Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summerside Press Love Finds You in Humble, Texas

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Summerside Press Love Finds You in Humble, Texas

Trudie Abernathy is a little inelegant, and she's never had much luck in love. To make matters worse, her thirtieth birthday is fast approaching and her sister, Lane, has decided to "treat" her to a makeover and a blind date. Trudie is about to protest, but then she meets the kind and devastatingly handsome Mason Wimberley. In spite of Trudie's humble manner, Mason finds her attractive, funny, and smart. But there's one obstacle in the way of the budding romance: Lane suddenly decides that she's in love with Mason! Trudie has never been one to compete with her glamorous sister, even when it means giving up the things she wants. Will she be able to stay true to her humble self and find her heart's desire in the process?
Average Customer Rating:
4.722 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Love Finds You in Humble, Texas
Review 1 for Love Finds You in Humble, Texas
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Lou Roberds
I have found this entire set so far as my favorites! I enjoy the depth of writing that I feel I have learned something while still enjoying it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Finds You in Humble, Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marsha Ahrens
I received this book in good condition and have read it. It was an excellent book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Finds You in Humble, Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2009
Sisters, what do you do with them? Your sister plans a wonderful make over including a blind date with a dream boat. Trudie wants to refuse Lane, but Lane never takes no for an answer. So Trudie falls in with Lane's plans, and meets Mason Wimberley, a wonderful man, that Trudie can feel herself falling for FAST!Of course that was until her sister Lane decided she is in love with Mason. Oh the hurt and indecision that Trudie faces. She gives up Mason, but her heart is feeling like it is breaking into a million peices. This book will have you on the edge of your seat, wondering which sister will find true love in Humble Texas? Or will both sisters? Trudie will re-discover her lost passion in art, and begin painting again. The sisters will both deal with past hurts from family deaths and issues. Just a totally captivating story.Anita has brought us another wonderful book in Love Finds You in Humble Texas. Most definitely a book to share with others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Finds You in Humble, Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
GR
I loved this book! I could relate to this character, having a few of the same issues myself. A really great read! Something to definately have on your bookshelf!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Finds You in Humble, Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Roseanna White, Christian Review of Books
Love Finds You in Humble, Texas combines whimsy and romance with the important lessons of humility and chasing ones dreams. Anita Higman has a knack for weaving memorable turns-of-phrase that lends the narrative a touch of magic. I enjoyed the story, the sweet undertone of both plot and characters, and found a humble heroine to be a refreshing change from many of the books Ive read. There were a few places where the dialogue felt stilted and I would have liked to see deeper thoughts from the characters, but all in all this was a lovely story that I thoroughly enjoyed.Need a few hours of sweet fun? Take a trip to Humble, Texas and watch the love burst into rainbows.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Finds You in Humble, Texas
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pamela S Thibodeaux
I'm not the least bit humble about the fact that I enjoyed this book! I love the way Ms. Highman handled all the little issues that popped up in Trudie and Mason's lives....the sibling rivalry without breaking the sacred bond between sisters, the spiritual lessons and growth of all the characters involved, and how God worked everything to His glory and their good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Finds You in Humble, Texas
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathy
I looked forward to reading this book, my first one in the new line of Love Finds You In books from Summerside Press. Gauging from Humble, this will be a successful series. Higman writes a sweet love story with very little conflict but lots of emotion. Mason is a terrific hero and he and Trudie make a great couple. If you enjoy traditional love stories, youll really like Humble, Texas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Finds You in Humble, Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
I absolutely adored this romantic romp in the town of Humble, Texas. The story was incredibly engaging and very well-written. It had a new twist where a few other points of view beyond the hero and heroine occurred, probably to give perspective to things that I can't mention. I was so totally into the story that the people seemed real to me. There were no unlikeable characters, even the ones that you wanted to have something against. I was impressed with how the author accomplished that. The love the sisters had for each other was heart-wrenchingly tender, and Mason is probably the coolest hero I've ever encountered in a romance novel. I enjoyed the tension, but even moreso I loved the expressed humility and love that was so pervasive throughout this story. It totally inspired me and I highly recommend it. Why? Because it'll give your heart rainbows. To find out what I mean you'll just have to read Love Finds You in Humble Texas for yourself. You won't regret it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Finds You in Humble, Texas
