Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FaithWords The Church Awakening: An Urgent Call for Renewal - eBook

FaithWords The Church Awakening: An Urgent Call for Renewal - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.698 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
36 out of 36100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Church Awakening: An Urgent Call for Renewal - eBook
Review 1 for The Church Awakening: An Urgent Call for Renewal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WONDERFUL EXCEEDS EXPECTATIONS RECOMMENDED

Date:March 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
FIDELITY
Location:JEFFERSON, WISCONSIN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JUST STARTED READING... BASED ON WHAT I HAVE READ I WILL RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Church Awakening: An Urgent Call for Renewal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

URGENTLY NEEDED IN BIBLE BELIEVING CHURCHS

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
harry
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE AUTHOR USES SCRIPTURE TO SUPPORT ALMSOT ALL OF HIS CONCLUSIONS. HE DOES NOT USE A LOT OF ESIGESESS LIKE MANY OTHER CONTEPORARY AUTHORS USE TODAY.
I HAVE PURCHASED COPIES OF THIS BOOK TO GIVE TO THE DEACONS AND PASTOR IN OUR CHURCH.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Church Awakening: An Urgent Call for Renewal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of Charles Swindoll's best!

Date:November 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blessed one
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I began to read and I could not put the book down. I have underlined a lot of it so I can go back and review. It is a very inspirational work that could change many readers lives.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Church Awakening: An Urgent Call for Renewal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Timely product for the church in our culture

Date:October 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Peg W
Location:Mi
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Swindoll has some very pertinent information to share with the church today. Very thought provoking.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Church Awakening: An Urgent Call for Renewal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Chuck Swindoll speaks with the voice of a prophet.

Date:September 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
searcher
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If this book is not widely accepted in "church" circles, I am not surprised. Chuck is not writing as a casual observer of church trends, or as a critic, commentator or cynic. He is speaking with the voice of a prophet who has heard from God and has a message for His people.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Church Awakening: An Urgent Call for Renewal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dean
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this a very timely message for our day. It is time for the church to get back to the basics of the calling of The Lord. The author made his message easy to read and call to action.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Church Awakening: An Urgent Call for Renewal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Subject Matter Begs Attention

Date:September 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Adonai Lover
Location:Montana
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While it's become obvious to all students and ministers of the Gospel for decades that the church is in decline due to secularism and the fact that many if not most pastors and church leaders today do not know the Lord very well but rather see themselves as small business enterprises with their main purpose being to "please" those who attend rather than to obey Paul's admonition to Timothy of "Preach the word," Swindoll makes the mistake that people often do when they seek a solution--they take scripture out of context.
Yes, the Word of God is the solution! But it must be the pure Word. He quotes one of my favorite verses, Acts 2:42, as a solution but does not quote it correctly. Rather he speaks of "rebuilding the spiritual foundation of the biblical essentials for a church: teaching, fellowship, breaking of bread, and prayer." However, Acts 2:42 does not use the word, teaching, rather it uses the Greek correctly translated "the apostles' teaching."
One of the great tragedies of the Church today--and why there is not power, signs, wonders and miracles like there was in the Church of the Book of Acts--is not because there is no teaching but because they are not preaching/teaching "the doctrine (didache/teaching) of the apostles."
If the churches of today would return to God's government as set forth in Ephesians 4 and begin once again preaching and teaching "the doctrine of the apostles" then our churches would resemble the ones in the Book of Acts.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Church Awakening: An Urgent Call for Renewal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Important book in the contemporary church milieu.

