Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summerside Press Love Finds You in Last Chance, California

Summerside Press Love Finds You in Last Chance, California

Alexis' father has died unexpectedly, leaving her burdened with a heavily mortgaged horse ranch. Marrying one of the town's all-too-willing bachelors would offer her an easy solution, but Alex has no interest in marriage. Instead, she dons men's trousers and rides the range, determined to make the ranch a success on her own. But despite Alex's best efforts, everything seems to go wrong: ranch hands quit, horses are stolen, and her father's gold goes missing. Alex is at her wit's end when wrangler Justin Phillips arrives in Last Chance with his young son, looking for a job. But there seems to be more to Justin's story than he's willing to share. Will Alex ever be able to trust him?
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love Finds You in Last Chance, California
Review 1 for Love Finds You in Last Chance, California
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love this series!!

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amydeanne
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alexia Travers father dies and she finds herself trying to run a ranch that is mortgaged to the hilt. The easy answer would be to marry one of the towns available bachelors, but being stubborn and raised without her mother, her strong tomboyish tendencies lead her to believe she needs no one. So when issues start to arise at the farm such as her farm hands leaving because they don't want to work for a woman and her fathers gold gone missing, she doesn't know what she should do. Could things possibly get worse? Yes. Yes they could! Justin Phillips shows up with a three year old boy in-tote, and against her better judgment she hires him. But what really is behind Justin's widow story and can she really trust him? Or is he a horse thief like the others accused him of being?
Last Chance, California will take you down the early mining tracks of Last Chance in the 1870's. You will learn to love a fantastic group of characters. I loved the hope that was laced throughout this book - that I could see hope and ways out for several characters - yet they still had to make their choice... but don't we all? I would love to learn more about Christy's story and Sander's story as well, not to mention a few others in the book! I really didn't want it to end!
What I really enjoy about Miralee's writing is that she really develops her characters so you feel like you know them and belong inside their little worlds. I couldn't help but admire Alex's gumption and will as she tried to work through her issues on the ranch in the late 1800's. She has quite the spunk and I wanted to cheer her on throughout the book - you know a good backbone, yet slightly flawed which makes her seem all the more lovable. I really enjoyed Justin as well - it's not often you find the a man with a baby booting it through the country side! A very daring detail to use and it works so well with this story. I love that I got to learn some history of the area as Miralee actually based the story around an actual place! I found that totally cool!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Finds You in Last Chance, California
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My First book by Miralee

Date:February 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shelske
Location:Ypsilanti MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first title I read by Miralee but I love historical fiction set in the old west the most so I picked this one up & I was so glad I did. It is a great story. Alexis was the main character who found after the death of her Father that the ranch they lived on was mortgaged & then things started happening that caused her more problems. Enter a man who her Father had asked to help prior to his death & he stood by her & they made things work, found out all the problems were centering around one man & they got to the bottom of things together. Along with her Father's friend & his son, they found a life together....Happily Ever After......
