Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for A Beginning Advantage A Reason For Handwriting: Kindergarten--Student Worktext

A Beginning Advantage A Reason For Handwriting: Kindergarten--Student Worktext

Great for pre-school and kindergarten! Students begin by tracing dotted lines (paths) that lead a fun character from left to right across the page. After a suggested activity of blowing bubbles, students are given a beginning lesson in forming round letters by tracing the dotted lines of bubbles on a work sheet page. They learn to start on the starting dot and move their pencil counter-clockwise around the circle.

Additional practice and activity pages for each letter are then included to help students practice what they have learned. Since students are only beginning to learn to form letters, this is the only grade level where entire Scriptures are not written for each lesson. The focus of this 142-page text is proper formation of letters and beginning sounds.

Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Reason For Handwriting: Kindergarten--Student Worktext
Review 1 for A Reason For Handwriting: Kindergarten--Student Worktext
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
homeschooling29
Location:29Palms, Ca
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Order it last year and did it with them and reorder it for this year. Our little one want to be little big sister. It's just what they need at this age. It has a little handwriting and then a nice coloring page and you are getting the same out of both pages. Hand and Eye. How ever you do not get the Bible Verse like you do with the other ones in this group.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Reason For Handwriting: Kindergarten--Student Worktext
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for beginning writers

Date:October 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
mom25
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just started my fourth child on this handwriting curriculum. We have been using it with great success.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Reason For Handwriting: Kindergarten--Student Worktext
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
MandyC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this product. I use it to supplement along with copywork for handwriting. Short, easy lessons for the kids make it worthwhile.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Reason For Handwriting: Kindergarten--Student Worktext
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joyful
Location:South Georgia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like that the lessons are short. My kindergardener is just gaining strength to write more often. It takes practice, but too much practice and his hand starts hurting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Reason For Handwriting: Kindergarten--Student Worktext
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Genia
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this workbook for my daughter when she started Kindergarten. It has been an ok little workbook. Not enough to keep her very busy but also not enough to cause any frustration.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Reason For Handwriting: Kindergarten--Student Worktext
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dawn Marshall
My daughter is enjoying the handwriting book, and the great pictures that she gets to color when finishing the worksheet is a great motivator!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Reason For Handwriting: Kindergarten--Student Worktext
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Molly Loder
A great resource - makes teaching this subject a piece of cake!! The thing I liked about it is the flexibility to go in any order - you can go in the order they are in the book, or tear out pages to coincide with things you might be teaching in your phonics and/or reading program, so they're learning to write the same letters they're learning to read. The coloring page on the back of each writing practice page keeps them very excited for the next lesson!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Reason For Handwriting: Kindergarten--Student Worktext
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janey Backer
This is a fun and simple introduction to handwriting. My kids have loved it and the fun pictures to color that go with each letter. Paced well and very attractive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Reason For Handwriting: Kindergarten--Student Worktext
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sandra
We used a Reason for Handwriting and I was not totally thrilled with it. Here are the pros and cons:Pros: excellent layout. The pages are beautiful to look at, and uncluttered. Also, the way they introduce a few letters to trace on each line is logical. They assume your child may need to practice tracing on the second and third line, not just the top of the page. Cons: I think 1 inch lines are just too big, even for a Kindergartener. In order for the child to write in 1 inch lines, he must move his entire hand. Also, there is insufficient review in this book. I would have preferred far more review of previous letters, so that we could work through the book page by page, and know that each letter is continually reviewed.I have not found a handwriting program I prefer, and suggest instead just using a writing intensive phonics program such as Adventures in Phonics, which is so thorough that it includes handwriting instruction.Another suggestion is the Harcourt Handwriting Review workbook, which has 3/4 inch lines.We do plan to use the level A of this program. Be warned however that the jump in difficulty from the K to A level is tremendous. In K they are writing huge, single letters, and no words at all. Suddenly in A they are expected to write much skinnier letters in much thinner space, to write an entire Bible verse.I wish they would revise the K level.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.