Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summerside Press Love Finds You In Revenge, Ohio

Summerside Press Love Finds You In Revenge, Ohio

At 27, twice-jilted Catherine Morgan is hardly an old maid. But bound by a promise, she's determined to care for her siblings. Only Sheriff Corbin Hunter stands in her way. He's convinced that her sister's fiance is a notorious bank robber. Can she save her sister's heart without losing hers to Corbin---ho dropped her years ago?
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Love Finds You In Revenge, Ohio
Review 1 for Love Finds You In Revenge, Ohio
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ruth Gentry
Love Finds you in Revenge Ohio is a very interesting book with romance, mystery, and suspense all wrapped up in a well-written story. It is one of the best of the "Love Finds You" series! I highly recommend Revenge for a great read! Ruth Gentry
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Finds You In Revenge, Ohio
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dayna
A great book. Thus far I have enjoyed all the Love Finds You stories. As I live in Ohio this one especially intriged me. Now I will have to make at trip to the Revenge area, just to look at the country side. Keep the stories coming.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Finds You In Revenge, Ohio
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2009
The Love Finds You In... series has been putting out some awesome titles in both contemporary and historical genres. This is one of the historical novels and I really enjoyed reading it. I really liked Catherine's character for standing up and trying to protect her family. It wasn't fair that she had to be in charge of her sisters at such a young age but she did everything in stride. I did feel her sisters were a bit spoiled because of Catherine's desire to protect them but it was with good intentions. Her relationship with Corbin is played out very well. I was pleased that there was a history between the two of them and not because of some random chance meeting. The book, while having a historical setting, isn't really a historical novel. There isn't much reference to historical events that take place outside the town or that involve outside politics and world events. Instead the reader is immersed in the lifestyle of the nostalgic west and frontier when life was harder and the lifestyle was simpler. There is talk about the early use of the telephone in the town and it was enjoyable to read about how Catherine's sister would listen in to conversations as the town operator.I really enjoyed the mystery that ran through the story. It was done very well and kept me on my toes. I didn't expect the culprit to be who it was and was pleasantly surprised. It's a really fun read that's light and combines the romance, historical setting and mystery perfectly. The story is written extremely well. It's not very preachy, the characters are multidimensional and the storyline just flows very well. This book is great for a fall evening as you get all comfy with a warm blanket and hot cup of cocoa.Overall I really enjoyed reading this book. I have been impressed with all the titles from the Love Finds You.. series and this book makes a great edition to the pack. I'll be looking forward to reading more from Lisa Harris in the future.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Finds You In Revenge, Ohio
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judy G
Love Finds You in Revenge Ohio by Lisa Harris is a wonderful story. In the late 1800s Catherine Morgan has always tried to do the right thing in her life and watching over her sisters is only one of them. She thinks she has her life all figured out until former fianc Corbin Hunter returns to town as Sheriff. Shes confused and not sure how to deal with the turmoil this causes her when life then throws her the biggest curve ever. In seeing events unfold through Catherines eyes we continue to admire her inner strength as she tries to protect the ones she loves. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and wouldnt hesitate to recommend it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Finds You In Revenge, Ohio
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2009
After being twice jilted, Catherine Morgan vows off of love and marriage and devotes herself to running the familys general store and keeping her sisters safe and happy until they find good husbands to take over the job.Things are handled. Everythings going smoothly. Then Sheriff Corbin Hunter shows up in the small town of Revenge, Ohio and turns Catherines world on end. He left her once. Can she trust him now, with her sisters heart at stake? Corbins evidence points to Audreys fianc as the head of an infamous criminal gang. In her efforts to prove otherwise and save Audrey from heartbreak, Catherine finds her own heart responding once again to the man who jilted her seven years ago.Corbin Hunter wants the man who killed his father, and hell let nothing and no one stand in the waycertainly not the girl who once broke his heart. His desire for revenge could cost him the love of his life.Love Finds You in Revenge Ohio is packed with the essentials of good reading: fun, faith, mystery, romance, bad bad guys and a heroic hero. Well written, with lots of plot twists to keep those pages turning, details authentic to the time period, likeable (and some not-so-likeable) characters, and the kind of ending that makes for loyal readers. Good stuff!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Finds You In Revenge, Ohio
