Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit

David C. Cook Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit

Today's church admires the gift of the Holy Spirit, but have we neglected to open it? Chan tears away the wrapping paper and the ribbons to uncover the source of the believing community's true power for witness and service. He issues a compelling invitation to understand, embrace, and follow the Spirit of the living God. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.77 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
70
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
51 out of 51100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit
Review 1 for Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gets you Thinking

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sweet Brownie
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am really enjoying how this book gets you thinking about the Holy Spirit as a person and his role in your life. I thought my view, that the Holy Spirit is a power source to tap into, was Scriptural and correct, but as I continue through this study that is being challenged from all angles. They say that ignorance is bliss, but I am so happy to be learning and stepping into living a Spirit filled life. Francis Chan uses analogies that are easy to understand, powerful, and relevant. He asks questions to get you thinking instead of telling you what to think. The whole books is encouraging, and inspiring.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Eye opeing book

Date:September 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Melody
Location:Whitby, ON
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yes we all say "The Father, Son and Holy Spirit", but how many of us really embrace it? This book really hit home for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Forgotten God:Neglect of the Holy Spirit

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
MissDee
Location:Buckingham, Va
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Francis Chan is always excellent in his God and Spiritual writings. Forgotten God makes you think hard about things that you do, say or think to suppress the Holy Spirit.
Excellent book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BUY THIS BOOK!!!

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chelsea
Age:Under 18
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book and once again Francis Chan did not disappoint! I got through this book in around 48 hours. It really explores well the topic of the Holy Spirit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Talking About the Holy Spirit!

Date:April 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Woofiejo
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the fact that Francis Chan is talking about this often controversial issue of the Holy Spirit. There are far too many churches that remain silent on the purpose and the benefits of the Holy Spirit. And how sad is his statement in the introduction (page 15) – “From my perspective, the Holy Spirit is tragically neglected and, for all practical purposes, forgotten…..I’m willing to bet there are millions of churchgoers across America who cannot confidently say they have experienced His presence or action in their lives over the past year. And many of them do not believe they can.”
Chan goes on to say that “There is a big gap between what we read in Scripture about the Holy Spirit and how most believers and churches operate today……If I were Satan and my ultimate goal was to thwart God’s kingdom and purposes, one of my main strategies would be to get churchgoers to ignore the Holy Spirit.” (Pg 16)
Throughout the book, believers are challenged to not forget the Holy Spirit and to get to know Him on a more personal level. Chan clearly describes that the reason to desire the Holy Spirit is not for selfish reasons but for “the common good”. (1 Cor 12:7) Another important challenge that Chan offers is for the reader to reflect on whether or not they are truly willing to yield to the Holy Spirit in all things: “Do I want to lead or be led by the Spirit?”.
While this book is not designed to be a “how to” manual to develop a deeper relationship with the Holy Spirit, it certainly does provide some thought provoking questions for the reader about how they are/aren’t living out their Christian faith and the greater depth that may be available to them if they seek it.
This book also has a DVD and workbook available as supplemental resources that can be used for group study. Although I have not seen the DVD, I do have the workbook and it is designed to help you develop a deeper relationship with the Holy Spirit and put some of the newfound revelations into action.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Titi
Location:RI ,Woonsocket
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome book worth reading !!my Son is reading this in his school as a book report !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
sandy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly recommend for anyone wanting to have a more intimate relationship with the Lord. Francis Chan has insight into humility, faith, trust, repentance, honesty, obedience, and depending on God and His Word for life. I previewed the book, workbook, and DVD before using in our ladies Sunday School class and know everyone of us will benefit from this wonderful study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Holy Spirit

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ken46
Location:Tulsa, OK
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The contents of this book form the theme of an adult Bible study that I am teaching. Chin is very direct and practical in his writing style. Perhaps a little too dramatic at times, but as a writer he makes his points very well. His overall theme is that we have "forgotten" or ignored the role of the Holy Spirit in our lives. He is right.
Short book. Big impact. Can read in one day.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Don't neglect God...

