Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Purpose Driven Life, Softcover

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan The Purpose Driven Life, Softcover

In this remarkable best-seller Rick Warren will help you understand God's purpose and plan for your life so that you can learn to live the life for which you were created. The book is divided into 40 short chapters so that it can either be read as a personal devotional or studied in a small group setting. Don't let yourself or your family and friends go without this life-transforming book!

For additional resources, visit the Purpose-Driven Life Shop.
Average Customer Rating:
3.985 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
13
7 out of 978%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Purpose Driven Life, Softcover
Review 1 for The Purpose Driven Life, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
coffeylady1121
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am learning a lot from this book. I am enjoying the lessons I'm learning!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Purpose Driven Life, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nick
Location:San Jose, Ca
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I definately enjoy reading this book. It has become a big part of my life next to the Bible itself of course. By God's blessing I came upon this book on my grandmother's bookshelf, I do not believe in coincidences, God meant for me to find it. Another example of God's Guidance is that my Girl, who was locked up for nearly 2 and half months, and still has other hurdles to jump, told me one day when we were able to talk on the phone that she was reading a lot and she said to me she was reading this book, I nearly fell out of my seat to her that cause I had never mentioned this book to her, what are the odds we'd be reading it at the same time, no coincidencees God is Good!!! Definately a must have must read work!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Purpose Driven Life, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Will encourage your Christian Walk!

Date:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For thousands of years, science has searched.
Souls have cried out. What is the meaning of life? Is that all there is? What is the reason to live?
In his life-changing book, The Purpose Driven Life, Pastor Rick Warren includes scriptures, life lessons, thoughts and practical ways we can apply God's Word to answer these questions.
If you are looking to be a man or a woman after God's heart. If in any way, you are looking to encourage yourself or another fellow with The Word of God (Believe me, nobody's to old or to Christian for that) -- Well, I've got three blessed words for you, my friend : Buy the book!
You'll rejoice having done so, because trust me, you'll want to read this over and over again! Well, at least, I plan to-- this book blessed and encouraged me in so many ways!
Pst Warren, God Bless you!
The Purpose Driven Life is more than Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Purpose Driven Life, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointing

Date:December 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Maceo
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really expected more substance. The scriptural foundations did not meet my expectations as a mature believer. Some of the scriptural reference were weak in making his point.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Purpose Driven Life, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Donj
Location:Miami, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
I have this book in hardback and it is a great inspiration, when I purchased an i-pad earlier this year I also wanted the book in e-pub format.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Purpose Driven Life, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life changing

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Petra-Ann Van Buckley
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book holds truths simplified so that anyone can understand. It is written beautifully and draws one to Christ. It shows you how your purpose is found in the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Purpose Driven Life, Softcover
This review is fromThe Purpose-Driven Life, Keepsake Edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved the quality and great savings

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
bellwood
Location:PA
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book on the purpose driven life is a great deal and quality for any reader. It is a keepsake edition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Purpose Driven Life, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Picture and Download do not match

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lynne Modranski
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This download is "excerpts" from the book. It is not the book in its entirety. I'm getting to lead a group in this, I have the book, I've read it many times (GREAT BOOK - my rating is not on the book, but on this download). I just thought it would be handy to have it on my computer. This product made me think I was getting the entire book. It is not!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Purpose Driven Life, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Constructive Review

