Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook From Eternity to Here: Rediscovering the Ageless Purpose of God

David C. Cook From Eternity to Here: Rediscovering the Ageless Purpose of God

Three remarkable stories, spanning Genesis to Revelation, compose a drama that originated before time began. Experience this extraordinary interpretive narrative, and it will deepen your understanding of life, the church, and the Creator as you glimpse God's highest desires and explore divine themes of Scripture. An expanded and rewritten version of God's Ultimate Passion.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for From Eternity to Here: Rediscovering the Ageless Purpose of God
Review 1 for From Eternity to Here: Rediscovering the Ageless Purpose of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was a revelation to me!

Date:June 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jerry
Location:Lexington, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Even though I've been a Christian for decades and studied the Bible, I never understood. Concepts like "Bride of Christ" and "God's House" were well-worn phrases but I never understood the passion and mission of God until I read this book. I have purchased 5 additional copies to give away.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for From Eternity to Here: Rediscovering the Ageless Purpose of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must for every one. Read it and give it away.

Date:October 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
DrOSAS
Location:New Market, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In my library, I have many books. Viola's three part view of God's purpose in history is unmatched by any theologian I've ever read: Luther, Calvin, Lindsey, Strong, Berkhof, Lucado, Grenz, Oden, etc.
He book pulsates with God's overflowing love story for the Church as revealed through Christ's Bride, God's House, and a new creation.
He puts the Church at the center of God's purpose and thought as believers in Jesus "are swept up in the unfolding drama of God's romance."
This is the best of both theology and inspirational reading. Buy the book. Read it!
Dr. Olson
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for From Eternity to Here: Rediscovering the Ageless Purpose of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mark Wilkinson
From Eternity to here is an amazing book. I have been a Christian for 30 years and discovered so many things about God, His word, His plans. Frank takes us on a journey through the whole bible, weaving threads of God's love, His plans for Humanity. Working from Old Testament and new and back to old and threading the two covenants together so wonderfully. Showing Gods' grace , His Plans for us and the role we as the church in preparing our lives, drawing near to God and Knowing the person of Jesus Christ. I am going through this book again and taking notes as the Holy Spirit again leads me as I read such a wonderful love story that is all about Him, the Saviour!! 10 out of 10 Frank.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for From Eternity to Here: Rediscovering the Ageless Purpose of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gary Welter
As I read From Eternity to Here, each chapter resonated with something deep within me. It was as if I was hearing about the greatest news ever told for the first time; and yet, it seemed to also affirm something that I already knew. The reason being that Frank Viola masterfully examines and traces the central themes that run throughout the Scriptures from beginning to end. As those themes are developed, the beauty and majesty of Jesus Christ is seen more clearly, and His astonishing love for the world and His people is revealed more fully.After reading this book, I view the Bible differently; I view the Lord and how I relate to Him differently; I view my calling and purpose in life differently; I view the church and her function differently; and I view lost humanity differently. A big thanks to Viola for his dedication in unfolding the Scriptures in a creative way and unveiling the priceless truths that are contained within them.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for From Eternity to Here: Rediscovering the Ageless Purpose of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jim Berrier
I have read everything I can get my hands on by Frank Viola, and I suggest you do the same. Frank's newest book is a must read for any minister, seeker or follower of Christ. This is his greatest work yet. "Eternity" should become an instant classic. Most of Viola's other books deal with church life and church history. "From Eternity To Here" is about church identity. Few books get to the heart of the matter like this one. For over 40 years I've heard (and repeated) the mantra "Christianity is Relationship Not Religion". When I put this book down, I took hold of those words with greater force than I have in years, maybe decades. The bumper sticker says "Smile God Loves You". This book didn't just make me smile...it made me weep...for joy
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for From Eternity to Here: Rediscovering the Ageless Purpose of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kevin Bowman
