Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Knowledge Quest A Child's Geography: Explore the Classical World

Knowledge Quest A Child's Geography: Explore the Classical World

A Child's Geography: Explore the Classical World will introduce children to the world of Socrates, Alexander the Great, and the Apostle Paul! Written in a lively, conservational style, students will enjoy hearing stories passed down through generations as they travel through ancient ruins, wander in and out of local restaurants, and visit local sites.

15 chapters cover 12 countries situated in the classical world: Greece, Macedonia, Albania, Montenegro, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Slovenia, Italy, San Marino, the Vatican and Malta. Each full-color chapter features many pictures, timeline chart, and bolded vocabulary words; sections within each chapter end with "Field Notes" --time for students to record their thoughts in a notebook--and narration questions that cover history, geography, culture, various sites, or other topics covered in the chapter.

The CD-ROM includes timelines, map work, hands-on activities, recipes, a prayer guide, and extra reading suggestions.

Grades 1-6; adaptable for middle school. Glossary included. 224 glossy (non-reproducible) pages, softcover. This is the third book in the "A Child's Geography" series; books do not need to be completed in order. At the rate of one chapter per two weeks, this curriculum will take one year; at the rate of one week per chapter, this curriculum will be finished in one semester.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Child's Geography: Explore the Classical World
Review 1 for A Child's Geography: Explore the Classical World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great addition to this series from Knowledge Quest

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sara @ Embracing Destiny
Location:usa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is not only historically detailed, it is also visually appealing. The glossy pages and photos invite the reader to travel through time to the Classical World. This is no dry textbook -- it is an engaging story for children grades 1-6. It makes geography interesting, which is not an easy feat. I highly recommend it for homeschoolers of any method.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Child's Geography: Explore the Classical World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Homeschool Resource

Date:August 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Erin
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful homeschool geography history curriculum to use with your kids. My kids have enjoyed it and can't wait until our study time each day!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Child's Geography: Explore the Classical World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An amazing geography book; not a dry textbook.

Date:August 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
welovetohomeschool
Location:New York
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had heard of the "A Child's Geography" series, but had never read one... or seen one in person. Recently, I had the opportunity to edit/proofread the 3rd book in the series (Explore the Classical World). I was very impressed with the quality of the book; what a pleasant surprise. Reading the book was like listening to a friend tell about her travel adventures. It wasn't like reading a textbook; it was like reading a friend's travel journal. After seeing the final product in eBook form, I was even more impressed. The full color photographs added such a nice touch.
The book takes you along on a journey of several countries in the classical world, such as Italy and Greece. These countries have so much history; I learned so many new things about these "old" lands. Not only does the book touch on the history of the countries from a Christian worldview. It also discusses landmarks, terrain, customs, local delicacies, and more.
Each chapter ends with a "Field Notes" section. This section gives your child a chance to review the lesson and wrap-up their thoughts by answering the provided questions in a notebook or journal. This will make for a nice keepsake. The included images of maps and timelines are also a nice and helpful addition.
The CD includes even more useful items to make the whole experience come alive. You will find great resources such as recipes unique to the individual countries. One of the neatest resources in my opinion is the Prayer Guide. This guide tells a little about the religious state of the country, such as the main religion and the condition of the Christian Church, and then includes specific prayer requests for that country. What a great addition!
I so enjoyed reading through this book during the proofreading. I am looking forward to sharing the complete and final product with my daughters. In my opinion, this book is an awesome way to study geography. It is a great alternative to a dry textbook.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Child's Geography: Explore the Classical World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful book

Date:August 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Location:SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have the e-version of this book, and it's beautiful. Colorful, easy-to-read maps, and wonderful pictures. It's written in a cheerful, conversational style that I think will appeal to my children when we read it together. Lots of solid history and information interspersed with interesting tidbits and dialog, plus narration ideas. A lot of love obviously went into writing this book, and kids will pick up on that and share Terri Johnson's enthusiasm. I also really appreciate the Christian perspective, particularly when it comes to Greek mythology. Kids love those ancient myths, and I'm glad they're included, but Terri does a good job of re-inforcing that we as Christians are blessed to have knowledge of the one true God. I think it could be edited a bit more tightly and uniformly, but it's a very well-researched book, and I do plan on reading it with my children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Child's Geography: Explore the Classical World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Son Loves Geography & History Now!