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
JESUSisLORD
Age:25-34
IF YOU’RE THINKING ABOUT NOT BUYING THIS BOOK, PLEASE READ! After reading several negative reviews, in which I found some helpful and some disgusting, I thought it necessary to bring on my own testimony of this book. First of all, this book is NOT to be used as a manual for life, that is what THE BIBLE is for! Secondly, this book is definitely geared toward the Christian who already has a firm foundation in the Word, who already has an established relationship with the LORD, but who has perhaps grown weary of church-related obstacles and is looking for refocus on Christ. This book MAY NOT be for the nonbeliever looking for God, but then again, this book is NOT entitled, “How to Find God”. That being said, this book as well as any other on the shelf, requires the reader to input his own biblical understanding into its meditation, with much prayer and much comparison to the actual text it claims to derive from: The Holy Bible. I agree that sometimes the various translations Warren chose did not “line up,” but then how would I have known that unless I had my King James opened alongside Warren’s book for constant comparison and study? That is why I recommend to not just read through this book blindly, but use this book as a tool for in-depth study of God’s Word, and couple it with diligent prayer to find wonderful, enlightening results! The truths that Warren portrays in the book are familiar ones, yet sometimes the wearied Christian simply needs reminding of them! Warren uses biblical references several times on every page and this motivates the avid studier to search out God’s Truth even more by looking it up himself, in the authoritative King James Version. I admit sometimes Warren’s choice of translation veers away from the point, but Warren isn’t perfect--it caused me to look it up myself, and guess what? God’s Word IS perfect! And the result: me giving more of my time to the LORD in my reading, studying, praying, and proving out of His Word by utilizing the prompts I derived from the book. I am halfway through the book (I am taking it one chapter a day as the author suggests), and each day I am reminded of truths that I had somehow misplaced along the way--and each day I feel more thankful for this tool that daily points my focus back upon Christ. Now how could there be any wrong in that? This book has been a blessing to ME.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Purpose Driven Life, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Maryellen Odrowski
I have just begun reading this book and it is already helping me understand what the Lord wants FOR me. I am excited to learn from this Scripture based book. I know, God willing, I will reference it in years to come. A must have for any Christian and especially helpful for the new or returning Christian.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Purpose Driven Life, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jonathan Johnson
Great Book! Great for new believers and people wanting to know what is God's purpose for Christian life. Changed my life!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Purpose Driven Life, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
B. Hutchison
This is a great book! It has changed how I view my realtionship with God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Purpose Driven Life, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Boone
I have read this book before and believed that it will help our little struggling congretation. That's why I bought several.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Purpose Driven Life, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tim C
First, let's dispense with the niceties. Books such as this can be very dangerous. Particularly since the reader tends to imagine that upon completion, they will have "arrived". However, this is not true. Using books such as this are tools that if done correctly will help guide you to knowing how to experience God, live a life more pleasing to God, help you live a purpose driven life. One of the wonderful things about Rick Warren's book is, he draws a roadmap that is very simple and easy to follow. You still have to apply the principles.Rick Warren also asks the right types of questions. Questions that I suggest each person ponder and meditate on, before moving forward. These questions are designed to reflect on you and your relationship with Christ. Therefore, take the time to be honest and detailed. As to the person who seems to have criticized Rick Warren for "assuming the reader is a Christian", I do believe this is true. We're told there is a time to move on from milk to meat. I believe Rick Warren even mentions this book is for Christians, and invites people to become a Christian, then to go through this book. Afterall, if a person is not a Christian, is their really purpose in their life? "Without me, you can do nothing". This book is not an evangelistic book; but a book to help the believer to grow in their walk with Christ. With the directed questions he asks, I believe that goal can be accomplished. But, not on it's own merits, but, on our's and our willingness to allow the holy Spirit to lead us to the purpose of our life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Purpose Driven Life, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia Fleig
Wonderful encouragement. Very positive. Directs you to God in all areas of your life. A book to return to several times a year for refocusing your attention on God and off yourself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Purpose Driven Life, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Earline Starkie
We are studying this book at our church - it is a blessing! The price is right too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Purpose Driven Life, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Old Landmark Of Deliverance
We are doing this book for our bible study class on Wednesday. It is really a good thus far, only on the 3rd Chapter but it is already addressing concerns & issues & fully letting everyone know we are here for purpose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Purpose Driven Life, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Steve
First, I am NOT a KJV only person. When I prepare my Sunday School lessons I use three different translations for clarity. All of our lessons are Christ centered. The Purpose-Driven Life is not. We conducted a home study group in my home and ALL of us found two things missing from this book. Jesus and salvation. This book assumes that the reader is saved and knows Jesus. God is mentioned numerous times, but Jesus is rarely mentioned and when He is, it's in the PAST tense.This book could be a truly great book if Mr. Warren were to tell his readers how Jesus can and does give us purpose. Even New Age believers believe in God or a god, but NONE of them believe in Jesus. I'm sure Mr. Warren does in fact believe in Jesus, so why isn't He the main subject of his book and how He can give us purpose in our lives. I agree with others that Mr. Warren uses other translations of the bible to fit his need by the way they are worded. There are numerous verses he uses that when compared to KJV, NIV, and ESV, do NOT translate quiet the same or even close. This disturbed my spirit and therefore I suggest that rather then reading this book to find purpose in ones life, seek Gods wisdom and HIS plan for YOU through prayer, fellowship with other Christians, and reading your bible. God NEVER fails and He will reveal His plans for you in His perfect time.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Purpose Driven Life, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Janice Stehler
This is definitely a must have book, if your looking to change and really learn what this life is really about, and why you are here. It is 100% changing me for the better. This is a book that I will read again and again, to help keep me on track in this hectic world. If you're looking for real changes to happen in your life, than this book is a must own book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Purpose Driven Life, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Robin
Purpose Driven life has essential truths for life. I use this book in a jail ministry as a primary resource with the inmates, particularly those who have just received Christ as their Lord and Savoir. This is excellent for seeking out who we are in Christ and the life He has for us
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.