Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Rival Hearts, Quilts of Love Series #19

Abingdon Press Rival Hearts, Quilts of Love Series #19

Rival magazine editors Molly Henderson and Ben Weaver are vying for the same promotion within their publishing company. But to decide who gets the job, they must switch roles for one month. Girly-girl Molly must survive Ben's outdoor adventures; while he must navigate quilting events. Will their longtime rivalry blossom into romance---no matter who wins? 240 pages, softcover from Abingdon.
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 1292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rival Hearts, Quilts of Love Series #19
Review 1 for Rival Hearts, Quilts of Love Series #19
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not my style

Date:July 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Molly Henderson and Ben Weaver are both magazine editors for the same company, both up for the same promotion to launch a new magazine. Their boss plans to make the decision based on a friendly competition between the two, in which Molly has to learn to kayak, and Ben has to learn to quilt (Rival Hearts is from Abingdon’s Quilts of Love series. There has to be a quilt).
I had trouble getting in to Rival Hearts. I found Molly annoying from the beginning, with her view that she should get the promotion based on seniority (what about based on performance? Or who is actually a better fit for the new magazine?). Yes, I get that part of her personal character arc was the transition from the sedate can’t-do-much introvert with best friends are twice her age, to the “I can do anything” woman who is prepared to take some risks in life and love. And I get that her mother has been a huge influence in shaping her personality and beliefs—a largely negative influence. But I just didn’t like Molly, and it’s hard to enjoy a romance novel when I don’t like the heroine.
The beginning felt like we were being told a lot about Molly (such as her volunteering, her health issues, her relationship with her brother, how she got into quilting …) and not shown or told much about Ben. What little we did see showed him as overconfident to the point of arrogance. While he improved as a character as the novel progressed, I still would have liked to have seen him develop a bit more depth. I would also have liked to have seen more of his spiritual journey than a couple of offhand references.
The plot held few surprises (I guessed the ending at about the halfway point), the characters didn’t inspire me, and the writing didn’t shine. It read more like a Harlequin than Quilts of Love, and it certainly didn’t have any mystery (as claimed in her author tagline, ‘Where Mystery and Romance are Everywhere’). On the plus side, I thought the Christian aspects were handled well, and I very much liked Nora and her quilting circle, Molly’s second family.
I'm sure many readers will love this, but I didn’t, which is a disappointment as I look forward to reading the Quilts of Love stories and discovering exciting new authors.
Thanks to Litfuse and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rival Hearts, Quilts of Love Series #19
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lots Of Fun and Romance

Date:July 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tara Randel in her new book, “Rival Hearts” Book Nineteen in the Quilts of Love Series published by Abingdon Press brings us into the lives of Molly Henderson and Ben Weaver.
From the back cover: They both want the promotion. But will they find out that it is worth the cost?
Molly Henderson and Ben Weaver have been rival magazine writers for the same publishing group for years. When both come up for the same promotion, they find themselves in an unexpected competition to win the spot. Molly, editor of Quilter’s Heart, and Ben, editor of Outdoor Adventures, must switch roles, each working for the other for one month, then submit an article at the end of their quests.
Can girly-girl Molly survive the outdoor adventures that Ben has planned? Can Ben navigate the perils of the social dynamics of quilting events without destroying a valuable quilt in one short month? More importantly, in this he-said, she-said situation, will Molly and Ben give in to their attraction and fall in love, no matter who wins?
This book is the kind of movie that Hollywood used to make back in the 40′s and 50′s. You can almost see Barbara Stanwyck as Molly, possibly Clark Gable as Ben. Molly and Ben are competitors. They each have made their own little niche in the world by the quality of the magazine they edit. Now they are being given the chance at a new magazine but only if they switch places for a month. This is the set-up for a great deal of humor and also the chance for much stretching outside individual comfort zones. Both Molly and Ben learn about themselves as well as others while learning about the barriers they put up to keep from being bruised emotionally. All of the characters are terrific and the plot is very enjoyable as well as being interesting and exciting as well.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rival Hearts, Quilts of Love Series #19
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