Date:May 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What does a Holy Spirit-filled life look like? How many of us can say we truly long for the Holy Spirit to work in our lives? Do you pray for guidance from the Holy Spirit in every decision you make, or just when serious “spiritual” decisions come up? What we tend to forget is that if we neglect the Holy Spirit, we are neglecting God. We are the temples of the Holy Spirit… He lives inside of us, so how can we ignore His presence?
Reading this book immediately after Francis Chan’s “Crazy Love” I did notice many similarities. The premise is the same: the presence of the Holy Spirit in our lives should change us in a way that people acknowledge God. This book, however, focuses specifically on the Spirit. It’s a challenge to open ourselves up to what God wants to do in our lives through the Holy Spirit. For some, this may require a serious step outside of our comfort zone. Chan gives several examples of what a Spirit-led life can look like through stories about people both from the Bible and modern times. He explains why he believes the American church is missing out on the fullness of the Spirit, saying, ” …I also believe that the Spirit is more obviously active in places where people are desperate for Him, humbled before Him, and not distracted by their pursuit of wealth or comforts (like we are).” I tend to agree with him.
One more quote that I loved from this book has to do with a job of the Holy Spirit that we seem to have taken on as our own responsibility: “… I cannot convince people to be obsessed with Jesus. Perhaps I can talk people into a prayer, but I cannot talk anyone into falling in love with Christ. I cannot make someone understand and accept the gift of grace. Only the Holy Spirit can do that. So by every measure that actually counts, I need the Holy Spirit. Desperately.” I think this book will challenge you to look at your relationship with God in a way that you’ve never done it before.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We did this book in bookclub a few months ago and it was wonderful! It reminded me just how important the Holy Spirit
is in a believers life. It was a fairly easy read, but the content is something that can be for a new believer or someone who has been walking with God for years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very relevant and useful.

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teri Clark
Location:SouthCentral, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book/Bible study. A small group of ladies met once a week to watch the video and discuss the book. Very worthwhile! Highly recommend this.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

About the Holy Spirit

Date:April 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Buckeye Bob
Location:East Liverpool,ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved it. Easy to read and understand. Worth re-reading to see if I missed anything though
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life Changing

Date:March 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
twelsh3
Location:Eden Prairie, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Francis Chan is right on - I had not been operating like I have the Holy Spirit dwelling in me. I understood my relationship with God and Jesus, but not with the Holy Spirit. I now understand my relationship with the Holy Spirit and all I can do to honor God through him.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The indispensable ingredient for Christian living

Date:February 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
David Gough
Location:Alexandria, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The indwelling presence of the Holy Spirit is God's provision which enables the follower of Jesus Christ to live the Christian life. Without His (and He is a person, not a "force") ministry, the believer would be left to his own devices. Fortunately, that is not the case. Every Christian is given the Holy Spirit at the moment of saving faith, but not all consistently yield themselves to His control. Francis Chan does a credible job of imploring believers to recognize the Spirit's presence and to live by means of the power which He provides. He explains how sin and neglect can quench and grieve the Spirit's ability to work in our lives. This is an good book for young Christians, as well as for those who struggle to overcome sin and grow toward maturity. It is a bit basic in its doctrine and, for that reason, may not be the most helpful read for some. I found myself recalling my "Theology 101" notes as I followed Chan's discussion. What he does provide are helpful illustrations and occasional challenges, as well as historical and living examples of those he considers to live Spirit-filled lives. Much more could have been said and the discussion could have gone deeper. Perhaps that was not his aim. After reading his earlier book, "Crazy Love," I expected more.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brett McMorris
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a necessary challenge to the evangelical church. As always, Francis Chan is solid in his use of Scripture and helps the reader look at their own heart in the process.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great reminder

Date:January 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
1lmicheleb
Location:Ontario, California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A must read. We as a body of believers do not realize how much we neglect one third of Our triune God. The Holy Spirit deserves as much love and adoration as Abba and His Son.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
JoAnne
Location:Largo, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes in every day life, we don't realize how we slip away from God. This book is an excellent reminder to keep Him first and foremost in our minds and hearts every moment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chaplain Mark
Location:Col., OH
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not all the way through, but it is spot on. Needs a read by everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was inspiring!

Date:December 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lyn Tenney
Location:Connecticut
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The message of this book is much needy in today's Christianity. ' The Holy Spirit' has lately been abused both in His neglect and in His misappropriation. The treatment given here is one of reverence, fairness, and gives the Holy Spirit the prominence He deserves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read...really makes you think.

Date:November 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
ttsalter
Location:GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This book really leads you to evaluate your walk with God. It makes you slow down to contemplate your relationship with God and others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.