Date:August 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Misty
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our third volume in the A Child's Geography series and my son loves these books! The photography throughout the book really puts you there. The maps that go along with your "travels" in the book really help your child see the where along with the what. It really pulls it all together. This is not a boring textbook format. It feels more like going on a vacation with someone who has been there many times. At the end of each chapter I "interview" my son with a digital recorder about what we have just learned during our tour that day and he loves pretending to be interviewed on the news. This has helped him with his communication skills as well since he listens to the recordings and improves with each "interview". We also enjoy the authentic cooking activities that help us to experience these Mediterranean countries. This book would be a great preparation for a vacation to the Classical World! The CD-ROM contains a prayer guide for each country that you explore. What a great resource!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Child's Geography: Explore the Classical World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun, engaging journey through the Classical World

Date:August 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kristi
Location:Clarksville, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me start off by saying that the children I'm using this with are 6, 10, and 12. We have heard such WONDERFUL things about the A Child's Geography series, and we were extremely excited to start this book. We weren't in the LEAST bit disappointed. The writing is such fun, in a wonderful format that keeps the kids engaged. It's not textbook-y at all, which I love. Textbooks are so boring. The maps are very well done and colorful, important for my visual learners. We're having a great time with it all the way around. Of course, the best way to use this is in conjunction with your history resource, in covering Ancients. My kids aren't studying Ancients this year, but the geography is bringing to mind a lot they've learned from their past studies, and doing them together would be invaluable. We highly recommend A Child's Geography Explore the Classical!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Child's Geography: Explore the Classical World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Prepare to have your socks knocked off!

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tanya Preble
Location:Mpls, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
[Disclaimer- I was offered a free copy in exchange for a review, but the thoughts are all my own and were in no way influenced by the free copy]
This book is like a travel log of the ancient Mediterranean world. The photos are stunning. Terri blends together the ancient history of the area with the contemporary lives of people there today. I really felt like I was traveling along with the characters in the book and seeing all the wonderful sights they were seeing.
One of my favorite parts of the book are the hands-on aspects -mapping, recipes to make, art, and the field notes. I especially liked the tidbits of information scattered through out the book. What a great way to excite a child's interest in history and geography. (And a mom's too).
I have never thought of traveling to the area but after reading this book I want to see all the beautiful scenery for myself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Child's Geography: Explore the Classical World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An unbelievable geographical & historical journey

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Stanish
Location:Midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This geography book was truly a page turner! Terri Johnson is the quintessential tour guide to lead you through not only the geography of the Classical World but through some of its historical roots as well. Terri Johnson is also a mapmaker extraordinaire. I have long appreciated the map books that Terri has created and she uses this skill to help navigate the reader through each stop on the journey visiting ten countries that surround the Mediterranean Sea.
I love the upbeat, conversational tone that the author uses to talk directly to the reader, painting vivid pictures of each region and its sights, sounds and even smells. I really liked how Terri employed some fictional characters who introduced themselves and told a bit about their homeland. There are breathtaking photos and satellite images that will really help the visual learner experience each setting. It helps the reader feel like they are really there experiencing the sights for themselves.
And like any good vacation, food plays prominently in this tour of the Classical World. Many chapters include a stop to refresh and experience the cuisine of the area. Recipes are included so the reader can enjoy for themselves the savory side of geography.
Also included are the Greek myths pertaining to the locations mentioned. I had never really thought geographically about such stories as the Minotaur or Helen of Troy. Terri really helps connect the dots between history and geography in an extremely engaging way. The stories that seemed so remote and ancient suddenly take on a new dimension when you realize where they took place. Realizing where philosophers and apostles traveled brought new meaning to their history as well.
I cannot fully describe what a truly marvelous book this is. I've been homeschooling for over twelve years and have purchased nearly as many different geography books over those years. This by far is the most entertaining, most in depth and most well-rounded curriculum I have ever seen or tried to use. This is a keeper and one I think my children will enjoy sharing with their children.
Thank you, Terri, for being so passionate about geography and history--your love for the subject shines through every page of this book. As an adult, I learned a tremendous amount of information and the creative and fun extension activities provide many hands on ways of making the material come even more alive.
Things I particularly loved about this book: suggestions provided for completing over the course of a semester or over a whole year; variety of activities that will appeal to students of various ages; amazing number of photos, illustrations and maps; recipes to bring the flavor of each culture alive; weaves history and geography together in a seamless fashion; written in a conversational way (no dry, boring textbook-ese!).
This is designed for a family to do together (target audience is 1st-6th grade but this will be enjoyed by all ages and can be adapted for both younger and older students). I liked that vocabulary words are in bold (and a glossary is included), pronunciations were included, media links, and also a CD with bonus material. Don't get left behind on this journey--it will be the tour of a lifetime!
Disclaimer: I received a copy of A Child's Geography: Explore the Classical World for the purpose of review. A positive review was not required and all opinions expressed are my own. No other compensation was received.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Child's Geography: Explore the Classical World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superb Living Book

