Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook The Real Enemy, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #1

David C. Cook The Real Enemy, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #1

Brill Jessup is the first female police chief in Sophie Trace, Tennessee. She's a pro at solving cases---but personally insecure. Work has become her favorite distraction from trying to forgive her husband Kurt's infidelity. But when seven people go missing, her tireless investigation threatens her family and she's forced to confront the real enemy. 340 pages, softcover from Cook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Real Enemy, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #1
Review 1 for The Real Enemy, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mom on the run
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First suspense book I've read in a while loved the charters and kept me on the edge of my seat excellent book easy to follow
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Real Enemy, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2010
Unexpectedly enjoyable!These types of books are the ones I steer clear from, but I had nothing else to read.I was surprised to find myself unable to put it down as the mystery unfolded and the life of the headstrong/determined female policy chief deals with her insecurities and failures as a mom and wife in a working mans world.Sort like my own life, which is why I steer clear. Yet I found myself engrossed and relating to the character as she confronts the real enemy. Im ready to add this author to my list of favorites.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Real Enemy, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
Im so thankful to have received a review copy of this exciting, action packed, heart felt, thought provoking police drama. The Real Enemy is the first book in the Sophie Trace Trilogy, introducing Police Chief, Brill Jessup. Brills the first female police chief, in a new town, in a new house. She realizes she still has the same old problems. Theyve followed her there. She had to work really hard to get the men in this town to respect her, and realize she had police instincts they could trust. She left Memphis, Tennessee to escape her husbands affair, hoping for a fresh start. Kurt is committed to the marriage and seeks forgiveness. Brills heart is closed to love from her husband. She would do her duty (she was good at that) and stick it out for their childrens sake, but she wasnt going to forgive him. How could she? Brills police instincts kick in high gear when people start disappearing one by one, without a trace. Who will be next? This town is used to a man being in charge, which makes her work twice as hard. It takes a crisis for Brill to see that maybe she didnt have it all together. Did she turn her back on God when her whole life was turned up-side down by the affair? Now her life was being turned up-side down againonly in a different way. What did she really believe when peoples lives were on the line and things get personal? This book made me appreciate our law enforcement team throughout this land. We take for granted all the things they do to help us feel safe during the day and night. Kathy Herman gives you a peak at what life might look like for the family of the Police Chief. The Police Chief brings a different type of work home with her. I enjoyed this book and cant wait to read the next book in this series, The Last Word. Nora St. LaurentACFW Book Club CoordinatorFinding Hope Through Fictionwww.psalm516.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Real Enemy, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon Mcmills
Kathy Herman's gifts and talents as a wonderful writer and story teller shine once again in The Real Enemy. This is a two fold story one of great mystery the other forgiveness. I loved the mystery and really wrestled with and was sometimes immobilized by the forgiveness part of the story. Once again BRAVO Kathy Herman. I impatiently wait for your second book in this Sophie Trace Trilogy Series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Real Enemy, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carol Schultz
I really enjoyed reading "The Real Enemy". It kept me on the edge of my seat. I also liked how the author protrayed Sophie's feelings of lost trust toward her husband and how she struggled in her faith also because of his infidelity. I thought the book was well written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Real Enemy, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2009
I wish I could give this book an extra star. Five is not enough! I finished this book today after staying up until midnight, gripped by the mystery. The suspense is masterful, and Kathy does a great job of making the perps different from all the ones we've seen countless times before. Brill is at once a very sympathetic character and one you wish you could knock sense into. She's delightfully human, as is her husband, the citizens of Sophie Trace, and the other characters. Little Emily, especially, made the story for me. She reminds me so much of what I was like as a kid, and her composure at the end--wow. I mean, WOW. You go, sweetie pie! :) I rooted for Brill and the others the whole time and worked to solve the mystery alongside her. I can't wait to go back to Sophie Trace and practice my mental detective skills!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Real Enemy, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2009
This is a great mystery / suspense book that kept me guessing for awhile. We have a "family" that moves to a new town so mom can be the new police chief. Mom and Dad are living together but separately just so they can raise their daughter as a couple. Dad cheated on Mom and almost ruined thier marriage. Can they live in peace? Now that Mom is on the force, crazy stuff starts happening... people start disappearing without a trace. Are they alive, dead, kidnapped??? Locals believe that an old legend has come to life and is taking vengence on those in town. What's happening and can Mom stop it? Can Dad save the marriage? Can Mom figure out who the "Real Enemy" is? Well written with just the right amount of tension, mystery and resolution.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Real Enemy, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cindy Lewis
I really enjoyed this book. Kathy Herman did it again. I think this should be a good series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Real Enemy, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
The Real Enemy by Kathy Herman is the first book in the Sophie Trace trilogy. Police Chief Brill Jessup moved her family from Memphis, Tennessee to the small town of Sophie Trace to get away from the bitter reminders of her husband's betrayal. Kurt and Brill have decided to remain together for the sake of their nine-year old daughter, Emily, but it's a marriage in name only, and they both struggle to keep up the facade. Brill's tested in her first day on the job when a citizen disappears, seemingly off the face of the earth with no evidence as to how or why. In the succeeding six days, six more people disappear, and now, not only is her marriage in jeopardy, but her job is as well. Brill, Kurt, and Emily are all terrific characters, well-rounded and interesting, and the plot is full of twists and turns. The investigation is hindered by a local legend of angry Cherokee ghosts avenging the loss of their land, so the town of Sophie Trace becomes its own character. There's a profound message of forgiveness and temptation that Herman handles with flair. My only complaint with this thriller is that the reconciliation at the end of the novel seems to come out of the nowhere. I felt like I had missed a chapter because of the 180 degree turn in attitudes. That said, I plan on returning to Sophie Trace soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Real Enemy, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2009
This is my favorite type of book to read. Written in third-person narrative, this Christian fiction thriller keeps the reader on edge. The plot is a brain teaser. I loved it! Brill Jessup, the protagonist, comes across as a believable chief of police as she works 24/7 with the Sheriff and the FBI on a case that seems impossible to crack. Meanwhile, she does her best to ignore her husband, who strayed. One of the themes of this book is bitterness--the inability to forgive, a topic that will cause most people to relate. At times, I fully supported Brill, while other times, I wanted to sit her down for a heart-to-heart.On the other hand, Emily, Brill's precocious nine-year-old daughter is written too flat, and several times I had trouble believing that any child, no matter how bright, would speak and act this way. That being said, it still is a terrific book and well worth the read. Discussion questions are included.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Real Enemy, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amelia Brinson
Kathy Herman always delivers more than I could ever expect. She makes her characters so alive to me I have found myself praying for them. I love the mystery in Kathy's books and most of all the witnessing and descipleship in each book. After reading Kathy's books I feel I have definitely learned how to be a better Christian and been on an adventure. Thank you, Christianbook Distributors, for making this excellent author's work available to me. Can't wait to read the next one in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Real Enemy, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
JS75
I would like to give this book more than 5 stars....it is a fantastic book...I think Kathy's best ever! I love the way she brings in grace, forgiveness, consequences of bitterness, suspense, etc. I read it in one day! I can't wait for #2 in this trilogy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Real Enemy, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
kari
this book is a very good book she always gets me at the first words and i never liked reading the prologue but she makes it fun exciting and interesting never like to put down her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Real Enemy, Sophie Trace Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2009
Great book, the best Kathy Herman has written yet. In addition to the suspense and mystery, the book covers the issues of marital infidelity and forgiveness. It deserves more than 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.