This book rocked my world. The first section lays out the Biblical narrative in such a way that it emphasizes the church as the bride as an eternal passion of God from before the beginning of time. In the second section, Viola repeats his wonderful ability to beautifully connect the Biblical narrative together to elevate in our minds the importance of God's search for a dwelling place. Finally in his third section, Viola switches from story teller to scholar to reveal the depth of meaning in the gospels and in the Pauline writings about the church as the body of Christ. This section does not read with the majestic eloquence of the first two, and yet it's content resonates deeper, and more meaningfully than any other in the book. Once again Viola slaughters theologians desire to reduce the the realities of God's Kingdom into a metaphor, this time it is the body of Christ. This book is Viola's magnus opus! I have read his other three books, and they are each great teaching. However, this work is not a book to be studied, it is a very window into the passionate erotic love of God for his creation, and for his desperate need to extend the community of the triune God among them. I say without reservation, this book will change the way you see God. It will set you free from the limited metaphor of systematic theologies. It will release you from the minimized boxed God of a religionist allegorical reinterpretation of the narrative of God. It will welcome you as participants into God's eternal purpose. Erasmus famously quipped, "when I have a little extra money I buy books, if there is any left over I buy food." Reading this book is more important than any meal you will eat this week. If you must go hungry, and get a hold of the book. "From Eternity to Here" will feed you from a source that this world knows nothing about.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for From Eternity to Here: Rediscovering the Ageless Purpose of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jonathan Bond
This is an amazing book. It will change your whole view of the scriptures and revolutionize your understanding of Jesus and his church. One of the best books I've ever read, the deepest certainly, a life changer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for From Eternity to Here: Rediscovering the Ageless Purpose of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amy
I would give this book 5.5 stars if I could! From Eternity to Here paints an absolutely breathtaking portrait of Gods relentless, passionate love for us thats interwoven throughout the Bible. Violas articulate description of our Lords extravagant love brought tears to my eyes on several occasions. This book is nothing short of life-changing. I will never view my Lord the same way again. I will never look at scripture the same way. I can no longer view myself or the body of Christ through the same eyes. From Eternity to Here has helped me to discover Gods purpose for me. This is one of those few books that EVERY Christian MUST read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for From Eternity to Here: Rediscovering the Ageless Purpose of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
LeadstoLife
I've read many books, but this is the most amazing book I've ever read next to the Bible. It changed my life. Awesome read. I'm buying a case to give to all my friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for From Eternity to Here: Rediscovering the Ageless Purpose of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Hummingbird
I read this book in a few days, I just couldn't put it down. It's one of the deepest Christian books I've ever read in my life, but the language is so beautifully crafted that it was easy to read. The three themes the book follows are wonderfully expanded from Genesis to Revelation and it just opens up the whole Bible for you, showing you things you've never seen or considered before. I just don't have words to describe it except incredible!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for From Eternity to Here: Rediscovering the Ageless Purpose of God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Matthew Berry
With the release of "Pagan Christianity" and "Reimaging Church" in the past two years, Frank Viola's message has brought about a great deal of commotion in Western Christianity. His straight-forward manner will confront fan and critic alike with the theme of his writing. His writing style is full of content without being overly intellectual. Viola manages to grad the attention of the reader and keep it until the conclusion.In his latest book, "From Eternity to Here," Frank Viola expresses his passion for, what he calls, "God's eternal purpose." Stepping out of a self-focused view of Christianity, that views all events in relation to personal benefit, Viola paints a picture of the heart of Father before the Fall. What was on the heart of God before humanity fell? What remains God's primary purpose in the scope of eternity? These questions are addressed throughout the book in a biblically-sound, narrative manner.As one who has read many theological books, it is clear that Frank Viola has a deep passion for Jesus Christ and for His Bride, the Church, comprised of those who walk in a life of intimacy with their Savior. Many books currently being released in the Christianity marketplace seem heavy on opinions, but empty and lifeless. It is clear that Frank Viola's message, though controversial to some, comes from a heart of passion for Christ and Him alone.I heartily recommend this book to those interested in knowing what God's purpose really is.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.