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
QuietwatersMom
Location:Pacific Northwest
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
[Disclaimer- I was offered a free copy in exchange for a review, but the thoughts are all my own and were in no way influenced by the free copy]
I can not say enough good things about this book!
I was one of the reviewers before it went to press, so the copy I read had only the text with no photos. When I saw the final version with the photos, I was blown away!
Here's what I love about it:
- the maps are fantastic and the photos are professional looking- bright and cheery. I love books with real color photos so I was very pleased
- the book reads like a story with many interesting characters that add local color to give a taste of the culture
-I love the addition of menus of regional foods. This opens possibilities for much fun in the kitchen experimenting with different recipes
-the writing is fresh, lively and engaging
-There is no prep time at all for Mom- just gather your children, pick it up and start your Classical journey, or hand it to older children to read on their own
-I love that you don't have to add your own biblical history...it's all there as an integral part of the book
-There are "Field Notes" at the end of each chapter/section for note booking and narration if you choose to use them
I look forward to the next books coming out
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Child's Geography: Explore the Classical World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fun Way to "Explore the Classical World"

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kim B
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Child’s Geography: Exploring the Classical World is a wonderful way to introduce your children to Ancient History! Terri Johnson did a spectacular job writing a “living history” book that teaches children (and adults too) about the “Classical World” as you journey around the Mediterranean Sea. The book is written much like a travel log, describing life and culture in various countries such as Greece, Macedonia, and Italy. Not only does she describe how people used to live, she also relates it to how people live today. The stories are so interesting and the descriptions so vivid that it makes you want to “travel the world!”
In addition to the narration questions at the end of each chapter, the author has also included several internet links to videos that describe the topics being studied. The included CD contains recipes from the Mediterranean countries, extra reading suggestions, timelines, travel log, and additional activities for each chapter. There is even a prayer guide for each country! I am thankful that the book is written with a biblical perspective as well!
My boys and I look forward to learning so much this year as we study “A Child’s Geography: Exploring the Classical World!”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Child's Geography: Explore the Classical World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Garris
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. The writer's vivid descriptions gave us the feeling that we were there! I cannot wait to begin using this book in our studies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Child's Geography: Explore the Classical World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Geography Read-Aloud!

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ana H
Location:San Antonio, Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the privilege of proof-reading A Child’s Geography: Explore the Classical World I have been a home educating parent for over 20 years and am currently teaching my 5 youngest children.
Things that appeal to the students:
It is written in a familiar conversational style (similar to the 2 previous publications of this series), which contributes to the ease of reading aloud. My boys and I like to curl up on our big couch; they like to listen to me real aloud while they draw. This book is not a stuffy textbook, but more story-like and does feel as if we are all on this trip together.
It is not too juvenile and then again, not overly complicated. It’s easy listening, yet full of facts and interesting geographical information. The stories and accounts “told” by fictional characters along their travels are entertaining and a great way to painlessly relate material.
The activities are pertinent and challenging enough to not seem like the “token” art project. Mosaics, painting frescos, writing a travel brochure and even organizing a backyard Olympics! As a mother of boys, I really appreciate that these activities are out of the ordinary.
Things that appeal to Mom:
The book is divided into 15 chapters covering 10 countries. It may be completed in one year by spending 2 weeks on each chapter. Perfect for the Mom who likes to pencil in her yearly plan.
The quality and appearance of the book are such that it may be positioned on the living room coffee table for grandparents to peruse. Nice glossy pictures, beautiful fonts and easy to read text.
A CD-Rom is included with the purchase of the book, which contains timeline information, map work, activities for each chapter, recipes, extra reading, and even a prayer guide! I will say here that the options for each section are on the short side. A little prior investigation on the computer may help pull up additional resources and activity ideas.
AND……there are plans for future publications, covering the whole world, such as The Far East, Western Europe, Viking Lands, and England and her Neighbors. Good news again for those planning Moms who like to cover future years.
In addition to all of the above, my favorite thing about this “A Child’s Geography” series is its cross-curriculum quality. It covers read-aloud (or silent reading for the student), open discussion or narration, art, writing, home economics, and obviously geography and map reading and labeling. The scriptures and Christian emphasis is invaluable to our family. I highly recommend any book in the Child’s Geography series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Child's Geography: Explore the Classical World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Geography study!

