Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Chosen: Lost Loves of the Bible Series #1

David C. Cook Chosen: Lost Loves of the Bible Series #1

Her wit and beauty brought her the throne, and her compassion saved a nation. But what was hidden in her heart? Read the secrets of Queen Esther---from her days as a poor market wench through her marriage to the most powerful man in the ancient world. What really happened in Xerxes's palace? 304 pages, softcover from Cook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Chosen: Lost Loves of the Bible Series #1
Review 1 for Chosen: Lost Loves of the Bible Series #1
This review is fromChosen - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story of a girl unsparingly plunged into heartache and chaos, who would save a nation … of Esther, who would be queen.
Wrenched from a simple life for her beauty, Esther finds herself at the mercy of King Xerxes. Leaving behind her only relative, her cousin Mordecai, and her first true love, Cyrus, she is thrown headlong into the unrestrained extravagance of palace living. Quick of mind and strong in spirit, she refuses to suffer the fate of her harem sisters and boldly challenges Xerxes to give of his heart before taking his pleasure, thus sealing her place beside him a queen. While conspiracy spins its diabolical web, Esther’s mind and spirit waver, and she is forced to confront the past in order to save her future—and that of an entire nation.
My Review:
This is absolutely the best version of Esther I have ever read. The concept of entries she wrote hundreds of years ago having so much meaning for the modern woman was just genius re-telling on Garrett's part. Esther actually had a voice in this novel, and she wasn't just that queen in the Bible that did amazing things. Here she is presented as a woman of flesh and blood, with fallacies that we can all relate to. She spends a year in a harem, and much of her mindset and values change in an instant as she realizes she is not in Kansas anymore.
I loved the descriptions of life in the Persian court, and I particularly enjoyed the details of daily life for Esther as she learns how to become the queen of an empire. Garrett portrays all too well the limitations women faced in the past, and how even today women are still learning how to identify themselves in our ever-changing society. The footnotes were wonderful, and I really liked how every once and again I got referred to the back of the book to read the corresponding article. Some of the points hit home, and there is a lot of food for thought for women of every culture and age. I highly recommend this book, as it offers a rare glimpse of an ancient queen - not just because she survived her circumstances - but because her bravery and honor continue to inspire and embolden us to the present day.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chosen: Lost Loves of the Bible Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story of a girl unsparingly plunged into heartache and chaos, who would save a nation … of Esther, who would be queen.
Wrenched from a simple life for her beauty, Esther finds herself at the mercy of King Xerxes. Leaving behind her only relative, her cousin Mordecai, and her first true love, Cyrus, she is thrown headlong into the unrestrained extravagance of palace living. Quick of mind and strong in spirit, she refuses to suffer the fate of her harem sisters and boldly challenges Xerxes to give of his heart before taking his pleasure, thus sealing her place beside him a queen. While conspiracy spins its diabolical web, Esther’s mind and spirit waver, and she is forced to confront the past in order to save her future—and that of an entire nation.
My Review:
This is absolutely the best version of Esther I have ever read. The concept of entries she wrote hundreds of years ago having so much meaning for the modern woman was just genius re-telling on Garrett's part. Esther actually had a voice in this novel, and she wasn't just that queen in the Bible that did amazing things. Here she is presented as a woman of flesh and blood, with fallacies that we can all relate to. She spends a year in a harem, and much of her mindset and values change in an instant as she realizes she is not in Kansas anymore.
I loved the descriptions of life in the Persian court, and I particularly enjoyed the details of daily life for Esther as she learns how to become the queen of an empire. Garrett portrays all too well the limitations women faced in the past, and how even today women are still learning how to identify themselves in our ever-changing society. The footnotes were wonderful, and I really liked how every once and again I got referred to the back of the book to read the corresponding article. Some of the points hit home, and there is a lot of food for thought for women of every culture and age. I highly recommend this book, as it offers a rare glimpse of an ancient queen - not just because she survived her circumstances - but because her bravery and honor continue to inspire and embolden us to the present day.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chosen: Lost Loves of the Bible Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A different fictional take on the story of Esther