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2009
Responsibility, Regrets and Romance in Revenge, Ohio - The year is 1884, and Catherine Morgan spends her days running the familys general store while doing her best not to dwell on the fact that shes a twice-jilted spinster. Ever since her father left to seek his fortune in the gold fields of Alaska ten years before and her mothers death three years later, Catharine has denied herself any hope of marrying after losing the one man she truly loved. Instead, shes determined to see her three younger sisters happily married. A new sheriff arrives to investigate a string of bank robberies, none other than Corbin Hunter, the man who left Catherine with a broken engagement--and a broken heart. She refuses to allow him to rekindle old feelings, which suits him just fine. Corbin has one goal: to find the man who killed his father and avenge his death. Can Catherine, who's angry with her father for abandoning his family, and Corbin, a man bent on revenge, renew their faith in the Lord and one another and find a love they thought was lost? Love Finds You in Revenge, Ohio by Lisa Harris has a nice blend of conflict, likable characters, plot twists, faith and a surprise ending. My heart went out to Catherine in her struggle to be the responsible oldest sister despite her regrets at having let go of her dreams. I felt for Corbin, whos consumed by his need to bring his fathers murderer to justice while protecting the stubborn woman who broke his heart all those years ago. I recommend Harriss book for those who enjoy an inspirational historical with a side of suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Finds You In Revenge, Ohio
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Edwina Cowgill
Dishes were ignored, floors werent vacuumed and the family fended for themselves because I could not put this book down! Love Finds You in Revenge, Ohio is one of the best Christian historical fiction books I have read in a very long time. I will confess: historical novels are not at the top of my list of favorite types of books to read. However, the history of the late 1800s, and the description of Revenge, Ohio (which actually does exist) are interwoven throughout the book so masterfully that I never realized I was being taught a history lesson. The suspense kept me up until all hours of the night and every time I thought I had determined whodunit, another surprise was mixed into the plot. And then there was the heroine and hero. Have you ever wanted to reach through the pages of a book and shake two people until they come to their senses? These two were more stubborn than the mules used to plow the fields. Above all, Catherines faith and that of her family was truly a blessing to behold. Lisa Harris, award winning author of Christian fiction and nonfiction, has done it again. She has combined history with romance, suspense and faith in a book that will captivate readers for years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Finds You In Revenge, Ohio
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marcie
I have enjoyed all of the love finds you books!! This one was no exception. A great summer vacation book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Finds You In Revenge, Ohio
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Delores Liesner
Love finds you in Revenge, Ohio Lisa HarrisA fast-paced faith filled romantic mystery.A deathbed promise to her mother leads Catherine Morgan to remain a spinster and sacrifice much of her life in the care of her sisters. Like the song Rosemary Clooney (and the Andrews Sisters) made famous, Lord help the mister who comes between (Catherine) and her sisters ... or her promise to see them safely married.So when Sheriff Corbin Hunter the man walked out on her seven years prior - returns to their town search for his fathers killer, complications and tensions abound. His understandable bitterness makes him human, and his ultimate resolution and revealed character make him realistically desirable. Corbins suspicions about her baby sisters fianc seem driven by his desire for vengeance, and feisty but fragile-hearted Catherine frequently takes things into her own hands to the endangerment of all.Like Catherine, dont be too sure you have figured out who the villain is, as Ms. Harris keeps the mystery hidden until the last minute. Excellent research produced lot of interesting details in the lives of her family and supporting cast that kept the pages turning - in addition to the romantic tension between Catherine and Corbin.I enjoy heroines who are strong-willed, bright and independent, yet shows a great capacity for love and commitment. Catherine Morgan captivates the imagination and the heart as her longings are also revealed throughout the story. This was my first read of a Lisa Harris novel but it wont be the last. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.