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Finds You in Last Chance, California
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tim Gould
Definately my favorite Miralee Ferrell book. Not one for romance, I was cativated from the first page. The cowboy/ranch setting will be a draw for any guy looking for a good read. Can't wait for another one like this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Finds You in Last Chance, California
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Connie Shoemaker
Its not often that you can enjoy the same book as your 14 year old daughter. This scored big with us both! With a passion for horses and being independent women ourselves, this book delighted us in every way! Having lost my father at Alexis' age it brought up some bittersweet memories as well. Definitely was looking for a sequel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Finds You in Last Chance, California
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julie Surface Johnson
Love Finds You in Last Chance California was a great book to take on vacation--I didn't have to put it down! Really good character development. Suspense throughout. A fun read. Marilee Ferrell is an accomplished horsewoman in her own right and found ways to intersperse interesting factoids about horses and horseback riding. I really liked this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Finds You in Last Chance, California
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Maggard
What a charming story, this was the first book I've read by Miralee and it was delightful. She was successful in weaving a story that included historical information, Christianity, romance and intrigue. I cannot wait to purchase more of her books, I think I'll start a collection of her novels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Finds You in Last Chance, California
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2009
Oh, what a delightful read! Love Finds You in Last Chance, California is my first Love Finds You book, but I guarantee you, it wont be my last! Miralee Ferrell is a diverse and gifted author whose talents shine whether its poignant womens fiction with her acclaimed debut novel The Other Daughter or gentle prairie romance in Love Finds You in Last Chance, California. With vivid imagery, heart-tugging romance, a touch of mystery and a feel for the old West that will jangle your spurs, Ms. Ferrell is definitely an author to watch ... and read ... over and over again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Finds You in Last Chance, California
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Pimley
A new author on the horizon, Miralee Ferrell, brings energy, humor, mystery and romance into this historical novel set in Last Chance, CA. Her personal knowledge of horses and effort given to present historical facts when appropriate, create believable scenarios that make interesting reading. A thread of mystery winds through the story and keeps curiosity and anticipation alive. The author's spiritual personality can't help but manifest itself as the heroine struggles through difficult times. Good job, Miralee--am looking forward to your upcoming book in the Love Finds You series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Finds You in Last Chance, California
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Alexia Travers father has unexpectedly died and left her alone with a horse ranch to run. Alexia has no desire to sell or marry away her burdens. She loves working the ranch, despite what the ladies in town think of a woman wearing trousers and doing mens work. But the trouble has only begun. Horses are being stolen, her ranch hands are quitting, and its starting to look like her fathers death was more than just an accident.Then Justin Phillips shows up and asks for a job. Justin is hardworking and able but brings with him a mystery of his own, including a small son. He claims the boys mother died recently, but some of the people in Last Change are suspicious of Justin. They claim he looks like a local horse thief. Alex doesnt know what to think or who to trust. But if something doesnt change soon, she might lose the ranch and everything shes known her entire life.Miralee Ferrell drew me into this western adventure with a mysterious plot and relatable characters. I love a girl who wears britches in historical stories, and Alexia is a great and capable heroine. It was exciting to watch her trust God and let go of her own control a bit. I enjoyed all the characters in this story, especially Justins little boy, Toby, who just wants to wide the horsey.I highly recommend this book for readers looking for a sweet romance, some mystery, and a little Wild West adventure. Love Finds You in Last Chance, California has it all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Finds You in Last Chance, California
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
booksbyjanice
It's always so much fun to pick up a book by an author I've never read before and be blown away by both the writing and the story. Such was the case with Miralee Ferrell's wonderful book LOVE FINDS YOU IN LAST CHANCE, CALIFORNIA. I can't tell you how much I loved this book! I particularly enjoyed the character of Alex (Alexia). What a strong, independent heroine! When Alex's father passes away, she makes it clear to all who will listen that she plans to keep the family's ranch going on her own. Of course, she faces some daunting challenges. Justin, the story's hero, (and a total stranger to Alex) arrives with his three-year-old son to offer assistance. Only one problem. . .Justin thinks "Alex" is a man! Talk about conflict! Now add intrigue, romance and plenty of action/adventure and it's clear this is one well-rounded historical!Miralee's story is intelligently written and it's clear she did her research on both the area and the time period. She also did something else remarkably well. By tying the town's name to the predominant "issue" of the book (the need for another "chance") she has woven a lovely allegorical thread throughout. Nicely done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love Finds You in Last Chance, California