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
betancourt6
Location:Tennessee
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I pre-ordered A Child's Geography: Explore the Classical World and was looking forward to starting with our children. As soon as it arrived, I was so impressed with the quality of the book itself, as well as the pretty cool map that was included with our order. What amazing attention to detail! The photos are beautiful, proper credit is given to the information shared, and the heart of the curriculum itself is beautiful. I started to only read the introduction to familiarize myself with the lessons before we began, but ended up reading the entire 1st lesson. I was blessed by what I learned in such a short amount of time! No matter what other curriculum you might be using this new school year, I highly recommend adding A Child's Geography to your studies. You can move as quickly as you need to, or simply stretch your studies out for the duration of the school year. The book also comes with a disc containing some wonderful recipes and various activities. It even has a suggested reading list to go along with each study, which is especially helpful if you're using this with a middle school-aged child as well. Thank you for such a valuable resource, Terri Johnson!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Child's Geography: Explore the Classical World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Making Geography FUN & sooo Interesting!! Loved It

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
HomesteadOriginals
Location:Western USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You've heard of "Living Books" and "Living History"...what about "Living Geography"? No? Weeellll........let me introduce you!
You know, when I think Geography, I tend to think of a black outline on a white piece of paper. (insert yawn here) I don't know why--I just do. Rote memorization of where Kansas is on the map. (no offense to Kansas, mind you!)   It is SO much more if you are familiar with Knowledge Quest Maps. Which, don't let the name fool you; they are SO MUCH more than just "maps"! Terri Johnson makes Geography FUN. Yep, I said it. FUN. She brings Geography to life in her numerous resources! We've loved A Child's Geography: Exploring the Holy Land and A Child's Geography: Explore the Earth, so we were really excited to see this volume!
Now I'll be the first to admit, if someone were to say to me "Geography" and "Classical" in the same sentence, my eyes would start to glaze over and I'd be thinking 'black outlines on parchment paper'.
A Child's Geography Volume III: Explore the Classical World contains no parchment and makes geography truly come alive! In reading through this book for the first time, I had trouble putting it down, it draws you in-- I felt like I was there, travelling through time, visiting all of these wonderful locales! This is what learning and homeschooling is all about; God as our foundation and constant focal point, exploring His world and His people...all while feeling like you are on an incredible adventure together!
Visit Greece, Macedonia, Albania, Montenegro, Serbia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Croatia, Slovenia, Italy, San Marino, the Vatican and Malta! A Child's Geography Volume III, has us travelling to each country and getting to know the people, the culture, the landscape...and oh--the food!
Each page is sprinkled with incredible photography, images and vocabulary in an engaging format! Notebooking, Timeline and Mapping activities for each chapter add depth to your study! You will find thought provoking questions; even art, music and poetry are interwoven through each chapter! I love that the vocabulary words are bolded through out the text, and then at the back of the book you have a complete glossary and pronunciation guide too-- very helpful! You feel like you are reading through the journal of a modern day explorer in story format--very creative! Bringing food into a study is always a bit hit for us; Terri includes menus at the end of each chapter, and the CD-rom includes recipes by chapter, too--perfect for delicious hands on learning! Speaking of which, the CD-rom has all kinds of additional 'goodies' to enhance your study, such as timelines, maps, prayer guides and more! This is "Living Geography"!
Check it out for yourself, with this FREE sampler:
http://www.knowledgequestmaps.com/A-Childs-Geography-Explore-the-Classical-World.html
I would absolutley recommend A Child's Geography Volume III Explore the Classical World! It is easily implemented into any program or as a stand alone. It is an excellent work that the whole family will love! THIS is what learning is all about; engaging, interesting and FUN!
~Lisa
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Child's Geography: Explore the Classical World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Time Travel Experience

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
JJBB
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was my first experience with the "A Child's Geography" book series and boy was I impressed. The book reads very easily and just draws you into the time travel experience. The text is so specific that it allows the reader to see, smell, and feel the culture as if you were right there. The book even correlates facts to the bible, giving new meaning when reading those related bible passages. The maps, suggested activities and photographs are bonus items that round out the whole traveling experience. An excellent product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Child's Geography: Explore the Classical World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful journey awaits you!

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had such a wonderful journey as I read through the pages of this book. Since I do not see that I will get to travel to these places in the near future, it was interesting to experience the journey through the pages of this book. The very detailed information, with lots of interesting cultural information, gives you a glimpse of what it would really be like to visit these places. I am so looking forward to sharing it with my children. I hope they are as excited as I am.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Child's Geography: Explore the Classical World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a huge amount of information

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Puffin
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book had a huge amount of information in a very readable format. My only complaint was I found it a bit wordy at times but that didn't stop me reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Child's Geography: Explore the Classical World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun - I forgot it was supposed to be a 'textbook'!

Date:August 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Triquestrs
Location:Surrey, England UK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thank you for the amount of information contained in these pages; I have learnt so much from reading them. I cannot begin to imagine how much I would learn and enjoy when read this again with my children. I am also impressed by how the Bible is identified as factually and historically relevant to the places that have been visited.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.