Date:August 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had already read one of the other Lost Loves Of The Bible books so I rather knew what to expect from Ginger Garrett. I wasn't disappointed at all by Chosen. I do have to admit that Esther was a bit easier to root for than Jezebel was.
Not exactly your usual story of Esther. This Esther isn't quite so impossibly sweet and perfect. No, she sneaks out to spend time with the boy she hopes to marry, uses her feminine wiles, loves another even after she is married, and counts the dead enemies of the Jews. Chosen tells it more like it must have been, honestly, more like the Bible says. Things aren't sugarcoated, neither are they gratuitous.
One of the things I found fascinating was the the entire process of beautification that these girls had to go through. This wasn't just a year of bubble baths, scented candles, and getting their nails done. These girls had to work hard! It's no wonder it took an entire year!
Chosen chronicles Esther's life from life with Cousin Mordecai just before she is taken to Xerxes palace, through the year long process of beautification and learning how to seduce a king, on to Haman's dastardly plot and Esther's bravery, and finishing at the end of Xerxes reign.
The book has some fascinating notes that inspired this history-lover to do some online research and reading about that era, Xerxes reign, and known family.
A book well worth reading, Chosen will leave you wanting to re-read the book of Esther with new eyes and maybe a little different perspective.
Favorite Quote from Chosen
“G-d has left us no room for the awe of man” Mordecai pg. 181
Note: This book has some subject matter that isn't suitable for children. Esther IS part of a harem after all.
(I received this book from the Publisher through The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chosen: Lost Loves of the Bible Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Years ago I taught from the book of Esther in the Old Testament, learning that hope shines brightest against the blackest backdrop. All of us can relate to the various experiences that life brings through our journey this side of heaven. Where do you go or to Whom do you go when you need hope, encouragement, maybe even words to do what is right when inside of you there is overwhelming fear?
Esther was born over five centuries before Christ Jesus was born in the manager in Bethlehem. At a time when women weren’t cherished or loved, they were to do as they were told. Esther lost her parents and would have been lost herself if it were not for her cousin Mordecai who adopted her, raising her in the knowledge of God. Xerxes was king of an empire that was vast, cruel and dominated all nations, except for Greece. Once Vashti was in exile, Xerxes needed a new queen to be beside him. All virgins were to be rounded up in his kingdom for one night with the king in the hopes that one would be chosen as queen, taking Vashti’s place. If not, they were relegated to the harem to live out the rest of their lives never to return home or have a normal life. How could God use a pagan king and an orphaned Jewish girl to bring about the saving of His chosen people, the Jews?
When you read the book of Esther, you will see the plans laid by one man to eradicate the Jews. Read it and you will see a Jewish man who was faithful to God and saved the life of a king when he uncovers a plot to harm the king. In a twist of irony, the one who longs for the throne actually has to elevate the very man he despises. To learn the names of who these men were, read the Bible and find out, plus learn how Purim became a celebration that is still a feast today!
Read Chosen: The Lost Diaries of Queen Esther and find a jewel of a heart that learns to shine from within the halls of the palace. Told in first person point of view, we get a unique perspective as to how Esther felt living in a time that few would want to or with a man who knew no boundaries and took what he wanted. See how God works in Esther and the tale Ginger Garrett weaves of those who desire to murder the king in order to take over the kingdom. Ginger writes with the unique knowledge of history, women and kings. It will not only captivate you, but propel you to read the Bible. Esther is a reflection of one who submitted to God and trusted Him to work all things together for good; it is an inspiring story. I know you will not only enjoy the tale you will learn about the times, events and how God worked through a woman who trusted in Him with all her heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chosen: Lost Loves of the Bible Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

CHOSEN

Date:May 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patsdream
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first book I have read by Ginger Garrett and it was really a well told story, well researched and some of the pages from Queen Esther's lost diaries have been used. At the beginning the author would show a page of the diary and then she would go to first person to show what was happening with Esther's life. After the first time it wasn't confusing and was very interesting. The story of Esther has always been one of my favorite Bible stories (along side of Ruth and Boaz). Esther's beauty is unknown to her. When she is forced to leave her cousin Mordecai to go to the palace of King Xerxes she sees herself for the first time. She never sees her beauty as more than anyone else's. Esther's faith, loyalty and love for her family and friends is shown and how she grows in her faith. She realizes that God had a hand in her life and placed her where she could help her people more than if she had stayed in her village and married the young man she had loved. The story line stays true to the Bible and the author does show her research.
I received these books from the publisher and the only stipulation was that I leave an unbiased review. I read CHOSEN, DESIRED and REIGN in three days.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chosen: Lost Loves of the Bible Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down!

Date:May 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lisa Michele
Location:Pacific Northwest
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love well written Biblical fiction, and this is one of the best I've read. Incredibly, this was Ginger Garrett's debut novel. I learned so much about the setting and culture that Esther lived in. The details of palace life were especially fascinating, including the ugly politics of the King's harem. I couldn't put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chosen: Lost Loves of the Bible Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Took my breath away

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Grace faith
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have loved this book since the first time I read it. It is one of the few books I will read more than once. The story picks you up and drops you off in the middle of Esther's story. This book made my favorite bible story come to life. I never thought of Esther as a teenager taken away from her family. I never thought about the fear she faced in her life. Ginger Garrett is one of my favorite authors now and it all started with this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Chosen: Lost Loves of the Bible Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well, well, well....!

