Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for AMG Publishers Eye of the Oracle, Oracles of Fire Series #1

AMG Publishers Eye of the Oracle, Oracles of Fire Series #1

What ancient mysteries lurk behind the amazing stories in the Dragons in Our Midst series? Reading this prequel, you'll journey back in time to learn how dragons survived the flood and about the ancient evil force that led to their demise in the days of King Arthur. Discover the mysteries that led to the bestselling fantasy adventure that began with Raising Dragons. With heart-stopping fantasy action and clear spiritual insights, Eye of the Oracle will captivate young and old alike, and it will challenge every reader to search deep within for answers to the mysteries in their own hearts. Recommended for ages 12 and up.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Eye of the Oracle, Oracles of Fire Series #1
Review 1 for Eye of the Oracle, Oracles of Fire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

interesting fantasy

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wayne S. Walker
Location:Salem, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We read all four of Davis’s books in the “Dragons in Our Midst” series—Raising Dragons, The Candlestone, Circles of Seven, and Tears of a Dragon, several years ago, and they have been reviewed here previously. Our older son Mark had them as part of his sophomore literature, but he said that he really didn’t care for them. Our younger son Jeremy did try the first one just because he likes anything related to dragons but refused to read any more because he thought that it was really weird and he didn’t like the killing of the father. I basically enjoyed them but admit that they are very fantastical and may not appeal to some people. This past year author Brian Davis, a homeschooling father, spoke and exhibited at our local homeschool conference, so I picked up a copy of the prequel, Eye of the Oracle, which is actually Book 1 in another related series, “Oracles of Fire.”
According to the chart in the book, the events in Eye of the Oracle precede those of the “Dragpns in Our Midst” series, then the next three books in “Oracles of Fire”--Enoch’s Ghost, Last of the Nephilim, and The Bones of Makaidos, are sequels to Tears of a Dragon. Eye of the Oracle goes back in time to the flood of Noah’s day and follows the activities of two sorceresses, Lilith, who becomes Morgan, and her sister Naamah, the opposing work of the underborn Mara, who becomes Sapphira, and Elam, a son of Seth, along with good and bad dragons, angels, demons, and other beings, through the time of Nimrod and the tower of Babel, and then the days of King Arthur and Merlin, down to where the story begins in Raising Dragons. How did dragons survive the flood? Who helped preserve an ancient evil force that led to the dragons’ demise in the days of King Arthur? And what heroic sacrifices kept that evil from exterminating the dragon race forever? The book helps to explain some of the concepts found in the “Dragons in Our Midst” series such as the Candlestone and the Circles of Seven. The last chapter generally covers the events in the “Dragons in Our Midst” books to set the stage for Enoch’s Ghost.
There is little objectionable in the book. Many may not agree with how some of the Biblical references are handled. For example, I don’t believe that there’s any Biblical basis whatever to think that Ham was an immoral rebel before the flood (yes, he, along with Noah himself, made some mistakes after the flood) or that his wife was Naamah the sorceress who had worked as a harlot in a brothel. 1 Peter 3:20 says, “Eight souls [Noah, his wife, his three sons, and their wives] were saved by water.” It is my firm conviction that this means not that they just had their lives preserved from the flood, but that they were spiritually saved, or in a righteous relationship with God. However, if one understands the basic plot of the book as fiction, with some action occurring in a Biblical and quasi-historical setting, and likes inventive fantasy with spawns being raised in the underworld after a Brave New World fashion and beings travelling through Star Trek transporter-like portals, all wrapped up in an exciting good versus evil narrative, he will likely find this book very interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Eye of the Oracle, Oracles of Fire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great books for summer reading!

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
jcarley
Location:Friendswood, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I have two sons, ages 11 and 12. They both loved reading this book series! They read the Dragons in our Mist books first and then followed up with The Oracles of Fire series. These books have kept them reading throughout the summer months!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Eye of the Oracle, Oracles of Fire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:October 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Eli Duval
Location:Marion, Iowa
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great prequel to the Dragons in our Midst series. As you discover the secrets behind the dragons and Morgan you will be amazed and want to read this over and over again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Eye of the Oracle, Oracles of Fire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The beginning of an epic