Date:August 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
John Harder
Location:St. Catharines, ON
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Swindoll writes out of wide experience in the church and thorough understanding of the Word, yet admits his own vulnerability at times as he shares personal experiences. I passed on the book to someone else to read just two days after I finished reading it, and it will go to others also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Church Awakening: An Urgent Call for Renewal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has very practical information

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
J Nunez
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I strongly believed that this book has been one of the most powerful books pastor Swindoll had ever written. I strongly recommended this book to every pastor, lay leader, teachers and every believer that has a strong passion for the well being of the church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Church Awakening: An Urgent Call for Renewal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Church Awakening Is a Must Read

Date:July 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
David Rice
Location:Vacaville, California
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pastor Charles Swindoll faces the challenges head on that the church is struggling with today. "Worship Wars" is what some call it.
I recommend this book to any true believer that wishes to retune their focus, dismissing the false influences that have crept into the church, and return to the church as God intended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Church Awakening: An Urgent Call for Renewal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alan
Location:des moines ia
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What can I say--excellent--all pastors need to read this--all staff and Sunday School people need to read it--technically all Christians should read it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Church Awakening: An Urgent Call for Renewal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good challenge to contemporary Christianity.

Date:March 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Doctor Ken
Location:Fort Worth, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In the last half century and longer, the Christian church seems to have adopted a worldview that is much like the world in which it exists. At one time, it has been accused of becoming so like the world that one could not tell the difference. Chuck Swindoll challenges the church to return to its roots, to become the church it was intended to be by its Founder, to be salt and light to the world. The sub-title tells it all: "An Urgent Call for Renewal."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Church Awakening: An Urgent Call for Renewal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

dynamic

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patrick
Location:Calverton, New York
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book embodies the principles that I see lacking in denominational churches. Why are these churches declining? Erosion! Compromised truths. Pastor Swindoll has not only identified the problem, but given concrete solutions. This is a must read for any church and dare I say any denomination that is serious about spreading the Good News. Chronicles 7:14 comes to mind.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Church Awakening: An Urgent Call for Renewal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Crucial information for Christians

Date:November 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
KMax
Location:Chambersburg, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book describes the erosion which has taken place in our churches over the past decades, and provides Biblical solutions, critical for Christians to seriously consider.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Church Awakening: An Urgent Call for Renewal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well worth reading in these last days.

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
John
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a must for every believer. If anything, perhaps it will awaken so many complacent Christians that need revived. We need to be standing firm in these last days before the Lord's return and telling others about Him before it is too late.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Church Awakening: An Urgent Call for Renewal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book should be read by all church leaders

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
pastorjohn
Location:Somerville, Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pastor Swindoll has written on a subject that gets us back to the heart of what church is all about. All I can say is it was difficult to read as I saw our church described in each chapter and saw how I as the pastor had allowed this erosion / drift to take place. I have purchased the book for all our deacons and am having them read so we can discuss and make necessary changes to correct our course.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Church Awakening: An Urgent Call for Renewal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Urgent Call to Pastors and Churches!

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
David Gough
Location:Alexandria, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must admit my bias. Chuck Swindoll's joy has a contagious effect upon me. It has been that way for more than 30 years. I have read more than two dozen of his books, but this one is different! The master story-teller becomes much more urgent in this call for church revival. The reason is that these are critical times...never has the church in our nation been under such aggressive attack. To be honest, I expected Swindoll to be much more upbeat in his assessment of the contemporary church's health, but his appeal is for pastors and church leaders to wake up and face reality. Without sounding a defeatist note, Swindoll is clear and honest in calling the church to wake up, return to solid biblical truth, and stop trying to please by being "all things to all people." Thank you, Chuck. I, as a pastor, needed to hear this and you were not afraid to say it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Church Awakening: An Urgent Call for Renewal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a must resource for pastors today

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lynn Davenport
Location:St. Peters, M)
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Church Awakening is biblical and balanced. The author tackles the seriousness of the issues facing the church today in straightforward manner yet with grace. Without being too personal the author illustrates how a church begins to erode and what to do to halt the erosion and even prevent it. Every Pastor needs to read this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Church Awakening: An Urgent Call for Renewal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great RX for ailing churches

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Thomas Stiver
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Swindoll hits the nail on the head as he sets before us the many causes of our failures in advancing the Lord's commands to us to carry on with His agenda. This is a tremendous work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Church Awakening: An Urgent Call for Renewal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great insight.

Date:March 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
gator rider
Location:Butler, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I checked this book out of the library for my husband to read, and he liked it so much, he wanted to buy it for our pastor, so even though I haven't read it yet, he gives it high marks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.