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2009
I have been wanting to read one of the new "Love Finds You In..." books since they started coming out in late Fall, this is the first one I've gotten my hands on. I really enjoyed it as a nice, contemporary romance with a couple twists. Two sisters who are really like best friends end up in love with the same man. One sister steps aside and sacrifices her own chance at love for the sake of her relationship with her sister. She had pride issues when she was younger, now she takes humbleness to an unhealthy extreme. Can God work everything out when we keep getting in the way? I guess you'll have to come visit Humble, Texas to find out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Finds You in Humble, Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Julie Pollitt
When it comes to love and romance, with a twist of sisterly love, Author Anita Higman knows her stuff.In her new book, Love Finds You in Humble, Texas, we bump into two sisters with a passion for the same man.Enter Trudie Abernathy, the older, more sensible, less-fashionable sister. Who, despite being grounded most of the time, stumbles out of the car and into the arms of Mr. Right. Did I mention Mr. Right happens to be her sister's ex-boyfriend?Lane, the younger, more attractive, organized and well-intentioned sister, sets the two up on a blind date. Considering she's a professional, making her living at bringing out the best in people, you'd think she would have planned her feelings out in advance. She realizes she still loves Mr. Right, or in this case, Mason Wimberley.I had a tough time putting the book down. Higman has a way with words, keeping the pages flipping, one right after another, until...well, you know, the end. The one place I wanted to avoid. It was too good to put aside, and I wanted more! I knew the end had to come, I just wanted it to be after 300 more pages and a lot more time spent with Trudie, Lane and Mason.Higman made it easy to make me, the reader, feel like I was there in Humble, watching the events unfold. I didn't want to say goodbye to Trudie and her rediscovery of herself as an artist, and finding out who she really is on the inside. Through the course of her new found love, and her existing friendship with her sister, Trudie evolves from a hurting young girl, into a woman with a passion and ability to finally forgive herself for her past.Through trials and a penchant for honesty, the sisters find out more about each other than they've ever known before. The two begin to find out who's more suited for Mason, and what life is like when you love your sister and the same man. But, we do find out who's humble in the little town with a Texas-sized heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love Finds You in Humble, Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2009
An ENTERTAINING read!! I thoroughly enjoyed Anita Higman's book, Love Finds You in Humble, Texas and definitely recommend it. Her characters are realistic, and I especially liked the bits of humor in the characters' thoughts. I was never bored, and really enjoyed the ending too. Now I want to read more of Anita's books!! 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love Finds You in Humble, Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Wyatt
First of all, I have to say that I LOVE the idea of this Summerside line. Setting romances in real towns with unique names is really up my reading alley. If you're like me, you'll end up not wanting to miss a single book. What I loved most about this book: The heroine, Trudie, was so well-drawn. She was multi-layered and I was instantly endeared to her. I enjoyed the relationship thread between these two sisters as much as I did the romantic relationship between the hero and the heroine. And this guy...trust me girls...is SWOON-WORTHY. In addition to having a unique voice, Anita did great with these characters and with the relational issues in the book. The first few paragraphs had more narrative than I prefer for a first page, but I was so taken with the situation and the characters that I was soon immersed in the story. I loved the heroine's internal monologue and how she grew in the story, as well as her sister. I can't say too much without giving things away but trust me, if you purchase this book (and I hope you do!) prepare to be touched. Very entertaining read. Highly recommended. Cheryl Wyatt
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love Finds You in Humble, Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deborah Anderson
Lane Abernathy, a beautiful image coach, is used to having the best of everything in life--the best looks, clothes, accessories (Prada of course), and men. Her sister, Trudie Abernathy, is the opposite. Trudie, who is down-to-earth and content to shop at garage sales, could care less about high maintenance and mirrors.On Trudie's thirtieth birthday, Lane decides to treat Trudie to a makeover, free coaching sessions, and lunch with one of Lane's old boyfriends, Mason Wimberley. On their way to the luncheon, in a limo no less, Lane tells Trudie how wonderful Mason is and how he wants to meet her, but Trudie's not convinced. "You either lied your head off about me, or he has issues you never told me about...like he uses one of those plastic toothpicks out of an army knife, or his hair has all migrated from his head to his ears," she says.Trudie and Mason do hit it off at the luncheon, though, and Mason calls Trudie for another date. A date that finds them both falling fast. Just as Trudie's about to tell Lane about her blessed bliss, Lane blasts Trudie's heart with a confession. "I'm in love with Mason," she says.Can you imagine?This is the first time I've read this author's work, and I'm now a fan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love Finds You in Humble, Texas
