Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for AMG Publishers Enoch's Ghost, Oracles of Fire Series #2

AMG Publishers Enoch's Ghost, Oracles of Fire Series #2

Enoch's Ghost, the second book in the Oracles of Fire series, picks up the exciting Dragons in our Midst story where Tears of a Dragon and Eye of the Oracle ended. Walter, Ashley, and Karen ride the dragon Thigocia in search of her son, Gabriel. When they find an army of giants hibernating in the depths of the earth, they meet a mysterious girl named Sapphira Adi who claims to be thousands of years old. Sapphira reveals a sinister plot. The giants will soon awaken and rise to conquer and destroy, and only dragons can defeat them. Since only two dragons remain on the earth, and one of them is reluctant to fight, doom seems certain. With Excalibur at his side, Walter plunges into an ancient world to find a mysterious ally who could help them save the world. Recommended for ages 12 and up.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Enoch's Ghost, Oracles of Fire Series #2
Review 1 for Enoch's Ghost, Oracles of Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Seth
The plot was more engaging and intense than any other book Ive yet read by Mr. Davis. So much that I had to take a break midway through. My mind was spinning, and I had to rest before jumping in again. That was just me. I still dont think there is such a thing as too much suspense or intensity in a novel. The author simply does not let up-and there is nothing wrong with that.For the sake of not giving out spoilers Ill simply say that the plot was interesting.Caracters:Enochs Ghost has a vast cast of characters. A cast that consists of characters ranging from Dragons in our Midst, Eye of the Oracle and new characters that weve never met.Its a very difficult task to make a reader love and feel attached to that many characters (more then fifteen to be precise). If I knew beforehand that there were this many characters I would have doubts. I was happily surprised the author pulled it off.As usual, Bryan Davis craft is great. If there is anything wrong with the writing in this book it would be that it is too fast-paced. As I said before, the author does not let up. For some this can be a little much. Some people need a novel to be balanced with fast and slow scenes. Other then this little glitch the novel was very well written.My diagnosis? Great book. One of the few books Ive read in a matter of a few days. A day and a half to be precise. Im not a fast reader so to have a book read in less then two days says something about a book.I definitely recommend reading this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Enoch's Ghost, Oracles of Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
SHILOH
Enoch's Ghost continues the stories from Dragons in our Midst and Eye of the Oracle following Walter, Ashley, Karen, and Thigocia on their adventure. This book isn't about Billy and Bonnie but that doesn't make it any less worth reading than the rest of the books! The day I got this book I finished it because I couldn't put it down! I have read Enoch's Ghost over and over again and every time I have noticed more things that I missed the first time I read it. The Dragons in our Midst and Oracles of fire series never get boring no matter how many times you read them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Enoch's Ghost, Oracles of Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kaite G.
Enoch's Ghost is a great pick-up to the 1st series, Dragons in our Midst. It's a great read and I think that everybody would enjoy this book. It has really interesting and likable characters. I also liked that that the characters are very easy to relate to!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Enoch's Ghost, Oracles of Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jordan
Enoch's Ghost is in my mind best referred to as the fifth book in the Dragons in Our Midst series. It picks up right where Tears of a Dragon left off, following Ashley, Walter, Karen, and Thigocia on their journey to find Makaidos. Readers should definitely be up to speed on the events in both Eye of the Oracle and the Dragons in Our Midst series. Like me, some readers may be put off by the title, but there is no ghost in the book. I don't want to give anything away, so I won't say what it refers to, but it isn't anything ghostly at all. How's the book line up with the rest of Bryan Davis' brilliant dragon books? Perfectly. I really can't say more than that. Great characters, a breathtaking story, and an ending that will leave you waiting for the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Enoch's Ghost, Oracles of Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Daughter of Thigocia
A long awaited sequel to Eye of the Oracle does not disappoint. Continuing from where the Dragons in Our Midst saga left off, Enoch's Ghost does not disappoint even though Billy Bannister and Bonnie Sliver are not active. Ashley, Walter, and Karen set out with Ashley's dragon mother as they search for Ashley's brother, Gabriel, but in the process they are hindered by a dragon of old and a plot to connect Heaven with earth. They discover Sapphira Adi, a girl who is thousands of years old who lives deep underground with slumbering giants. With scenes that have you crying, climaxes that have you wanting more, and a great story plot that never ceases to amaze, this book is a must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Enoch's Ghost, Oracles of Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
NoahR
This is a great book full of wonder and excitement. Journey with two teenagers whose search for a lost kid leads them on an incredible thrill ride. Evil is out to stop them in dragon form. Can they survive the dragons fire? Buy this book and find the answers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Enoch's Ghost, Oracles of Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nathan Petrie
Taking up the epic story after Tears of a Dragon, Enoch's Ghost leads and ties together all the books in these two series. Many a question is answered, but yet more are raise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Enoch's Ghost, Oracles of Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Araken
