Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press The Power of a Half Hour: Take Back Your Life Thirty Minutes at a Time

WaterBrook Press The Power of a Half Hour: Take Back Your Life Thirty Minutes at a Time

Turn fleeting minutes into life-defining moments! Through inspiring stories and biblical principles, Barnett shows you that the key to maximizing your productivity is to make use of just 30 minutes at a time. You'll see results in your spiritual life, personal habits, relationships, career, finances, ministry, and more. Foreword by Joyce Meyer.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 1080%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Power of a Half Hour: Take Back Your Life Thirty Minutes at a Time
Review 1 for The Power of a Half Hour: Take Back Your Life Thirty Minutes at a Time
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

How Many Things Can You Get Done in 30 Minutes?

Date:April 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
BONDing over BOOKS
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How many things can you get done in 30 minutes? What would you do? Where would you start? How would you prioritize what you do within that time? The Power of a Half Hour - Take Back Your Life Thirty Minutes at A Time by Tommy Barnett explores that notion.
Why a half hour? Mr. Barnett states that while reading the Bible he was intrigued to discover that there was only one reference to time as we know it. Revelations 8:1 states "when the Lamb opened the seventh seal, there was silence in heaven for about half an hour." "Many people think of a half hour as a minimal or meaningless gap in time, downtime to catch your breath between periods of major effort." As a minister, his perspective concerning time is expressed with a pressing sense of urgency. To help guide or "shepherd" others into the kingdom of God. As he puts it "thirty minutes can wreck or redeem a life, determine the difference between success and failure; while directing and shaping your future." It's all in the decisions that you make.
Without being preached to you are being asked to think and act decisively; about how, who and when you spend your time. At the end of the book you will find an action plan, a devotional, a small group study guide and other support materials. They are all designed to help you (individually or in a small group setting) delve deeper into the daily reading assignments.
•Discern HOW you spend your time - You need balance in your life. Make time to pursue the things that matter to you. "For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also." (Matt. 6:21). Be intentional!
•Discern WHO you spend your time with - There are some people you just don't need to be around. These human vampires suck the very life out of you with their constant negativity and then move on to their next victim. Choose people who can make a difference in your life and vice versa.
•Discern WHEN you choose to insert something into your schedule - Everyone gets the same 24 hours each day. Make yours count! While scheduling your time remember to be open and flexible to the unforeseen opportunities. This concept is a time management tool to help you become the best you can become in the future.
THOUGHTS for your SOUL:
•"Time is free, but it's priceless. You can't own it, but you can use it. You can't keep it, but you can spend it. Once you've lost it, you can never get it back." -Harvey Mackay.
•"Nobody can eliminate the results of time well invested."
•"We get so busy and distracted that it's not until we stop some of our normal activities that we really actually realize what needs to change and how to make those changes."
Does it matter if it is 15 minutes, 30 minutes or even an hour? And why does that matter? It matters because time is the one commodity you cannot get or make more of...when it's gone, it's gone!
The author states that "even in the space of time of a half hour, amazing things can happen in your life." For example, a year from now you will chronologically be a year older but how will your personal and professional growth be measured during that time? What matters is that you start doing something today. You want to make the most of the "nowness" and immediacy of the moment.
Disclaimer: This book was received for free from the WaterbrookMultnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Power of a Half Hour: Take Back Your Life Thirty Minutes at a Time
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Change Today by Starting With a Half Hour

Date:May 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
JimL
Location:Bentonville, AR
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tommy Barnett has proven himself as a leader, he is Senior Pastor of one of the largest churches in Phoenix, his son is directing the Dream Center in Los Angeles, and he has spoken to thousands of pastors on being a pastor, leadership and church growth. He has written a book that isn’t systematic but rather inspirational, practical and definitive. He encourages the reader to set a half hour each day for thought provoking inspection, prayer and dreaming and he fills the book with moving testimonies of how thirty minute segments has filled his life and turned these moments of time into a faith filled life.
The Power of a Half Hour is just the book needed for young pastors looking for a solid foundation and for middle aged pastors trying to discover hope and change. Get ready for his homespun stories of faith, challenges and prayers as he devotes half hour to meetings, prayer and reflection. You may not have a mountain, like Pastor Barnett does behind his church, but you have thirty minutes to begin your life and ministry in a new direction.
Blogging for Books provided this book to me for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Power of a Half Hour: Take Back Your Life Thirty Minutes at a Time
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A practical book.