CAPTIVATING STORY OF RIVAL, ROMANCE & REWARD

Date:July 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
barbjan10
Location:Arlington, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rival Hearts is my first read from author Tara Randel, a writer of five previous romance novels. When initially requested to read and review the story, the title left me curious; however, I soon discovered the story well defined by its title. Ben Masterson, chief editor for Masterson Publishing Company pits a dualistic competition of sorts between employs and colleagues Molly Henderson, editor of Quilter’s Heart, and Ben Weaver, editor of Outdoor Adventures. Masterson dangles the bait of the editor-in-chief of a new magazine, American Legend for the winner of this bout. The winner to be determined on one condition –Molly and Ben must switch roles for 30 days and write an article about the experience. Masterson deems himself judge over the contest and outcome. The switch means for Molly learning how to navigate a kayak and Ben to create a quilt.
Switching places! Was this a fair process of determining a winner? Molly had longevity as an employee of Masterson Publishing and Ben was a recent employ with only background experience as a world traveler in sports and outdoor adventures – oh yes, there is the time he hosted that TV series, Extreme Survivalist. Thirty days……that seems an impossible task for each in that time limit – unrealistic. These might have been questions both contestants thought privately, at least in my own thoughts. Nevertheless - the race is on!
Molly and Ben share little in common. Both have scars buried deep from their childhood. Ben lost his parents tragically at a young age, now exhausted from moving from place to place; while Molly was a sickly child feeling unloved and a disappointment to her parents Ben had no siblings, while Molly admired her much older brother and longed for his approval. With private battles of their own, the two diverse competitors go through intense and humorous battles while chasing the bait dangled before them. This becomes a captivating story about rival, romance, and reward.
Molly indeed has a quilter’s heart….soft and quiet…and as complex as a quilted design. With sensitivity toward the downtrodden, she spent many hours as a compassionate volunteer. Molly’s faith in God leads her on a path toward a talent for quilting – the joy of her life. Ben enters the scene with unknowns – and his personality, likes and dislikes seem to come in sporadic revealing throughout the story. He is due for a valuable lesson in more than quilting from Nora and the women of Molly’s Christian quilting group. What surprised me was the rapport between Molly and Ben….helping each other behind the scenes…until sabotage happened, derailing the trust and budding romance between them, each believing the other had been dishonest and manipulative. Ben and Molly truly become rivals….until the intervention of God, family, friends, and other characters to reveal the saboteur and change the whole game.
Ms. Randel’s story would appeal to any age group. Her writing is clean, fun, thoughtful and even a bit intriguing. Script was slow and repetitive at times, but so is real life. Personally, I felt the background details about the protagonists were more vital to my enjoyment of the book than the competition. At my age, perhaps it is less about the romance and more about the characters “whys” of their decisions. My fulfillment is when God has led to the making of the right decisions. My gratitude goes to Tara Randel for penning the best in the genre I enjoy reading.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Litfuse Publicity Group for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rival Hearts, Quilts of Love Series #19
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Quilt of Love Novel!

Date:July 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed the storyline of Rival Hearts! From the beginning I fell in love with Molly and slowly I fell in love with Ben too! They were both great main characters that had me rooting for them in the competition and hurting with life's disappointments!
Tara did an amazing job in having such a powerful message about the need for community in our lives! Like Molly I sometimes forget the beauty and gift of having family around all the time where there are people who wish they could say they have family!
I personally can't quilt, but love reading books that involve quilting and Rival Hearts did not disappoint! It was really interesting to see what Molly did as an editor for a quilting magazine! I so loved her design idea that takes up much of her time!
Overall I really enjoyed this novel! There was some mild action, romance, and the need for community within our lives!
*(I received this novel from Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my honest review! All thoughts expressed are my own opinions and I was not required to write a positive review!)*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rival Hearts, Quilts of Love Series #19
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Rival Hearts

Date:July 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a book about Molly and Ben, two colleagues that have to compete against each other for a promotion at the magazine they both write articles for. Both want the promotional position and are willing to step out of their comfort zones to accomplish the task. Molly is a quilter and Ben is an outdoor kayaker, when their Boss finds this out he decides that they need to switch positions and write on story on each others hobbies. The person that does the best to impress the boss will get promoted and the new corner office with a window. The story is all about what they experience with a little bit of love interest with each other.
I found this book to be a little slow for my reading. It was very predictable and needed just a little bit more twists and turns to keep me interested. I finished the book as it was a short story of 200 pages with many hesitations as it was hard to keep my interest. I would recommend this to my friends that want a read that is just smooth, predictable and not having to concentrate on a story line. Fun, afternoon read.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Litfuse. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rival Hearts, Quilts of Love Series #19
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fun Christian romance

