Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Desired, Lost Loves of the Bible Series #2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

David C. Cook Desired, Lost Loves of the Bible Series #2

Desired tells the story of the legendary strongman through the eys of the three most important women in his life. The fiercely loving Jewish mother, the impoverished Philistine girl, Amara, and the emotionally damaged seductress, Delilah. Ultimately, this story celebrates God's ability to work mightily despite our human weakness.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Desired, Lost Loves of the Bible Series #2
Review 1 for Desired, Lost Loves of the Bible Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are many interesting people who lived in Biblical times whether one is referring to the Old Testament or the New Testament. Each testament offers to us truth about the One True God who reveals Himself, starting in Genesis. The times those people lived in are vastly different than ours culturally as well as politically, economically and more. There is one thing that is the same: We are a people created to know God relationally through Jesus Christ.
Samson and Delilah were people who lived before the time of Christ. Readers can learn about Samson’s true history (nonfictional) beginning in the book of Judges Chapter 13, which is located in the Old Testament. There are several historical books that can be read to understand the times and people that can help readers grasp the history of that period.
Ginger Garrett writes a fictional tale of Samson and Delilah that will captivate the reader as it is told from point of view of Samson’s mother, Amara and Delilah. Being told from three different women’s’ points of view is helpful as readers get to understand the possible thoughts and feelings of women in ancient times. In ancient history, women were raised in a patriarchal society. Their lives were to be led and cared for by men. As such, some had good, rich and full lives while others weren’t as fortunate. Some people today use this as a reason to live a life focused on doing without the “restraints” the Bible teaches. This is unfortunate and living life with less instead of more.
The novel’s chapters alternate between the women in Samson’s life and his mother, allowing us to understand both sides of the action. We see what happens when a man doesn’t live his life according to what God has said, but we also see the redemption of that life God brings. Samson lived during the time known as the Judges when Israel had no king and they did what “was right in their own eyes”. The novel fictionalizes many of the true events in Samson’s life, which serves to captivate the imagination of the audience.
Remember what Ginger Garrett wrote is a wonderful fictional tale you can enjoy and share with others. Then, read the true account of Samson from the Word of God, beginning in Judges Chapter 13. I found the novel reminding me of how short we fall from what God has planned for us, and how He redeems us when it seems like all hope is lost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desired, Lost Loves of the Bible Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fascinating Take on a Biblical Story

Date:June 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
CharityUAusten
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Being a girl with a big enjoyment of Biblical fiction, I knew I wanted to give this book (and this author) a try as soon as I heard of it. It took a while, but then I got signed up to review Reign by the same author – and David C. Cook sent me all three of her books. I started with this one. You know, there aren’t just a whole lot of books about Samson and Delilah…so this one was definitely a first for me! It’s got a lot of fiction, but the Bible parts were well done. By fiction, I mean the author made up a lot of backstory and added in a lot of details – more than many Biblical fiction books I’ve read. However, most of those were about characters where we know more about their lives. Some of the material here was a little more descriptive about matters appropriate for more mature readers than most books like this that I’ve read – nothing really bad, but I’d still only recommend for 17+. The switching view points did a good job conveying the thoughts of each individual woman, but they also annoyed me a lot sometimes…it was a lot of switching, and not always completely smooth. At the end of the day? It was a good book, very interesting, well-written, and I enjoyed it.
**The publisher sent me this book as a complimentary copy. I wasn’t required to review it, wasn’t reimbursed for doing so, and wasn’t obligated to review it positively.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desired, Lost Loves of the Bible Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

DESIRED

Date:May 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patsdream
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DESIRED is written from the perspective of Samson's mother, his first wife Amara and from Delilah. This is not a book I would recommend for a young teen. There is violence, sexual tension that you don't normally see in a Christian book but not detailed. The author, Ginger Garrett, tries to show the life of Amara, Delilah and the mother in a way that you realize what women had to do and had no rights of their own. It is well written, shows the strengths and weakness of the characters and how faith leads them in their daily life. This is not you typical "happily ever after". This is pretty close to the story in the Bible. Of course, this is fiction based on the Bible and the author does show some creative license.
I was given these books by the publisher with only the request to leave an unbiased review. Definitely an author I will read again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desired, Lost Loves of the Bible Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thought provoking

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
AddLibrarian
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ginger Garrett’s first Biblical fiction novel Chosen, about Queen Esther, got some pretty awesome press. She’s also currently writing a book about Jezebel. (How awesome is that!!!)
Desired is the story of Samson and is told from the perspectives of Delilah, his ill-fated first wife, and most importantly, his mother. Desired is really her story. It is a narrative of her desires for her son and her struggle to comprehend and accept that God’s desires for him may be different from her won. Her son, the promised deliverer, God’s promise and gift to her and her nation, doesn’t behave the way she expects or desires.
Samson isn’t done very often so I was excited to read Desired. In my excitement I guess I forgot to take into account the fact that Samson’s story is depressing. The tone was reminiscent of how Israel probably felt under Philistine rule, dark, oppressive, and bitter. So while I didn’t enjoy Desired, it was Good. After all biblical stories usually aren’t pretty.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desired, Lost Loves of the Bible Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not what I was hoping for!