Without missing a beat, Enoch's Ghost picks up right where Tears of a Dragon left off, with the same familiar faces, as well as some new ones. Questions are answered and fresh ones are raised in this awesome sequel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Enoch's Ghost, Oracles of Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Makaidos
What happened after Walter, Ashley, and Karen took off on the back of Thigocia? This book is an excellent sequel to the Dragons in our Midst series! If you wonder what happens next,READ THIS BOOK!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Enoch's Ghost, Oracles of Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2008
This book is one of the best books I've read! It seems like the characters are real. They have so much love, faith, and passion for one another I'll read the book over and over again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Enoch's Ghost, Oracles of Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Julie Dick
As evil forces seek to merge heaven and earth, the former dragons and their allies seek to stop them. Events build to a climax in three different worlds, with an unexpected, heartrending conclusion. My personal favorite of all Davis books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Enoch's Ghost, Oracles of Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Julie Dick
As evil forces seek to merge heaven and earth, the former dragons and their allies seek to stop them. Events build to a climax in three different worlds, with an unexpected, heartrending conclusion. My personal favorite of all Davis books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Enoch's Ghost, Oracles of Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Micah
This book starts off right around where the fourth book in the Dragons In Our Midst (DIOM) series left off. I enjoyed reading this book, though, and I am looking forward to the third Oracles Of Fire (OOF) book. The author left a cliffhanger, as usual, and also did not really give the book a firm ending. It was a disappointing, yet passable ending. It seemed as if (like most of the OOF and DIOM books he has written) there should have been a few more pages to be a fully complete ending. I was tempted to search inside my room for missing pages, but there were no missing page numbers inside the book (please note that this is a joke). However, this is understandable considering that he still has two books left to finish writing, and publishing, and doesn't want his audience to lose interest. A few of the pages and sentences in this book were confusing. It seemed as if the author forgot to input detail that he normally would have included, thus missing some action or dialog that may have been useful. Also there were a few sections that were creepy and slightly gruesome in this book. I highly suggest not reading this book at night time when you need to go to bed or the cliffhangers in the chapters will have you reading about three to four chapters just to find out if the character in question survived. Anyway, I hope to purchase the third OOF book sometime in July, or whenever it comes out, and review it. Although I could go into more detail about this book, I will resist since I am concerned that I will reveal too much storyline. I hope that you enjoyed reading this review, that this review has answered some questions about whether or not you wish to purchase this book, and that you found it to be an interesting read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Enoch's Ghost, Oracles of Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Debora Williams
My son received this book, along with the first book in the Oracles of Fire series. He is reading the books , as recommended by the author, in the order they were intended to be read. He is anxious to complete them all. They have held his attention and he has recommended them to his friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Enoch's Ghost, Oracles of Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Heather Agnelli
I thoroughly enjoyed reading Enoch's Ghost! I love how Bryan Davis is able to keep ... *counts* ... 4 plot lines going throughout the entire book, and then flawlessly bring them all together to the climactic ending.What a beautiful story of sacrifice and love - I could read and re-read this book as many time as I want, and never ever get tired of it. It's message gives me a sense of hope and peace, reminding me of the unfailing love of my Savior.I applaud Mr. Davis for yet another beautiful installment in the Oracles of Fire series, and I can't wait for the next one!Thumbs up, Mr. Davis :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Enoch's Ghost, Oracles of Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Amanda
I know that I only rated this three stars, and there was a reason. I think that the Dragons in our Midst series was good where it ended, despite the fact that a few questions had been left unanswered. The Oracles of Fire series is good, but a real letdown after Bryan Davis' previous work. It has too much unneeded content,and some of the stuff was kind of corny. It also didn't have the suspense or excitement that Dragons in our Midst. Still a great Christian book compared to what is out there, but I think Bryan Davis could have done better.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Enoch's Ghost, Oracles of Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ashlee
I loved this book!! I've read the Dragons in Our Mist series and loved that. This is the sequel to the last book except with Walter and Ashley. If this series looks interesting, read the 1st book in the Oracles of Fire, Eye of the Oracle. That book is like the prequel and you won't miss anything if you want to read this series only. Bryan Davis has so much talent and it is apparent throughout the book. Have fun reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Enoch's Ghost, Oracles of Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
THIS BOOK IS GREAT! It is NOT a waste of money!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Enoch's Ghost, Oracles of Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lionel "Charles" Quint
Bryan Davis has done it again! I think this is his best yet. I loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Enoch's Ghost, Oracles of Fire Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Iris the Dragon
Enoch's Ghost was excellent! I've read all the books in the series and Enoch's Ghost is one of my favorites! Definitely buy this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>