Date:February 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
'In a land where women are stripped of all power, I have been chosen to confront a most powerful enemy' - Chosen, by Ginger Garrett.
Mmm, well, what should I say about this book? It had ups and downs, and to be honest, in the end, it wasn't really what I thought it would be.
HOWEVER, I HAVE to give credit to Mrs Garrett, for a well-researched story!... AND the way she brought out Esther's passion for standing on what she believed was true.. my goodness! It may me PROUD all over again to be the woman God created me to be. ' I am a woman, created in the image of The One true God. I will lay His Glory at the feet of no man, and for no fleeting pleasure'. Amen and amen. This book would encourage young girls who are facing pressure, who need courage to stand up in Christ's name and face an enemy whatsoever (human or spirit). Or then again, to girls who are worrying about the future ---
this story might remind you that God has a SPECIAL plan, for each one of his daughters. Sounds all good, eh? Well, except for the fact that, as I kept reading, I felt like the story was too long and could have ended BEAUTIFULLY with one of the many great passages after God uses Esther to save the people.
The ending was tragic-- Instead of leaving me with hope and courage for all Esther went through, it left me almost in tears, for all the deceptions and hypocrisies that she had to face. If that doesn't sound too appealing to you, then I suggest : the blessed version of the Word of God.
In conclusion, this was.. interesting. Would recommend it for 14+ Some of the ways the girls got treated back then, well, God have mercy. I don't know about anybody else, but it left me G.R.A.T.E.F.U.L for today!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Chosen: Lost Loves of the Bible Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brings the story of Queen Esther to Life