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
linda shekey
I really enjoyed this book very much. It was well writen and the way she put in about the way christians are to live and act really help me understand a few things. It really open my eyes to some hurts I have gone through in my life. So good writting Mrs. Ferrell and will read more of you books
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love Finds You in Last Chance, California
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
BFine
It's a refreshing tale of a young lady (Alexia or Alex) whos not afraid of hard work and believe me - she has her hands full trying to run the ranch left to her by her father who has recently died.She faces many challengesHer horses are disappearing, hired hands are quitting, her fathers gold is missing and Alexia (Alex) has just learned that the ranch she loves is debt-ridden and foreclosure is looming!Suspicions abound! Was her fathers death by natural causes or did someone kill him? Whose chasing off her hired help?And matters get even more complicated when a stranger named Justin arrives (with his young son, Tobey)looking for a job. Is he really there to help or is he part of the bunch thats stealing horses from Alexias ranch?If thats not enoughAlex has plenty of eligible men seeking her hand in marriage but Alex isnt keen on the men who are purposing - not even her well meaning neighbor and supposed family friend, Carter Foster whos rich and he wants Alex to be his wife!Alex has feelings for the new ranch hand (Justin and his young son Tobey.) But just as shes allowing herself to care for him and his son, Alex is faced with a new problem a woman from Justins past shows up claiming he was never married to Tobeys mother and to top that off Tobey isnt even his son!I recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love Finds You in Last Chance, California
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Love Finds You in Last Chance, California by Miralee Ferrell is the fifth book in the Love Finds You series; however, each book is a stand-alone, so don't worry about missing anything if this is the first volume you pick up. Alex Travers is used to not living up to other people's expectations . As her father's sole child, she grew up working with horses and helping him run the family ranch, so it's only natural that after his sudden death she would take over as head of the ranch. Not everything may be as it appears however. Her father sent for Justin Phillips help because of suspicions about mysterious attacks and disappearances . Justin comes out of a sense of obligation as well as relief. After the recent death of his wife, he's taking care of their son Toby on his own. I truly enjoy Ferrell's writing, and this book exceeded my expectations of a western romance. Those are not typically a genre I read, but the romance between Alex and Justin was slow-moving and entirely natural. She's an unusually strong character for the genre, and it was a neat twist for the hero to have a child to care for. While the Christian themes came on a bit thick at the end, in the rest of the book they were handled with a less heavy hand. Several of the minor characters were developed well, as was the town of Last Chance itself. I wouldn't mind returning there again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love Finds You in Last Chance, California
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
DMayne
Miralee Ferrell does a beautiful job of weaving this rich setting into the story and taking readers on a journey with these well drawn characters. Alexia's strength and determination drive the story through realistic tribulations from that era. The romance between Alexia and Justin is evident but not forced. With a nice blend of history, adventure, and suspense, this delightful Christian romance will keep you turning pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love Finds You in Last Chance, California
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
Boy, I really enjoyed this one. I love all the historical landmarks and references. And the characters, I just fell in love with them all. Didn't care too much for the villain of the story but that's to be exacted. :)Another book well done by Mrs. Ferrell!! I like that she didn't rush the love story along, and took her time in divulging who the man behind the schemes were. Mrs. Ferrell does an excellent job at showing how God's love transcends all understanding and can use any circumstance in our lives for good. Great book! It's a keeper!! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love Finds You in Last Chance, California
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deborah Anderson
Alexia (Alex) Travers lives in Last Chance, California, and she wants to be a wrangler, just like her dad, Ben Travers. She can break a young horse, deliver a foal, shoot as well as the men, mend fences, ride herds at night, and track with the best of the hands. When Alex's father dies suddenly, she's devastated. To make matters worse, a man at the bank, Mr. Elton, tells her she stands to lose the ranch due to a mortgage her father took out, which Alex knows nothing about. Alex tells Mr. Elton, "I know as much about running the ranch as Papa did. I can make it succeed on my own." Mr. Elton also tells her that Carter Foster stopped in, indicating an interest in buying her ranch.Carter Foster, who runs the land next to Alex's, tells Alex of his offer to buy her ranch. When she refuses, he makes another offer. "Marry me," he says, "and the ranch would still belong to you. We'd run it together, and with my ranch adjoining yours, we'd be the largest force between here and Auburn." Soon after, horses turn up missing at her ranch, and a stranger appears.Justin Phillips, and his three-year-old son, Toby, come to town after Justin receives a note from Ben Travers. The note reads: Need help. Ranch in trouble and life in danger. Come quick and keep quiet. Alex hates interference. Debt will be settled. Benjamin Travers. Justin, though, doesn't know that Ben is already dead, and he thinks that Alex is a man.Things are settled by the end of this novel, and the author uses a blend of romance, mystery, and a dash of suspense to do the job. This is the first time I've read this author's work, and I look forward to reading more of her novels in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love Finds You in Last Chance, California