Date:October 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Victoria V
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What I enjoyed most about this book is how Bryan Davis took the true facts of history and wove his own story in with it, he managed to do it in a way that made since and seemed possible. In this book you learn the history of the dragons and the past of the characters from Dragons in Our Midst. Read together the two series make one epic adventure.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Eye of the Oracle, Oracles of Fire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rebekah Gyger
The Eye of the Oracle has a complex plot and yet it all ties nicely together. Many authors have a hard time keeping the reader interest in such a web of time, place, and character but not Bryan Davis in this story. I was excited when I discovered that this series did not only have to do with King Arther and his descendants but Biblical characters too. The young life of the characters I had come to love and that of their ancestors gave me more to know and more to love about them. I came to really know the characters and their lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Eye of the Oracle, Oracles of Fire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melaleuca Man
An epic start to another wonderful series by bryan davis!!!!this is a "prequel" of sorts to bryan's other series dragons in our midst.this is the 1st book in the oracles of fire series based upon the DioM characters!while the characters in this book are not from DioM,(they will be back in book #2) this is still very insightful and awesome prequel!!!!worht every star!:D
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Eye of the Oracle, Oracles of Fire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vernon
First of all, before you read Eye of the Oracle, read the Dragons in our Midst series. This book gives behind-the-scenes information on those four books. Second, this book was incredible! Eye of the Oracle is the first in another four-book series in the Dragons in our Midst universe. It brings back old friends and introduces new ones. Experience all of their adventures with them as they battle evil and grow in thier relationship with God. If you want to further understand the Dragons in our Midst books, read this! If you want to read another incredible series by Bryan Davis, read this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Eye of the Oracle, Oracles of Fire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
DragonsAreSnazzy
I loved this book. It revealed secrets, being a prequel, yet it feltlike a sequel to me. This is one of my favorite boks in the Oracles ofFire series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Eye of the Oracle, Oracles of Fire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christine Watt
This is a great book!!! starting in biblical times, and ending in modern times, with everything falling into place, this is a book worth reading!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Eye of the Oracle, Oracles of Fire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrew W.
I have always loved reading, but Eye of the Oracle was the first book I could really say was my favorite. I could so easily relate to the characters, feel what they felt, and see what they saw. Bryan Davis has created a masterpiece with not only this book, but all the others in the series as well. I urge you to quickly get a copy of this brilliant work of art.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Eye of the Oracle, Oracles of Fire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Braydon
I was really happy to find out the Mr. Davis had made a new series that continued DIOM! Eye of the Oracle was a fantastic book! The feel real, the story is amazing, and these were the books that made me love reading! I love all of these books! This is another must read from Mr. Davis!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Eye of the Oracle, Oracles of Fire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nicole
When I first read this book, I was expecting it to be a lot like the Dragons in our Midst series. However, it didn't take me long to realize that Eye of the Oracle goes deeper then DioM ever did. In this amazing prequel Bryan Davis weaves a story of adventure, triumph, sorrow, romance, evil villains, and memorable characters. This is one truly fantastic book, and I would recommend to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Eye of the Oracle, Oracles of Fire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Braydon
It was so great for me to find out that Mr. Davis had made another series that continued the DIOM series! Eye of the Oracle was a astounding book! This book brings you all the way back in time to Noah and the flood. And slowly makes it's way back to the present. It introduces new characters that you grow to know, along with the characters you already know. This is a great starting book for Oracles of Fire series! Another must read from Mr. Davis!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Eye of the Oracle, Oracles of Fire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ginacat
Packed full of action, touching moments, and spiritual truths, Eye of the Oracle kept me up at night, reading under the covers. I found myself unable to put it down! Although it is the prequel to the best-selling Dragons In Our Midst series, it is able to stand on its own. From Noah, to the Round Table, to the present day, Eye of the Oracle takes readers on a journey through time. Discover the history of the dragons, the origin of the evil slayers who pursue them, and the truth behind the Oracles of Fire. Imaginative and well-written, this story is sure to please! Join Makaidos, Sapphira, Gabriel, and many other memorable characters in this tale of mystery, conflict, and inspiration. A must-read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Eye of the Oracle, Oracles of Fire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vernon Stafford
First of all, before you read Eye of the Oracle, read the Dragons in our Midst series. This book gives behind-the-scenes information on those four books. Second, this book was incredible! Eye of the Oracle is the first in another four-book series in the Dragons in our Midst universe. It brings back old friends and introduces new ones. Experience all of their adventures with them as they battle evil and grow in thier relationship with God. If you want to further understand the Dragons in our Midst books, read this! If you want to read another incredible series by Bryan Davis, read this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Eye of the Oracle, Oracles of Fire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
DragonsAreSnazzy
This is an amazing prequel to the Dragons in our Midst series. It reveals to you many mysteries and it has a lot of biblical references, for example, Noahs arc. I suggest this book, if you enjoyed the Dragons in Our Midst series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Eye of the Oracle, Oracles of Fire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dan L.
This book is so great! It reveals many mysteries and I loved it! It is such a good continuing series of Dragons in Our Midst, and I recommend it if you loved the previous series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Eye of the Oracle, Oracles of Fire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrew W.
I have always loved reading, but Eye of the Oracle was the first book I could really say was my favorite. I could so easily relate to the characters, feel what they felt, and see what they saw. Bryan Davis has created a masterpiece with not only this book, but all the others in the series as well. I urge you to quickly get a copy of this brilliant work of art.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Eye of the Oracle, Oracles of Fire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
FreakofNature
Eye of the oracle is a wonderful continuation (or beginning whatever you choose) of the Dragons in our Midst series. It tells us what happened before our favorite characters met each other or before they were even born! It gives us insight on what happened to the dragons. It is a wonderful mixture of Bible and fantasy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Eye of the Oracle, Oracles of Fire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
DragonofChrist
While fans of the Dragons in our Midst series may take a while to become accustomed to a wonderful new spread of brave, heroic characters, all who venture into the pages of this book will soon learn to love, bleed, and cry with all of the children, youth, ancient prophets, and four-thousand year old teenagers through their tribulations and bold conquests as they battle against whole new heights of evil. Plus, this exciting prequel to Dragons in our Midst offers plenty of new dragons and worlds to discover and explore, while elaborating on a plethora of briefly-mentioned historical characters and events from the previous series that you know you want to know more about!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.