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Betty Anne Bantz
Delightful. Funny. Fluidly played . . . like a square dance: allemande left and dosie doe.Trudie pales next to her totally-together sister who altruistically sets her up on a blind date for her thirtieth birthday. The problem is Mason is too handsome, too considerate, and too perfect for her, so when her sister falls in love with him, Trudie backs away. Add a poised and perfect secretary Mason has just hired, a quirky art gallery owner, and an old hight school heartthrob to the mix, and everything eventually turns out . . . perfectly.A lighthearted glimpse into the dynamics of flawed sisters with unresolved guilt which is finally resolved by love. A satisfying romance that will leave a smile on your face.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love Finds You in Humble, Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Birdie Etchison
The characterization is outstanding in this novel. Anita Higman writes with flare, grace and humor. I could identify with Trudie Abernathy, and rejoice when Lane, the beautiful, gifted sister, comes to realize what is really important in life. I love the ending; totally satisfyiing. Have recommended it to several friends.Ill give it 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love Finds You in Humble, Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Debra Ullrick
Spring breezes and sunshine smiles. That's what, Love Finds You in Humble, Texas, is.Anita Higman's business card says, "Characters you can sink your heart into." That describes the characters in this book to a "T". In fact, I already miss them. What happens when two sisters fall in love with the same man? One has Mason's heart, but gives it to another. Or does she? And will he get it back? If so, what happens to the heartbroken sister? Will love find her, too? A gift Mason gives heals a heart of guilt. What gift? And who does it heal?Trudie thinks she's from another planet. Why? Lane helps to build up her sister's image. What am I talking about? And at what cost?Then there's Wiley and his protein bars. Wiley, and an African American boy Cyrus, dramatically change Trudie's life. How?A tiara holds a secret from the past. What secret?Bloomers Boutique makes a huge sale. To whom, and for what?Rainbows, and the song Unforgettable are symbolic, and so romantic. For whom? And why?An unusual career causes women to flee. For whom? And just what is this career change?Well, did I ask you enough questions to wet your appetite? If you want to know the answers to all these questions, you have to read, Love Finds You in Humble, Texas. Trust me, you won't be sorry. If you love spending time with amazing characters, then this book is for you. Plus, there are several valuable lessons in, Love Finds You in Humble, Texas, that you'll have to discover for yourself. My own life, is forever changed because of this amazing story by Anita Higman.So thank you, Anita. Keep up the awesome work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love Finds You in Humble, Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Byrd
Love Finds You in Humble, Texas is a new release by author Anita Higman. She's an excellent writer who sweeps you into the story and immediately invests you in the life and character of Trudie. Higman portrays Trudie to be someone we all know. She's like the girl next door with insecurities that we can all relate to. On the other hand, Trudie's sister, Lane, is gorgeous and exuding self-confidence. Lane gets all the guys while Trudie is left to date Lane's rejects or hand-me-downs. Tension builds in the story when Lane introduces Trudie to Mason, a hand-me-down date, but soon realizes that she's introduced her sister to the man she's in love with. The reader is swept away on a sea of conflict and love as the two sisters work out a plan that is sure to cause heartache for the loser in the process. I will say no more due to not wanting to give too much of the story line away. Higman is an excellent writer who captivate you and pull you into an unforgettable story. Run to your nearest Christian book store and pick this one up today. It's a keeper.Kimberly Byrd
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Love Finds You in Humble, Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Irene Brand
Trudie Abernathy has never equaled her sister, Lane, in sophistication, style or looks. Lane also has the most successful romantic life. But Trudie couldn't care less! She's devoted to her volunteer work at a local children's hospital and to her daily work at a ladies' shop with the delightful name of Bloomers Boutique. At one time Trudie had been a successful artist, but a family tragedy caused her to abandon her gift. Then Trudie and Lane both develop a romantic attachment for Mason Wimberly. Readers will enjoy this fast-paced romance story, wondering how the love triangle can be resolved without breaking the strong sisterly bond between Trudie and Lane. The lively dialogue, the vivid settings and strong inspirational theme all contribute to make this a pleasureable and unforgettable reading experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.