Date:June 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Molly and Ben are magazine editors for the same publishing group. Molly conceived of and now heads a successful quilting magazine. Ben's the relatively new editor of the company's outdoor magazine. When the publisher needs an editor for a new magazine, he conceives of a competition between Molly and Ben. Molly will have to kayak and Ben will have to quilt. Each will write an article about their experiences and the winner will be named the new editor.
This novel was fun. Molly, sheltered from outdoor activities when young because of severe allergies, enlists the help of her macho brother. Ben feels out of his element holding needle and thread when all he's ever done is write about sports.
The competition goes along pretty well until Molly and Ben each begin to have feelings for the other. But just when it looks like romance is on the way, it appears Ben has sabotaged Molly's chances for success. The sparks fly and and it looks like both will lose, no matter who wins.
I really liked the characters in the novel. Molly is a gutsy woman and doesn't hesitate to show what she is made of. Ben turns out to be a deeper man than he would have others believe. Both characters grow through the competition experience to reveal hidden qualities.
In addition to a good romance, the author had added other issues to the novel, such as women working together to help each other, supporting women in need of a safe place, and restoration of family relationships. These all work together to make for a rewarding novel. I really enjoyed it.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book through a publicity group for the purpose of an independent and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rival Hearts, Quilts of Love Series #19
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Great Summer Read

Date:June 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About the book:
They both want the promotion. But will they find out that it is worth the cost?q
Molly Henderson and Ben Weaver have been rival magazine writers for the same publishing group for years. When both come up for the same promotion, they find themselves in an unexpected competition to win the spot. Molly, editor of Quilter's Heart, and Ben, editor of Outdoor Adventures, must switch roles, each working for the other for one month, then submit an article at the end of their quests.
Can girly-girl Molly survive the outdoor adventures that Ben has planned? Can Ben navigate the perils of the social dynamics of quilting events without destroying a valuable quilt in one short month? More importantly, in this he-said, she-said situation, will Molly and Ben give in to their attraction and fall in love, no matter who wins?
My Thoughts:
I have loved each book in this series and this was no exception. Each book's main plot contains a quilt, but the variety of authors succeed in making it unique and different from the others.
I am a quilter! Anyone who quilts will realize how addictive this hobby is. Thus, you look at quilts, go to quilt and fabric shops, quilt shows, AND read any book that involves a quilt!! I guess we are a strange lot!!
The main character, Molly, appealed to me immediately. I could easily identify with this young lady who loved to quilt however was not athletic, not even a bit!! That is me!! You can find us both at a sewing machine but rarely playing baseball, canoeing or swimming!!! Molly tended to stay clear of these activities!! This made her my best friend from the beginning of the book. Ben, the athlete, was also an adorable character, full of charm, handsome, athletic BUT not a quilter. I can just picture the look on his face as he attempts to use needle and thread.
The plot of the story was full of twists and turns. It grabbed my attention upon reading the first chapter and kept me engrossed until the last page. A well developed plot makes for a great read and this book fullfilled this !
The "Quilts of Love" Series has provided me with a wide variety of stories, all including a very special quilt in each one. Each author has been successful in composing a creation totally different from the others! That in itself, is a feat! Tara Randel is a new author to me, but you can be sure that I will be looking for her books in the future.
A great summer read! Don't miss it!
Book was provided by Litfuse in exchange for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rival Hearts, Quilts of Love Series #19
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Competition can make a romance flourish

Date:June 24, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the cover of this book. I have read most books in this series and think that the covers get better with each book. That's hard to do considering I have really like most of them. I also like the different stories that each author tells. That's what makes this series a lot of fun to read... the uniqueness of each story all tied together with a quilt.
I can't say that this book is full of surprises, but it's still a great read. I think it would be an excellent choice for the beach because it was a light book, but fun.
Ben and Molly were two characters that you couldn't help but like. They were made for each other, only they didn't quite recognize that at first. Their opposite personalities made them very easy to relate to them.
I liked the competition in this book. It was a different aspect to a love story that made it interesting and set it apart from others in the series. It kept my attention and I found myself smiling a lot!
I suspect we'll be reading more from area Randel over the next few years. At least, I hope so!
__________
I received this book free from CFBA and Abingdon Press in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rival Hearts, Quilts of Love Series #19
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
randomamb
Location:TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rival Hearts is the latest release in the Quilts of Love series. The story features 2 main characters–Molly Henderson and Ben Weaver. They are both magazine editors in line for a promotion, and the boss decides to pit them against each other in a crazy challenge. On a deeper level, the book is about each character’s journey towards a healthier, stronger, and ultimately better version of themselves.
This is the first Quilts of Love title I’ve read, and it also served as my introduction to Tara Randel’s work. I really enjoyed Rival Hearts. It’s just over 200 pages long, so it can be read in an afternoon or evening. The writing flows well and allows the reader to become immersed in the story. Situations are never stretched out too long, and I never felt a lull or empty space in the book. I was impressed by Randel’s ability to keep me interested, engaged, and happy with the story. I fell for these characters and I think you will, too! I highly recommend this book to fans of christian romance, christian contemporaries, and competition love stories. Give it a shot!
*I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rival Hearts, Quilts of Love Series #19
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fun read that is full of surprises!