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
ChelseaW
As a resident of California, this is the first book I've read from Summerside fiction, and I already look forward to reading more!LAST CHANCE, CALIFORNIA is Classic Christian Fiction: broken people who get their happy ending (except the villain, naturally). That having been said, each story tends to be a little different. Ferrell's book stand's out from the others in that it has a stronger central female character than most. Alex is not only head strong and independent, butshe also thinks things through and does a lot of her own investigating. She isn't afraid to speak her mind and doesn't care what those around her will think of her actions. Quite refreshing! Justin, the central male character, is so genuine you can't help but love how he has taken to caring for Toby and Alex. I also found myself curious about Christy's situation and her back ground story - how did she get to where she is? What is truly in her heart? How will her new future change her?Ferrell's writing style is easy and gripping. Her words come off the page, making you feel happy and warm when the characters are smiling and nervous when the action gets super tense. Ferrell is an author to keep your eye on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Love Finds You in Last Chance, California
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Roseanna White, Christian Review of Books
Love Finds You in Last Chance, California takes the reader back in time to 1889 and a rugged mountain landscape on the west coast. Plunked down amid minors and saloon girls and a few snooty church women, Alex dares to be more than the average girl. Struggling with maintaining her faith in the face of her fathers death, with finding her place in the world, this heroine will give your heartstrings a good tug. And as heroes go, Justin Phillips is definitely a heartthrob. Hes got a past that gives him some mystery, and a son that softens his rough edges. And when that past collides with Alexs problems, just sit back and watch the sparks fly!This is a fast-moving read that combines romance with adventure, all set against a landscape formidable in its stark beauty. Dont miss your chance to pick up Love Finds You in Last Chance, CaliforniaMiralee Ferrell has penned a story you wont want to miss!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Love Finds You in Last Chance, California
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2009
Love Finds You in Last Chance, California was such a pleasure to read. I was captivated by this little town, and even more intrigued when I discovered that the town actually existed. Miralee definitely did her homework to find out as much as she could about Last Chance. Also, the characters that she created fit so well, and were exactly what I would expect to find in an old west town.My favorite character in the story was Alexia Travers just because I saw many similarities in our personalities. She has a stubborn streak a mile long, and she always wants to prove that she can do something on her own first before she asks for help. So, when shes immediately thrust into running her fathers ranch after his death, she thinks this is her big chance to prove her worth, especially to all the men who think shes not up to the task. In walks drifter Justin Phillips--with baby in tow--asking to be a ranch hand. He turns out to be a very capable ranch hand, which makes her nervous that he'll try to one-up her since she's the one in charge. She senses theres something that hes not telling her, which brings a little bit of mystery into the story. Then, a girl named Christy shows up claiming to know something about Justin, and the plot thickens even more. By this time, I could not book the book down because I had no idea that I was going to get some mystery along with the romance!No doubt about it..I think have found a new favorite author! Miralee has written a great book that I know will stay on my keeper shelf for a long time, and probably will be loaned to several friends, as well. Now, I just need to get my hands on her first book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Love Finds You in Last Chance, California
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2009
June 1877. After the death of her father, Alexia Travers finds herself with a horse ranch to run. Strong and independent, shes up to the challenge. After all, as her fathers only child, she learned all there is to know about the ranch at his sideor thought she did. What she didnt know was that her father mortgaged the ranch just before his death. Clad in mens trousers, she takes over but encounters one setback after another: hired hands quitting, horses missing, fences cut.Justin Phillips arrives in answer to a telegram from Alexs father saying hes in trouble. When Justin learns that his friend is gone and Alex is now in charge, he has to convince her to hire him, a widower with a young son needing care, so he can honor his promise to her father. She does, but will she ever be able to trust this stranger whos captured her attention when hes unable to tell her his real reasons for being there?Miralee Ferrell has helped Summerside Press launch its new line of Love Find You stories with the first historical in the series. Set in the Mother Lode of California not far from the Sierra Foothills town where I live, I was eager to read her story. She does a wonderful job creating the setting. Her characters come to life on the page. Alex exemplifies the spirit of the West and has what it takes to run the ranch. Bearing the emotional scars of a painful past, Justin captured my heart.The story moves along nicely, picking up speed about halfway through. Ferrell weaves a mystery into the tale, complete with a great twist at the end. She kept me up late as I hungered to find out how things turned out for Alex, Justin and the ranch. If youre a fan of Western historical inspirationals, I think youll enjoy this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.