Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Saxon Publishing Saxon Algebra 1 Home Study Kit Third Edition

Saxon Publishing Saxon Algebra 1 Home Study Kit Third Edition

Students will develop the understanding they need to resolve more complex problems and functions with this step-by-step course. Covers topics including signed numbers, exponents, and roots; absolute value; equations and inequalities; scientific notations; unit conversions; polynomials; graphs; factoring; quadratic equations; direct and inverse variations; exponential growth; statistics; and probability. Kit includes 564-page hardcover student text, softcover answer key, and test booklet.
Average Customer Rating:
4.479 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
23 out of 2496%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Saxon Algebra 1 Home Study Kit Third Edition
Review 1 for Saxon Algebra 1 Home Study Kit Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product is fairly easy to use.

Date:October 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
addie
Location:Anaheim, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product is fairly easy to use, but would be even more appreciated if the Solution manual was included in the kit, which is of great help for my daughter. It's very disappointing to have to spend extra money for it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Saxon Algebra 1 Home Study Kit Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

it's Algebra

Date:September 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hugs
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a good book for teaching Algebra. It comes with answer key, and tests.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Saxon Algebra 1 Home Study Kit Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Saxon Algebra 1

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stacy Boatwright
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This set is everything that is needed to teach/learn Algebra 1. We also purchased the Teacher CD's to aid with it. My child has enjoyed doing math with this program. I have even started our younger daughter on the Saxon products.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Saxon Algebra 1 Home Study Kit Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
James & Denice
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product, price, and shipped ahead of time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Saxon Algebra 1 Home Study Kit Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for reinforcing math concepts.

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Micaela
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent math program that develops, reviews and reinforces algebra concepts. Easily used in the homeschool setting with clear directions and answers to all problem sets.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Saxon Algebra 1 Home Study Kit Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I highly recommend this product

Date:December 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wendi
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has many great features. One of my favorite features is that all the review practice problems have (in parenthesis) the lesson from where the problem was taken. This helps if you or your child have forgotten something, you can quickly turn back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Saxon Algebra 1 Home Study Kit Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall good product

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nanatch
Location:Long Beach, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have used Saxon math for several years and I really like it, having seen great improvement in my student's comprehension and computation skills. This set would receive five stars if it included the complete solutions manual. Just the answer key is not sufficient when the accuracy of each step in a problem is important for reaching the solution.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Saxon Algebra 1 Home Study Kit Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Saxon worked well for younger grades but...

Date:June 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kim in NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(First - to "Tracy"....they sell the "Solutions Guide" separately with all the problems worked out as you are used to from previous levels of Saxon.)
We loved Saxon up thru 8/7.... but once our daughter hit Algebra this text was not helpful enough in answering WHY problems were to be solved in a certain way - only the method was to be memorized IMO. We ended up switching after 6 painful months to Harold Jacobs Algebra and it was much better for my daughter to understand. If Mathematics comes easily to your child, Saxon may be the best choice but if they begin to start floundering don't wait 6 months like we did. I feel we really did a disservice to our daughter by not looking for alternatives sooner.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Saxon Algebra 1 Home Study Kit Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
tracy
Location:Pleasant View, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It would be great if the teacher key also included the problems worked out. Having that feature was very helpful to me as the parent/teacher when we used the Saxxon 5/6 math book. I assumed it would be the same in all teacher key books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Saxon Algebra 1 Home Study Kit Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Twood
Location:Atlanta Ga
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i was looking for a product that would allow my child to feel successful. He struggled with math and Saxon truly has helped. He as gone from D's to A's. He is happy and when we come across an area he doesn't understand we can go back and practice.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Saxon Algebra 1 Home Study Kit Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Saxon Math is the best math for homeschooling.

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tiffany
Location:Davenport, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saxon Math is the best math for homeschooling. We love it!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Saxon Algebra 1 Home Study Kit Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Math Product out there

Date:November 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
JimE
Location:Gracey, Ky
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want a math product that will teach your children and review with them on every lesson, then get this one.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Saxon Algebra 1 Home Study Kit Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

top choice...4 1/2 stars

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ari
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We can't give half stars so I had to go down to four. I didn't give five because I would like the Saxon program to be a little more conceptual than it is. As far as the available homeschool programs that I've tried, this one is thorough and the easiest to stick to (I've also tried Singapore and rececently began Life-of-Fred as a geometry supplement). If this last tidbit of info helps anyone, my son took a diagnostic practice ACT with Princeton Review. He is only a beginning Freshman (Alg I completed in 8th and one month into Geometry), so it is more a measure of his math upon completion of Saxon Alg I. Anyway, his math score was a 20 at this point. (Not bad starting point since the test covers Alg I & II, Geom, & Trig) So that is my best unbiased assessment of where Saxon Alg I program will get you at completion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Saxon Algebra 1 Home Study Kit Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Saxon Math is easy and thorough.

Date:October 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
alamedalaura
Location:Alameda, California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My children have been using Saxon Math every year. It is easy to use with great explanations on how to solve each problem. My children now work independently with minimal supervision.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Saxon Algebra 1 Home Study Kit Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
suechyan
Location:SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This text, CD, tests, and answer key came in a timely manner. It is a great curriculum and very thorough. The only thing my daughter has a problem with is that it starts out very slowly. I reassured her they are just reviewing!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Saxon Algebra 1 Home Study Kit Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melinda
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This math series is excellent! The content has good detailed examples and is very understandable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Saxon Algebra 1 Home Study Kit Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Either you love it or you hate it

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
JoyArt
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saxon math takes a lot of time for each lesson on the part of the student, but it is very thorough. We got the DIVE cd with the Algebra I and that is a BIG help. On the other hand, it is very expensive ($50) and you can't sell it or give it to a friend. Which is WRONG. You can sell the book, why not the cd that goes with it?
We have tried other math programs like Life Pac(old version c.1979) which had no instructions, just problems, Keys to Algebra I which didn't have hardly any explanations either. So with my second student entering 9th grade, we are using the Saxon Algebra I. So far it is going pretty well, but takes about 1 hour everyday.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Saxon Algebra 1 Home Study Kit Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lissa
Location:Mississippi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent program for learning algebra!! Saxon blends new information with the old so past lessons are not forgotten.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Saxon Algebra 1 Home Study Kit Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
latinuspater
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Saxon curriculum and the provided materials are well worth the cost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Saxon Algebra 1 Home Study Kit Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
donnakay
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The pages in the test booklet are so thin and not very sturdy. That is my only complaint. All else is good about the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.