Date:June 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
JCMorrows
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With the first sentence, Tara Randel grabs your attention – and she doesn’t let go.
One of the things I love about the Quilts of Love series is how many different genres, timelines and lifestyles they cover. We have everything from a pioneering couple to a detective on the streets of a small town to rival magazine editors.
I’ve not read anything else by Tara Randel but it’s clear she has a talent for story telling. In Rival Hearts, she pulls us right in to the story and it’s clear from the first chapter that these two characters are in for an adventure they never could have seen coming.
Ben is clearly over-confident and Molly is timid but determined and we can see the sparks flying between our two main characters in their very first conversation.
Tara Randel makes the story so real to us – encompassing not just the competition and what it entails but also drawing the characters’ lives into the mix. And not just the sparks either, but what makes them tick and even some things that lurk beneath the surface.
Tara uses secondary characters brilliantly, involving friends and family as well as co-workers in this mad dash to the finish. And you may be surprised by how everything turns out. I won’t ruin it for you – it’s just too delicious!
Now I’m going to have to go find some of her other books and see if they’re just as entertaining and enjoyable!
I received this book free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rival Hearts, Quilts of Love Series #19
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Will the promotion cost them their heart?

Date:June 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Two successful magazine publishers, one male, one female both with very different magazine profiles, suddenly find themselves competing for the same promotions as Editor-in-Chief for the launch of a new magazine, American Legend. For Molly Henderson, writer for Quilter's Heart, this promotion would be a validation for all the years she has worked for Master's Publishing. She took a novel idea and launched a successful magazine that has highlighted the friendship that women encounter whenever they read it. It not only showcases beautiful quilt designs but also the stories behind the women that create them. However she is not the outdoor type in any sense of the word.
For Ben Weaver, writer for Outdoor Adventures, the true manly man who loves the thrill of adventure in any sport, the more extreme the better. Bouncing back from his television series Extreme Survialist, he has taken Outdoor Adventures to new heights with his reader base. After just being with Master's Publishing for six months, he is running a competitive edge along side Molly's magazine. He knows with his popularity, taking on the challenge of American Legend, will create a permanent place for him instead of constantly being on the road traveling. However the last thing he understands is what fabric types to use and how do you put a quilt together anyway.
But Blake Masterson is always on the look out for a way to drive in more publicity so he decides the only way he can make the right decision on who should get the position is to create a competition between Molly and Ben. They will have thirty days to change places, and Molly will need to lead a kayak expedition and then write about it, while Ben will need to create a quilt all by himself and then write the article about his experience. At the end of the thirty days, whoever has done the most with their task will get the new position. So now instead of being rival colleagues, they are now rival competitors and may the best man or woman win! But it's not going to be an easy task for either of them working outside of their comfort zones. Who will win?
I received Rival Hearts by Tara Randel compliments of Abingdon Press and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are my own. I absolutely love the premise behind this novel. It is a first for me being introduced to the writing of Tara Randel but it definitely won't be the last by a long shot. I love the competitive nature that both Molly and Ben possess with each of them having the drive to do whatever it takes to gain the promotion they both desire. I can't imagine how difficult it would be for a manly man to take on quilting! That is where the humor comes into play and soon the entire office chooses sides between man versus woman and the laughter ensues. What comes out of the novel at the end showcases that the best choice may not always be the best one for the winner. I easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion. This is the nineteenth novel in the Quilts of Love Series and each can be read in any order.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rival Hearts, Quilts of Love Series #19
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very enjoyable book

Date:June 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I enjoyed this book so much, it is the first book I have read from this author, but I hope not the last. I loved the competition, and was rooting for Molly to win. When the bad things (no spoiler) happen, I am positive I knew who it was, and I was right. It is a great book. Good writing. Definitely a book to share with others. 4 stars from this reviewer.
This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review. All the thoughts and opinions are my own, honest feelings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.