Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cornerstone Curriculum Starting Points Syllabus: World View Primer

Cornerstone Curriculum Starting Points Syllabus: World View Primer

In this comprehensive, introductory course to worldviews, students will learn to build a Biblical worldview, identify literature based on a biblical worldview, speak the biblical worldview into culture and lean about the founding of modern America upon a biblical worldview. Writing, analysis, outlines, short answer, paragraph plot summary and fill-in-the blank answers are all employed in this workbook, among other types of questions, focusing on developing the student's mental ability to seek out the core beliefs presented through media and culture. Utilizing popular movies (The Wizard of Oz and It's a Wonderful Life), classic literature (Frankenstein, Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde) and apologetic material (Mere Christianity, Know What You Believe, Answers for Difficult Days) students learn reading comprehension, analyse different worldviews according to a Christian view and study topics on ethics, man, history, devil, and more. 479 pages, softcover. Recommended for Jr. or Sr. High school students, or as a two-year course for 6th, 7th or 8th graders.
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Starting Points Syllabus: World View Primer
Review 1 for Starting Points Syllabus: World View Primer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great foundation for World views study

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Homeschool Mama
Location:New Orleans, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am using this book for my 11th grader, first-time home- schooled child. One of my older boys was always home schooled and took this course in 8th grade. It was very difficult and we thought he would give up. He took the rest of the courses and did extremely well. I chose to do this over two years as a supplement to Bob Jones History. It covers some of the same ground (we are not using the book in order of its contents - doing the ending first to coincide with the early American history he is studying right now.)
This gives my son a depth of understanding of our country's origins that even the history book does not explore. The two work nicely together. In completing it over two years, and at a later age, I think he will get a lot of good and not have the stress of the huge workload. He really enjoys the concepts and work!
I knew quite a lot of students who took this course in either 8th or ninth grade. It is very time-consuming, so the other subjects should be limited to math and science. But it is worth it. All three Worldviews of the Western World courses that follow are also time-intensive and well worth the effort.
I have to admit, however, that there are issues with the editing. There are several misspellings, grammar errors, etc. We just laugh them off and go on. This was a book written by a family and they have chosen not to release a corrected edition.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Starting Points Syllabus: World View Primer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:Montgomery, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first considered purchasing this book during the summer, but decided to just use what I already had at home. My children became very frustrated. I decided to go ahead and purchase this book and I am very glad I did. Both of my children are loving it and say they find it much more interesting. We have all been very pleased.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Starting Points Syllabus: World View Primer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent - Fills in the Gaps

Date:November 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Annie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I feel this has been an excellent study for my High School children. It has filled in the gaps to things I may have missed when giving my homeschooled students a chrstian education. The more you put into it, the more one would get out of it. I wish there was a little more guidance with answering the questions, like a teachers guide, but I have found it okay to get through without. I LOVE how the paragraph writing turns into one larger paper at the end (of the first section... that's as far as we have gone so far). My children are average students that HATE to write. Of course, they wrote very basic papers, but I felt they did well on them considering how they truly hate that sort of thing. A more advanced student could have a very biblical sound, scripture backing, worldview essay!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Starting Points Syllabus: World View Primer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Terry
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a high school curriculum. Both of my older children have gone through it and they both recommend it and say it helped them and tell me I have to have my younger three go through it as well. They value it themselves, that much.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Starting Points Syllabus: World View Primer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janey Goude
I do not know of a 6th, 7th, or 8th grader alive who could manage this study. They would have to be extremely advanced academically and mature beyond their years. This is definitely a high school study.The concept is great. The writing leaves a bit to be desired. This man appears to be so intelligent that he has difficulty relating to his audience. There are times when it is hard to know what he is asking for. The end of week two when he is supposedly guiding you to write your first paragraph, because of the way he asks the question, it makes it more confusing for the student instead of allowing them to have an aha moment. I understand he is helping them be critical thinkers and that it will be challenging - that is why I bought the book! We have had many wonderful conversations already. With a little editing, this could be restructured in a way that is still challenging, but not frustrating.The Difficult Days book, written by this same author, is not well written at all. As an adult, who is well read in the Bible, I had no idea what he was going for. Fortunately, the other books he chose to work along with this syllabus are well written. Still deep and challenging, but clearly written.
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Starting Points Syllabus: World View Primer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
retasos2
Wanting to help my daughter with SP, I started it before she did and a good thing I did. After being converted 22 yrs ago, SP showed me why I believe what I believe. Im convinced that this should be a required course for every Christian. We all have questionsSP guides you to the answers. I just cant say enough good things about it. Worth every penny
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Starting Points Syllabus: World View Primer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
janejolene
I have to share that this is a "God-send" course for us. We had a 9th and 10th grader go through it this year. I was looking for something that would cover Bible, World View, etc. and this not only covers that but some essay writing as well. It covers what is in our hearts as parents: To prepare our children to discern everything we encourter or read with sound Biblical Christian discernment. Hats off to David Quine for this Starting Points syllabus. We are definatley going to continue with his next courses, World Veiws of the Western World Vol. 1-3, to cover theology, literature, economics, history, etc. in high school. I am equally impressed with the book selections for the WVWW courses.- Only 4.5 stars because my children prefered to write essays in another style than dictated in the syllabus. No big deal. - I think this course is better suited as a Freshman year course. It is not "hard", but challenging- really worth it. - Takes about 4-5 hours/week to complete the readings (several good books- see Cornerstone website).- High school transcript credits: Theology/Bible- 1, Literature- 1, American History- 1
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Starting Points Syllabus: World View Primer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susan
I just happened to notice that Starting Points didn't have any 5-star reviews yet, so I thought I'd better speak up. We are using it this year with my 9th-grade-son, and we absolutely love it! (NO prep time required, by the way.) My son really enjoys doing it, and it dovetails with all the things he's interested in, like theology and philosophy.I can understand that not every child has these same interests, and I am not even sure if my other children will enjoy using this when they are old enough. But for a child who is interested in theology, history, apologetics, philosophy, and so on--Starting Points is fabulous!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Starting Points Syllabus: World View Primer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2009
So far I have had 2 of my children use Starting Points, and it has proven a love/hate relationship. My oldest loved the curriculum and continued to do the next 2 years of the Cornerstone program. My second just didn't "get it" and other than the doctrine section hated the program. I think it is a great program for grades 10 and up, but you should plan to take it slowly. I cannot say slowly with enough emphasis. It is a lot to absorb. Also, we disagreed with many ideas in the final section on US history. If I use it with my other kids, we will skip this section. I do wish there were a TE available to help in the checking and discussion of the material. A course on World Views is a must for HS and this one does a good job.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Starting Points Syllabus: World View Primer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kelly Berg
Not as easy to use as I thought it would be, I don't think I would use it for middle school age.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Starting Points Syllabus: World View Primer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Karen Luse
I have started using this with my 8th grade daughter. It is giving us a great way to talk about our Christian world view and to examine why we believe what we believe. The first supplemental reading assignment was a bit difficult for her to follow but the others have not been that way. We are going to complete it over two years and at that pace it is not too heavy of a load for either her or I to complete along with her other basic subjects. The curriculum also teaches note taking from the supplemental resources in an easy to use format.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.