Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for E1 Entertainment Dist The Genesis Code: Faith and Science . . . What If Both Are True?

E1 Entertainment Dist The Genesis Code: Faith and Science . . . What If Both Are True?

College hockey star Blake is attracting a lot of attention, and school journalist Kerry is determined to interview him. When he tells her that his mother is on life support, Kerry, a pastor's daughter, shares her faith---but Blake has questions. How can both the Bible and evolution be true? Can faith and science be reconciled? Dove approved (12+). (PG.) Approx. 2.25 hours.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
5 out of 1050%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Genesis Code: Faith and Science . . . What If Both Are True?
Review 1 for The Genesis Code: Faith and Science . . . What If Both Are True?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A personal story and authentic science! Great Job

Date:January 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
TWise
Location:Reno, NV
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie goes over many peoples desire to pursue science and the Bible. However, stay with it and watch it again. It has a fictitious personal story, just like contemporary blockbusters about Pearl Harbor, the sinking of the Titanic and many others----but it is about Biblical investigation and our culture's rejection of Biblical values. It is portrayed authentically, with acting as good as other contemporary Christian films receiving major success.
I am surprised it is not being welcomed with open arms. Hollywood sure did not like it, but that should be a good indication there is something about it worth checking out.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Genesis Code: Faith and Science . . . What If Both Are True?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't waste time or money!

Date:December 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Savedxgrace
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This movie was not supporting a biblical view of creation. It was a compromise of biblical morals and beliefs. The science behind it was too complicated to understand, and left many gaps and unanswered questions. It was teaching creation through an evolutionary worldview. The morals of the characters were very loose. Not recommended at all.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Genesis Code: Faith and Science . . . What If Both Are True?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought provoking

Date:November 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Wallace
Location:Colorado
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I believe this movie is for the intellectual as well as the passionate person. If you can not grasp all of the scientific explanations for Creation, at least use this movie to motivate your curiosity. There are many new scientific discoveries that are proving the Bible correct. Creationists are getting the word out to the world in many creative ways. This movie would be one of them. It is set in a real world setting to reach real people. We are to be in the world not of the world.
Thank You...
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Genesis Code: Faith and Science . . . What If Both Are True?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shalom
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a different approach on sharing your faith. This is a movie for you. It will challenge you!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Genesis Code: Faith and Science . . . What If Both Are True?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great movie for Christians and new believers

Date:September 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
bibletechdude
Age:35-44
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you talk about creation and specifically an intelligent creator without sounding unintelligent? You follow the logic and reasoning that is laid out in The Genesis Code. This movie describes the theology and biology at a deep level while still entertaining. This is a great movie whether you already believe God created the universe or not. The science is proved and solid. I've never seen the Biblical account of creation and laws of science married in such an interesting way. This money does not support evolution. The story moved me to tears several times and ends in a compelling way. We need more movies like The Genesis Code. The Genesis Code is a must-see for the Christan or non-Christian alike.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Genesis Code: Faith and Science . . . What If Both Are True?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Absolutely a waste of money!

Date:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Leann Helms
Location:indiana
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
I rented this movie excited that it would put science and the literal 6 days of creation Besides a few crude comments and bar scenes,the movie tried to put the pagan belief of billions of years with the Bible. If the earth was truly billions of years old and humans showed up only a few million years ago, plants and animals would have been dying before Adam and Eve sinned. How is that scriptural? The movie portrayed evolution as a FACT, when it a theory and only a theory. It made it seem that it was a problem that the Bible said the earth was created in 6 days, so it must have meant 16 billion years. They don't think that God could create a universe in 6 days?! The Bible says that God created the earth and it was good, not that it needed to evolve or change. The movie never gave Creationism a chance in the scientific world, when actually there is a lot of evidence for Creation. If you want to learn more look up Ken Ham. If you believe in the Bible and don't just want to fit in in society, pleas DO NOT BUY! I hope that this review was helpful.
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Genesis Code: Faith and Science . . . What If Both Are True?
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

