Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summerside Press Love Finds You in Liberty, Indiana

Summerside Press Love Finds You in Liberty, Indiana

Covert abolitionists Anna Brent and her father operate a stop on the Underground Railroad in Liberty, Indiana. Even newspaper editor Daniel Stanton doesn't know she's the author of an anonymous column denouncing slavery. But when the Brents' work is threatened, can Anna trust Daniel to risk everything---including his freedom---to help them?
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love Finds You in Liberty, Indiana
Review 1 for Love Finds You in Liberty, Indiana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW

Date:March 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
kcjeanette
Location:Columbus, MS
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was such a great book that I had to purchase additional ones to give away. You will be drawn in from the very first page until the end! Don't pass this GREAT book up.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Finds You in Liberty, Indiana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read!

Date:October 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Tuller
Location:Salida, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent story set in 1850, Liberty, Indiana. I had never read a book set around the Underground Railroad, so not only was I entertained by the story, I also learned quite a bit of the history surrounding the Fugitive Slave Act of 1950, abolitionists, and runaway slaves. Melanie Dobson is an incredibly talented writer, and I was drawn into the story from page one. There was a wonderful combination of faith, tension, and romance that kept my interest to the very last page. I look forward to reading more of her books in the future, and I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Finds You in Liberty, Indiana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
P.Hoover
This was the first book of Melanie's that i've ever read. I bought it because it was based out of Liberty IN. My husband and I volunteer at a railroad that was laid down on the tow path of the Whitewater Valley Canal. So this story hit home with me from the start. We go past the court hours where Anna was jailed. I drive through the forests that any runaway slave would have walked through. The fact that Melanie stayed in the area to research the facts is exceptional. This book has started an email relationship with Melanie and my husband and I helped to answer any questions on the trains for her next Love finds You book. Totally wonderful author and her books pull you in to where you can't put them down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Finds You in Liberty, Indiana
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Inspired by Fiction
Love finds you in Liberty, Indiana is a historical romance about Anna Brent, who, along with her dad, operates a station on the underground railroad. In public she occasionally has to speak pro-slavery in order to hide her identity. Daniel Stanton, on the other hand, speaks out against slavery. The two clearly do not get along until they are forced to work together.I liked this story. The romance was a bit formulaic and the story predictable; however I enjoyed the history and the speculation involved.The secondary characters were wonderful: Daniel's sister Esther and her husband Joseph, housekeepers Charlotte and Greta, and the heartwrenching tales of the runaways.Read more at http://inspiredbyfiction.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Finds You in Liberty, Indiana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sandy
This is a wonderfully written book. Ms. Dobson has told a touching, and very informative story about a time in our country's history that needs to be know. As someone who once lived in Liberty, Indiana I was impressed how well Ms. Dobson researched the area and it's history. Excellent job and talent at story telling makes an excellent read. I highly recommend this Book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Finds You in Liberty, Indiana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
GR
An AWESOME book! I would recommend this to anyone. It really makes you understand what many of the slaves and people working on the underground railroad faced and went through. I found myself crying harder than I have in many books and I wasn't able to put it down! Buy it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Finds You in Liberty, Indiana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sherilyn
Melanie Dobson is one of my favorite Christian fiction authors! I've read several of her books, and have loved them all. She brings to 'life' the characters in this book, and had me hooked from beginning to end. This book is truly a great read, and I look forward to her next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Finds You in Liberty, Indiana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
I love every book Melanie has ever written. Every single one. Love Finds you in Liberty, Indiana is no exception. It's interesting, compelling, emotional and gripping. The characters are strong and yet realistic. The attraction makes sense and goes deeper than just a pretty face. The element of danger will leave you a bit breathless. Every time those slave hunters showed up I swear I held my breath! And not only is the story compelling, but it was well-researched. I would highly recommend this to parents who homeschool their teens. The story is clean and wouldn't make your grandma blush, but it's also jam packed with content that will teach youth to have greater compassion on people in less fortunate situations. It also teaches the value in self-sacrifice and loving God and people enough to sacrifice your own freedom so that others may benefit and experience it as well. I even learned about about the Fugitive Slave Act and how much it negatively affected everyone at the time. It reminded me so much of the Holocaust. And in reality, it was America's Holocaust. The reader can easily see how this issue propelled the country into the Civil War. Bottom line, this was an awesome story and I totally loved it. While not edgy, it was top notch writing and compelling enough to keep me reading. I cared about the characters...every last one of them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Finds You in Liberty, Indiana
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pv Church Library
Congrats to Melanie Dobson! Love Finds You in Liberty, Indiana transports the reader to another time in our history in a "can't put down" story. Anna Brent lives her faith with the sure knowledge that by doing so could cost her the freedom she believes all God's people should enjoy. For a great historical read, don't miss this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Finds You in Liberty, Indiana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kari Adams
So I could not put this book down. I read it one night start to finish (it was a late night for me) and had no idea how it was going to end. It is a very intriguing story about the underground railroad, and a great glimpse of what it would have been like to be living in that era. Loved the historical aspect and the example of living your life as a sacrifice for others, standing for what you know is right. Highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love Finds You in Liberty, Indiana
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jodi Stilp
Melanie Dobsons descriptive writing pulled me into Love Finds You in Liberty, Indiana before I turned the first page. I jumped into the heart of Anna Brent, a young Quaker woman, and her inward struggle to follow Gods call to love in all circumstances versus obeying the laws that govern her divided country. The suspense is palpable as the courageous heroine chooses to put her life and freedom at risk and run a station on the underground railroad. While she quietly helps runaway slaves escape to freedom, the man who unexpectedly captured her heart stands on the verge of discovering her carefully hidden secret life. Can he be trusted with her secret or will his discovery be the end of her life as she knows it? Dobson masterfully weaves suspense, history and romance into a page-turning thriller. I found myself re-living the characters lives as I tripped through my daily life and mulling over their dilemma to choose obedience to God above all else. The questions of faith spurred spiritual wrestling and growth in my life. You will not be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.