Date:February 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Karen N Craig
Location:Penn Hills, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was a very practical and useful read. It will cause you to re-evaluate how you can change every area of your life by being more cognizant of thirty minute intervals.
This book will make you realize how much can actually be accomplished and in thirty minutes and how this seemingly short period of time can make a dramatic impact in every area of our lives, especially the spiritual. Your eyes will be opened to how much time we actually waste by not being more disciplined and focused.
This would be an excellent read for those of us who have time management issues, since there is a list of 30 half-hour principles and personal action plans for each chapter. This book would also work well for a seminar and/or group study on time management for all ages. I would give this book 4 out of 5 stars.
I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Power of a Half Hour: Take Back Your Life Thirty Minutes at a Time
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Invest for Life

Date:January 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
darian
Location:Greeley, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“The Power of A Half Hour” by Tommy Barnett is an incredibly encouraging and practical book. Barnett shows readers the power that can occur when we invest small amounts of time. He believes that time is our “most significant nonrenewable resource.” Our lives are finite and each day that goes by is lost forever. Barnett writes, “You will never get lost time back and nobody can eliminate the results of time well-invested.” Before I read “The Power of A Half Hour” I had never thought about time as being a gift from God and, because it is a gift, we have a responsibility to invest it purposefully, productively, prudently, and wisely. This is a great book and Barnett is a a solid writer. You can not go wrong with “The Power of A Half Hour.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Power of a Half Hour: Take Back Your Life Thirty Minutes at a Time
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not Worth a Half Hour

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
mattparks35
Location:Carthage, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Honestly, I could not get into it. I read it for about a half hour before putting it down. It is true that a person shouldn't judge a book by its cover, only this cover was catchy but the content disappointing. It is easy to read, but overly simplistic. Now, I did not read but only a few chapters, but it just didn't seem to be worth my time. I am sure the author can understand that. Hopefully this book will be a blessing to someone. If you really struggle with making the most of every minute of every day, then try this book out. Take the challenge that the author suggests by reading a chapter per day for 30 days. Time truly is a precious resources that can never be reclaimed, but it can be redeemed. Blessings!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Power of a Half Hour: Take Back Your Life Thirty Minutes at a Time
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Helpful but overly simple.

Date:November 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
James
Location:Blaine, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If we dedicated some time–even thirty minute increments, towards impacting our lives–clarifying our purpose, strengthening our faith, building our character, advancing our dreams, improving our relationships, or changing our world–we would be completely different. We would have a significant impact on those around us and live significant lives before God and others. We would live our dreams and do the sorts of things we wish we were doing now.
Tommy Barnett is the senior pastor of Phoenix Assembly of God. As a pastor, he has ‘devoted his entire adult life to helping people connect with God and find better ways to live’ (vii). What is Barnett’s method for helping people achieve their full, God-given potential. It is two things: time and intentionality. In The Power of a Half Hour, Barnett advocates carving out 30 minute time frames for: personal development (part one and two), cultivating spiritual health (part three), moral formation (part four), achieving success (part five), attending to our relationships (part six) and changing the world (part seven). Each section of his book is made up of pithy chapters meant to inspire you to invest your time and intention in growing in that area. The end of the book contains thirty, thirty-minute action plans which help readers put the book’s message into practice. There are also questions for group discussion corresponding to each section.
Barnett offers some good advice: if you want to make, real lasting change to your life, grow spiritually and impact those around you, it will require time and intention. Carving thirty minute increments devoted to personal growth seems like great advice. Barnett also illustrates this with countless stories of lives he impacted through consistently investing thirty minutes (for prayer, for reflection, for relational encounters, etc). Half an hour is a magically time frame because it is short enough to not feel burdensome, and long enough for something substantial to happen. I found lots of practical insights in this book.
However I did find Barnett’s recipe for personal success overly simple. Many of the stories he shared recount thirty minute personal encounters and prayer times. Yet these are only part of the picture. The effect of his thirty minute plan is cumulative. People change because of their continuing commitment to a set of principles, practices, and persons. Barnett understands this (as many of his examples attest) but the thirty minute rhetoric does not bear the freight of his message. I found myself agreeing with much of Barnett’s advice while feeling like his account of personal transformation was somewhat truncated by the temporal constraints he puts on each growth opportunity. Perhaps he just finds it easier to think in half hour chunks, but I don’t.
I think there is some helpful insights in here and I found myself touched my several of Barnett’s stories, but I did not resonate with the overall tenor of the book but think that his action plan will be helpful for those seeking to make significant change to their lives. I give it three stars.
Notice of material connection: I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Power of a Half Hour: Take Back Your Life Thirty Minutes at a Time
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Different than expected, but encouraging