not something I'd recommend

Date:May 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linda
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Genesis Code
About the Movie:
Kerry Wells (Kelsey Sanders), a college journalist and committed Christian with an effervescent personality, has been assigned to do a story on Blake Truman (Logan Bartholomew) the newest and very popular hockey superstar at their college. As a relationship between them begins to develop Kerry finds that Blake, who hides behind a tough and independent façade, is actually struggling through a difficult personal crisis and that he bears the cross of a secret he has kept hidden for years. Blake rebuffs Kerry's suggestion that prayer might help ease his burden; he is convinced that modern science completely disproves the Bible, especially the opening verses of Genesis. Kerry — who is herself suddenly confronted with a challenge to her faith on another front — sets out to prove that science and Genesis are not in conflict and her quest leads to a startling revelation. Could it be that what science teaches us about creation and the Story as told in Genesis are both true!
My Review:
I found the secondary part of the story, about Blake’s family more interesting and inspiring than the rest and would have liked to see more about it. It was heartwarming to see that Blake, a tough hockey player, finally realizes that God is much more than a myth and that prayer does change things.
Other than that, I didn’t find a whole lot of positives or Christian values about this movie and that’s the biggest let-down, since this is supposedly a Christian movie. The first disappointment came when Kerry tried to interview Blake, part of that conversation is totally inappropriate. I was also left with the questions: Why would Kerry, a ‘committed Christian’ meet with some rowdy, non-Christians in a bar? Why couldn’t she at least have tried to defend her beliefs when confronted by her academics advisor? For those reasons this came across as superficial Christianity. I did like the character of Kerry’s dad, ‘a man of the cloth’; who for the most part, was insightful and seemed like a genuine leader.
Then there’s the well delivered but still long-winded presentation by a group of college students. Led by Kerry’s brother, Mark, (who did an excellent portrayal of a nerdy science guy), they attempt to describe how the Bible and science agree with each other. I tried to grasp their scientific explanation of how the world came to be, but got lost in outer space, somewhere in the first million years. This, which according to the title is the key element to the story, just didn’t work for me, because no amount of science babble changes the fact that God created the world. And there’s nothing complicated about the way it’s presented in Genesis, the first book of the Bible. Rather intriguing though, that the writers/producers came up with this plot of creation and evolution being in sync somehow. The Genesis Code is a movie with a poignant and real secondary story intertwined and spoiled with a far-fetched and shallow tale, and is not something I would recommend to anyone.
“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Genesis Code: Faith and Science . . . What If Both Are True?
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

good movie

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
aces
Location:ill.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
this movie kept my interest the acters were good and the story is what it was a story.lots of good parts if you were looking for them.and love and god prayer came out in the end.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Genesis Code: Faith and Science . . . What If Both Are True?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Too many bar scenes, inappropriate topics for kids

Date:May 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Valerie Schad
Location:Maynard, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was interested in Logan Bartholomew, since he was in some of the Love Come Softly series. This movie started out on the wrong foot in the very beginning, when Blake (Logan's character) asked Kerry (Sanders) how her sex life was. He explained that he has never met a pure girl before. She was attempting an interview with him for a magazine article. When Kerry meets Blake's buddies later that same day in the bar, for the first time, they tell her that he has many girls. Whenever Kerry meets Logan, it is frequently in a bar. As they got to know each other, they met other places. The behavior of Logan's buddies was quite wild in the first bar scene, like they were trying to show off to Kerry and her two friends. I liked Sanders and Bartholomew very much, but the storyline was weak and seemed to try to attract a college age audience. Christians would not meet non-Christians in a bar, if they had a choice of meeting places, it would have been at a coffee shop or a restaurant.
The explanation of how science and the Bible agree and differ was quite drawn out, not to say it wasn't interesting. Kerry speaks out in class when her science teacher tries to explain everything with evolution and this witnessing-type of responses that she gives the teacher seems to annoy him and the guidance counselor. The professor turns off her comments with humor, trying to show that she's always defending that creation is correct and evolution is not. Her guidance counselor has a lengthy chat with Kerry trying aggressively persuade her to abandon her Christian beliefs, especially her belief that God created the world. The guidance counselor makes a visit to Kerry's dad (a minister)at his church office. He brings up a perverse subject that I would never mention with my children or to anyone for that matter, I found this quite offensive. Why in the world would the producers of this movie think that that subject ought to be mentioned, did they think children would not watch this film? I didn't want my children asking me what that topic was. The movie went in the trash and I wasted my money. I did like the main characters. I found it interesting that Kerry's science professor and her dad were good friends, despite their differences in beliefs. That was cool!
Overall, I'd say the movie was weakened with too many bar scenes, sexual references, and a huge inappropriate discussion. Why would Kerry have anything to do further with a guy who asked her how her sex life was? Why didn't Kerry stand up to her guidance counselor, when the woman was really over-asserting her position as an evolutionist, anti-creationist. Kerry was quite passive with the guidance counselor. I found myself saying, "Say something! Defend your Christian belief in creation!" Kerry just sat there. The movie ends with Kerry and Bartholomew falling for each other, but that's farfetched. Blake was a very immoral guy, Kerry a Christian. It should have taken several years in real life to build trust between them and for her to see a changed character in him, before she could accept him as a boyfriend to be a potential husband someday. I thought it was unrealistic in that sense. In Blake's defense, he does come to a deeper understanding of God and how He is powerful and answers prayer, but that wouldn't convince me that he had suddenly become a moral person and would stop using alchol. I'd look at another movie. The inappropriate content in this movie is why it was rated PG. I should have not bought it anyway.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Genesis Code: Faith and Science . . . What If Both Are True?
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Scientific double talk. Very disappointed.

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jim Bob
Location:Ok
Age:55-65
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Their scientific explanations did not make sense. It was hard to follow, because of bad science.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.