Date:March 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Desired is written by Ginger Garrett and published by David C Cook.
This book was not at all what I expected. That is not a good thing. The book is about Samson, the man from the Bible that we remember from the story of him getting his hair cut and losing his strength. This book comes from a different angle in retelling the story by centering on the viewpoint of three women in Samson’s life.
I felt like the details of some of the scenes were a bit much. It was an over dramatic retelling of the story. It is nothing like any Christian fiction I have read before. I would not recommend this book for everyone. The language is a bit graphic sometimes, not what you would call bad language but more in the descriptive words used.
The flow of the story helped make the read bearable. The book itself was well written meaning there were no scenes left out and the story made sense. I will not be reading this book again but if you want a different viewpoint of the story of Samson you might want to try it for yourself.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desired, Lost Loves of the Bible Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A stunning work

Date:December 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently, I stumbled upon Ginger Garrett's latest novel, Desired: The Untold Story of Samson & Delilah and discovered an enticing and godly read, though one that did cause my eyes to widen a bit when I read the phrase "I will begin my story with a tale about breasts, where all good tales probably begin".
Desired brings to life the story of Samson, as told through the eyes of his first Philistine wife Amara, his mother, and his final love, the prostitute Delilah. The novel brings to life Judges chapters 13-16 from the Old Testament in the Bible, beginning with Samson's marriage to his Philistine bride, his slaying of thirty Philistines after his wife betrays him, and his use of foxes to burn her village. Garrett faithfully follows the Biblical account in all it's strange and wonderful detail, moving from these events to Samson's downfall through Delilah's actions.
I must admit that in the past I have read the account of Samson and wondered, at times, what God's purpose was in Samson's life and in the account of his life. For the first time, I have gained some understanding. Garrett has utterly blessed me by bringing Samson to life, fleshing out the thoughts and motives of each character. I leave the book pondering God's miracle of involvement in our lives, and the stunning contrast between God's grace as offered through Jesus, and the reality of what our world would look like with a completely human saviour like Samson, someone who used God's gifts for his own selfish purposes, and who paid the price as a result. How often do I use what God has given me, just for me? How often do I act like Samson (though lacking, of course, his cool superhuman strength).
I truly dare you to pick up this book and be able to put it down any time soon. I was immediately swept up in the ancient world, vividly portrayed through the author's expert pen. The story is sweeping, powerful, the characters painted in deep hues, the customs of the culture shocking and fascinating at the same time. Yet as shocking as aspects of the culture were that are portrayed in the pages of Desired, I quickly realized that our culture is not so different, celebrating open sexuality and perversion and all manner of excesses. How history is being repeated today among nations that were once considered "Christian"! This is, indeed, a sobering thought.
I have written far more than I planned, because the message of this book, the message of God's word and of Samson's story, will long linger on my mind.
Read this book. You will walk away forever changed in your understanding of Samson and his life. I cannot recommend this book higher. 5 out of 5 stars.
A galley of the book was provided by the publisher via netgalley for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desired, Lost Loves of the Bible Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

And Now You Know...the Rest of the Story

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Ginger Garrett is a masterful storyteller. Through vivid descriptions and accurate research, she sweeps the reader away on a trip to the ancient city of Timnah during Philistine rule. The wine is plenty, the idol worship is rampant, yet love is still sought in this heathen land. It is here that the Hebrew, Samson, meets his Philistine wife, Amara, and where she becomes the first woman to betray him.
But she will not be the only women to claim such a title. Delilah, who most have always associated with a seductive nature, begs and pleads for Samson to share his secret with her. Through several tests, we know that he does indeed share this well-kept secret, and it leads to his demise.
For those readers familiar with this tale from Judges, do not be convinced yet that you know the whole story of Samson. Garrett has a few surprises up her sleeve. This dramatic Biblical story will have you burning the midnight oil, and will also have you reaching for your Bible to compare both stories when you are finished.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desired, Lost Loves of the Bible Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Biblical fiction!

Date:September 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the author's approach to this book. She makes characters that are traditionally misunderstood come to life. She also makes situations that are alluded to in the Scriptures but not necessarily spelled out very easy to relate to. I loved the female characters in this book and understood why they had hard hearts that led to decisions that they ultimately regretted.
Women had so little power in the Philistine culture. So when an opportunity for these women to change their situations presented itself it was hard for them to say no. Love had betrayed Delilah and wounded her in the past, so it wasn't enough to keep her from hurting others. Understandable, even if it's not something we admire characters for. The author had to stay true to what happened in the Bible, so altering that aspect of the story wasn't an option.
I wept for both Amara and Delilah (not literally, but my heart grieved when they deal with the consequences of their choices) which is a testimony to the author's ability to grab the reader's heart. Garrett did a great job making me empathize with their plights. It was never an excuse for what they did, but an explanation that made sense to me. I think this is Garrett's best book, bar none. The author did a great job of showing how Samson's strength was also his downfall. And his Jewish mother was excellently portrayed as well. I could sense his mother's disillusionment when things continually happened that she didn't understand and couldn't control.
This is the first time the similarities between Samson (and the people looking to him for deliverance,) and Jesus were brought to light in my thoughts. God has a way of doing things much differently than people expect. This is shone through Samson's story, but his life also reflected the consequences of his poor choices just like in the story of David and Bathsheba. People who enjoy Biblical fiction and it's ability to bring Scriptural truths to light will appreciate this book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.