of characters. Brill's confrontation with the perp is also suspenseful and faith-honoring without kowtowing to cliches. But I think the thing I liked best about this book is how much Brill learned about her own flaws and limitations, especially when it came to the ultimately hurtful expectations she had of Vanessa (who is also a great character worth rooting for). I will definitely be back to Sophie Trace to finish the trilogy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Last Word, Sophie Trace Trilogy #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
JS75
Great book! I have read and loved all of Kathy's books. In this one, she brings in mystery, inspiration, hope and all that makes a great book. I urge you to read it. I can't wait for #3.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Last Word, Sophie Trace Trilogy #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2009
Thank you to The B & B Media Group, Inc. for my copy of this Christian fiction novel. This is the second installment of the Sophie Trace Trilogy series, and can be read without having read the first as the author nicely fills in all gaps.The character of Brill is one I connected with in the first book. She's the first female police chief in the town's history. Working in a high pressure position, while being wife to Kurt and mother of three gives her depth. The layered story begins when her teenage daughter comes home from college seven months pregnant, shocking her parents. People begin dropping like flies as a murderer takes revenge, threatens that Brill is next. Talk about a stressful life!However, there is too much repetition. This character tells that character about a circumstance, and later, the reader reads yet another conversation about the same topic being discussed between two others.Nonetheless, the book is a worthy read, with a bit of romance and the suspense of tracking a slippery killer. Discussion questions are included.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Last Word, Sophie Trace Trilogy #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
The Last Word by Kathy Herman is the second book in the Sophie Trace series. Brill Jessup is facing a new series of crises. Her daughter Vanessa has come home from college seven months pregnant, and the baby's father has disappeared. Plus a man she put in prison fifteen years ago is determined to get revenge, but Brill is only his final target, he intends to hurt as many people as possible to get to her. Brill will have to rely on the brilliance from which she acquired her nickname and on her trust in God to make it through. Herman has populated Sophie Trace with several likable small town characters from nosy Tessa to curmudgeonly Gus. She addresses something usually left out in series like this: when a main character becomes the focus of killer after killer, the city council is ready to fire her for the negative media attention as well as the cost in tax dollars. It keeps the series grounded in reality, as does Kurt and Brill's marriage and relationship with their children. The only places the story stalls are when Herman inserts brief sermons on abortion, premarital sex, and salvation. The dialogue there doesn't ring true and seems forced. The climactic salvation exchange is completely different; it's powerful and moving. I definitely look forward to the next book in the series, although I do hope that the Jessup family has a break from the constant threat of violence.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Last Word, Sophie Trace Trilogy #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2009
In this second book in the series Brill is caught in a situation that has stress coming at her from every direction, at work an ex-con is out to kill her but before he does that he wants to torture her by killing the policemen on her team first, her collage daughter returns home pregnant with a missing boyfriend, and her youngest daughter is still in the throws of Post Traumatic Stress Syndrome from the story in the first book. How can she handle it all? Can she rely on God? Kathy has not disappointed us with this second book. Her characters are well developed and there is enough background included so you won't feel lost if you haven't read the first book of the series. She has really tuned in to the feelings that a middle child would have and the uncertainty resulting from finding herself pregnant and wondering what on earth to do and how to explain it to her Christian parents. Although it is a police drama, it isn't so much about the police department as about the woman who leads it. It shows that no matter what the job, there is a real person with real problems behind the title. This book is about a family and how they rise above terror through their faith and in the process witness to others. Very good read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Last Word, Sophie Trace Trilogy #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2009
Great book, possibly better than the first in the series. Kathy Herman just keeps getting better with each book she puts out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.