Date:November 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kyliegirl
Location:Massachusetts
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is one of a number of books that have surprised me recently. I grabbed it because I'm drawn to the idea of time management in half-hour increments - that sounded like something my attention span could handle. The book didn't offer many specifics along those lines, however. Instead, it's a collection of stories of how small choices had big impact in terms of changing the direction of the author's life and the lives of people around him. Something about this book just made me feel good - it was hopeful and optimistic. It reminded me of how fun life with God can be. I underlined inspiring lines and have a bunch of smiley faces in the margins where things turned out better than expected. Whenever a book has that sort of feel-good effect, I like to recommend it.
(And on the time management side, I do think the suggestion that we consider our days in terms of usable half hours is a good one. Several tasks on my to-do list feel less overwhelming when I consider them in terms of "just get done what you can between now and 2:30.")
Blogging for Books for provided me with a free copy in exchange for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Power of a Half Hour: Take Back Your Life Thirty Minutes at a Time
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

30 Power Principles + 30 Minutes

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
PT in SF
Location:San Francisco, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pastor Tommy Barnett's The Power of a Half Hour is an easy-to-read (but HARD TO DO) book. He includes many vignettes of people he has met: from ordinary people like Carl the businessman who was arrested in a CIA sting operation; to more famous names like Ken Blanchard, Darlene Zsesch and even Jim Bakker.
I approached the book with the expectation to do some math and map out my days, weeks and months with 30 minute blocks. Instead, the book reads less like a manual and more like a devotional. Reflections and action steps are included at the end (might've been more helpful to be inserted at the end of each chapter).
There isn't a ton of theology or Gospel presentation in the book. It's not the main thrust of a book like this. It feels more like a "how-to" or a "Christian-self-help" alternative to the more secular "believe and achieve" titles out there.
Nevertheless, it is a quick little book of inspiration to get anyone who is goal-oriented on the fast track to follow-through.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Power of a Half Hour: Take Back Your Life Thirty Minutes at a Time
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Power of a Half Hour

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jenny W
Location:Williamsburg, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very few things annoy me as much as people who use the excuse "I don't have time for....", yet they spend their time watching TV, sleeping late or piddling around on the computer. Because of this, I was very attracted to the idea of the book, The Power of a Half Hour: Take Back Your Life Thirty Minutes at a Time by Tommy Barnett.
As it turns out, many things can be accomplished in simply thirty minutes a day. Barnett goes in depth into thirty different things that can be accomplished in thirty minute increments, everything from clarifying your destiny to sharing the gospel with someone to strengthening your relationships. The chapters are very practical, but for those who need even more hands on help, there are 30 personal action plans included, one for each chapter, which would serve well as a daily devotion as one goes through the book. The end of the book also includes material for seven sessions of small group study. Depending on the length of your small group meeting or the amount of discussion your groups generate, these sessions may not be enough material for your group for a whole session, but may be able to be incorporated into another study or used as opening material for your group meeting.
My one caveat with this book is that the concept of thirty minutes is a little gimmicky. The author bases the choice of thirty minutes off of an obscure verse in Revelation. There is nothing particularly special about thirty minutes. It could easily be 20 minutes or 45 minutes. I think the bigger emphasis should have been on intentionality and on taking a regular chunk of time every day. If thirty minutes is too long or too short for you, it isn't a big deal. The time doesn't really matter.
Overall, I recommend this book, not so much as the gimmicky thirty minutes can change your life concept, but more of a guide of what you can do in small increments of time. If you are looking to use your time better, this is the book for you!
This book was given to me by WaterBrook Press in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Power of a Half Hour: Take Back Your Life Thirty Minutes at a Time
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Practical Book in Using Time for God's Glory

Date:September 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Reformissional Rev
Location:Pittsburgh, Pa.
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One of the excuses often heard from people in all walks of life when asked why don't they attempt to do something great is "I don't have enough time", But, in his upcoming book, The Power of a Half Hour', author Tommy Barnett examines the value of what little time we do have available, and how it can be used to do great things for God.
Tommy Barnett is very widely known among many Christian circles, and is especially popular for his work as Pastor of Phoenix First Assembly and for pioneering the LA Dream Center. In the book, he shares many stories connected to both churches, as well as other periods of his life and ministry which illustrate the points of the chapters.
This book is thirty chapters, divided into seven sections. The main ideas revolve around using your time to affect your life, path, faith, character, dreams, relationships, and world. And the chapters themselves are very small and easy to read. The book also includes outlines, questions and a study guide at the end.
I enjoyed the book and like Pastor Barnett's stories, which he uses frequently throughout the pages. I would recommend it, especially to those who think a little bit of time can't accomplish a lot. Please don't take the half hour concept legalistically, as any amount of time can be utilized for the glory of God if properly handled. But a half hour is a good place to start.
I received this book for free from "Water Brook/Multnomah Publishing Group" for this review. Our time is actually the most valuable resource that we have available. Pastor Barnett's book will be available in December 2013, but it might be a great Christmas present for someone who wants to do great things, but is concerned they might not have enough time to do it. You may watch a video about the book at http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/blog/2013/04/22/video-power-of-a-half-hour-by-tommy-barnett/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.