Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pure Flix Entertainment, LLC Silver Bells, DVD

Pure Flix Entertainment, LLC Silver Bells, DVD

Competitive sportscaster Bruce Dalt wants his wife to win their neighborhood's Christmas decorating contest and his son, Jason, to be the star of his basketball team. But when Bruce scuffles with Jason's coach, he's "sentenced" to managing a Salvation Army kettle during the holidays. Will something as simple as ringing a bell transform his life? Closed-captioned. Approx. 105 minutes.

Average Customer Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 out of 1694%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Silver Bells, DVD
Review 1 for Silver Bells, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finally, someone has the nerve to say it.

Date:January 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rose Marie
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I loved this movie. We watched it three times, bought a copy for ourselves, and five copies for Christmas gifts. Finally, in story form, someone has the courage to remind us what we are celebrating, and what the Salvation Army stands for. Bruce Boxleitner (sp) is as handsome as ever.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Silver Bells, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Christmas movie

Date:January 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:Tampa, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I enjoyed watching this new Christmas movie. We like the focus on the Salvation Army and all that it does beyond the "red kettles". Bruce Boxleitner's character was so annoying until... :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Silver Bells, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Silver Bells

Date:January 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
no one
Location:Waterloo, IA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great movie! Great message about loving other people and not being selfish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Silver Bells, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good movie

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bonnie
Location:Philadelphiia, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good movie with excellent coverage of The Salvation Army.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Silver Bells, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

it was great

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
sunshine
Location:ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a message. Loved it. Lots of humor. Christian values
and the message honoring God and glorifying him in every way
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Silver Bells, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cute

Date:January 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Granny B
Location:San Diego, Ca
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a little predictable, but very enjoyable. The main character has his focus changed from "winning" to what's really important--people. It was a good family movie and could be recommended for anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Silver Bells, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
elsielou
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good story. Funny at times, but more serious tone than you would expect.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Silver Bells, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful video

Date:December 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sunbird
Location:Ketchum, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This video taught a very good moral lesson. It was very entertaining, easy to watch, and good for all ages. I highly recommend this one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Silver Bells, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Low budget like a made for TV show

Date:December 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
sleigh
Location:AK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was tired of seeing all the same Christmas movies year after year so I ordered some new ones this year. This one was nothing special--just a pass-the- time video that I will not keep in the collection. I may pass it on to an invalid who needs something to do.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Silver Bells, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Donated & Quickly Checked-out at Church Library

Date:December 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
A Kid's & Parent's Review
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this one to our Church Library. It's clean with humor and yet a meaningful movie. Helps to refocus our minds and hearts from things to that of the heart. My whole family loved this movie. A little different from the "typical" Christmas movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Silver Bells, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great movie that show the meaning of Christmas in the act of serving, remind us how we should act during this season and all year long.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Silver Bells, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robert Ferguson
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Great film for Christmas to watch with family. Share it with co-workers on my job. Everyone enjoyed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Silver Bells, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
slamken
good movie with great inspiration about what life is really supposed to be about. cliché, yes, but we all need constant reminders to take a breath and realign ourselves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Silver Bells, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful movie.

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Melinda
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a movie that is good for anyone to watch. I watched it and passed it on. I gave your site to other people sothey could get good clean movies for family watching.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Silver Bells, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sure to become a Christmas favorite!

Date:November 22, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bruce Dalton works for a local TV station as the sports anchor. With an inflated ego and impatience to match, Bruce expects everyone everywhere he goes to recognize him and the nightly tagline he uses after reporting the latest sports news.
Bruce is a man with a family – a wife, a daughter in law school, and a son named Jason who has lately been distancing himself from his father. Bruce’s selfishness is portrayed in many ways, from “fighting” for a parking spot at the local Kmart to putting his job above the needs of his family.
So what happens when Bruce takes his self-centered attitude too far? What happens when, in his anger and lack of self-control, a ref is injured at his son’s basketball game?
Will Bruce’s punishment finally show him what’s really important in life?
Silver Bells is a great movie on so many levels. When Bruce has to commit to community service as part of his punishment for injuring the ref, viewers get a glimpse inside the Salvation Army and how hard the bell ringers and other volunteers work to serve the less fortunate. Discussion questions abound, including:
The importance of family and their needs and why that should come first, after our relationship with the Lord. Bruce is not a Christian, but his son shows an interest in Jesus and church. Bruce wants nothing to do with either.
The importance of carrying out God’s command to serve others and care for the less fortunate. Bruce has no desire to ring the bell for the Salvation Army and finds himself in a bind many times regarding his attitude.
The importance of listening to wisdom, rather than focusing on ourselves. Major Lowell, the Salvation Army leader and pastor is a Godly man with much foresight. Will Bruce bother to listen to his gentle answers to the problems Bruce is facing in his personal life?
The importance of not sinning in our anger and keeping keeping our self-control in check.
Silver Bells has ingredients of a great movie. It has drama, humor, a wonderful plot, and a touching ending. Expect to laugh throughout the 88 minute movie, shake your head at Bruce’s shenanigans, and rejoice in the hope and redemption offered.
Bruce Boxleitner plays Bruce Dalton and gives a commanding performance as a versatile actor who can effectively play either the “good guy” or the “bad guy.”
I highly recommend this movie for all ages. A Christmas classic for years to come, this movie has quickly become one of our family favorites. I've added it to my mom-approved movie listing on my blog.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Silver Bells, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow!

Date:November 1, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After I watched the trailer I wasn't sure what to expect with this movie, to me it didn't seem like it would be very good. I thought it would be kind of tacky. I was so wrong! This movie is fantastic and I'm so glad I tried it out. It really shows how giving makes the season great. There are all of theses factors that make Bruce Dalt change his heart. Watch it, I promise you won't regret it!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.