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review : Chosen - The Lost Diaries of Queen Esther - Lost Loves of the Bible Series - Ginger Garrett - March 2010
Gosh, where do I start . This book was absolutely and utterly amazing and it is now one of my most favourite books ever. If you have ever read the bible or attended church or even Sunday School like myself , you would have been brought up on or heard the story of Queen Esther .Chosen as one of the maidens to be set before the King as one of his brides to become the new Queen of Persia.
The story as we all are familiar with takes us back to the marketplace where Hassadah aka Esther is an orphan living with her cousin Mordecai and selling roses at the marketplace. It is at the marketplace that Esther falls in love for the first time to Cyrus , however Esther is not destined to be with Cyrus as what would he want with a girl with no dowry. The story starts with King Xerxes holding a wonderful party and then of hearing tales that he has kicked his Queen out of their Kingdom and is on the lookout for a new Queen. This is about the same time that Cyrus and Esther proclaim their love for each other , Cyrus father being the rich snob and bully he is , puts forth Esther's name to the King and Esther - a Jew and God worshipper is taken from her home and placed as one of the chosen one's to stand before the King. We then are transported into the rich and wealthy Kingdom of Xerxes and it is here that we witness scenes that nowadays we can only imagine that would happen on TV Shows like "America's Top Model" and beauty pageants. As the girls start going, going and gone . It soon arises to be Esther's turn and it is here that I really admire Esther as she stands her ground with Xerxes and she says to him " you can have my body, but I won't just give you my heart". She is your average , wonderful girl and is such an amazing Christian Role Model to have as a Female.
I found the story to be easy to read and relate to and as I was reading I was heartfelt and my feelings went out towards Esther as she really spoke to me in the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Chosen: Lost Loves of the Bible Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2010
"Chosen" is a beautifully well told story of the life of Esther in a journal form. The story didn't feel like a story, but felt like reading an actual journal. It was so real and so alive. Esther tells her life from the heart, and transports you back with her to that time. I could feel the heartache and fear she lived with, and the faith that she held was nothing less than inspiring.This is a wonderful piece of Biblical Historical Fiction that I found I couldn't put down. Ginger Garrett's writing style is amazing. She portrayed Esther so well, with such real feelings. Wow! I am really looking to the rest of the "Lost Loves of the Bible" series she is working on. They will definitely be treasures in any historical fiction library!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Chosen: Lost Loves of the Bible Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
I asked to review Chosen by Ginger Garrett in order to compare it to Hadassah, One Night With The King by Tommy Tenney.I found Gingers novel of exquisite taste. I thoroughly enjoyed the diary format. It gave me the feel of peeking into Esthers long-lost diary. Ginger gave intimate details that would be sensitive to a womans perspective. The intense communications between all the characters are so believable and dramatic. The addition of information at the back of book was of great interest as well.Tommy Tenneys book was equally satisfying, and had great characterization and drama.Both books have their place, and in reading both, you get a richer, fuller appreciation of Esthers circumstances. You are privy to their dependence of praying and listening to Gods direction in each situation. Id highly recommend both books. To accompany these two fine books, I would also recommend Finding Favor With The King by Tommy Tenney.Both novels deal with the travesty of young girls abductions, but we are not to forget the young men who also were taken into captivity as well. Much like the human trafficking we see in todays society.I definitely look forward to reading Gingers next books on Jezebel and Delilah, which are part of the Lost Loves of the Bible series. Be prepared for great reading!This book is based on the book of Esther in the Old Testament of the Bible. This book was provided by Audra at The B & B Media Group, Inc., for my honest review, and in this case to compare to another author. My thanks to Audra and B & B for the opportunity to bring your attention to another great novel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Chosen: Lost Loves of the Bible Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Annette of A Well-Watered Garden
It took me a while to get "into" the book, actually page 65. There have been other books written on Esther and the movie that was made in 2006. I wondered what new insight the author would portray in story that had not already been covered before. I was pleased and enjoyed the book. The book's focus is not on a great love story between Esther and Xerxes; but a love story between Esther and God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Chosen: Lost Loves of the Bible Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
I loved this book!I have read several books based on the story of Queen Esther, but Chosen by Ginger Garrett is one of my favorites. This is Book One of the Lost Loves of the Bible series. The story is written as if you are reading through the diaries of Esther and offers a captivating tale of love, betrayal and sacrifice. The pages are filled with rich biblical history and I found it hard to put down. Ginger did a great job in writing from Esthers point of view and keeping the story biblically accurate. Some of the chapters have footnotes that help clarify cultural practices of the time period in which the story is written as well as additional explanations of historical facts. Even the appendix of this book is interesting, and honestly, who ever reads the appendix? Chosen makes the story of Queen Esther come alive - I think Ginger outdid herself! I look forward to reading more titles in the Lost Loves of the Bible series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Chosen: Lost Loves of the Bible Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
The story of Queen Esther is a brief one in the Bible, yet her strength and character have inspired and intrigued women for thousands of years. So many questions arise when reading the simple account of her time in Persia how could a devout, God-fearing woman live in the midst of such opulence? How could she be content as the replacement of a queen so haphazardly dismissed? How could she come to terms with the huge harem of her husband?By delving into Esthers life in a first-person, diary format, Garrett explores these questions, providing emotional depth, cultural detail, and historical correlations as she does so. Esthers diary format is an unusual one. Though in some respects traditional jumping past large spaces of time, as most do in others it is less than believable as a diary.Who truly captures such detailed dialogue and settings in their personal journals, and with such vivid precision? How did the young, harem-bound Esther continue to write lengthy descriptions with only one hidden scroll at her disposal before becoming queen? These breaks from typical diary form serve their purpose however. True diaries are rather dull reading. Thankfully Esthers fictional diary is anything but.Chosen is instead a story of strength, honor, and virtue in the face of compromise and commodity. It is a glimpse into the heart of an often-uncertain woman who finds her purpose in serving God where he has placed her. I look forward to exploring the themes of purity in the face of paganism someday with my daughters as they enter womanhood.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Chosen: Lost Loves of the Bible Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
The premise is that some of the diaries kept by Queen Esther have been found and are now being published. It was quite a different way to present the story of the biblical Esther but very appropriate with the focus on blogging today. The story reads just like diary entries, the situations are believable, the writing easy to follow as well as suspenseful. The details of the Persian court are facinating, her beliefs woven into the story without overpowering it. It is the story of a poor orphan who rises to the top to become queen because she is true to herself. A very good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Chosen: Lost Loves of the Bible Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2010
Chosen, Ginger GarrettThis is a captivating retelling of the life of Queen Esther in the form of diary entries. Ginger Garrett does an excellent job of bringing to life a heroine of the bible and by further showing that true beauty is held within ones self, that God shining through someone makes them shine with an inner beauty that does not fade. The strength and wisdom as well as grace and poise of Queen Esther is enough to inspire all young women to strive for excellence in our devotion and obedience to God and those God places in our lives as authority. This book further displays that Gods hand is at work in ways that we do not always understand even when we are placed in situations that we do not like if we are obedient and trust. I do not agree with all things brought to light especially that Queen Esther continues to long after another man after she is married to the King. Reading the account in the bible I have always pictured that Esthers heart was turned toward the king during her preparation time and that she began to truly love him because of Gods love in her. So this looking outside of her marriage was a disappointment for me, and I believe that had this been the true case that Esther would not have been as effective in the saving of her people as she truly was. I do believe that Ginger Garrett is an excellent writer. I admire her style.Thank you B&B Media Group for providing this copy for review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Chosen: Lost Loves of the Bible Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nancy Lane
This is absolutely stunning. Ginger Garrett has captured the culture, the color and mystery of Queen Esther's story, along with her exquisite example of obedience and faith in God. Hallelujah! We want more of Ginger Garrett's talent in print.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.